Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How the feck is Bob Geldof worth $1.2 billion?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭ronjo

bluewolf wrote: »
    You mean a stepchild so?

Is she though??

It was his ex-partners child not his partners child

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,381 ✭✭✭✭Allyall

Didn't he own the show Paula Yates was on? The Big Breakfast?

Also some other TV shows. Not sure if he owned The Toothbrush one with Chris Evans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,263 ✭✭✭bullpost

He can't be that rich - he doesn't live in Dalkey.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

bluewolf wrote: »
    You mean a stepchild so?

She wasn't his step daughter until he agreed to adopt her.

Imagine you break up with your boyfriend, he later goes off and meets someone else and his a child with her, but your ex and new partner both pass away, then you agree to adopt that child.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,737 ✭✭✭Missymoohaa

ronjo wrote: »
    Is she though??

It was his ex-partners child not his partners child

His ex wife (Paula Yates) left him and had another child (a daughter) "Heavenly Hiranni Tiger Lily" with Michael Hutchence of INXS. Michael died and then Paula Yates died of an accidental overdose, leaving their child with no parents, Bob fought for custody of this child so she could be with her other 3 half sisters and he won and she has lived with him ever since. She must be about 17 or so now. I always found Paula Yates story very tragic and sad.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

SteM wrote: »
    His autobiography is a cracking read. He was addicted to masturbation when he was younger apparently :pac:

cool, i must get that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭Tordelback

Bob fought for custody of this child so she could be with her other 3 half sisters and he won and she has lived with him ever since. She must be about 17 or so now.

You'd have to say that this alone marks him out as a genuine mensch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

dilallio wrote: »
    Wikipedia takes it from IrishCentral article which shows 1.2 billion

This site has him on $48million in 2011, the same year as Irishcentral has him on 1.2 billion.

I'd be looking for at least three reliable sources before I'd believe anything published on IrishCentral.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Paula Yates got him out of that. Apparently.
    I believe the expression "Don't stick your dick in crazy" was coined for Ms Yates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Where does he pay his taxes?? Linch him!!!!!!!!

He'd wanna spend some money on getting his daughter sorted out, that bint is bat **** crazy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

From his Wikipedia entry:
    At the NME awards in 2006, when accepting an award, Geldof referred to the host Russell Brand as a "cunt". Brand responded by saying "It's no wonder Bob Geldof knows so much about famine – he's been dining out on 'I Don't Like Mondays' for 30 years".

Say what you like about Russell Brand, but that's a brilliant riposte.

RayM wrote: »
    From his Wikipedia entry:

Say what you like about Russell Brand, but that's a brilliant riposte.

and Sir Bob was only pissed off at Brand 'cos Brand rode one of his daughters!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

glasso wrote: »

Did he train horses as well, Ruby Walsh once said he rode her mother as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

glasso wrote: »

.....jaysus....imagine how pissed off he'd be if Brand turned her down.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,313 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

To be fair he clearly had drive and organisational ability in spades. I mean here was this singer, career on the downward, who was able to convince a load of pop stars and then get them to show up for a charity record and then worldwide gig. For free. With a few notable exceptions(status quo for one) most pop star types tend towards flaky and unreliable and "artistic" at the best of times, so that was some achievement. Doing similar in the biz world would have a been a piece of piss by comparison.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭Hondo75

Planet 24 was the company, produced The Word aswell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

I knew Bob when he was the penniless lodger at the N**** arms Pub in London - if you'd told me then he would go on to make thousands, I'd have thought you were mad, let alone millions. Fair play to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

As Bob Geldof will tell you, he's worth every cent and more. :D