Have you ever been to a Brothel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭DaveDaRave

I stick to street hookers, they're cheaper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭dotsman

Her boss made $50, I have no idea whether she made any money. Seems that is the nature of "sex work".

You deem your single experience, in what sounds like a ****hole of a brothel, to be enough for you to determine the "nature of sex work"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

DaveDaRave wrote: »
    I stick to street hookers, they're cheaper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,928 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

No Officer, I have never been in a brothel.

Heh heh heh smart!
    But yeah, I havent either. How physically repulsive, nauseatingly unattractive and desperate do you have to be, to have to fork out a small fortune just to get a woman to wander within two feet of you? That said i don't get much action now.. I still have my pride dammit!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 734 ✭✭✭Tom_Cruise

Yeah when i was Cork city one time. To be honest i thought the woman we kind of ugly and expensive. I actually asked the pimp for a discount and a free bottle of alcohol but he said no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

In my experience, the ones who say they have usually haven't, and the ones who say they haven't usually have. It's the question where everybody lies.
    Tom_Cruise wrote: »
    Yeah when i was Cork city one time. To be honest i thought the woman we kind of ugly and expensive. I actually asked the pimp for a discount and a free bottle of alcohol but he said no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Specialun wrote: »
    I was in one years ago in Manchester

Whereabouts?

For...um... research.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

Tom_Cruise wrote: »

You really have to wonder about some people :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,919 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

No, but I did ride a law student who worked as a prostitute in order to finance her studies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭Pug160

Merkin wrote: »
    While I'm totally in favour of regulated prostitution (the fact that it's safer for sex workers than being on the streets) I think there's something desperate and slightly minging about a guy paying for sex. Having to pay for it? Really? It also suggests to me that at a very basal level they don't regard women particularly highly. You can argue that it's there so why not avail of it but in my experience the nice guys don't....

It's not a straightforward issue. There are all sorts of reasons why someone might pay for sex. Some of them maybe don't regard women very highly but you could say the same thing about chauvinistic or even misogynistic players who just go out to put another notch on their bedposts. I would also argue that you don't know what a lot of these so called nice guys are getting up to when you're not around.

It could also be argued that paying for it is at least very honest. How many times have you heard a guy telling a girl what she wants to hear, then getting the ride and letting her down? I'm not advocating prostitution by any means but it's not as black and white as some make it out to be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

Now I'm not stating that most prostitutes have been trafficked because I have no idea. We do know that a percentage of them have - how do you know the one you're sleeping with hasn't been?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 43 Locanfetzava

I was in the Boiler House a good few times whether that place could be described as a brothel or not. :cool:

I am actually barred from there now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭Pug160

Now I'm not stating that most prostitutes have been trafficked because I have no idea. We do know that a percentage of them have - how do you know the one you're sleeping with hasn't been?

Common sense probably. If she's clearly Irish or British that's a good start. Also, the term reassuringly expensive comes to mind here. If you're paying a relatively low amount of money for someone who looks very attractive and she's foreign then alarm bells should be ringing.

Being trafficked and forced to be a sex worker must be horrendous but it does seem to be a political fetish to overestimate it and label the majority of sex workers as being trafficked. In my opinion it would be obvious if they were and some guys simply don't care. They are scum for doing that just as the traffickers are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75,483 ✭✭✭✭L1011

I was in the Boiler House a good few times whether that place could be described as a brothel or not. :cool:

I am actually barred from there now.

I think that's about as close to a brothel as Coppers is - you're paying a venue for a fairly certain chance....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,305 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Prodston

Was in Barcelona a couple of years back and there was a big group of us. Wandered into a shiny sex-shop on the way to a bar. We were after pre-drinking at that stage too but in at the back there was a bar and one 40 year old stripper by a pole and it was the most depressing, sad, sorry sight we'd ever seen.

Got plenty offers on the streets. La Rambla was rife with em. They were fare mangey though and hard to shake off :eek: Had a few run ins in Vietnam and Thailand too. But an actual brothel you say? Nope.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 43 Locanfetzava

MYOB wrote: »
    I think that's about as close to a brothel as Coppers is - you're paying a venue for a fairly certain chance....
    Its hit and miss though and at €23 in it can be quite costly if nothing happens on the other hand on a busy night you could score a few times.

The Dock is a dirty kip and is like a real brothel of the 70's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Yes , a few years ago on a stag night in Spain , about eight of us visited a brothel , I was married as were two more of my friends .. the three of us were only there for the ambience .

The Stag wasn't haven't a bar of it either , but the other four were up for it.

Things were going fine for the four muppets , the girls pissed themselves laughing at one of the lads who had a t shirt with a picture of his own mickey on it, even the barmen and bouncers were enjoying the idiots from Ireland.. as ya'all know, even the best laid plans often go tits up .. one of the four took out his phone and started to video the occasion , in the row/panic that broke out the Stag fell on a glass and needed eight stitch's and one of the other four got smack of a telescopic baton.

So that is why visiting brothels is not a good idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭Daniel2590

I was in the brothel in Pompeii if it counts :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 Preventable

mattjack wrote: »
    Yes , a few years ago on a stag night in Spain , about eight of us visited a brothel , I was married as were two more of my friends .. the three of us were only there for the ambience .

The Stag wasn't haven't a bar of it either , but the other four were up for it.

Things were going fine for the four muppets , the girls pissed themselves laughing at one of the lads who had a t shirt with a picture of his own mickey on it, even the barmen and bouncers were enjoying the idiots from Ireland.. as ya'all know, even the best laid plans often go tits up .. one of the four took out his phone and started to video the occasion , in the row/panic that broke out the Stag fell on a glass and needed eight stitch's and one of the other four got smack of a telescopic baton.

So that is why visiting brothels is not a good idea.

But these all sound like excellent reasons to have a stag in a brothel.

Its all there, humor, sex, a run in with the police, hilarious fighting with prostitutes, A+E, stuff to hide from the wimminz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,597 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Lol at the insinuation that it's only seedy desperate blokes who use hookers. If you are free and single and fancy a smash with no strings then go for it.

It's hard to avoid them in Prague. There's a few in every post code. :pac:

It's not all munters either. There are some cracking broads on the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 Preventable

Aidric wrote: »
    Lol at the insinuation that it's only seedy desperate blokes who use hookers. If you are free and single and fancy a smash with no strings then go for it.

It's hard to avoid them in Prague. There's a few in every post code. :pac:

It's not all munters either. There are some cracking broads on the game.

Its just another format of the same 'value transfer' at the end of the day.

True love is much haughtier as we can regularly see from all the homeless guys walking around with models.
    Indeed love seems to sometimes happen to ugly nerds with cash, but somehow escapes those ugly nerds without cash.

Now Im saying that they're gold diggers......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

Daniel2590 wrote: »
    I was in the brothel in Pompeii if it counts :pac:

Ah me too!! Gas place! The size of the beds!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Zen65

Aidric wrote: »
    Lol at the insinuation that it's only seedy desperate blokes who use hookers.

Instinctively I would have assumed this to be the case, but this book (which I have not read, just read the reviews) written by an Irish woman who acted as a prostitute / escort for a time provided a different insight. The author indicates that many of the men she met were in fact far nicer than many of the men she dated. I think there's a more than one type of person who uses these services, and many different reasons why they do.

I've not been to such establishments (though I've been in a few bars where I had suspicions about activities 'upstairs') and I don't think I'd be tempted at this stage in my life. I cannot imagine being thrilled at the notion of being intimate with somebody who did not know me nor care for me. I do think there's good cause to suggest that there is room in the market for a legal, heavily-regulated escort service which would protect the health of its workers though I cannot see how that would happen in my lifetime in this country.

Z

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,013 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

I might have almost picked up a prostitute by accident.

I was just after moving to Dublin and got lost driving back from a friend's house one night. I crossed a bridge over the grand canal and slowed to a stop to try find a sign to figure out where teh fook I was. I saw a slim woman wearing jeans and low-cut top standing on the side of the road, looking at me. I took no notice of her, glanced around to try find a sign, then noticed she was walking towards the car. I realised what was going and quickly drove off in a random direction.

She may have been somebody kind enough to offer directions to this confused bogger that just happened to be dressed provocatively, but who knows.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭MOC88

No, but before I head out I think its hilarious to look up the numbers of local escorts and ring them and ask them how much to do freaky **** and see how long before they hang up... some of them are really prepared to work for their money. And no, I never take them up on the offers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

MOC88 wrote: »
    No, but before I head out I think its hilarious to look up the numbers of local escorts and ring them and ask them how much to do freaky **** and see how long before they hang up... some of them are really prepared to work for their money. And no, I never take them up on the offers
    That sounds pretty pathetic in fairness.

Jimoslimos wrote: »
    That sounds pretty pathetic in fairness.

It probably is but tis all for the craic

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 147 ✭✭Speisekarte

What's funnier is ringing them up and keep asking about the parking. When they start running their spiel keep interrupting and say " no, tell me more about the parking".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭dotsman

So, you think it's fun to act like a complete a$$hole to people you have never met? Do you get some fcuked up sexual thrill from this? Have you ever even met a woman you could respect as a person? What age are you?

What's funnier is ringing them up and kelp asking about the parking. When they start running their spiel keep interrupting and say " no, tell me more about the parking".

Saturday night is made