EU bans menthol cigarettes

• 21-06-2013 05:05PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭

http://www.rte.ie/news/2013/0621/457896-eu-cigarettes/

I honestly don't understand what's going through the heads of those idiots we have as politicians.

I don't know anyone who smoked menthols when they started smoking. Do ye?

And menthols tend to have the lower tar and nicotine amounts. Why not ban stronger cigarettes instead?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

kraggy wrote: »

I honestly don't understand what's going through the heads of those idiots we have as politicians.

And menthols tend to have the lower tar and nicotine amounts. Why not ban stronger cigarettes instead?

Or ban neither and **** off out of people's affairs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Smoking any kind of cancer stick is menthol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭wush06

That's cool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭wobzilla1

Will that include mint flavoured rolling tobacco?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,599 ✭✭✭patmac

Don't blame them tried them once rotten yokes, doing everyone a favour for a change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭Nemeses

Sorry, I thought this thread was a joke or something.

What the...

I have lost faith in all of humanity..

We live in democracy? Sorry lads, We live in a form of communism, Just under a different name called the EU.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

wobzilla1 wrote: »
    Will that include mint flavoured rolling tobacco?

and liquorice rizzlas

Nemeses wrote: »
    We live in a form of communism, Just under a different name called the EU.

The former communist nations are against it :)
    Countries such as Poland, Bulgaria, Romania, Slovakia and the Czech Republic had opposed the plan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

I went to my local pharmacy a couple of weeks ago to stock up on e-cigerette cartridges and was told they're not allowed to sell them anymore because the Government banned them, was buying from there for a couple of years, now I'm back smoking regular cigarettes. Need to get the finger out and order the stuff online

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

http://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/janice-atkinson/safer-alternative-to-cigarettes-banned-by-eu_b_2827043.html

Watch what happens when a pharmacy-only restriction is brought in on e-cigs.

The former communist nations are against it :)

I saw that actually, Fair play to them.

No the point I was just trying to make was.. We, as a nation did not vote on this.

My view on this EU union BS is, its really just one man.. controlling many nations.

Edit: Or lady..

I saw that actually, Fair play to them.

No the point I was just trying to make was.. We, as a nation did not vote on this.

My view on this EU union BS is, its really just one man.. controlling many nations.

Edit: Or lady..

Smoking is like the national pastime in Bulgaria

Tis my past time too. Is it any of your business? Nope.

Personally, I don't smoke the menthol ones however I get them now and again as they are nice and relaxing. Saves having a slap of chewing gum afterwards :P

Tis my past time too. Is it any of your business? Nope.

Personally, I don't smoke the menthol ones however I get them now and again as they are nice and relaxing. Saves having a slap of chewing gum afterwards :P

Ever get them ones that have the option to be menthol? I always pick the little ball of menthol out when I'm finished smoking and pop it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

http://online.wsj.com/article/SB10001424127887323300004578559420520549946.html?mod=googlenews_wsj
    Ireland's Health Minister James Reilly, who led the negotiations, said more research was necessary to establish whether e-cigarettes are indeed a safe alternative to regular cigarettes. He also stressed that authorities had to make sure that the devices didn't drag nonsmokers into nicotine dependency.

"They do contain nicotine, a highly addictive product that causes damage in its own right," said Mr. Reilly, himself a former smoker. "It may be less toxic, but less toxic doesn't mean more-safe to me."

What the actual f....?????

Banning a safer alternative to tobacco in case people get addicted to nicotine, when it is TOBACCO smoke that kills people and that is legally available without pharmacy-only restrictions in newsagents across the land and TAXED by Govt.

Idiots.

"less toxic doesn't mean more-safe to me"

tox·ic (tksk)
    adj.

1. Of, relating to, or caused by a toxin or other poison: a toxic condition; toxic hepatitis.
    2. Capable of causing injury or death, especially by chemical means; poisonous: food preservatives that are toxic in concentrated amounts; a dump for toxic industrial wastes. See Synonyms at poisonous.

Prize idiot frankly.

Ever get them ones that have the option to be menthol? I always pick the little ball of menthol out when I'm finished smoking and pop it.

I know the ones. Just dont take out the ball before smoking - that liquid tastes rotten ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,732 ✭✭✭scamalert

By demanding that e-cigs be authorised as medicinal products, it means that the market will be literally taken over by the pharmaceutical industry preventing the small companies selling the product to compete by lack of human resource or money.
    as article has a bit of sense,it seems author is stupid enough thinking that pharmacies are behind it :pac:
    As its totally Smoke companies who are pushing this in,reason being the threat of e-cigs kills a lot of profit on real cigs,also since e are a lot cheaper and increasing in choice to substitute tobacco cigs.By making push towards only pharmacies it will lure out most customers,as common how stupid it will be going in and buying your liquid into pharmacy,when you can buy smokes on every corner.
    Saying that im smoker myself,bad habit and everything,but people choose their own poison,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

So anyone going to stockpile them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

So James Reilly led the negotiations, Shame on him. Typical Irish style in banning things..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,450 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

James Reilly is an imbecile. How he even manages to tie his laces in the morning I'll never know.

El Guapo! wrote: »
    James Reilly is an imbecile. How he even manages to tie his laces in the morning I'll never know.

He doesn't - He has Velcro-straps because he's a "big boy" now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

kraggy wrote: »

I only discovered menthol cigarettes a few years after I started smoking but I know they kept me smoking for longer than I would have had they not been available.

But I agree with you, the whole idea is a load of crap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

MadsL wrote: »
    http://online.wsj.com/article/SB10001424127887323300004578559420520549946.html?mod=googlenews_wsj

What the actual f....?????

Banning a safer alternative to tobacco in case people get addicted to nicotine, when it is TOBACCO smoke that kills people
    Not correct I'm afraid. Nicotine itself has plenty of dangerous side effects. It's exactly your kind of thinking that is leading the government to consider banning them - people think they are safe because they aren't cigs.

Menthol cigs are being banned because studies have shown that increasing numbers of teenage girls, the fastest growing group of smokers, take the menthol route into smoking. The thinking is that many of these wouldn't start smoking if they had to smoke normal smokes. Surely even the dyed in the wool smoker would accept that if this measure stops even one person a year from smoking then it's worth doing. Reilly is to be commended on this, shame he didn't go farther. Tobacco companies need shutting down. There's no pleasant end to a smokers life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

If menthol cigs are indeed designed by tobacco companies to get children addicted to their lethal life-wrecking products then **** 'em.

Wtg EU.
    tbh wrote: »
    Tobacco companies need shutting down.

I'm totally against this as tobacco would just become another revenue stream for violent thugs. Prohibition has been a costly abject failure that has harmed people far more than the drugs they take.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

Not correct I'm afraid. Nicotine itself has plenty of dangerous side effects. It's exactly your kind of thinking that is leading the government to consider banning them - people think they are safe because they aren't cigs.

What about caffeine? I suppose we should start banning coffee next.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

pmcmahon wrote: »
    What about caffeine? I suppose we should start banning coffee next.

And large bodies of water. Someone might drown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Good news for the illegal cig traders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,450 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

Menthol cigs are being banned because studies have shown that increasing numbers of teenage girls, the fastest growing group of smokers, take the menthol route into smoking. The thinking is that many of these wouldn't start smoking if they had to smoke normal smokes. Surely even the dyed in the wool smoker would accept that if this measure stops even one person a year from smoking then it's worth doing. Reilly is to be commended on this, shame he didn't go farther. Tobacco companies need shutting down. There's no pleasant end to a smokers life.

If people are going to smoke then they're going to smoke. End of.
    There's no point in saying that the banning of menthol smokes will reduce the number of smokers; because it won't.

Menthol cigarettes aren't some kind of carrot on a stick that draws young girls in. They smoke because they want to.
    If the government really wanted to look after people's health then they'd ban stronger cigarettes or ban cigarettes altogether.

I'm a smoker and I agree it's a disgusting habit, but simply banning products willy nilly isn't the way to go about it. And they also mentioned increasing the size of the warnings on the packets. What's that gonna do?? The warnings are clear for people to see. It's not as if smokers are blind and need bigger writing on the boxes.
    It just smacks of the government and the EU not having a clue what to do about people smoking so they come up with more and more ridiculous ideas each time.

Saying that menthol cigarettes entice young girls in, is akin to blasting marijuana as the "gateway drug". It's a terrible argument that just doesn't make any sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

Gbear wrote: »
    Or ban neither and **** off out of people's affairs.

That's grand, as long as you don't expect government-funded i.e public healthcare because you've developed emphysema or worse, lung cancer.

And before you say it, "well what about fast food, should we ban that too?". The fact of the matter is that 1 out of 2 smokers will die from smoking. That's a massive toll on the health service.

I say this as a social smoker myself by the way.
    nuxxx wrote: »
    I went to my local pharmacy a couple of weeks ago to stock up on e-cigerette cartridges and was told they're not allowed to sell them anymore because the Government banned them, was buying from there for a couple of years, now I'm back smoking regular cigarettes. Need to get the finger out and order the stuff online

How are there 2 shops in Galway selling them right now if they're banned?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

And large bodies of water. Someone might drown.

...and breathing, someone might inhale the stench out of a certain minister's office :pac: