70% of women say a man 'wouldn't stand a chance' if he was under 6ft

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,778 ✭✭✭goz83

When i wake up in the morning, i'm 6ft. My fat head usually leaves me at 5,11 by tea time :(

Then again, everything is a little taller in the morning :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭mutley18

goz83 wrote: »

Then again, everything is a little taller in the morning :D

^ He is referring to his erect mickey.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

I'm 5'9'' and normally only go for really tall guys. Think there's something really hot about the guy being really tall. My last boyfriend was the same height as me and I fell for him.

I'm drunk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭kuntboy

Proportion and symmetry are more important. The closer certain proportions are to the Golden Ratio (1:1.609) and the more symmetrical someone is, you will find the younger they lose virginity, and the more partners they have.

Hmm, I wonder why. And they say we have "free will", lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

SO 70% of those women wouldn't **** Eminem?

Boll-to-the-ocks.

Lol, eminem?
    That is who you came up with?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

Lol, eminem?
    That is who you came up with?

I definitely would.

Twice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

Oh Daily Mail how you make me LOL.

Imagine the outrage if they conducted a poll which showed that "70% of men say a woman "wouldn't stand a chance" if she was over a size 12."

Such a troll.

If someone asked me theoretically what I prefer, Id probably say yeah, six foot is a nice height. Yet only one of my exes was over that height and I still thought they were all absolute rides.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭EoghanIRL

beks101 wrote: »
    Oh Daily Mail how you make me LOL.

Imagine the outrage if they conducted a poll which showed that "70% of men say a woman "wouldn't stand a chance" if she was over a size 12."

Such a troll.

If someone asked me theoretically what I prefer, Id probably say yeah, six foot is a nice height. Yet only one of my exes was over that height and I still thought they were all absolute rides.
    I thought the daily mail only publishes well researched legitimate and insightful articles ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭heartseeker

Thank you daily mail for highlighting this unspoken rule and allow me to speak up on behalf of the 6ft2 brigade.Sick and tired of endless weekends of meaningless sex with females of all varieties who always succumb to the height and insist on putting out on the first night ....tried tight haircuts and flat shoes but doesn't seem to lmake a difference ....is there no women out there that will make a guy work for it or even try getting to know the tall guys first anymore.tired.tired.tired of this stumbling block to real and meaningful relationships...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,203 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Tall good looking lads will be popular with women, no doubt about that.

But if someone fell out of the ugly tree then they will struggle to get laid no matter how tall they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,332 ✭✭✭lau1247

kuntboy wrote: »
    Proportion and symmetry are more important. The closer certain proportions are to the Golden Ratio (1:1.609) and the more symmetrical someone is, you will find the younger they lose virginity, and the more partners they have.

and this is based on which study now??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,332 ✭✭✭lau1247

Tall good looking lads will be popular with women, no doubt about that.

But if someone fell out of the ugly tree then they will struggle to get laid no matter how tall they are.

no ugly tree is gonna stop anyone if they have money and power.. sadly both are hard to come by

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭Paco Rodriguez

Well I'm 5ft 5 and my girlfriend is 6ft. It has never been a problem.......oh wait.....no, that was a dream, sorry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭camel jockey

There must be a lot of spinsters and celibate females out there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

I remember seeing a girl in my area comment on a picture of half-naked Mark Wahlberg that a friend uploaded to his Facebook. She said he was hot, but too short. Another girl on my friends list - who is about 5' 10" or 5' 11" - was complaining about men in my area being good looking, but too short.

Women generally prefer taller men just like the way men generally prefer smaller women. As for me, I love the long legs on a woman, but I'd never date a taller woman - I find it emasculating and my guess is women look at smaller men as inferior and weak.

When I'm in a fight, I'm usually intimidated by a taller opponent and view smaller opponents as easy prey - not that I go around getting into fights every week.

By that same token, a lot of taller women may be at a disadvantage. I tried online dating for a while and there were a lot of women over 5'10 who said they found it difficult to find a man - and some of them were attractive too.

I'm 5'8 and most of the women I've been with were around the same height as me. I prefer it that way, to be at each others eye level. If the girl is a lot shorter then I have to crouch down for the shift and I end up getting a stiff neck.

*Awaits the, "I bet that's not the only thing that gets stiff" remarks.* :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭Paco Rodriguez

I would imagine height is more of a filter in online dating. If you are short like me you still might have a chance with your personality....but in online dating people can just search for people between certain heights

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

People say a lot of things on paper but doesnt necessarily translate to real life. For example:

Would I go out with a mother of 2 in her mid 30s? No

Would I go out with Jessica Alba? Yes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

Stephen Merchant should really be doing better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭charlietheminxx

My boyfriend is 5'10" and I wouldn't change a thing!! I've gone out with guys ranging from 5'5'' to 6'4'' but being honest, while I would have gone for tall guys when I was younger, I think sex is better when there's less of a height gap. Makes cuddling more comfy too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,297 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Katunga wrote: »
    I'm fecked then.

What about the 30% ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭KingOfFairview

Any man less than 6 foot is a pathetic dwarf who no one could respect and any man taller than 6 foot is a beanpole circus freak.

I'm 6 foot even.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,778 ✭✭✭goz83

This still goin on? Ladies, i'm at my tallest now, i've just woken up. I'll be this tall for about an hour, i'll pay for your taxi........home right after :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

I think sex is better when there's less of a height gap.

Everyone is the same height lying down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,898 ✭✭✭Ebr sniper

Sex panther.... 60% of the time it works every time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,458 ✭✭✭CathyMoran

I always went for men that were over 6ft tall, a bit strange as I am just over 5ft but luckily I got sense as I got older and my hubby is just under 6ft.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,255 ✭✭✭✭Esoteric_

Height has never been a deciding factor for me, but most of my exes have been tall. That said, I've dated people ranging from 5'3 to 6'10, and don't care either way. I'm 5'1, I'd be hard pressed to find a guy shorter than me to date anyway! I've noticed that taller men seem to prefer me, though. Two of them openly admitted it's because they like the 'protective' manly feeling they get when dating somebody as short as I am. Others have said dating somebody my height is a pain in the arse because it's too hard to kiss me. :pac: The 6'10 guy I dated for a few years used to have to pick me up to kiss me, it was bloody awkward. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭charlietheminxx

No they aren't. Plus sex doesn't automatically equate to lying down! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,676 ✭✭✭✭herisson

Nope! Still awkward. I'm 5'2 and I went out with a guy who was 6'5 before. The sex was a little awkward considering when he was on top his hairy sweaty chest would be in my face. :/

Height doesn't really matter to me. As long as they are taller (easy to be when you are my height) then I'm ok with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

No they aren't. Plus sex doesn't automatically equate to lying down! ;)

The wheelbarrow position comes to mind. :D

I'd imagine 69 would be fairly awkward too if there was a big height difference.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

I don't discriminate when it comes to the height of men. Have been with lads smaller than me but I can't deal with SMS (small man syndrome) that some of them have. They feel hard done by by being small. There're like terriers in my experience, contrary and stubborn. I've been with really tall lads too which are grand, you feel all protected with them, can wear higher heels and my brothers don't intimidate them as much. Can't ever say height was a factor that stopped me being with someone from the get got, I'd wait and give a chance either way.