Why do the Irish make such a big deal out of approaching members of the opposite sex?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭iwantmydinner

Oh give me a break, lets take some famous people....Angelina Jolie,im sure there are many men who would say 10/10.....and some night totally disagree,how many would say 3/10?? not very many I would wager

Same with George Clooney or whoever,we all have our taste but your being laughably pc if you want to claim there aren't different levels of attractiveness, tell this to the chubby girl on the night out hanging around with her model buddy...you think they would get the same attention from men?? im sure there will be guys who prefer the chubby one but how many compared to the model?.....Jesus

Oh FFS. No one said there aren't differing levels of attractiveness. But using a numerical scale is incredibly reductive and annoying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭Weathering

Boofle wrote: »
    Did you ever consider that it's not that Irish girls are stuck up and self-important but rather the the issue lies within yourself and your dreadful misogynistic attitude?

No

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭caustic 1

After hours eh, never ceases to amaze me. Say a comment and wooohhhhyay everybody jumps on the bandwagon to bring person down peg or two.

Don't you know you are not allowed to have an opinion all on your own.

Tsk live and learn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭Boofle

Weathering wrote: »
    No

Well maybe you should.

I don't what sort of places you frequent but I would never treat any man who would approach me for a chat in the manner being described here. It's simply not fair to just announce that all Irish women are stuck up, rude and self-important based on your experience alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭Table Top Joe

Oh FFS. No one said there aren't differing levels of attractiveness. But using a numerical scale is incredibly reductive and annoying.

Ok,since it upsets you so much ill stop(God knows we have people here who would argue there aren't though)

Theres a very interesting discussion to be had here....its not being had though(and ill take some of the blame for that,really shouldn't have brought those two up:o)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭pharmaton

Did you ever consider that it's not that Irish girls are stuck up and self-important but rather the the issue lies within yourself and your dreadful misogynistic attitude?
    On the TableTopJoe scale I reckon I'd be a comfortable 6 1/2..maybe 7 at a push but even if they were Daniel Craig lookalikes I cant find anything attractive in people like that. Rating people by numbers and objectifying to the point of dehumanizing women in order to cater to their needs? I find them repulsive tbh, it's hardly surprising they get rejected a lot. Stomach churning stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

Oh give me a break, lets take some famous people....Angelina Jolie,im sure there are many men who would say 10/10.....and some night totally disagree,how many would say 3/10?? not very many I would wager

See that's why it helps to talk from an individual perspective and not try to extrapolate and generalise based on your own individual opinion.

The chances are you'd lose that bet too btw. Angelina was gorgeous about ohh 15 years ago in Tomb Raider, but her constant yoyo dieting and of course time haven't been kind to her. I never saw the fascination with Julia Roberts either, certainly wouldn't give her a bite of my apple. You're doing it again though where just because you think a certain way, you think "most people" would think the same way.

Same with George Clooney or whoever,we all have our taste but your being laughably pc if you want to claim there aren't different levels of attractiveness

I'm not telling you there are different levels of attractiveness at all, I'm saying it's useless trying to come up with a metric to measure an intangible and individual quantity. What's more attractive to you might be less attractive to me.

As for any assertion that I might be any way politically correct, I hadn't meant to give you that impression as I've worked hard on my reputation as the most incorrigibly perverted bastard on Boards, so to hear I might have any politically correct leanings is terribly disappointing tbh as I'm quite proud of my reputation and have no time for that overindulging self-sanctimonious politically correct nonsense whatsoever.

tell this to the chubby girl on the night out hanging around with her model buddy...you think they would get the same attention from men??

Yes actually, I do, but then I'd be slightly biased because the guys would have to form an orderly queue behind me in vying for the attentions of the chubbier girl, horses for courses and all that, as in I could still say the slimmer girl was attractive, just not as attractive to me personally than her chubbier friend.

im sure there will be guys who prefer the chubby one but how many compared to the model?.....Jesus

I know you'll think I'm blowing smoke up your tailpipe, but honestly Joe in my opinion, and based on my experience, it's a hard one to call as they'd be pretty even in terms of the attention they get from guys. And, very much the same as some guys, they too sometimes tend to ignore the attention of those guys they're not interested in and then go on that no guys ever approach them! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 100 ✭✭Singularity 1

it's a bit awkward being on one side of a discussion as well, when you're worried about association with posters who put out borderline-misogynist stuff.

+ a million. You'll always get the odd misogynist posting crap, but what's really annoying is when someone tries to express a geniune opinion about gender topics, which is in no way offensive, and then gets lumped into the same basket with the misogynists.

Czarcasm wrote: »

Yes actually, I do,

Good Jesus......would be interesting what women would say to this,i have **** to do and this feels very circular, I don't agree with you at all....but its been fun anyway Mr Czarcasm ,see you later on for more nonsense maybe *tips hat*

Well maybe you should.

I don't what sort of places you frequent but I would I would never treat any man who would approach me for a chat in the manner being described here. It's simply not fair to just announce that all Irish women are stuck up, rude and self-important based on your experience alone.

Okay fair enough you sound like a nice lady but I doubt you go out on the clubbing scene. I'm 23 and since I was 18 a lot more girls have behaved in this manner. I get it a lot of fellas treat girls like sh1t and are only after one thing but I'm not like that. Perhaps I worder my argument wrong I didn't mean every Irish girl I meant there has been a percentage increase of this behaviour.

I was pist off by a previous poster who stated I "can't get a ride" that's whats wrong with me and i was moron. She based my opinion was related to sex which is disgusting. Then I stated I had a gf for 3 years and it had nothing to do with sex to which another poster said "she's a lucky girl" I let myself down with my comments in response. I let myself stoop to their level

pharmaton wrote: »
    On the TableTopJoe scale I reckon I'd be a comfortable 6 1/2..maybe 7 at a push but even if they were Daniel Craig lookalikes I cant find anything attractive in people like that. Rating people by numbers and objectifying to the point of dehumanizing women in order to cater to their needs? I find them repulsive tbh, it's hardly surprising they get rejected a lot. Stomach churning stuff.

Ill give you a 7 if you wear glasses.....what would you prefer? "they were both small dumpy girls,about a stone overweight with plain faces?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Ill give you a 7 if you wear glasses.....what would you prefer? "they were both small dumpy girls,about a stone overweight with plain faces?"
    Can you not just say 'girls that you didn't happen to be attracted to'?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭iwantmydinner

Did u report the "lady" who said I can't get a ride on a night out??? Didn't think so. SEXIST DOUBLE STANDARDS.

You want me to fight your battles after being so aggressive towards me!? :rolleyes:

Also, PMSL at the accusation of sexism from the guy who told me to "go make the dinner"

Okay fair enough you sound like a nice lady but I doubt you go out on the clubbing scene. I'm 23 and since I was 18 a lot more girls have behaved in this manner. I get it a lot of fellas treat girls like sh1t and are only after one thing but I'm not like that. Perhaps I worder my argument wrong I didn't mean every Irish girl I meant there has been a percentage increase of this behaviour.

I was pist off by a previous poster who stated I "can't get a ride" that's whats wrong with me and i was moron. She based my opinion was related to sex which is disgusting. Then I stated I had a gf for 3 years and it had nothing to do with sex to which another poster said "she's a lucky girl" I let myself with my comments back I let myself stoop to their level

Thanks, I am a nice lady lol :D I definitely go out on the clubbing scene (I'm not that ancient!) and I actually find it rather sad that you are coming across girls behaving like this.

I know I have had some shocking things said to me by men in nightclubs before but I wouldn't let myself become bitter against all men - as they are just a few random idiots in my opinion - so maybe these girls have had some bad experiences and have let it colour their judgement of any man who approaches them.

You want me to fight your battles after being so aggressive towards me!? :rolleyes:

Also, PMSL at the accusation of sexism from the guy who told me to "go make the dinner"

Nope I was stating the high levels of hypocrisy from you. You're not good at detecting sarcasm are u?

Aggressive? Where? From the girl who was liking posts I couldn't get a ride and stating my gf was a lucky gal you're not all innocent are u. Blinded by your level of ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭lufties

Seanafitz wrote: »
    I know a lot of woman who wouldn be going ou on a night ou on a hunt for a fella ... we have better things to do than go husband hunting in a bar full of drunken Irish idiots

jaysus you'd be great craic to have a drink with.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,713 ✭✭✭eireannBEAR

Seanafitz wrote: »
    its simple ... Woman don't wana be picked up in bars these days ... Most woman go ou for a good time with friends... Being chatted up in a bar when your tryin to have a night out is very annoying ...

most girls love it,its only the unattractive friends that get annoyed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,316 ✭✭✭darlett

most girls love it,its only the unattractive friends that get annoyed.

Yeap. The ones who are at most a 5 and a half to six really don't like it.

<Runs>

darlett wrote: »
    Yeap. The ones who are at most a 5 and a half to six really don't like it.

<Runs>

Do some men actually stand in a pub/nightclub and comment to each other about what numbers the girls walking by are? Or do they just figure out her "number" and keep it to themselves? I'm intrigued!

genuinely about 50% of young guys out together on the pull...would be discussing scores. but you can be very hit and miss due to the beer goggles. you might score a 4, a 9 depending on how drunk you are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,754 ✭✭✭Itwasntme.

:pac::p

Ah, shtaaaap. :)

Immature, unsophisticated, gormless, stupid men do. About three quarters of nightclub goers so.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,098 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

CAN EVERYONE STOP RATING HUMAN BEINGS ON A NUMERICAL SCALE.

Thanks.

C+

Immature, unsophisticated, gormless, stupid men do. About three quarters of nightclub goers so.:pac:

and who are you to say that??? thats the basic facts of young guys going out,if you had any friends when you were younger you might of known that.

genuinely about 50% of young guys out together on the pull...would be discussing scores. but you can be very hit and miss due to the beer goggles. you might score a 4, a 9 depending on how drunk you are.

Yeah I bet it's very hit and miss with the good old beer goggles :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Mariasofia

A1 Sharon ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,134 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

A lot of lads do the 1-10 attractiveness scale thing.

and who are you to say that??? thats the basic facts of young guys going out,if you had any friends when you were younger you might of known that.
    Yeah, look what I missed out on. . . :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 100 ✭✭Singularity 1

Other contributing factors are the lighting and her level or orangness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,316 ✭✭✭darlett

Coakley is the master! Beware the Stew Fish

Warning: May contain educational content :P