Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

EU bans menthol cigarettes

• 21-06-2013 4:05pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭

http://www.rte.ie/news/2013/0621/457896-eu-cigarettes/

I honestly don't understand what's going through the heads of those idiots we have as politicians.

I don't know anyone who smoked menthols when they started smoking. Do ye?

And menthols tend to have the lower tar and nicotine amounts. Why not ban stronger cigarettes instead?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

kraggy wrote: »

I honestly don't understand what's going through the heads of those idiots we have as politicians.

And menthols tend to have the lower tar and nicotine amounts. Why not ban stronger cigarettes instead?

Or ban neither and **** off out of people's affairs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Smoking any kind of cancer stick is menthol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 694 ✭✭✭wush06

That's cool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭wobzilla1

Will that include mint flavoured rolling tobacco?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,602 ✭✭✭patmac

Don't blame them tried them once rotten yokes, doing everyone a favour for a change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭Nemeses

Sorry, I thought this thread was a joke or something.

What the...

I have lost faith in all of humanity..

We live in democracy? Sorry lads, We live in a form of communism, Just under a different name called the EU.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

wobzilla1 wrote: »
    Will that include mint flavoured rolling tobacco?

and liquorice rizzlas

Nemeses wrote: »
    We live in a form of communism, Just under a different name called the EU.

The former communist nations are against it :)
    Countries such as Poland, Bulgaria, Romania, Slovakia and the Czech Republic had opposed the plan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

I went to my local pharmacy a couple of weeks ago to stock up on e-cigerette cartridges and was told they're not allowed to sell them anymore because the Government banned them, was buying from there for a couple of years, now I'm back smoking regular cigarettes. Need to get the finger out and order the stuff online

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

http://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/janice-atkinson/safer-alternative-to-cigarettes-banned-by-eu_b_2827043.html

Watch what happens when a pharmacy-only restriction is brought in on e-cigs.

The former communist nations are against it :)

I saw that actually, Fair play to them.

No the point I was just trying to make was.. We, as a nation did not vote on this.

My view on this EU union BS is, its really just one man.. controlling many nations.

Edit: Or lady..

I saw that actually, Fair play to them.

No the point I was just trying to make was.. We, as a nation did not vote on this.

My view on this EU union BS is, its really just one man.. controlling many nations.

Edit: Or lady..

Smoking is like the national pastime in Bulgaria

Tis my past time too. Is it any of your business? Nope.

Personally, I don't smoke the menthol ones however I get them now and again as they are nice and relaxing. Saves having a slap of chewing gum afterwards :P

Tis my past time too. Is it any of your business? Nope.

Personally, I don't smoke the menthol ones however I get them now and again as they are nice and relaxing. Saves having a slap of chewing gum afterwards :P

Ever get them ones that have the option to be menthol? I always pick the little ball of menthol out when I'm finished smoking and pop it.

http://online.wsj.com/article/SB10001424127887323300004578559420520549946.html?mod=googlenews_wsj
    Ireland's Health Minister James Reilly, who led the negotiations, said more research was necessary to establish whether e-cigarettes are indeed a safe alternative to regular cigarettes. He also stressed that authorities had to make sure that the devices didn't drag nonsmokers into nicotine dependency.

"They do contain nicotine, a highly addictive product that causes damage in its own right," said Mr. Reilly, himself a former smoker. "It may be less toxic, but less toxic doesn't mean more-safe to me."

What the actual f....?????

Banning a safer alternative to tobacco in case people get addicted to nicotine, when it is TOBACCO smoke that kills people and that is legally available without pharmacy-only restrictions in newsagents across the land and TAXED by Govt.

Idiots.

"less toxic doesn't mean more-safe to me"

tox·ic (tksk)
    adj.

1. Of, relating to, or caused by a toxin or other poison: a toxic condition; toxic hepatitis.
    2. Capable of causing injury or death, especially by chemical means; poisonous: food preservatives that are toxic in concentrated amounts; a dump for toxic industrial wastes. See Synonyms at poisonous.

Prize idiot frankly.

Ever get them ones that have the option to be menthol? I always pick the little ball of menthol out when I'm finished smoking and pop it.

I know the ones. Just dont take out the ball before smoking - that liquid tastes rotten ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭scamalert

By demanding that e-cigs be authorised as medicinal products, it means that the market will be literally taken over by the pharmaceutical industry preventing the small companies selling the product to compete by lack of human resource or money.
    as article has a bit of sense,it seems author is stupid enough thinking that pharmacies are behind it :pac:
    As its totally Smoke companies who are pushing this in,reason being the threat of e-cigs kills a lot of profit on real cigs,also since e are a lot cheaper and increasing in choice to substitute tobacco cigs.By making push towards only pharmacies it will lure out most customers,as common how stupid it will be going in and buying your liquid into pharmacy,when you can buy smokes on every corner.
    Saying that im smoker myself,bad habit and everything,but people choose their own poison,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

So anyone going to stockpile them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

So James Reilly led the negotiations, Shame on him. Typical Irish style in banning things..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

James Reilly is an imbecile. How he even manages to tie his laces in the morning I'll never know.

El Guapo! wrote: »
    James Reilly is an imbecile. How he even manages to tie his laces in the morning I'll never know.

He doesn't - He has Velcro-straps because he's a "big boy" now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

I only discovered menthol cigarettes a few years after I started smoking but I know they kept me smoking for longer than I would have had they not been available.

But I agree with you, the whole idea is a load of crap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

MadsL wrote: »
    http://online.wsj.com/article/SB10001424127887323300004578559420520549946.html?mod=googlenews_wsj

What the actual f....?????

Banning a safer alternative to tobacco in case people get addicted to nicotine, when it is TOBACCO smoke that kills people
    Not correct I'm afraid. Nicotine itself has plenty of dangerous side effects. It's exactly your kind of thinking that is leading the government to consider banning them - people think they are safe because they aren't cigs.

Menthol cigs are being banned because studies have shown that increasing numbers of teenage girls, the fastest growing group of smokers, take the menthol route into smoking. The thinking is that many of these wouldn't start smoking if they had to smoke normal smokes. Surely even the dyed in the wool smoker would accept that if this measure stops even one person a year from smoking then it's worth doing. Reilly is to be commended on this, shame he didn't go farther. Tobacco companies need shutting down. There's no pleasant end to a smokers life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

If menthol cigs are indeed designed by tobacco companies to get children addicted to their lethal life-wrecking products then **** 'em.

Wtg EU.
    tbh wrote: »
    Tobacco companies need shutting down.

I'm totally against this as tobacco would just become another revenue stream for violent thugs. Prohibition has been a costly abject failure that has harmed people far more than the drugs they take.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

Not correct I'm afraid. Nicotine itself has plenty of dangerous side effects. It's exactly your kind of thinking that is leading the government to consider banning them - people think they are safe because they aren't cigs.

What about caffeine? I suppose we should start banning coffee next.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

pmcmahon wrote: »
    What about caffeine? I suppose we should start banning coffee next.

And large bodies of water. Someone might drown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Good news for the illegal cig traders.

Menthol cigs are being banned because studies have shown that increasing numbers of teenage girls, the fastest growing group of smokers, take the menthol route into smoking. The thinking is that many of these wouldn't start smoking if they had to smoke normal smokes. Surely even the dyed in the wool smoker would accept that if this measure stops even one person a year from smoking then it's worth doing. Reilly is to be commended on this, shame he didn't go farther. Tobacco companies need shutting down. There's no pleasant end to a smokers life.

If people are going to smoke then they're going to smoke. End of.
    There's no point in saying that the banning of menthol smokes will reduce the number of smokers; because it won't.

Menthol cigarettes aren't some kind of carrot on a stick that draws young girls in. They smoke because they want to.
    If the government really wanted to look after people's health then they'd ban stronger cigarettes or ban cigarettes altogether.

I'm a smoker and I agree it's a disgusting habit, but simply banning products willy nilly isn't the way to go about it. And they also mentioned increasing the size of the warnings on the packets. What's that gonna do?? The warnings are clear for people to see. It's not as if smokers are blind and need bigger writing on the boxes.
    It just smacks of the government and the EU not having a clue what to do about people smoking so they come up with more and more ridiculous ideas each time.

Saying that menthol cigarettes entice young girls in, is akin to blasting marijuana as the "gateway drug". It's a terrible argument that just doesn't make any sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

Gbear wrote: »
    Or ban neither and **** off out of people's affairs.

That's grand, as long as you don't expect government-funded i.e public healthcare because you've developed emphysema or worse, lung cancer.

And before you say it, "well what about fast food, should we ban that too?". The fact of the matter is that 1 out of 2 smokers will die from smoking. That's a massive toll on the health service.

I say this as a social smoker myself by the way.
    nuxxx wrote: »
    I went to my local pharmacy a couple of weeks ago to stock up on e-cigerette cartridges and was told they're not allowed to sell them anymore because the Government banned them, was buying from there for a couple of years, now I'm back smoking regular cigarettes. Need to get the finger out and order the stuff online

How are there 2 shops in Galway selling them right now if they're banned?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

And large bodies of water. Someone might drown.

...and breathing, someone might inhale the stench out of a certain minister's office :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I'm totally against this as tobacco would just become another revenue stream for violent thugs.
    It has been for years already.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,731 ✭✭✭Bullseye1

Why don't they just ban nicotine?

That's grand, as long as you don't expect government-funded i.e public healthcare because you've developed emphysema or worse, lung cancer.

And before you say it, "well what about fast food, should we ban that too?". The fact of the matter is that 1 out of 2 smokers will die from smoking. That's a massive toll on the health service.

In fairness,with the amount of tax paid on a packet of cigarettes,those who contract dieseases from their habit have well and truly paid for their healthcare.

Bullseye1 wrote: »
    Why don't they just ban nicotine?

Because there are brown envelopes flying around Europe from tabacco companies.The goal is to ban everything but Tabacco through the smokescreen of looking out for health.

Then conduct proper medical studies on them - in the meantime lets have a conversation about the complete scam that is nicotine replacement products openly sold in pharmacies.

Banning or making e-cigs pharmacy only cuts out an affordable harm-reduction strategy.

The cynic in me suspects that big pharma is putting political pressure on the EU because of increasing lack of sales of overpriced nicotine replacement products.

As an ex-smoker, agreed. No issue with the menthol ban.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Commissioner Borg said if everything worked out in a "clockwork fashion", the implementation of the directive would be within three-and-a-half years.

And added that resistance would be futile

Not correct I'm afraid. Nicotine itself has plenty of dangerous side effects.

Nicotine only effects.
    Cardiovascular
    Cardiovascular effects have included increases in heart rate and blood pressure. New ventricular and supraventricular tachycardia, increase in PVC frequency, less supraventricular arrhythmia, less arrhythmia and lower heart rate, new ST segment depression, and an improvement in ST- or T-wave changes have been reported in patients with coronary artery disease given transdermal nicotine for smoking cessation. The average heart rate and incidence of arrhythmias or angina has not been shown to be significantly different from baseline while smoking and during transdermal nicotine therapy in patients with coronary artery disease. In patients with coronary artery disease, nicotine may cause coronary artery vasoconstriction. Myocardial infarction has been rarely associated with the use of nicotine patches. Some of these patients were also smoking (receiving a greater than recommended dose of nicotine) and some may have had underlying coronary artery disease. At least one case of intracerebral hematoma has also been reported.

In patients with coronary artery disease, nicotine may cause coronary artery vasoconstriction. This can be important to patients with ischemic heart disease.

In patients with coronary artery disease given transdermal nicotine for smoking cessation, the following have been reported: new ventricular and supraventricular tachycardia, increase in PVC frequency, less supraventricular arrhythmia, less arrhythmia and lower heart rate, new ST segment depression, and an improvement in ST- or T-wave changes. The average heart rate and incidence of arrhythmias or angina has not been shown to be significantly different from baseline while smoking and during transdermal nicotine therapy in patients with coronary artery disease.

Myocardial infarction has been rarely associated with the use of nicotine patches. Some of these patients were also smoking (receiving a greater than recommended dose of nicotine) and some may have had underlying coronary artery disease.

Respiratory
    Respiratory side effects have included bronchospasm in patients with preexisting asthma. It has been associated with the use of nicotine nasal spray and inhaler. Sore throat reported in at least two patients has been associated with the use of the nicotine gums.

Dermatologic
    Dermatologic side effects have included itching and local erythema at the patch site in up to half of patients treated. Skin irritation rarely required drug discontinuation. Contact dermatitis due to nicotine or the contents of the nicotine transdermal patch has been reported. Nicotine gum has been associated with increased sweating.

Gastrointestinal
    Gastrointestinal side effects have included nausea, dry mouth, dyspepsia, and diarrhea with the patch and gum formulations in approximately 6% of patients. Use of nicotine gum may also cause hiccups, flatulence, increased salivation, stomatitis, tooth disorder, glossitis, and unpleasant taste. The use of nicotine has been shown to decrease lower esophageal sphincter pressure. Heartburn has been associated with nicotine lozenges in 5% to 5.8% of patients. Gastrointestinal side effects associated with nicotine gum reported postmarketing have included oral blistering.

Nervous system
    Nervous system side effects have been reported in 3% to 12% of patients. These have included lightheadedness, headache, sleep disturbances, abnormal dreams, irritability, dizziness, and tremor. Stroke due to severe cerebral artery vasospasm has been reported in a patient with a recent history of subarachnoid hemorrhage shortly after applying a 10 mg nicotine patch.

Musculoskeletal
    Musculoskeletal side effects have rarely included arthralgias and myalgias. Jaw pain has been associated with the use of nicotine gum.

Hematologic
    Hematologic side effects have included increases in platelet aggregation and enhanced thrombus formation.

Local
    Local side effects have been reported most frequently with the use of nicotine nasal spray. Nicotine inhaler also produced local irritant effects including coughing and rhinitis in 40% of patients.

Endocrine
    Endocrine side effects have included hyperinsulinemia and insulin resistance during the long-term use of nicotine gum.

Metabolic
    Metabolic side effects including at least one case of hyponatremia and syndrome of inappropriate antidiuretic hormone (SIADH) have been reported.

A 39-year-old male in good health experienced hyponatremia and syndrome of inappropriate antidiuretic hormone (SIADH) after being administered a nicotine patch. The patient presented complaining of a worsening cough that had progressed over the past month. A chest radiograph showed pneumonia with bilateral lower lobe infiltrates. He was administered a nicotine patch (21 mg/d), ticarcillin/clavulanate, tobramycin, nebulized albuterol, and ipratropium. His urine sodium and osmolarity were 156 mmol/L and 550 mOsm/kg, respectively, confirming the diagnosis of SIADH. On day 12, his serum sodium was 130 mmol/L. The serum sodium continued to decrease despite fluid restriction to 128 mmol/L and 126 mmol/L on Day 14 and 15, respectively. The nicotine patch was reduced to 14 mg/d on Day 16. The patient continued the same fluid restriction and regular diet while the serum sodium remained low at 129 mmol/L. The nicotine patch was further reduced to 7 mg/d on Day 17. The patient was discharged after 18 days of hospitalization with a sodium level of 131 mmol/L.

Ocular
    Ocular side effects including vision problems reported in at least two patients have been associated with the use of the nicotine gums.

http://www.drugs.com/sfx/nicotine-side-effects.html#eE9REFkiBpS9RC9B.99

Smoking effects
    Smoking causes the following cancers:

Acute myeloid leukemia
    Bladder cancer
    Cancer of the cervix
    Cancer of the esophagus
    Kidney cancer
    Cancer of the larynx (voice box)
    Lung cancer
    Cancer of the oral cavity (mouth)
    Pancreatic cancer
    Cancer of the pharynx (throat)
    Stomach cancer
    Worldwide, tobacco use causes more than 5 million deaths per year, and current trends show that tobacco use will cause more than 8 million deaths annually by 2030.4

http://www.cdc.gov/tobacco/data_statistics/fact_sheets/health_effects/effects_cig_smoking/

So pick a product to restrict and have as pharmacy only...nicotine or tobacco?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

well since they banned alcopops this makes sense, they are aimed at younger kids afterall

IM0 wrote: »
    well since they banned alcopops this makes sense, they are aimed at younger kids afterall

They banned alco-pops??
    Can't you still buy Bacardi Breezers??

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Smoking causes the following cancers:
    To be completely and medically accurate, it's a major factor in incidences of these cancers, it doesn't "cause" them, it's not a simple correlation. If it was all smokers would likely succumb to them or lifetime non smokers wouldn't suffer from those cancers but they do. EG 15-20% of lung cancers are in non smokers. All the talk of cancer kinda deflects from the main reason for early death in smokers and that's cardiovascular.

As for banning menthol fags? Looks to me like the EU being seen to e doing something. The e-cigs ban is beyond silly. Clearly they are significantly safer of a nicotine delivery system compared to smoking(and safer for non smokers around them), so what gives? Watch the price of that stuff go through the roof when the pharmacies get a hold of it. :rolleyes:

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Chemicals in Cigarette Smoke

Acetaldehyde - this chemical is used in resins and glues. It is believed to be a carcinogen. Experts say it is likely that it facilitates the absorption of other dangerous chemical into the bronchial tubes.
    Acetone - this chemical is used in solvents. It irritates the eyes, nose and throat. Long-term exposure can damage the liver and kidneys.
    Acrolein - commonly used in herbicides and polyester resins. It is also used in chemical warfare. Acrolein is an ingredient in tear gas. It is very poisonous and irritates the eyes and upper respiratory tract.
    Acrylonitrile - also known as vynil cyanide. Experts believe it is a human carcinogen. It is used in synthetic resins, rubber and plastics.
    1-aminonaphthalene - in ingredient in weed killers. It is a known carcinogen.
    2-aminonaphthalene - this substance causes bladder cancer. It is banned in industrial uses.
    Ammonia - it is known to cause asthma and raise blood pressure. Ammonia is used in cleaners.
    Benzene - used in gasoline, causes several cancers, including leukemia
    Benzo[a]pyrene - this chemical is found in coal tar pitch, and creosote. It is a known carcinogen, especially for lung and skin cancers. It can also undermine human fertility.
    1,3-Butadiene - it is used in latex, rubber and neoprene products. Experts believe it is most likely a carcinogen.
    Butyraldehyde - this chemical affects the lining of the lungs and nose. It is used in solvents and resins. It is a powerful inhalation irritant.
    Cadmium - a known carcinogen. It damages the brain, kidneys and liver. Cadmium is used in non-corrosive metal coatings, storage batteries, pigments, and bearings.
    Catechol - it elevates blood pressure and irritates the upper respiratory tract. It can also cause dermatitis. Catechol is used as an antioxidant in oils, inks and dyes.
    Chromium - known to cause lung cancer. It is used in wood treatment, wood preservatives, metal plating and alloys. Those involved in welding have the greatest risk of exposure.
    Cresol - acute inhalation can cause throat, nasal and upper respiratory irritation. It is used in disinfectants, wood preservatives and solvents.
    Crotonaldehyde - a warning agent in fuel gasses. Experts say it messes up the human immune system. It can also cause chromosomal changes.
    Formaldehyde - part of the resin used in foam insulation, plywood, fiberboard and particleboard. It can cause nasal cancer, as well as damaging the digestive system, skin and lungs.
    Hydrogen Cyanide - some states use this chemical in their gas chambers for executions. It weakens the lungs and causes fatigue, headaches and nausea. It is used in the production of acrylic plastics and resins, and can also be a fumigant.
    Hydroquinone - has a detrimental effect on the central nervous system. Also causes eye injuries and skin irritation. It is used in varnishes, motor fuels and paints.
    Isoprene - similar to 1,3-butadiene. It causes skin, eye and mucous membrane irritation. It is used in rubber.
    Lead - lead damages the nerves in the brain, as well as the kidneys and the human reproductive system. Lead intake can also cause stomach problems and anemia. It is a known carcinogen and is particularly toxin to children. Lead is used in paint and metal alloys.
    Methyl Ethyl Ketone (MEK) - depresses the human nervous system, irritates the eyes, nose and throat. MEK is used in solvents.
    Nickel - a known carcinogen, nickel also causes bronchial asthma and upper respiratory irritation.
    Nitric Oxide - this is a major contributor to smog and acid rain. It is made by gasoline combustion. Scientists say it is linked to a higher risk of developing Alzheimer's disease, Parkinson's disease, Huntington's disease and asthma.
    NNN, NNK, and NAT - NNN and NNK are known carcinogens and NAT might be one. The three compounds are unique to tobacco. NNN may also cause reproductive problems. NNK is closely linked to lung cancer risk.
    Phenol - this highly toxic substance is harmful for the CNS (central nervous system), cardiovascular system, respiratory system, the kidneys and liver. It is used in resins in plywood and construction materials.
    Propionaldehyde - irritates the respiratory system, skin and eyes. It is used as a disinfectant.
    Pyridine - irritates the eyes and upper respiratory tract. It also causes nervousness, headaches and nausea. Experts say it might cause liver damage. This substance is used in solvents.
    Quinoline - it is used for stopping corrosion and also as a solvent for resins. It is a severe eye irritant, is harmful to the liver, and causes genetic mutations. Experts believe it may be a carcinogen.
    Resorcinol - irritates the eyes and skin. It is used in resins, adhesives (glue) and laminates.
    Styrene - irritates the eyes, may slow down reflexes, and causes headaches. It is linked to a higher risk of leukemia. This substance is used in fiberglass, pipes, plastic and insulation materials.
    Toluene - causes confusion, memory loss, nausea, weakness, anorexia, and drunken movements. It is also associated with permanent brain damage. The chemical is used in resins, oils and solvents.
    Nicotine - this is not carcinogenic. However, it is highly addictive. Smokers find it very hard to quit because they are hooked on the nicotine. Nicotine is an extremely fast-acting drug. It reaches the brain within 15 seconds of being inhaled. If cigarettes and other tobacco products had no nicotine, the number of people who smoke every day would drop drastically. Without nicotine, the tobacco industry would collapse. Nicotine is used as a highly controlled insecticide. Exposure to sufficient amounts can lead to vomiting, seizures, depression of the CNS (central nervous system), and growth retardation. It can also undermine a fetus' proper development.
    Carbon Monoxide - this is a poisonous gas. It has no smell or taste. The body finds it hard to differentiate carbon monoxide from oxygen and absorbs it into the bloodstream. Faulty boilers emit dangerous carbon monoxide, as to car exhausts. If there is enough carbon monoxide around you and you inhale it, you can go into a coma and die. Carbon monoxide decreases muscle and heart function, it causes fatigue, weakness, and dizziness. It is especially toxic for babies still in the womb, infants and indifividuals with heart or lung disease.
    Tar - consists of several cancer-causing chemicals. When a smoker inhales cigarette smoke, 70% of the tar remains in the lungs. Try the handkerchief test. Fill the mouth with smoke, don't inhale, and blow the smoke through the handkerchief. There will be a sticky, brown stain on the cloth. Do this again, but this time inhale and the blow the smoke through the cloth, there will only be a very faint light brown stain.

Chemicals in e-cigs

Nicotine
    Propylene glycol is a clear, colorless, slightly syrupy liquid at room temperature. It may exist in air in the vapor form, although propylene glycol must be heated or briskly shaken to produce a vapor
    -Propylene glycol is practically odorless and tasteless
    -Propylene glycol is a chemical made by reaction of propylene oxide with water
    -Propylene glycol has had an unsurpassed reputation for safe use in a wide range of consumer products, including food products, animal feed, cosmetics and pharmaceuticals, as well as industrial applications
    -It’s used as a stabilizer (to keep things held together, and keep them from evaporating), and to keep foods moist. It’s used in many of the foods that we eat, and the FDA deems it safe for human consumption
    http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/CFR-2009-title21-vol3/xml/CFR-2009-title21-vol3-sec184-1666.xml
    -Industrial grade propylene glycol is an ingredient used to make non-toxic antifreeze and deicing solutions for cars, airplanes, and boats; to make polyester compounds; and as solvent in the paint and plastics industries.

Yep, tough call on which one to move to pharmacy only.

EDIT: E-cigs are also available with Vegetable Glycerines.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Are nicotine patches to be included?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

governments are good at banning stuff in order to make people live longer.

they are not good at planning how to deal with all the extra old and decrepit people that the aforementioned stuff should have killed off.

Wibbs wrote: »
    To be completely and medically accurate, it's a major factor in incidences of these cancers, it doesn't "cause" them, it's not a simple correlation. If it was all smokers would likely succumb to them or lifetime non smokers wouldn't suffer from those cancers but they do. EG 15-20% of lung cancers are in non smokers. All the talk of cancer kinda deflects from the main reason for early death in smokers and that's cardiovascular.

Fair point. However, do you think that there is a massively increased health risk for nicotine only products that are widely available?

E-cigs are genuinely providing smokers with a healthier product that is affordable.
    A pack of 20 nicotine inhalers runs nearly 25 quid. Most e-cig smokers could run a week on that.

Boombastic wrote: »
    Are nicotine patches to be included?

Patches are already controlled. OTC, but sold by the pharmacy cartel industry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,693 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

http://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/janice-atkinson/safer-alternative-to-cigarettes-banned-by-eu_b_2827043.html

Watch what happens when a pharmacy-only restriction is brought in on e-cigs.

That i'm in favour of it, kids are now addicted to eCigs without even having smoked real cigs. I watched a group of teenagers passing around the eCig today. The whole place is gone daft.

Wut? If they were age restricted as tobacco is then problem solved.

Fair play to the kids for choosing to smoke e-cigs rather than tobacco.

They'd be passing around a cigarette anyway.Ecigs are for over 18's so its the shops idiocy for selling the product to someone younger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

menthol works by expanding the airways, which is why it's in all sorts of cold remedies. it's the same for cigarettes, you get more on the drag of a menthol cigarette.

a girl i used to work with had a cold and her mother told her to stop smoking the regular cigarettes, and bought her menthol cigarettes instead!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭twg73

Mum in Law started with them as there were seen as more "Healthy" at the time. Fresher so it was said.

I think its an excellent proposal. While I detest Fine Gael and Reilly as minister for health. I do know his Father and Brother died from smoking related illnesses, they regretted taking up smoking.

Ok.. We are all going to die of something.. But smoking not only causes cancer it also causes a lot of other diseases, it reduces the persons quality of life in later years.

I think the proposal is good. We should not have any factors that promote or glamorise tobacco.