White Male Discrimination

• 27-06-2013 08:27PM
    Site Banned Posts: 51 ✭✭

Have you ever been discriminated against fro being a man?

I was house hunting last weekend and I went to view a bedsit in Terenure. I was the only guy at the viewing which was attended by 5-6 others, all who were female. The landlord made a ridiculous assumption when he was speaking to me that I was a heavy drinker.

He said to me that 'this house wouldn't be the type of place for your mates to come over and drink cans.' I assured him I didn't drink which he just smiled as though I was lying.

Is there an aspect of Irish society which discriminates against single Irish men? If I was a different nationality in that instance do you think the guy would have raised concerns about the stereotype associated with another nationality?

I've been coming across a lot of this while house hunting, 'females only' or competing with a majority of foreigners for a room only to be let down at the last minute and the place going to someone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

Y'all don't know what it's like,
    Being male, middle class and white.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,433 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

It's a hard life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭Swan Curry

"As a white man,I am discriminated against" is quite possibly one of the stupidest things ever said.

Being white and male gives you a massive amount of privilege,don't pretend it makes anything more difficult for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Yeah, I'm as oppressed as an onion on an ironing board.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

Yeah, I can't quite understand why I keep getting kicked out of the ladies toilets in my local.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭leddpipe

I think its a valid question!Havnt experienced it myself!But focus on the young Irish man aspect versus young Irish females, or older men or women!I dont think hes trying to say hes been subjugated all his life or anything!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Phill Ewinn

Swan Curry wrote: »
    "As a white man,I am discriminated against" is quite possibly one of the stupidest things ever said.

Its no longer 1998.

Yes it happens OP. I'd have punched that fvcker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

Young males are typically more trouble than young females for landlords. You might be an exception, the landlord doesn't know that and may not be much of a judge of character.

There really is no benefit in getting your knickers in a twist over it, looking for college accommodation is stressful enough as it is.

It would be entirely different if he was discriminating against you for some baseless reason, then you'd have my sympathy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,605 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

He stereotyped your ass.Lets be carefull out there people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Being white and male gives you a massive amount of privilege,don't pretend it makes anything more difficult for you.
    Fair point, but you can't pretend that some discrimination doesn't take place either.

The male parent in a separated family would be one where discrimination is rife.

In fact the whole issue of fathers rights is rampant with discrimination.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Clandestine

Go back to tumblr

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

You can't make a joke about anything with out being hit with an ..ism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,815 ✭✭✭imitation

humbert wrote: »
    Young males are typically more trouble than young females for landlords. You might be an exception, the landlord doesn't know that and may not be much of a judge of character.

There really is no benefit in getting your knickers in a twist over it, looking for college accommodation is stressful enough as it is.

It would be entirely different if he was discriminating against you for some baseless reason, then you'd have my sympathy.

And sure [Insert Race here] are more likely to rob people, thats why I avoid them like the plague and make sure I don't hire any of them types. They needn't get there knickers in a twist about it.

Sure tis not like there is anything wrong with sterotyping people at all, and its completely different to racism !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

White, male, young, living in a social democracy in Western Europe.

Any slight or perceived discrimination you encounter doesn't even register on the discriminator machine.

Since when do landlords interview prospective tenants in groups?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭Marsden

Was going into a nightclub years ago in town and was told "You do know its R'n'B night tonight" by the bouncer. I thought yes that's fine I like a bit of MC hammer or whatevers. I didn't realize it was a hint that if I went in, me and my friend would be the only honkies in there.

So to answer your question, no, I've never been discriminated against for being a white male.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭laoch na mona

the white man history's victim

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭Marsden

kneemos wrote: »
    Since when do landlords interview prospective tenants in groups?
    Since there's a huge abundance of perspective tenants and a massive shortage of houses to rent. They can have their pick of the litter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Mariasofia

My hubby suffered fierce discrimination while on holidays. I was allowed to go trampolining with my son but my husband was told "white men can't jump". :)

*runs*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,407 ✭✭✭lkionm

Jaysus, if the boards mods were there, they would have banned him in a flash.

Oh, their powers don't work outside of here?

Do they?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

Marsden wrote: »
    Was going into a nightclub years ago in town and was told "You do know its R'n'B night tonight" by the bouncer. I thought yes that's fine I like a bit of MC hammer or whatevers. I didn't realize it was a hint that if I went in, me and my friend would be the only honkies in there.

So to answer your question, no, I've never been discriminated against for being a white male.

LOL

me and two of my mates went out clubbing on a sunday in dublin , now we are hairy bikers ( or were )
    i waltzed in past the bouncers no prob - but stopped my two mates and said " sorry lads - you do know its gay night dont you ? " , my two mates fell around laughing - they did not feckin say it to me :D

still went in , great night had - but never allowed forget that :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

I was house hunting last weekend and I went to view a bedsit in Terenure. I was the only guy at the viewing which was attended by 5-6 others, all who were female. The landlord made a ridiculous assumption when he was speaking to me that I was a heavy drinker.

He said to me that 'this house wouldn't be the type of place for your mates to come over and drink cans.' I assured him I didn't drink which he just smiled as though I was lying.

Is there an aspect of Irish society which discriminates against single Irish men? If I was a different nationality in that instance do you think the guy would have raised concerns about the stereotype associated with another nationality?

I've been coming across a lot of this while house hunting, 'females only' or competing with a majority of foreigners for a room only to be let down at the last minute and the place going to someone else.

I used to work as an agent for a few landlords doing bedsits - I also used to give this warning to everyone who I showed flats to, regardless of sex or ethnicity. Most landlords/agents do it - it covers them for when someone in their premisis does inevitably take the piss on the issue and they have to have words or give them notice, because they were made well aware of the rules before keys were even handed over.

Wouldn't take it personally OP

Since there's a huge abundance of perspective tenants and a massive shortage of houses to rent. They can have their pick of the litter.

Thought there was a shortage of tenants and an abundance of houses?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Yep, a landlord would presume that a woman would not have her mates round for a few scoops. Totally believable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Even I'm not convinced you weren't lying, to be fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭EyeSight

the OP is not making this up. I have been told "girls only" before when looking for a place to live. Landlords assume they are cleaner

I was once rejected for a job in a shop because, and i quote "we usually only hire women". It was a general store type place before i get any smart comments...
    I was surprised she said that to me. Why not just pretend i was ****. If a man said that to a women he would be brought to court

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

EyeSight wrote: »
    the OP is not making this up. I have been told "girls only" before when looking for a place to live. Landlords assume they are cleaner

I was once rejected for a job in a shop because, and i quote "we usually only hire women". It was a general store type place before i get any smart comments...
    I was surprised she said that to me. Why not just pretend i was ****. If a man said that to a women he would be brought to court
    Not wanting to get into a battle of the sexes, but they mustn't have had many tenants if they think girls are always cleaner.:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Was going into a nightclub years ago in town and was told "You do know its R'n'B night tonight" by the bouncer.

I'm surprised you weren't given the rhythm test before being allowed to proceed.

Not wanting to get into a battle of the sexes, but they mustn't have had many tenants if they think girls are always cleaner.:pac:

Better off with a herd of pigs by all accounts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭leddpipe

imitation wrote: »
    Sure tis not like there is anything wrong with sterotyping people at all, and its completely different to racism !

Is this sarcasm or not? :pac: