Can You Drive A Tractor?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭Seedy Arling

Naw
    Yes, its been a long time though.

• Site Banned Posts: 280 ✭✭Dr_Brian_Cocks

Yes a nice big 150hp one :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,274 ✭✭✭darragh o meara

Naw
    Have driven an old MF35 on many occasions and put down a lot of hours in a nice new Fendt a few summers back. In fairness the newer ones are as easy as cars to drive, the older ones though.... Well that's a different story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,059 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Growing up we had something like this on our farm. A Porsche tractor from some time in the 60's. We had it until about 15 years ago. The brake didn't work any more, so we could only use the clutch. It had to be started by hotwiring it. We use to have to drape bags of cement over the front it we wanted to lift anything heavy at the back.

I loved driving it, and when I was a kid my father always promised me it would be mine some day. Then he went and sold it to som collector of old tractors, the bastard!

http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-uBzeidwamVA/T6rGos_NWKI/AAAAAAAAAKQ/M11gdes1TKI/s1600/69.+Porsche+Tractor.jpg

can't embed a pic for some reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Ruudi_Mentari

Surei don't know until I've tried... like pushing a lawnmower right? Only a big noisy petrol one, with a seat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,042 ✭✭✭who the fug

Naw
    osarusan wrote: »
    Growing up we had something like this on our farm. A Porsche tractor from some time in the 60's. We had it until about 15 years ago. The brake didn't work any more, so we could only use the clutch. It had to be started by hotwiring it. We use to have to drape bags of cement over the front it we wanted to lift anything heavy at the back.

can't embed a pic for some reason.

Our international B275 never had brakes or battery and was interesting to drive.

never bothered with bags of cement just split the brakes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Naw
    Have driven an old MF35 on many occasions and put down a lot of hours in a nice new Fendt a few summers back. In fairness the newer ones are as easy as cars to drive, the older ones though.... Well that's a different story.

Kinda the opposite with me, found it no bother to drive the older models but I had a guy doing some digger work around the place and he asked me to move the new John Deere for him and the amount of levers and pedals around me in the cab was unreal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭Katunga

Naw
    Yes I can and I not a farmer. Spent to many of a hours in the cab john Deeres , deutz and new Hollands

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,237 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Naw
    Arrr. Drew many a 20-ton load a turf down from the bog in Murroe, Co. Limerick. That's an interesting one as it's in the crater of a dormant volcano, so you have scary gradients up and down to it. Prudent use of the transmission is recommended. :D

Naw
    Katunga wrote: »
    Yes I can and I not a farmer. Spent to many of a hours in the cab john Deeres , deutz and new Hollands

The new ones are fantastic yokes altogether, with their aircon and power shift and what-have-you. I remember the old days when any given tractor you encountered was likely to be an extremely bockety MF 165 with no brakes and less steering. BTW, not a farmer either, but very culchie. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 260 ✭✭Franticfrank

I never drove one but I really hated all the tractor related questions that came up on the written part of my driving test. I think one was 'what is the optimal speed to flip a tractor?' Needless to say, I got that one wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

Naw
    So, my sophisticated friends, can you drive a tractor?

Th REAL question is, can you 'back' a trailer?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

Naw
    I can surely. We've a Case. have no problem with the trailer but wouldn't be hectic on the loader. The last time I stacked bales in the hay shed I pushed them in too far and pushed out the rear galvanise. Needless to say I was ate that day.

Naw
    Rasheed wrote: »
    I can surely. We've a Case. have no problem with the trailer but wouldn't be hectic on the loader. The last time I stacked bales in the hay shed I pushed them in too far and pushed out the rear galvanise. Needless to say I was ate that day.

The gentle sounds of the countryside part one

The young fella getting a bolicking , normally tractor related

Naw
    The gentle sounds of the countryside part one

The young fella getting a bolicking , normally tractor related

Young(ish) girl actually but still got a class A bollocking alright!

Got another one for topping a field having not looked for stones and breaking two blades.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

Well able to drive one, also have ticket(licence) for excavator, dump truck, teleporter and more. Used to issue licences for these during the boom, I was an instructor. Have spend countless hours mowing, baling etc etc. The joys of the countryside. I can also back a trailer pretty damn good too.

Naw
    Young(ish) girl actually but still got a class A bollocking alright!

Got another one for topping a field having not looked for stones and breaking two blades.

Glad to see you old fella was equal opportunities, sister took part of the roof off the house with a loader and got a never mind :mad:

Naw

Like that. Hymac 520 digger, sticking front bucket lever, garage roof with an overhanging eve. Do the math. Did I get furked out of it!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

I surely can drive a tractor. Twas the first thing I drove. That and a Honda 50. A red one, not a blue one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

Naw
    The real question is: can you reverse a trailer full of silage?

Naw
    Glad to see you old fella was equal opportunities, sister took part of the roof off the house with a loader and got a never mind :mad:

Ha! No I got the the same treatment for fcuking up as the lads did! Granted, they fcuked up more often!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,299 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

I am a culchie. This may come as a shock to some of you, I know how to use a pedestrian crossing, a roundabout, and the internet, even order food in fancy restaurants like McDonalds and KFC,

I pity thee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Naw
    Tractors are getting fecking complicated. My mates lambo is more like the cockpit of a fighter jet than a road vehicle.

Naw
    I'm driving tractors since I was about 8 and still love it. Nothing better then getting out of the lab/office and heading home to the farm on a friday evening or taking a few days off to help with sileage and spending all day (and half the night maybe) working with the tractor. Fendt ftw :D

I'd love to be able to spend the whole summer in the cab of a tractor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

No. BUt I want to learn! Anyone wanna teach me?! Must have frontage.

Where's the culchie forum again???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Larianne wrote: »
    No. BUt I want to learn! Anyone wanna teach me?! Must have frontage.

Where's the culchie forum again???

You can have a go on mine. The box is fairly rough and the back end is leaking a bit, but she's grand for learning on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

You can have a go on mine. The box is fairly rough and the back end is leaking a bit, but she's grand for learning on.

Sounds very inviting!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭BrensBenz

Tried to start my uncle's tractor once. Gave up. The key was in d'ignishin and no, I wasn't beaten by some fancy security device. There is (or was) a magic formula for starting a tractor, involving several secret, consecutive actions that only Macra members know about.

However, this failure came in handy some years later while tied to a chair, in our work canteen, being "assessed" by Dubs as to whether I was a Dub or a redneck. Things were looking bad for some time but my admitted failure to make a tractor commence moved my status from suspected redneck to confirmed pinkneck. I was released but kept under surveillance for any culchie tendencies, e.g. laughing at car horns or going to Clerys on 8th December to buy a topcoat that I'd grow into.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,306 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

BrensBenz wrote: »
    Tried to start my uncle's tractor once. Gave up. The key was in d'ignishin and no, I wasn't beaten by some fancy security device. There is (or was) a magic formula for starting a tractor, involving several secret, consecutive actions that only Macra members know about.

However, this failure came in handy some years later while tied to a chair, in our work canteen, being "assessed" by Dubs as to whether I was a Dub or a redneck. Things were looking bad for some time but my admitted failure to make a tractor commence moved my status from suspected redneck to confirmed pinkneck. I was released but kept under surveillance for any culchie tendencies, e.g. laughing at car horns or going to Clerys on 8th December to buy a topcoat that I'd grow into.

It's called sticking a burning newspaper dipped in diesel up the air intake while cranking the engine :D

Naw
    BX 19 wrote: »
    It's called sticking a burning newspaper dipped in diesel up the air intake while cranking the engine :D

Or heating the diesel with a gas torch if the glow plugs are fooked :D