The invasion has started...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

Haven't seen many spiders in the house this year, but if you ever have an ant problem, here's a way that will get rid of them in a flash for good, get a bottle of ground black pepper and throw some of it on the ants and when they go back to the nest, they will lose it and exit the place for good, they bloody hate that stuff :D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,441 ✭✭✭pampootie

Wibbs wrote: »
    I had a big wolf spider living behind my bedroom mirror a few years ago. One night I woke up from a deep slumber and there she was on my pillow about ten inches in old money away from me. I froze on the spot. The cool thing was so did she. :D I could see her thinking "oh fuuuuuck, the statue of liberty has woken up". I stayed stock still and after a minute or two she relaxed and slowly backed away, keeping her eight eyes trained on me. Like I said I reckon she was keeping me well clear of horrible insects that would otherwise have a clear shot at me. That spider in particular caught three wasps in my room and after a while I could look behind my mirror and she'd not even flinch. She'd even crawl onto my finger if I offered it up. She seemed to get used to thousand feet tall monkey boy. Pretty cool really.

I read this story and googled wolf spider images. Holy god. I think I would burn down my house and everyone in it if I woke up to find one on my pillow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Neadine wrote: »
    The bloody spiders haven't been doing their job, there are bugy things all over my room, leaving the window and curtains open with the lights on may not have helped but I'm beginning to think I'm being ate alive.
    If you open a jar of jam in your room it will attract all the creepy crawly things with it's fruity goodness.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 996 ✭✭✭Neadine

If you open a jar of jam in your room it will attract all the creepy crawly things with it's fruity goodness.:)

Yeah, cause I really want a room full of jammed up creepy crawlies!!
    Tomorrow I am going shopping for lots of chemicals to rid my abode of them all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,371 ✭✭✭Obliq

pampootie wrote: »
    I read this story and googled wolf spider images. Holy god. I think I would burn down my house and everyone in it if I woke up to find one on my pillow.

Google cardinal spiders too. They're the ones I have in my house - the big brown hairy feckers. They can reach a leg span of 13 cm (I've met one that size) and I'm terrified of them. I know it's irrational, and I try and be nice to them, but I actually am properly petrified when I see one. Ridiculous. I drive tractors and use chainsaws ffs. I should be tougher than this! My 14 yr old son rescues me them from them me :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,441 ✭✭✭pampootie

Obliq wrote: »
    Google cardinal spiders too. They're the ones I have in my house - the big brown hairy feckers. They can reach a leg span of 13 cm (I've met one that size) and I'm terrified of them. I know it's irrational, and I try and be nice to them, but I actually am properly petrified when I see one. Ridiculous. I drive tractors and use chainsaws ffs. I should be tougher than this! My 14 yr old son rescues me them from them me :rolleyes:

Somehow I don't think googling that just before I go to sleep is wise

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭MOC88

http://www.spidercatcher.net/EU/product.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭solas111

There are spiders every where in my house, have spotted 5 already tonight.
    Now, they're not the HUGE freaky ones, just medium sized ones, I think they are the recon team checking the place out for the big ones.
    Where's the lavender, or other concoctions?

The're no harm through the day but when you sleep at night they will crawl slowly up your leg, whistle for their friends to come along and do nasty things to you. If I were you I would not chance sleeping at all tonight because who knows how what the darkness will bring. Be scared and be very scared.

MOC88 wrote: »

Yeah, I know, but they move to quickly and I'm usually moving quickly in the opposite direction. I can do the glass/card thing if they're in the bath and trapped, but otherwise they're too unpredictable and I don't have the nerve. Jaysus, I need a phobia treatment I reckon...

Although thanks! I didn't realise the catchy thingy was 25 inches long....that's a safe distance. Might try it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭MOC88

Yeah, I know, but they move to quickly and I'm usually moving quickly in the opposite direction. I can do the glass/card thing if they're in the bath and trapped, but otherwise they're too unpredictable and I don't have the nerve. Jaysus, I need a phobia treatment I reckon...

Although thanks! I didn't realise the catchy thingy was 25 inches long....that's a safe distance. Might try it!

I'd say there'll be a spider hunting thread with tips next!

solas111 wrote: »
    The're no harm through the day but when you sleep at night they will crawl slowly up your leg, whistle for their friends to come along and do nasty things to you. If I were you I would not chance sleeping at all tonight because who knows how what the darkness will bring. Be scared and be very scared.

Naaaghhh. I'm not afraid of them, I just don't particularly like them. Have been known to redirect them outside from time to time. Had a massive spider share my pillow one night, and found another in the shower when I stepped.
    Would just prefer not to see em.

Oh dear, it's going to be a fail with the cardinals I'm afraid. "The Spider Catcher can catch spiders and daddy-long legs from 2mm (0.08 inch) in length up to 25mm (1 inch)." No use to me - looks like they have to be lightweight spiders :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

solas111 wrote: »

The sexual undertones of this post got me wondering: I wonder if there's a fetish for being tied up and left with a bunch of insects having the craic with you? I've heard of more bizarre ones in fairness

Sexual undertones????

Spider fetish.. :eek::eek::eek::eek:, seriously?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Well that's enough internet for me today :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

There are spiders every where in my house, have spotted 5 already tonight.
    Now, they're not the HUGE freaky ones, just medium sized ones, I think they are the recon team checking the place out for the big ones.
    Where's the lavender, or other concoctions?

If you starve the cat enough she'll eat the spiders ;) Don't have a cat? Why not?

ToddyDoody wrote: »
    If you starve the cat enough she'll eat the spiders ;) Don't have a cat? Why not?

Nope, no cat, not really a fan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Just be glad they aren't these kind of spiders:

http://i.imgur.com/n62pF.jpg

Fookin hell that's some spider!

Sexual undertones????

Spider fetish.. :eek::eek::eek::eek:, seriously?

Doesn't necessarily have to be spiders specifically, insects in general, but just think of what a large-ish spider could do with all those limbs, if it knew how to use them ;)

Thanks, but I'd rather not imagine.

For all you know, you could be missing out on some of the most epic enjoyment nature has to offer.
    I'm just saying!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 899 ✭✭✭StickyIcky

Citrus oils mixed with water sprayed around doors windows corners etc.

Or any thing with a lemony smell.

That's what I read anyway. Tried it one year and it seemed to work. But could have just been end of spider season.

StickyIcky wrote: »
    Citrus oils mixed with water sprayed around doors windows corners etc.

Or any thing with a lemony smell.

That's what I read anyway. Tried it one year and it seemed to work. But could have just been end of spider season.

I used lavender last year, and I'm pretty sure it worked... I think!

For all you know, you could be missing out on some of the most epic enjoyment nature has to offer.
    I'm just saying!

Well, I'm pretty sure I can live with not knowing!

What if you somehow end up in this scenario in your old age, enjoy it immensely, and then live out the remaining years of your life forlornly wishing you'd started partaking in it far earlier?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 790 ✭✭✭Sciprio

I like spiders but i love jumping spiders the best because they're more aware of humans and other stuff around them and you can actually see them look around studying you and being curious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

I've noticed those large house spiders around the place over the last few weeks, usually don't see them until September or October.

What if you somehow end up in this scenario in your old age, enjoy it immensely, and then live out the remaining years of your life forlornly wishing you'd started partaking in it far earlier?

I feel I can say, with confidence, it wouldn't float my boat.
    Your concern is... touching.
    Is the whole creepy crawly thing something that works for you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,731 ✭✭✭✭entropi

ToddyDoody wrote: »
    You wouldn't need to starve the cat at all. They get enjoyment out of chasing moving things, and spiders tend to run from cats :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

entropi wrote: »
    You wouldn't need to starve the cat at all. They get enjoyment out of chasing moving things, and spiders tend to run from cats :)

2Shay.