Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Damo810

was cutting a meadow this morning, got to the last little strip and see a brown bird, presume pheasant? and 6 or 7 babies running in front of the mower, they kept turning back into the grass, had to get out several times and try and hunt them off, hope they all made it

Was mowing a few years back with a drum mower, there was a pheasant hen and her chicks in the meadow, every time they'd come out they'd keep going back into the unmowed bit. Anyways, finally the hen and about 5 chicks come running out in front of the tractor, me thinking they were all out took off mowing again, but as I looked behind I saw a head popping out of the swath. Turns out I had mowed over one of the chicks, but somehow he managed to miss getting chopped up. Ran off after the mother than..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

brought the kids up to paddock that was mowed today, said to youngest lad to run to the end, looked over and he was running the whole way around the headland, when he came back around, he said i couldnt find the end:o hope to bale it tomorrow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

Did they look like this?

hen_pheasant_with_chicks__stoney_law__catton_4412.jpg

Did the hen and the chicks run in the same direction? Often, I have seen the hen run one way, and the she sends the chicks the other...

Bit late for chicks now I would have thought?

Oh - and welcome back Vander... hope you had a nice time... :D

ya thats them id say although the chicks were a good deal bigger than those in pics
    ya good time, good to come home as well though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

I was wondering if you were still alive after the honeymoon :D

no fear :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭Viewtodiefor

whelan1 wrote: »
    might be no harm to put some stockholm tar on it too

Have you had one like this whelan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Damo810

"Experienced Driver For Hire"
    21277_523964154331870_1225640554_n.jpg

Oh Deere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Mulumpy

Got billed today from teagasc 190 euro for being in discussion group. Are they trying to pull a fast one now dep scheme has ended. Been in group for ten years. Anyone else paid it.

Have you had one like this whelan?
    yup had a couple last year, none this year, thought it was those green bvd tags....

Mulumpy wrote: »
    Got billed today from teagasc 190 euro for being in discussion group. Are they trying to pull a fast one now dep scheme has ended. Been in group for ten years. Anyone else paid it.
    i assume that is on top of your annual fee, think mine is 450 in total:eek: doesnt leave much from your discussion group money when you take the fee, diesel and your time out of it, that said i have learnt alot from my group, sorry just reread your post,

i assume that is on top of your annual fee, think mine is 450 in total:eek: doesnt leave much from your discussion group money when you take the fee, diesel and your time out of it, that said i have learnt alot from my group

Its on top of advisors fee plus reps. Im just annoyed because it wasn't there before the dep scheme began. Our advisor hasnt alot of input we do a lot of the work in the group ourselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,974 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

There was one in a hay meadow here last year. Not been heard this year though.

After watching Evelyn this evening I hope to be cutting hay at the end of June/start of July. Before I cut hay I run the dogs through it to make sure there are no corncrakes etc. in it. This part of Mayo has corncrakes the otherside of Belmullet so theres always the possiblilty. It would be nice to have one on the land and I wouldn't mind delaying things a few weeks so that they can breed. If you delay cutting you are in any case entitled to a "corncrake grant" from the NPWS which I think is around 200 euros per acre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,439 ✭✭✭naughto

Damo810 wrote: »
    "Experienced Driver For Hire"
    21277_523964154331870_1225640554_n.jpg

Oh Deere.
    did it fall off the front loader and he drove over it??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

naughto wrote: »
    did it fall off the front loader and he drove over it??

I would think that it fell through the back handler and he reversed up on it as there seems to be no tyre cleat marks on the right of the bale. I could easily happen to anyone shifting wet bales

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

brought the kids up to paddock that was mowed today, said to youngest lad to run to the end, looked over and he was running the whole way around the headland, when he came back around, he said i couldnt find the end:o hope to bale it tomorrow
    Years ago my father yoked my cousin up chain harrowing corn. He told him to stay driving around the field so as not to snarl chain in back wheel. Boss went to check some time later to find him going around the field in the same track:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Its on top of advisors fee plus reps. Im just annoyed because it wasn't there before the dep scheme began. Our advisor hasnt alot of input we do a lot of the work in the group ourselves.
    That makes it a good group then. In a discussion group he is only supposed to act as a facilitator rather than advisor.

What you need to ask yourself is do you feel you're getting the benefit out of it rather than the cost to you. If yes pay, if no drop out.

just do it wrote: »
    That makes it a good group then. In a discussion group he is only supposed to act as a facilitator rather than advisor.

What you need to ask yourself is do you feel you're getting the benefit out of it rather than the cost to you. If yes pay, if no drop out.

Its a great group not about the money at all. Its just the principal more and more costs shoved onto the farmer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Its a great group not about the money at all. Its just the principal more and more costs shoved onto the farmer.
    It has to be paid for somehow and the taxpayer has enough on his hands - and that's coming from a farmer;)

just reading yesterdays farming indo, theres a serious amount of farmland for sale in meath, why is this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

just reading yesterdays farming indo, theres a serious amount of farmland for sale in meath, why is this?

Could be a combination of last years summer and long winter plus the fact that most young lads don't want to get into farming. My father has even strongly advised me against it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 472 ✭✭quadboy

Got my place on a greenkeeping and sports turf management course

quadboy wrote: »

Got offered my place in animal management a few weeks ago. Do you qualify for a grant?

Kovu Murr wrote: »
    Got offered my place in animal management a few weeks ago. Do you qualify for a grant?

In the interview they said i dont cos i already have a level 6 qualification

Is the new course the same level or is it higher?

Same level

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

NAMA land perhaps especially given the proximity to Dublin?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

fair play is it a long course, what golf course do you work on at the moment, can ya get us all in for a cheap round of golf and a free knees up after:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Got offered my place in animal management a few weeks ago

Ye could set up an open farm....a marriage made in heaven. Kovu your in charge of the animals, Quadboy will make sure the grounds are kept in order. No worrying about bent drawbars for you Kovu, Quadboy will take care of all machinery duties from now on! :D

Muckit wrote: »
    Ye could set up an open farm....a marriage made in heaven. Kovu your in charge of the animals, Quadboy will make sure the grounds are kept in order. No worrying about bent drawbars for you Kovu, Quadboy will take care of all machinery duties from now on! :D

Nah, I'm gonna save my grant and skip off to Canada :D

hugo29 wrote: »
    fair play is it a long course, what golf course do you work on at the moment, can ya get us all in for a cheap round of golf and a free knees up after:D

One year full time, dont work at any course just go to the course where the uncle works every now and then, will look for some work experience though from other courses before september

Nah, I'm gonna save my grant and skip off to Canada :D

You can come to new zealand with me if you want ;)