Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How the feck is Bob Geldof worth $1.2 billion?

• 20-06-2013 11:41am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭godwin

Apart from the 'facts' stated in the link , how did he go from the over rated Boomtown Rats to being a very rich cnut?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bob_Geldof#Wealth

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

he saw a gap in the market - Ethiopia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭Corkbah

godwin wrote: »
    Apart from the 'facts' stated in the link , how did he go from the over rated Boomtown Rats to being a very rich cnut?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bob_Geldof#Wealth

you didn't really think all that money was going to starving children ...did you ?

(not intended to imply anything malicious .... just a joke)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭godwin

mike65 wrote: »
    he saw a gap in the market - Ethiopia

Flies around the mouth of starving kids made him rich?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,573 ✭✭✭A2LUE42

Golden pages. But mostly his TV production company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭Dancor

Property and lots of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Should be able to afford a shower and a bottle of shampoo with that kind of cash, grimy lookin fecker

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Its a rat trap and he was caught

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,768 ✭✭✭Bluefoam

Bobs a very shrewd businessman... he's been involved in some very successful internet start-ups and travel companies... These days he is primarily a business person, secondly a celebrity and thirdly a musician...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

Well he didn't get rich from the time he was flogging stuff in London's Camden Market.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

godwin wrote: »
    Flies around the mouth of starving kids made him rich?

Made him properly famous. His profile allowed him to get rich.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,624 ✭✭✭Hoop66

I met him at a gig in London years back, Mercury Rev it was, and he couldn't have been nicer. He took me calling him "Sir Bob" and trying to pass him a joint in very good humour.

If I'd have known he was so rich I'd have tapped him for a few quid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

He didn't steal any of it from me. Good luck to him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,081 ✭✭✭sheesh

he has a couple of very sucessful tv production companies. in fairness to him hes very smart lad. Alot of those independent productions you see on the english channels are his companies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,105 ✭✭✭SteM

His autobiography is a cracking read. He was addicted to masturbation when he was younger apparently :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,032 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

he would give it all away for another no 1 single

He's not worth 1.2 billion. Some muppet on wikipedia put that in.
    More reasonable ranges discussed here.

http://www.thisismoney.co.uk/money/article-1712698/How-rich-Bob-Geldof.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,230 ✭✭✭Merkin

He's a very astute businessman with a portfolio of profitable companies like Deckchair (which he later sold)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

SteM wrote: »
    His autobiography is a cracking read. He was addicted to masturbation when he was younger apparently :pac:

Weren't we all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,088 ✭✭✭OU812

Have to say fair play to him (& his partner). He did well for himself & even went so far as to bring up another man's child simply because she was his own daughter's half sister.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

Bluefoam wrote: »
    Bobs a very shrewd businessman... he's been involved in some very successful internet start-ups and travel companies... These days he is primarily a business person, secondly a celebrity and thirdly a musician...

You're giving him too much credit.

....as a musician.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭dilallio

glasso wrote: »

Wikipedia takes it from IrishCentral article which shows 1.2 billion

This site has him on $48million in 2011, the same year as Irishcentral has him on 1.2 billion.

dilallio wrote: »

This site has him on $48million in 2011, the same year as Irishcentral has him on 1.2 billion.

that Irish Central article is codswallop then. The article doesn't even make it clear what list it is talking about. It's even poorer than your average indo article. Sir Bob is certainly wealthy but not a billionaire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

That is my opinion of him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭the keen edge

Well whatever about his music, his anti-poverty speeches are a decent gig.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭TheLastMohican

Paula Yates got him out of that. Apparently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,014 ✭✭✭skimpydoo

He got into reality tv before anyone else saw it would be big business. His tv company created Survivor which became huge in America. I also don't think he is worth 1.2 billion but he is a multimillionaire.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Drug dealing.

Apparently the drug squad called one morning to look for magic mushrooms.

Bob thought quick, and said "you've just missed her guys, she's just left for school"

OU812 wrote: »
    Have to say fair play to him (& his partner). He did well for himself & even went so far as to bring up another man's child simply because she was his own daughter's half sister.

You mean a stepchild so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,381 ✭✭✭✭Allyall

First time i've ever seen the Daily Mail linked to as a more reliable source.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

Its a rat trap and he was caught

Personally I think the silicon chip inside his head was switched to overload.

1. Insert Silicon Chip in Head
    2. Switch it to overload
    3. ????
    4. Multi-Millionaire

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,683 ✭✭✭ronjo

bluewolf wrote: »
    You mean a stepchild so?

Is she though??

It was his ex-partners child not his partners child

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,381 ✭✭✭✭Allyall

Didn't he own the show Paula Yates was on? The Big Breakfast?

Also some other TV shows. Not sure if he owned The Toothbrush one with Chris Evans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,244 ✭✭✭bullpost

He can't be that rich - he doesn't live in Dalkey.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

bluewolf wrote: »
    You mean a stepchild so?

She wasn't his step daughter until he agreed to adopt her.

Imagine you break up with your boyfriend, he later goes off and meets someone else and his a child with her, but your ex and new partner both pass away, then you agree to adopt that child.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,737 ✭✭✭Missymoohaa

ronjo wrote: »
    Is she though??

It was his ex-partners child not his partners child

His ex wife (Paula Yates) left him and had another child (a daughter) "Heavenly Hiranni Tiger Lily" with Michael Hutchence of INXS. Michael died and then Paula Yates died of an accidental overdose, leaving their child with no parents, Bob fought for custody of this child so she could be with her other 3 half sisters and he won and she has lived with him ever since. She must be about 17 or so now. I always found Paula Yates story very tragic and sad.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

cool, i must get that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭Tordelback

Bob fought for custody of this child so she could be with her other 3 half sisters and he won and she has lived with him ever since. She must be about 17 or so now.

You'd have to say that this alone marks him out as a genuine mensch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,768 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

dilallio wrote: »

I'd be looking for at least three reliable sources before I'd believe anything published on IrishCentral.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Paula Yates got him out of that. Apparently.
    I believe the expression "Don't stick your dick in crazy" was coined for Ms Yates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Where does he pay his taxes?? Linch him!!!!!!!!

He'd wanna spend some money on getting his daughter sorted out, that bint is bat **** crazy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

From his Wikipedia entry:
    At the NME awards in 2006, when accepting an award, Geldof referred to the host Russell Brand as a "cunt". Brand responded by saying "It's no wonder Bob Geldof knows so much about famine – he's been dining out on 'I Don't Like Mondays' for 30 years".

Say what you like about Russell Brand, but that's a brilliant riposte.

RayM wrote: »
    From his Wikipedia entry:

Say what you like about Russell Brand, but that's a brilliant riposte.

and Sir Bob was only pissed off at Brand 'cos Brand rode one of his daughters!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

Did he train horses as well, Ruby Walsh once said he rode her mother as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

.....jaysus....imagine how pissed off he'd be if Brand turned her down.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,253 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

To be fair he clearly had drive and organisational ability in spades. I mean here was this singer, career on the downward, who was able to convince a load of pop stars and then get them to show up for a charity record and then worldwide gig. For free. With a few notable exceptions(status quo for one) most pop star types tend towards flaky and unreliable and "artistic" at the best of times, so that was some achievement. Doing similar in the biz world would have a been a piece of piss by comparison.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭Hondo75

Planet 24 was the company, produced The Word aswell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

I knew Bob when he was the penniless lodger at the N**** arms Pub in London - if you'd told me then he would go on to make thousands, I'd have thought you were mad, let alone millions. Fair play to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

As Bob Geldof will tell you, he's worth every cent and more. :D