Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leaving Cert 2012-2013 OT Thread Part 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,160 ✭✭✭✭HugsiePie

I dont think we're that racist any more mainly due to catholic schools letting in non catholics

Ah but mimicery is very common, too common, and you can take it as a joke but there comes a limit, I was absolutely BADGERED with dumb fat American jokes when I first moved and the teachers did little to stop it, my sister used to come home and cry over it (my sister was seriously bullied over it), and I know kids can be cruel, but when I hear some of my neighbours use certain words and I know the stories from when I first moved its still very common and you know the kids picked it up from somewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,446 ✭✭✭Corvo Attano

In my school it would be a terrorist joke - a paddy joke - terrorist - paddy

You could not insult my english mate. He was teflon. A master of taking insults.

My asian mate was much the same - asian joke - paddy joke

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

HugsiePie wrote: »
    Ah but mimicery is very common, too common, and you can take it as a joke but there comes a limit, I was absolutely BADGERED with dumb fat American jokes when I first moved and the teachers did little to stop it, my sister used to come home and cry over it (my sister was seriously bullied over it), and I know kids can be cruel, but when I hear some of my neighbours use certain words and I know the stories from when I first moved its still very common and you know the kids picked it up from somewhere.

I've actually never experienced proper racism

I mean I've had random ejits saying stuff as they walked by or maybe a group of teenagers on the street or old people looking at me all weird but in school or elsewhere during conversations..I never got anything haha. And this is in North Dublin!

Maybe I'm just a very lovable person :pac:

Or maybe cos I'd be the first one to start the foreign jokes..:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,671 ✭✭✭✭Daniel7740

Just had to get vice grips to open a milk carton :/

Most asian joke revolve around rice, technology and overpopulation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 941 ✭✭✭11Charlie11

Daniel7740 wrote: »
    Just had to get vice grips to open a milk carton :/

Thought farmers were strong? :confused: :P

**** Danny was it a metal container?

Most asian joke revolve around rice, technology and overpopulation

I think I just scored a double :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,780 ✭✭✭jamo2oo9

Anybody here watch Revolution? Some are saying its deplorable but I like it. It's certainly better than the muck on the TV for the rest of the summer anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,971 ✭✭✭✭peekachoo

Nimrod 7 wrote: »
    I think I just scored a double :pac:

where are you from anyway? :P

China. Like all asians :pac:

you mean all asians that could be from like a dozen countries?

Yes Andy, we're all Made in China like everything else :pac:

Jaysus, things really can escalate quickly. I take it your American so?
    Did you find us irish spoke very fast when ya came here first? Cos I remember not to long ago we had American cousins over and they asked us to slow down our talking cos they couldn't understand us as we were talking too fast haha and I found they were talking quite slow haha

Do other nationalities take the piss out of themselves as much as the Irish do?

India, actually :o

HA. Screw you Andy :pac:

Coolbeans. I have an Indian friend, we sing Tunak Tunak Tun together. Its magical.

That seems uniquely Irish. Makes us hard targets when we laugh at insults.

And peek I'm well aware there;s more than China. Theres Japan also.

Thought farmers were strong? :confused: :P

We are ;) but I'm tired, arms are aching from work, an hadnt the patience to keep trying. Vice grips made short work of it :)

peekachoo wrote: »
    HA. Screw you Andy :pac:

Coolbeans. I have an Indian friend, we sing Tunak Tunak Tun together. Its magical.

Oh god I have no idea what that is..

Edit: MY EARS!! AAAHHHHH

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭decisions

India, actually :o
    Are you a little crazy or hyperactive? Because all the people I know of Indian descent (5 so not exactly a large sample size) are ****ing mental.

**** Danny was it a metal container?

No :/ and and when Id twist the lid the carton would just bend in from the pressure

Oh god I have no idea what that is..

Edit: MY EARS!! AAAHHHHH

WHAT KIND OF INDIAN ARE YOU??

Tunak Tunak Tun was a tuuuuuune in the gaeltacht. Always ended in a mosh. Guy got kicked in the face once and that ended that.

And Danny that is the hight of laziness.

decisions wrote: »
    Are you a little crazy or hyperactive? Because all the people I know of Indian descent (5 so not exactly a large sample size) are ****ing mental.

Would a crazy person admit that they're crazy?

I'm not crazy

I'll let you think about that for a bit..
    WHAT KIND OF INDIAN ARE YOU??

One in denial ;)

to be fair this lad also raaaaves about bollywood and how he's the king of curry.
    It's like he's looking for a slag. He's Indian enough for both of you I'd say hahaha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭decisions

Not really, I would have just stabbed the top of the carton. At least he bothered to open it properly.

After spending 8 hours picking stones yesterday, 4 this morning and about 5 hours using the chainsaw today, I think I have a good enough reason to be lazy :P

And i don't get paid for any of this work either :/

Before the leaving, that work wouldn't have knocked a feather out of me :/

to be fair this lad also raaaaves about bollywood and how he's the king of curry.
    It's like he's looking for a slag. He's Indian enough for both of you I'd say hahaha

Yeah I know those kind of people :p

I haven't watched a Bollywood movie in like 7 years..even then I didn't watch it cos I liked it and I don't really know any Indian music.

I'm perfectly happy with my English TV shows and my 1990-2010 rock, punk and alternative music :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,160 ✭✭✭✭HugsiePie

Jaysus, things really can escalate quickly. I take it your American so?
    Did you find us irish spoke very fast when ya came here first? Cos I remember not to long ago we had American cousins over and they asked us to slow down our talking cos they couldn't understand us as we were talking too fast haha and I found they were talking quite slow haha

Do other nationalities take the piss out of themselves as much as the Irish do?

Hmmmmmm, well the opposite, actually having been considered a slow talekr in the states I was told I spoke sooooooo fast over here, as for other nations taking the piss out of eachother, you dont, not when you've been over there for a while, people become very proud of their ancestry.

Must have just been the part they came from so.
    Irish are proud of where they came from to. We make jokes about our selves the whole time but if anyone else does it we get offended haha
    Tis like if your givin out about a member of your family and then if someone outside the family agrees with you, you start to get offended and start giving out to them haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

3 times a day every day you need a farmer.
    That what you tell the wimmen, Dan? :D
    You could not insult my english mate. He was teflon. A master of taking insults.

My asian mate was much the same - asian joke - paddy joke
    It's kinda about context though, isn't it?

Mate vs. mate ... slagging and insulting one another is normal, and just part of the craic.

If a stranger came out with some of the same lines it would be a much different matter. Even someone you might "know" but not get on with that well.

And you can usually tell from tone and body language whether someone is just taking the mick for the craic, or there's an undertone of spite there.