If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Has anything genuinely creepy or unnerving ever happened to you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭miss flutter ups

Apanachi wrote: »
    I don't know, I just like to think thay are still there watching over me, but different strokes for different folks I guess.

I have never (and probably never will) paid to see a psychic, but I like to hear them ramble on, "psychics" are gifted, that's for sure, even if their only gift is reading people and their emotions and picking up on things non-supernatural and using.

I find them fascinating, but cannot condone them preying on grieving people, conning them into believing things that aren't true and feeding on their vulnerability. It's fun if you don't take it seriously.

I do believe in the paranormal to some extent, but not in the psychics who charge you a fortune to feed you with BS

Actually went to a psychic for the Craic at one of those fairs in the skylon a couple of years ago. She told me I had stomach problems and low energy. (even reccomended b complex vitamins) She must double as a Dr as I have IBS & when getting bloods done to check for ceoliac I was told I was very low in Vit b12!

She also assured me I'd b kept on in my job, which I was & that there was a wedding coming up and my bro got engaged! I think it's only when U think back a couple of years later U think Jesus she was right! Lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,823 ✭✭✭fussyonion

Actually went to a psychic for the Craic at one of those fairs in the skylon a couple of years ago. She told me I had stomach problems and low energy. (even reccomended b complex vitamins) She must double as a Dr as I have IBS & when getting bloods done to check for ceoliac I was told I was very low in Vit b12!

She also assured me I'd b kept on in my job, which I was & that there was a wedding coming up and my bro got engaged! I think it's only when U think back a couple of years later U think Jesus she was right! Lol

I don't think I'd like to go to a psychic..I don't want to know what the future holds for me, good or bad.
    I just don't think I'd like the fact someone knows stuff about me, it'd freak me out way more than the actual news she/he had for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭miss flutter ups

fussyonion wrote: »
    I don't think I'd like to go to a psychic..I don't want to know what the future holds for me, good or bad.
    I just don't think I'd like the fact someone knows stuff about me, it'd freak me out way more than the actual news she/he had for me.

Tbh she could have seen my rubbing my tummy and assumed id cramps/tummy upsets etc
    Maybe the energy thing was due to me looking tired etc but I am a bit intrigued :)

See you don't think at the time she's telling the truth (unless U really take them seriously) so I never had that fear. Even as the stuff happened I had completely forgot about her. But then something reminds U of the day and it hits U. I think I recall her saying there's kids coming up in the future (I thought she was mad) low and behold I had a little girl!-I've literally only remembered her having said that now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,823 ✭✭✭fussyonion

Tbh she could have seen my rubbing my tummy and assumed id cramps/tummy upsets etc
    Maybe the energy thing was due to me looking tired etc but I am a bit intrigued :)

See you don't think at the time she's telling the truth (unless U really take them seriously) so I never had that fear. Even as the stuff happened I had completely forgot about her. But then something reminds U of the day and it hits U. I think I recall her saying there's kids coming up in the future (I thought she was mad) low and behold I had a little girl!-I've literally only remembered her having said that now

Yeah, my Mam went to see a psychic back in 1984 and she was told she would go on to have two daughters-one in the next 2 years and one 4 years after that.
    My Mam did have 2 daughters in that time frame.

She also told her that, in her fifties, she would have problems with her womb, and that's true now too.

I am not a skeptic..In fact, I think it's because I DO think there's something out there that makes me go cold.

I'm also one of those people who'd freak out if a deceased loved one came to "visit" me one night, even though that shouldn't scare me, only comfort me, but it would.

If you're dead, stay dead, don't come visit me.

I am intrigued to know what lies ahead for me BUT my fear of knowing the unknown is far greater.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 783 ✭✭✭HerrScheisse

A guy I know, when his missus gets ready for the early shift, would give him a gentle tug on the foot to let him know she was leaving. She does this so as not to disturb the newborn that sleeps in the same bedroom.

So one morning, as usual he feels a tug on his foot. He mumbles and dozes back off as is his habit. A short time later, he feels a tug again, he thought she must have forgot something so mumbled and back to sleep he went. Then he felt it a third time, but more urgent tugging, this was not normal so he sat bolt upright. Nobody there, and his missus was deep asleep right next to him. He did not sleep anymore that morning!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭Seedy Arling

A guy I know, when his missus gets ready for the early shift, would give him a gentle tug on the foot to let him know she was leaving. She does this so as not to disturb the newborn that sleeps in the same bedroom.

So one morning, as usual he feels a tug on his foot. He mumbles and dozes back off as is his habit. A short time later, he feels a tug again, he thought she must have forgot something so mumbled and back to sleep he went. Then he felt it a third time, but more urgent tugging, this was not normal so he sat bolt upright. Nobody there, and his missus was deep asleep right next to him. He did not sleep anymore that morning!

You sure it was his foot being tugged?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭AllthingsCP

Few years back i was walking home about 3.00 am in the morning on a back road after a nights work no lights complete darkness, walking past a old gate on a stretch of a more dangerous part of road i hear children playing really clearly laughing and joking like they where running circles around me pulling at my jacket then i could see the outline of figures at the gate looking right at me and been Irish i say ''How are ya'' well before the last word left my mouth i was down that road in at-least 30 seconds, I felt that the whole journey home i was followed and joked at by these little ''b'' sorry pests, the dogs when crazy that night and every time i pass that patch of the road in the car i would not walk it i lock the doors and i get the awful shivers. Few months later i looked into it and found that in the late 70's a car crash into the wall supporting the gate killing the whole family's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Ice Storm

Palmy wrote: »
    Poor lady I bet never even new what happened in that house.
    She's better off not knowing tbh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭thedarksh1te

When I was younger I worked with a guy who was older than me from the same area. We got along well and when I finished the job we'd stop in the street and chat away. One night I went to the local and he was there I asked him how he was etc then went to another table. A guy from my school came in with his older brother and a mate and sat at our table, they were a bit rowdy and after a while I left with a pal. I said goodbye to my mate and went home. That night I went to bed and had a dream my friend in the pub got stabbed. I got up the next morning and got a call shortly afterwards and found out one of the guys sitting at our table had words with my friend and smashed a bottle and stuck it in his face scarring him very badly. How strange is that! We don't talk anymore now because he thinks I knew what was going to happen to him hence I left the pub. I feel sad for the guy but how weird is it that I dreamt something like that happened to him and something actually did!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭aidoh

GTR63 wrote: »
    long story short it was several rats.
    First genuine 'LOL' in a long time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭[-0-]

I was on the train from Dublin to Limerick years ago. Last train late at night, we were about an hour from Limerick station and I was alone in the last carriage. Some lad gets on at the next stop, and sits directly across from me. He's starting at me, constantly, and I'm like WTF. I ask if he's alright and he says God sent him here to kill me, and proceeds to start choking me. It was mental. I beat the living shit out of him, luckily enough. Mad bastard all the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭[-0-]

I came home from a nightclub one night and made a cup of tea and a rasher sammich. I sit down by the fire and I'm eating it. Looking out my sliding door I see a fella walking past the garden. A few seconds later I see his head peep in through the gate. Then I see him lift himself up so he can see in over the wall. I'm thinking "what the hell is he doing"? There's a lamp post outside and he stands against it, just staring in at me. He waves... I'm fairly freaked. Being drunk and kinda aggressive I guess, I get up and go to the sink to wash my plate, and I don't see him anymore out the window. Grand I think. I go back and sit down by the fire again and there he is standing RIGHT OUTSIDE the sliding door, in my garden. Every hair on my body stands up and I just freeze. He has this big evil looking smile on his face. I run to the press under the sink to grab a hatchet. By the time I get to the sliding doors he's gone. Freaked me out. I had completely forgotten about this until just now. Madness!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,850 ✭✭✭FouxDaFaFa

[-0-] wrote: »
    I was on the train from Dublin to Limerick years ago. Last train late at night, we were about an hour from Limerick station and I was alone in the last carriage. Some lad gets on at the next stop, and sits directly across from me. He's starting at me, constantly, and I'm like WTF. I ask if he's alright and he says God sent him here to kill me, and proceeds to start choking me. It was mental. I beat the living shit out of him, luckily enough. Mad bastard all the same.
    Talk about enemies in high places.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭Fox_In_Socks

Few years back i was walking home about 3.00 am in the morning on a back road after a nights work no lights complete darkness, walking past a old gate on a stretch of a more dangerous part of road i hear children playing really clearly laughing and joking like they where running circles around me pulling at my jacket then i could see the outline of figures at the gate looking right at me and been Irish i say ''How are ya'' well before the last word left my mouth i was down that road in at-least 30 seconds, I felt that the whole journey home i was followed and joked at by these little ''b'' sorry pests, the dogs when crazy that night and every time i pass that patch of the road in the car i would not walk it i lock the doors and i get the awful shivers. Few months later i looked into it and found that in the late 70's a car crash into the wall supporting the gate killing the whole family's.

Where was this out of interest?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭markievicz

Weird things have been happening to me since I was about 13. Every time there is a missing child case on tv or in the news in general, I swear I can 'see' them at the bottom of my stairs at night. They are just standing there in the hallway beside my front door. Funny thing about it is that I always see them a day or two before they are found dead. It really freaks me out, the first few times it happened it really frightened me. I actually jumped a few times. I've moved house since then but it still happens. I've taken to running down the stairs to get out of the hallway as soon as I can to avoid it!
    I've seen Holly & Jessica the two girls who were killed by the caretaker in England & Milly Dowler amongst others. I thought it might have been a trick of the mind because their faces were all over the tv but I've seen people I don't recognise or know who are found dead and are later in the newspapers or on tv. I'm 25 now and it still happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭mutley18

I went and bought a ladle one day as I had no ladle, got a nice one in Tesco, few days later I am using my epic new ladle making soup, go to the drawer to get a knife to butter some bread and low and behold the ladle is in the drawer, hang on no its not, it's in the pot, what the f**k, why is there two? Lets compare, ok they are identical, now I am ****ting myself...

To this day it still creeps me out. I have no idea how there is two, did the one I bought give birth in the f**king cutlery drawer or what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭Gilbert Grape

Lived in an old flat just off the city walls in Derry and a few strange things happened in the short time i was there.First up was the time i had a few friends round and all of a sudden a glass slides along the table and stops at the edge of the table,everybody freaks out wondering what happened.Then a few nights later in an empty flat above i hear a baby crying and what sounds like the mother singing to the baby,so i open the door and start to walk up the stairs and the sound stops and a f**kin cat scares the bejesus outta me,nobody owned cats in the place so could'nt explain what it was.Then the last thing that happened was laying in bed one night,big economy 7 heater on full blast in the room but you could feel the cold and when i breathed you could see the mist from my mouth(was'nt bad breath either),so then i started to get attacked by something,covering my mouth and being held down and not able to do anything to stop it,the following day a brother came to the flat with his dog and the dog just would not come near the flat,moved out that day and later found out the place was built on an old jail from the seige of Derry times and a lot of people were hanged there,just writing this now and the hairs still stand on my neck just remembering it.The street was called Artillery Street

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭mutley18

Hmmmm....reading backs through this I don't think my ladle cuts the mustard, some creepy stories on here.

(Yes the ladle scoops the mustard, beat you to it smartarse) :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭housetypeb

A few years ago I was driving from Rosslare to Cork,having just come off the ferry, when I saw this well dressed young fellow hitching a lift by the the side of the road with a back plastic by his side,now I've hitched enough when I was younger and always appreciated a lift when I got it so I picked him up,in he hopped, throwing the obviously very heavy black plastic bag into the back seat.
    We were having a great conversation about everything and anything until I asked in passing "What's in the bag?"
    "None of your god dammed business" was the reply in a totally different tone of voice from the previous conversation, I let it slide but I thought it was kind of rude of him.
    Later on I asked him again what was in the bag and he replied again in a very cold manner-"none of your god dammed business."
    I had to pull in for petrol around Cobh so as I was filling up he went to the toilet,I decided to take the opportunity and have a quick look in the plastic bag when he was out of sight.
    Jesus ****ing christ, I nearly fainted when I looked in the plastic bag,I ran in to pay and asked the girl behind the counter to call the police right away, while the young fellow was still in the toilet, fair play to the police they were there before he got out of the toilet and after looking in the plastic bag they had no choice but to arrest him.
    I'll never forget that day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭Reamer Fanny

housetypeb wrote: »
    A few years ago I was driving from Rosslare to Cork,having just come off the ferry, when I saw this well dressed young fellow hitching a lift by the the side of the road with a back plastic by his side,now I've hitched enough when I was younger and always appreciated a lift when I got it so I picked him up,in he hopped, throwing the obviously very heavy black plastic bag into the back seat.
    We were having a great conversation about everything and anything until I asked in passing "What's in the bag?"
    "None of your god dammed business" was the reply in a totally different tone of voice from the previous conversation, I let it slide but I thought it was kind of rude of him.
    Later on I asked him again what was in the bag and he replied again in a very cold manner-"none of your god dammed business."
    I had to pull in for petrol around Cobh so as I was filling up he went to the toilet,I decided to take the opportunity and have a quick look in the plastic bag when he was out of sight.
    Jesus ****ing christ, I nearly fainted when I looked in the plastic bag,I ran in to pay and asked the girl behind the counter to call the police right away, while the young fellow was still in the toilet, fair play to the police they were there before he got out of the toilet and after looking in the plastic bag they had no choice but to arrest him.

So what was in the bag?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 333 ✭✭Vivara

Well what the fück was in the bag?

justryan wrote: »
    So what was in the bag?

None of your god dammed business.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 817 ✭✭✭audman

Lies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 333 ✭✭Vivara

audman wrote: »
    Lies.

Exactly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

None of your god dammed business.

Cannot believe you got bites for that one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,369 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

If you're going to troll the thread you could pick something that A) Is original, and B) Wasn't posted in this very thread already. Get out.
    http://intellegentignorance.blogspot.ie/2007/03/time-i-picked-up-hitch-hiker.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭Lingua Franca

Hasn't that joke already been done several times in this thread? How are people still falling for it?
    i hear a baby crying and what sounds like the mother singing to the baby,so i open the door and start to walk up the stairs and the sound stops and a f**kin cat scares the bejesus outta me,nobody owned cats in the place so could'nt explain what it was

It was the cat. Do you really not know that horny cats sound exactly like crying babies and terrible karaoke? Lucky you! I can't abide cats but they treat my garden like a nightclub so I'm frequently treated to their screeching.

Also, cats don't give a toss if it's not their own house. Places where cats can be are places where cats will go. They are cats. They will go have sexytime wherever they please. Cats don't care for leases.

Zillah wrote: »
    If you're going to troll the thread you could pick something that A) Is original, and B) Wasn't posted in this very thread already. Get out.
    http://intellegentignorance.blogspot.ie/2007/03/time-i-picked-up-hitch-hiker.html

A, It's original if people who reply to it haven't seen it before.
    b not my problem if it was posted already,not everyone,including
    myself, cares enough to to read the whole thread.

I'l get out when I feel like it,and I post when I'l feel like too,I don't need your permission to post,even if you are somehow under the impression that you're the final arbiter of what's allowable in this particular Afterhours thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

A, It's original if people who reply to it haven't seen it before.
    b not my problem if it was posted already,not everyone,including
    myself, cares enough to to read the whole thread.

I'l get out when I feel like it,and I post when I'l feel like too,I don't need your permission to post,even if you are somehow under the impression that you're the final arbiter of what's allowable in this particular Afterhours thread.

Insert appropriate "Watch out! We got a badass over here!" pic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 heroinlove

One time I was looking forward to getting home from work and I didn't know how to get home from work.Heroin.