Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat II

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

got a new iphone here and going to have to get one of you to tell me how to upload pictures while the screen is still visable. there are bets being taken round here on how long i will be able to keep it in working condition. so far this friday is the shortest odds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

Knocked a meadow. Might try get a bit of hay off it if it stays dry. If not will wrap it up. Fecking tractor cut out in the middle of it. Sounds like dirty diesel. Was too dark when I was finishing to try do anything about it. Last thing I wanted to happen. Working tomo so will be tomo evening before I can do anything with it now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

From €1350 to €2000 for young continentals with calves at foot I heard on local radio farming news at 7 this morning. Wasn't there but David Quinn said there was increased demand. Older cows made €950 - €1700

interesting, have to go to my local supplier to pick out a couple in calf heifers to replace couple cows marked for culling this year so will have idea of what prices are at moment, is everyone insisting that any bought in animals are BVD tested

also seeing as cull cows are going well at moment I am tempted to Cull a few more of the older heavy cows now and buy a few replacements,
    the cows are fine, just the culls are making good money at moment and am tempted to cash in, has anyone else thought about it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

1chippy wrote: »
    got a new iphone here and going to have to get one of you to tell me how to upload pictures while the screen is still visable. there are bets being taken round here on how long i will be able to keep it in working condition. so far this friday is the shortest odds.

get yourself an otterbox or similar 1chippy
    it has saved my iphone on countless occasions
    http://www.amazon.co.uk/s/?ie=UTF8&keywords=otterbox+iphone&tag=googiehydra-21&index=aps&hvadid=24870618423&hvpos=1t2&hvexid=&hvnetw=g&hvrand=17889202971572099734&hvpone=&hvptwo=&hvqmt=b&ref=pd_sl_3qmside74j_b

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

hugo29 wrote: »
    just the culls are making good money at moment and am tempted to cash in, has anyone else thought about it

that ship has sailed for now anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Political deal reached on CAP, suppose it'll be in the Journal tomorrow.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2013/0626/458963-cap-reform/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

http://www.rte.ie/news/2013/0626/458963-cap-reform/[/QUOTE]

As always the devil will be in the detail I suppose :(

nashmach wrote: »

http://www.rte.ie/news/2013/0626/458963-cap-reform/[/QUOTE]

As always the devil will be in the detail I suppose :(

Yep, if Covenenys interview last week is a guide to go by, then I don't think we'll know all of that until Sept/Oct time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭jetfiremuck

1chippy wrote: »

Get an Otter box ffs . Ive dropped mine a few times no problems. Heavy duty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭Midlandsman80

Hi All,

Not sure if this is the right thread for this post...

We have a few cattle to sell at the moment and I am unsure if I will go to the Mart or factory with them, ideally I would have the grass to feed them but we don't...

What weight would you put on these?
    They are all 27 months and from a QA farm.
    They are BB from BF's and have been getting 3-4kg of meal the last 6-7 weeks plus grass. Ad lib silage and 2-3 kg of meal in the shed.

We are not that long bringing cattle to this stage to any advice would be appreciated..

Attachment not found.

Hi All,

Could you give your opinion on an approx weight on these two bullocks? have possible sale and would not be sure on what to estimate them at? thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

Hi All,

Could you give your opinion on an approx weight on these two bullocks? have possible sale and would not be sure on what to estimate them at? thanks.
    impossible to do as we cant get any idea of size, as there is nothing to judge size against,thought 1 was around 400 kgs but then saw age so cant guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭dharn

Bb crosses look to be near 500 freisans look less

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

Hard to say from those photos but the BB's are probably around 510kgs and the FR 460kgs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

I seen that in the farm section of the zoo!

Muckit wrote: »
    I seen that in the farm section of the zoo!

Yeah I'd say that's where it was taken, it's like their fencing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

went on a drive today to find oh relations , we found them, amazed to see the loads of turf coming from the bog, none of that at home

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

Going doing that for the in laws tomorrow depending on weather. Ure welcome to join us. We won't even charge u for the experience. :P

Sometime the damp evenings are grand, sit down on couch and watch football and not feel like should be out doing something,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

Glad to get the bit of silage wrapped up yesterday, before the sup of rain. Back a bit on last year, but the quality is better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Bizzum wrote: »
    Glad to get the bit of silage wrapped up yesterday, before the sup of rain. Back a bit on last year, but the quality is better.
    Sup of rain what phucking rain:confused::confused::confused::confused::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭jomoloney

delaval wrote: »
    Sup of rain what phucking rain:confused::confused::confused::confused::confused:

got 140 top quality wraps yesterday and slurry out straight away , beautiful damp overcast drizzly morning here :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

delaval wrote: »

We got so much rain yesterday before baleing that we had to leave half a paddock behind us, the ground got that wet. Big deep tracks through the whole thing. Didn't do half the amount of damage last year! :confused::confused:

reilig wrote: »
    We got so much rain yesterday before baleing that we had to leave half a paddock behind us, the ground got that wet. Big deep tracks through the whole thing. Didn't do half the amount of damage last year! :confused::confused:

did it rain that heavy with you reilig, it wasnt that bad over here and we are not million miles apart, drizzle mostly with couple heavy short showers,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

hasnt really made any rain here as such but its the 2nd day of this of mist / drizzle rubbish, think i can forget about my bit of hay , buck it anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

What a bitch . Im sure you couldnt imagine that kind of rain on the day you were cutting but would it be an option to sacrifice a days wilting and just to bale it up straight away or a few hours even .

We started our pit silage yesterday evening , its drizzly here now but if it doesnt get heavier we will soldier on .

hugo29 wrote: »
    did it rain that heavy with you reilig, it wasnt that bad over here and we are not million miles apart, drizzle mostly with couple heavy short showers,

It started raining at 7am. Rained heavy till 10 am. Then drizzle till 12. Several heavy showers throughout the day then till we got finished baleing at 10pm. Seriously pi$$ed off with it all at this stage! :mad:

moy83 wrote: »
    What a bitch . Im sure you couldnt imagine that kind of rain on the day you were cutting but would it be an option to sacrifice a days wilting and just to bale it up straight away or a few hours even .

We started our pit silage yesterday evening , its drizzly here now but if it doesnt get heavier we will soldier on .

Wilting was a waste of time this time around. It was all wet. We had to wait for the contractor. Baleing when you want is the advantage of having your own baler!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Wilting was a waste of time this time around. It was all wet. We had to wait for the contractor. Baleing when you want is the advantage of having your own baler!

If contractors are that thin on the ground where you are buying a baler might stack up alright .
    I assume you make a few hundrer bales a year , around here one contractor has offered to agitate the slurry for free and spread it at cost just to get the baling from a few lads that would have a decent amounts for baling !

All the same for under 10 k I would think you would get a good enough baler for your own use