Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat II

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

sounds like the vet took the easy way out, maybe they couldnt get a wash out into them,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

He didn't have a funnel or anything to wash them out anyways, just said that he doesn't washout cows anymore. Defo taking the easy way out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Timmaay wrote: »
    My dad didn't listen to delavals advice of cull them cows, and learning how to wash out cows is still on my to do list, so we decided to just get the vet to wash them out, needed to bloodtest afew culls anyway. Vet showed up the other day when I was away, he told my dad noone bothers washing out cows anymore, and just gave them a shot of estrumate! FFS I could have bloody well done that myself! Whats the opinion among any of you, will estrumate do anywhere near as good a job as washing out the cow?

To be fair if they were showing a white discharge it should work. Do not ai on next heat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

Hmmm, I don't think I'll be coming to one of your house parties........ id end up sniffing milk replacer, drinking sliage effluent, and riding a sheep.

Is it BYOB?
    (Bring your own Blackface). :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭Rushy Fields

Quick one. Few docs to spray n meadow. Going using grazon. Just wondering how much to 10 ltrs of water?. Lable gone off bottle.... and how long before I can cut for silage.?
    AND
    Want to spray avenue with roundup. Again how much per 10ltrs?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

nealger wrote: »
    Quick one. Few docs to spray n meadow. Going using grazon. Just wondering how much to 10 ltrs of water?. Lable gone off bottle.... and how long before I can cut for silage.?
    AND
    Want to spray avenue with roundup. Again how much per 10ltrs?

https://www.agridirect.ie/uploadedfiles/products/grazon-90-1-litre/Grazon-90.pdf

60ml per 10 litres for spot spraying.

Most labels are available online, Google has an advanced search option which lets you search by file type - as most labels are .pdf (Adobe Acrobat). Select the .pdf option, put in the chemical name and Google will find it if it's there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭Conor556

Exams finished aaaaah thank f*ck!!!!!!!!! Pints pints pints!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭jomoloney

My dad didn't listen to delavals advice of cull them cows, and learning how to wash out cows is still on my to do list, so we decided to just get the vet to wash them out, needed to bloodtest afew culls anyway. Vet showed up the other day when I was away, he told my dad noone bothers washing out cows anymore, and just gave them a shot of estrumate! FFS I could have bloody well done that myself! Whats the opinion among any of you, will estrumate do anywhere near as good a job as washing out the cow?

we haven't washed out a cow in 25 years , actually I'd be slow to prod them as well, I'm a firm believer in letting nature take it course,

At the end of the end I think our calving intervals and conception rates are on par with most & better than a lot ...... without the vet bills

timmaay, do you trust your scanning man had a scanning man who said cows where dirty, i estrumated 2 of them and they threw calves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Hmmmm good question in fairness. This is the 2nd time ive used him, in fairness he tends to be bang on, able to predict to within 1/4 of a month, and out of the 80 or so in total he has done i dont remember any mistakes, none of the neighbours said anything negative about him either. The vet on the other hand, has said a good few cows were not in calf when they actually were, I suppose in fairness to him, they were all about 5months gone, and he was checking them by hand, a big HO has the calf buried deep in her at that point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭jomoloney

any body using Doxstar,

offer of 3 X 3 ltrs for the price of 2 available at the moment

Bizzum wrote: »

Is it BYOB?
    (Bring your own Blackface). :-)

Too dopy, now a Cheviot would test you!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭royaler83

jomoloney wrote: »
    any body using Doxstar,

offer of 3 X 3 ltrs for the price of 2 available at the moment

Thanks. :pac: Where's that?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

delaval wrote: »
    Too dopy, now a Cheviot would test you!!!

I'll take your word for it!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

able to predict to within 1/4 of a month
    i.e. a week?

I suppose in fairness to him, they were all about 5months gone, and he was checking them by hand, a big HO has the calf buried deep in her at that point.
    Yeah I've heard that is the hardest time to handle them in deep cows until around ~7months when the calf has gotten big enough that he is coming back up to meet you, iykwim

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

I had the topper out today (well, my dad had), first time this year. Its getting less and less use every year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

I had the topper out today (well, my dad had), first time this year. Its getting less and less use every year.
    Funny you mention it the last thing I did this morning before heading for work was attach the topper to the tractor. I've finally all the fencing done around the place and have the cows on a much faster rotation than other years so plan to follow after them, little and often. A neighbour is going spraying rushes next week as well. Told me around 3-4 weeks ago he'd be going at it so to buy spray if I wanted a bit done at the same time. Rushes have taken off and are going to seed now so don't want to top them. Sound lad, we do a few bits and bobs for each other and each happy to help the other. Leaves you feeling good when you do a turn for a sound lad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

I've had mine out a few times, trying to get used to this paddock set up, and will be out again after the current paddock ,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

i had vet to my one today also (scanner said dirty inside).. no washout but used tube to insert what looked like a horse dose of paste (meticure) into the uterus.. vet said to ai her next heat to hell.. would ye leave her or try her?

Bodacious wrote: »
    i had vet to my one today also (scanner said dirty inside).. no washout but used tube to insert what looked like a horse dose of paste (meticure) into the uterus.. vet said to ai her next heat to hell.. would ye leave her or try her?
    if it was me i would estruamte her today, then estrumate her in 10 days and serve then on heat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

topping like mad meself, some of the ground is too dam rough to bale!

kevthegaff wrote: »
    topping like mad meself, some of the ground is too dam rough to bale!
    we are the same, also not letting cows graze out paddocks as there is so much grass ahead of them, not a bad complaint i suppose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

i see some lads around here do feck all topping but the cows are half starved milking only 18 litres one guy, making bales as well. dont make sense to me??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Bodacious wrote: »

I got a couple of tubes of meticure on trial and have been using them for the last few months. AI man puts them into any cow that I see a discharge from. Several cows have come in heat after it and we have bulled them first time and I haven't seen them repeat!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,822 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

whelan1 wrote: »
    we are the same, also not letting cows graze out paddocks as there is so much grass ahead of them, not a bad complaint i suppose

Why not wrap a paddock or 2 then ,faster re growth better grass for cows ,excellent silage and little or no wastage of grass.ive only topped 2 paddocks so far and over half cow area wrapped and still have adequate grass.this is where grass measurement,wedges etc come into there own

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭MOOVAN

Hi Whelan,would you consider taking out some paddocks for bales if you have loads of grass ahead.You'll have lovely quality grass on the next rotation. And if by some miracle we should get a drought over the summer you'll have a have bales to feed .Just a thought :)

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Why not wrap a paddock or 2 then ,faster re growth better grass for cows ,excellent silage and little or no wastage of grass.ive only topped 2 paddocks so far and over half cow area wrapped and still have adequate grass.this is where grass measurement,wedges etc come into there own
    i did wrap the mowable paddocks.... alot of damage done to ground here over the last 12 months, i do do grass measuring... oh to have a dry farm

MOOVAN wrote: »
    Hi Whelan,would you consider taking out some paddocks for bales if you have loads of grass ahead.You'll have lovely quality grass on the next rotation. And if by some miracle we should get a drought over the summer you'll have a have bales to feed .Just a thought :)
    have just done 22 acres of bales from paddocks during the week, as i said before not all ground is mowable

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

We usually only top paddocks that are too rough for a mower/baler or if it would only prouduce less than 8 or nine bales. Our baling contractor are very good, but I dont want to take the piss either. Its grand if hes going to be in the area, but I wouldn't ask him to come out especially for just a hand full of bales more than once a year

i did wrap the mowable paddocks.... alot of damage done to ground here over the last 12 months, i do do grass measuring... oh to have a dry farm

If you are measuring you would see surplus coming. Why didn't you use the opportunity to fix paddocks that are rough after last year