It's PanDENmonium! [Off Topic Chat]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Jhcx

Slow Show wrote: »
    How long would it realistically take someone to prepare for the theory test? I mean I know there are some people that are like 'I flicked through the book the night before and did grand' but let's face it, I know very little other than the most basic common sense, I've spent most of my car journeys through the years either reading or listening to music and just never cared for the road and when doing a practise test last year I got something terrible like 15/40.

If I booked it for the 23rd would I be grand? :P Also how long does it take for them to give you your provisional license assuming I pass, like tbh a huge motivation behind this is to have a new form of ID. :P

Buy the disc and you should be grand to go for the 23rd providing you do it at least 5times or as many as you can per day till you are confident you will just scrap it. whats it 35/40 your allowed right? i spent 1week studying it and passed first time round. The disc is a 100% copy of what you are going to see on the computer rather than a book at only 80% visually. books are useless for this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

I can't answer any of those questions Slow Show, but I decided to waste my time and do a mock one. :P

260869.JPG

I'm quite proud! :D

I would've passed too if I knew the stopping distance when braking or hadn't gone against my first instinct on a question about contacting insurance after a crash.

So really, if I can do it, you'll be fine for the 23rd. :P

Linky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,891 ✭✭✭iamanengine

Urgent advice needed!

So we don't have an oven in the house only a microwave oven. Can I cook a pizza from the shop in it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,590 ✭✭✭Pigwidgeon

Urgent advice needed!

So we don't have an oven in the house only a microwave oven. Can I cook a pizza from the shop in it?

Nope... Unless you buy micropizzas (do they still sell them). If it's a very desperate need for pizza, a take away would probably be your best solution .

Pigwidgeon wrote: »
    Nope... Unless you buy micropizzas (do they still sell them). If it's a very desperate need for pizza, a take away would probably be your best solution .

It's more of a case that it's the only food I have and I'm hungry :P Oh, it's a convection microwave, does that make a difference?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭Lightbulb Sun

Urgent advice needed!

Did this myself a month or two ago in a standard microwave. It just makes the pizza soggy but no harm done.

Nice, how long did you do it for?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭Lightbulb Sun

Nice, how long did you do it for?

5 minutes I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,761 ✭✭✭Lawliet

Probably a stupid question but why do you have frozen pizza and no oven?

Lawliet wrote: »
    Probably a stupid question but why do you have frozen pizza and no oven?

It was 99 pence and all I could afford :o

Side note, went for it, and it tasted totally normal, not soggy or anything, win!:cool:

Was it really hot all the way through? I'd personally have been more worried about it defrosting too fast and not getting hot enough to kill all the bacteria. Although I did have to do a two day food safety course last week so am still in the overly paranoid stage after that :P

Pigwidgeon wrote: »
    Was it really hot all the way through? I'd personally have been more worried about it defrosting too fast and not getting hot enough to kill all the bacteria. Although I did have to do a two day food safety course last week so am still in the overly paranoid stage after that :P

Yeah Im pretty sure it was piping hot plus I had let it defrost a little, so hopefully all is well :pac:

And they never heard from lamanengine again... :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,965 ✭✭✭SarahBeep!

How much is a theory test theses days?? I'm 21, should probably do it like....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,849 ✭✭✭bluejay14

SarahBeep! wrote: »
    How much is a theory test theses days?? I'm 21, should probably do it like....

Just booked mine earlier - €45

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,000 ✭✭✭Nerdkiller1991

So...anyone gonna watch Independence Day tomorrow?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,965 ✭✭✭SarahBeep!

Just booked mine earlier - €45

Ugh,robbery!

SarahBeep! wrote: »
    Ugh,robbery!

The practice disc thing is another like €22 too but I think the book is waaaaaay cheaper.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭suitcasepink

Everyone here and IRL are doing their theory tests... Starting to feel encouraged to do mine now

deise_girl wrote: »
    Everyone here and IRL are doing their theory tests... Starting to feel encouraged to do mine now

I have to do something with my summer apart from watching mind-numbing tv,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,248 ✭✭✭Slow Show

I dunno whether to spend 45 euro on the theory test or 40 euro on tickets for The National in November. Can't afford both and veering toward the latter at the moment. :P All shall be decided when I get paid tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 818 ✭✭✭MauraTheThird

I got a tattoo today, that's how I'm wasting my money since I did the theory test two years ago and haven't even booked a driving test yet :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Vito Corleone

I only did the theory test so I'd get into our local nightclub.

As a proud driver, and someone who takes driving very seriously. As it is a life long skill and always a learning curve, I dont approve of the above*

I've seen people who have just done their tests just for the sake of it. and managed to get out on the road. how dafuq they passed baffles me. Cause when they are out on the road they nearly kill people and i have seen it.

Some people are genuine about driving but then there are the few who want to do it cause its looks "cool"

*all the above is my opinion. im not giving out and couldnt careless what ye do. Just that i take driving serious and would like other road users to be serious too about it after all it can mean life or death

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,014 ✭✭✭Colm!

yeah, but a provisional makes good ID?

Colm! wrote: »
    yeah, but a provisional makes good ID?

It does and doesn't (at times). Never used mine for that reason. Didn't have it long enough.

I thought most places didn't accept driving licences as id? Or is it better with the new type?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,152 ✭✭✭Cakes.

Can we rename the den the "D&N" due to all the B&N talk...

Cakes. wrote: »

No.

:P

Cakes. wrote: »

... I.D required :pac: