Were you ever nearly kidnapped when you were younger?

• 02-07-2013 05:59PM
    Site Banned Posts: 192 ✭✭

When I was 12 I was outside the front of my house in the countryside. I was sitting beside a very low hedge. When I saw a car driving very slowly towards my house. It was a very distinctive car because it was a very old VW Golf. When the car got to the hedge it stopped and a man got out he was very scruff and in his 50's and he put he tried to grab me over the hedge. I quickly ran inside and got someone to come outside. By this time tough the man had driven away.
    Has anybody experiences like this when they were younger?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,674 ✭✭✭TheBody

will.i.am wrote: »
    When I was 12 I was outside the front of my house in the countryside. I was sitting beside a very low hedge. When I saw a car driving very slowly towards my house. It was a very distinctive car because it was a very old VW Golf. When the car got to the hedge it stopped and a man got out he was very scruff and in his 50's and he put he tried to grab me over the hedge. I quickly ran inside and got someone to come outside. By this time tough the man had driven away.

Can't say I had a similar experience. Guess I wasn't as sexy as a kid as you were.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

Wouldn't say nearly but was asked to get into a car on one or two occasions by complete strangers, know a few people it happened to in the local area aswell

• Closed Accounts Posts: 288 ✭✭daddyorchips

Damn sexy kids making the rest of us feel bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

Does abduction by aliens count?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

Is this why u make so much s h i t music

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Mariasofia

Im not sure but I know my first name is Stephen. :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

No.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I tried to kidnap a milkman when I was young.

Does that count?

I f*cking hated that milkman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

i was in stephens green many years back watching a punch & judy show and some ol'fella tapped me on the shoulder and asked me ...did i want to go to a party with him??

at that time i didn't know anything about peado's and the like, but i instinctively knew that something wasn't right and i told him to p!ss off!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭laoch na mona

no

now i feel left out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭Nemeses

fryup wrote: »
    i was in stephens green many years back watching a punch & judy show and some ol'fella tapped me on the shoulder and asked me ...did i want to go to a party with him??

at that time i didn't know anything about peado's and the like, but i instinctively knew that something wasn't right and i told him to p!ss off!

Did you actually say p!ss off or did you really say " mammy says I should never talk to strangers.. "

If not, then by god you were a rude little man!

• Site Banned Posts: 192 ✭✭will.i.am

Just so ye know I am not the real Will.i.am!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 790 ✭✭✭Sciprio

I was coming home from school in primary about third-fourth year. As i was walking past a junction a car stopped and a man ask me did i want sweets.

Sweets sounded nice at the time but i knew something wasn't right so i just turned and ran home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,624 ✭✭✭NoQuarter

When I was a nipper myself I came out of a shop one day and some bloke had an estate car. He said he had locked himself out of his car and would I climb in the back hatch of the car and open the locks from the inside. We have been happily married ever since.

Seriously though that did happen, I knew even as a child that it wasnt right and just cycled off. Always stuck with me until this day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,230 ✭✭✭Merkin

Just so ye know I am not the real Will.i.am!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

Nearly got done by a kiddie fiddler who lived next door to us when I was a kid. He was NI gentry, sent to the Free State :rolleyes: to live out his days to avoid scandal. He had me in his house to help find a lost cat or something. My parents arrived in the nick of time it seems. They only told me that when I was in my 40's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭General General

Definitely recall an offer of a lift when out walking with my sister, she flat out refused. I recall thinking something was 'not right'. I'd say I was 3 & she was 11.

I wish I could go back in time & find out for sure, wreaking a blood-curdling revenge for even trying, if something was 'off'.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 31,263 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Some ould fella tried me to get into his car when I was walking home from school. I would've been 13 or 14 at the time. He thought he'd be nice and offer me a lift because he thought I was going to walk from Limerick out to Shannon. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭The_Mask

Coming home from 4th or 5th class a woman in her mid 50s pulled up in a car beside me & a school friend and opened the car door. She said she worked for a major soft drinks company & asked what soft drinks we liked.. i shouted "Piss!" and told my friend to run. There had been reports of school kids being approached the previous few weeks but never heard any more of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,346 ✭✭✭King George VI

Me and my mate were walking down the street as young boys and a guy stopped in his car and said "c'mere, get in I have sweets." Me being a retard, I thought "free sweets, NICE!!!" And ran towards him. Mate grabbed me and shouted RUN AWAY YOU ****ING IDIOT.

For days after that I didn't forgive him for ruining my chance at free sweets until I copped that we nearly got nap'd.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,533 ✭✭✭SV

Myself and a friend were walking down the town one day when we were about 8 or 9 (Yes we went around town on our own then), was on the way to find my mother to ask her for some money as she worked in one of the shops down the main street.

Anyway we were walking down when this auld lad started staring at us walking the opposite way and my friend(who was a bit hardier than me at that age) told him to stop staring at us or he'll box the head off him. Not the smartest move now that I think about it and in fairness, what's a 9 year old kid gonna do to a full grown adult.
    Thought nothing more of it 'till 5 minutes later and a van pulls up beside us, the auld lad in it and he rushes out and tries to grab me and my friend by the neck and put us in the car, a lot of kicking and punching and shouting and he eventually let go, got into the car and drove off.

Very scary experience, got a partial registration of the car and had to do give a full statement to the Gardaí about it. Nothing ever came of it as far as I'm aware.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭Nemeses

I'm very glad to say no in this case.

Must be scary stuff for people to have experience something like this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,085 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

And none of you thought of calling the Gardai ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,533 ✭✭✭SV

SpaceTime wrote: »
    And none of you thought of calling the Gardai ??

You're about 6 minutes too late

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

Ireland must have the most useless pedos on the planet ,
    becasue child abduction in Ireland is extremely rare , in fact other than the case down in cork about ten years back can anyone remember a stranger taking a kid off the street in recent memory ? ( kids in the early 80's from rathfarnham coming home from school is the last un solved one i can think of )

but according to the amount of tales here the streets are just full of kidnappers trying with no success,
    so they really must be the worst at kidnapping in the world or its the most under reported crime in Ireland.

Ireland is SUPER safe for this kind of thing - but yet our closest neighbour is another story - go figure

dj jarvis wrote: »
    Ireland must have the most useless pedos on the planet ,
    becasue child abduction in Ireland is extremely rare , in fact other than the case down in cork about ten years back can anyone remember a stranger taking a kid off the street in recent memory ? ( kids in the early 80's from rathfarnham coming home from school is the last un solved one i can think of )

but according to the amount of tales here the streets are just full of kidnappers trying with no success,
    so they really must be the worst at kidnapping in the world or its the most under reported crime in Ireland.

Ireland is SUPER safe for this kind of thing - but yet our closest neighbour is another story - go figure

what would be the point in succeding, no one could afford ransom and Irish kids are to ugly to roide

i think the priests or Ireland might disagree with you :eek:

dj jarvis wrote: »
    i think the priests or Ireland might disagree with you :eek:

probably would actually

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,310 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

biko wrote: »
    aliens
    I believe they're called Mexicans these days?

probably would actually

well they had no problem riding kids , ugly or not