Scrap metal prices

• 18-06-2013 01:15PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4

Been asked before but anyone up to speed on latest scrap metal prices?

Namely bright cooper, lead and basic metal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

I'd like to know this too, I've some Metallica albums I want to get rid of

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Apt time to say it?

Bout tree fiddy.

Bass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 Mister Mac

Tanks boss!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭bgrizzley

Mister Mac wrote: »
    Tanks boss!

Is it a stainless tank?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,059 ✭✭✭Uriel.

You say it has been asked before...

But I am not so sure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

these are the questions that haunt my life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,046 ✭✭✭martinedwards

try googling scrap metal prices and your nearest big town and phone them.

I'm guessing that the prices fluctuate a fair old bit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

ask john joe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 Mister Mac

All fair comments! but anyone actually know prices. Just want to get a rough idea as I have some scrap to bring to d local scrappies and wanna make sure I dont get raped

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭Nemeses

All fair comments! but anyone actually know prices. Just want to get a rough idea as I have some scrap to bring to d local scrappies and wanna make sure I dont get raped

Better bring protection then so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,746 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

Namely bright cooper, lead and basic metal
    The exact metals used to build the Statue of Liberty?

Not even the shadiest scrap dealer will buy that off you if you manage to nick it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

My motto in life everywhere I go!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,711 ✭✭✭stimpson

All the cool kids sell their scrap metal on adverts.ie. They even have a section for Scrap Metal.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,424 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

I'd be curious regarding how abouts this bounty of metal, was acquired.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭Nemeses

I'd be curious regarding how abouts this bounty of metal, was acquired.

Back of a truck bass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,309 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Ha. I remember hearing last year that people were going around stealing manhole covers to sell as scrap. Various news sites reported about it. If memory serves me correct happened quite a bit around Tallaght.

That's mental, isnt it? :pac: Like it really gives the expression "if it's not bolted down..." more meaning LOL!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 448 ✭✭Gamayun

Ha. I remember hearing last year that people were going around stealing manhole covers to sell as scrap. Various news sites reported about it. If memory serves me correct happened quite a bit around Tallaght.

That's mental, isnt it? :pac: Like it really gives the expression "if it's not bolted down..." more meaning LOL!

I remember this story from last year, two lads stole a Henry Moore sculpture worth £500,000 and traded it for £46 scrap value!

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,257 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Talk to Walter in Megaton, he'll give you 10 caps per piece of scrap metal.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

Where you out robbing copper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,820 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Went into work one morning to find all manhole covers stolen.

The scumbag knackers with their disregard for peoples safety were caught on cctv stealing 6 covers and lifting them into a hiace.

Nolle prosequi for the ethnic minority of course,even though the gardai recognised them and identified the van.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

A mate of mine (Traveller) asked me for a lift to an old abandoned mental hospital one day to look for Copper in the skips. I almost píssed myself laughing but I dropped him over to the gates nonetheless. Even the security there were chatting away to him when I left him off, They didn't care as the place had already being stripped, So there was nothing left for him..

But the funny part was later that night I was playing scrabble and one of the lads who didn't even know himself upstairs had been on the hunt earlier spelled out Copper on the scrabble board...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

If you had 6 foot of Henry Cooper OP, you'd make a fortune. The other types of Cooper are not as valuable unless you're making a barrel or two. Handy then alright. The Tommy Cooper is funny stuff - very hard to put a price on.