Travellers have just moved in up the road

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

Most people on this thread, have had very few personal interactions with Travellers. So most people have formed their views based on Media coverage and 3rd hand word of mouth.

I wouldn't fully trust either of those sources, the media focus on stories the public want to hear and everyone embellishes anecdotes.
    The level of abuse directed at them and is not justified considering the tiny percentage of the population they represent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Laneyh

ColeTrain wrote: »
    That's the mentality you're dealing with ,'**** everyone else we are here now'

Alright, and how do you propose challenging that mentality and the one of pure hatred displayed on here?

I'm pretty sure everyone getting hot and bothered on boards is not decreasing the litter rate amongst travellers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,795 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Most people on this thread, have had very few personal interactions with Travellers.

And how exactly do you know this seeing as we are all strangers to each other on here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,611 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I love all the talk about how they refuse to integrate themselves into communities, when any time an attempt is made to do so there does be uproar. Look at that house that was burned down recently just before a traveller family moved in. Look at the comments made by councillors calling for them all to be forced to live together in isolation -
    “there should be an isolated community of them some place – and give them houses and keep them all together”

http://www.thejournal.ie/fianna-fail-councillor-sean-mceniff-traveller-comments-758655-Jan2013/

Everyone wants them to become part of functioning society.. just not when it means living beside them. Of course travellers could make a lot more effort, but it's definitely not just a one-sided dilemma.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭Nemeses

Most people on this thread, have had very few personal interactions with Travellers.

A sweeping statement right there..

Do you know me Frank?

I love all the talk about how they refuse to integrate themselves into communities, when any time an attempt is made to do so there does be uproar. Look at that house that was burned down recently just before a traveller family moved in. Look at the comments made by councillors calling for them all to be forced to live together in isolation -

http://www.thejournal.ie/fianna-fail-councillor-sean-mceniff-traveller-comments-758655-Jan2013/

Everyone wants them to become part of functioning society.. just not when it means living beside them. Of course travellers could make a lot more effort, but it's definitely not just a one-sided dilemma.

With regards to the house burning in Ballyshannon, I wouldn't be so fast in blaming angry settled folk for that one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

Have had many interactions with travellers ....mostly negative...only one positive experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

I always find the contrast between gypsy culture in Spain and Ireland to be astonishing.

I just attended a major international festival celebrating Flamenco - a Romani rooted art form, and now on the list of UNESCO Masterpieces of the Oral and Intangible Heritage of Humanity. Moorish protection of gypsy culture of against Christian persecution helped cement gypsy traditions into Spanish culture and now Spaniards celebrate Gitano culture as part of their national identity.

By contrast, we have Ireland, where despite a symbiotic relationship with the settled population up until the 1950s, fear and prejudice is the main reason. Sad really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭stefan idiot jones

Well done to all the AH mods.

Now we have got rid of all the bile and fury inside of us you will see a nicer, calmer forum for a few days until we all recharge.

No seriously, thank god there is a place for some discussion concerning travellers somewhere as people do have strong opinions on it.

Brown nose now under shower.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭gowley

i think this thread is just a traveller bashing exercise. everyone knows they are law abiding citizens. they pay their taxes. they work hard. they are not involved in crime. they have a good reputation when they visit other countres. they always leave the place like they found it. they make sure their kids attend school to get an education. they are always clean and well turned out. they mix well with other people. i really dont see the ops issues. i would love a whole heap of them to move in next to me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 632 ✭✭✭Forest Demon

gowley wrote: »
    i think this thread is just a traveller bashing exercise. everyone knows they are law abiding citizens. they pay their taxes. they work hard. they are not involved in crime. they have a good reputation when they visit other countres. they always leave the place like they found it. they make sure their kids attend school to get an education. they are always clean and well turned out. they mix well with other people. i really dont see the ops issues. i would love a whole heap of them to move in next to me

and always well behaved in the cinema.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,407 ✭✭✭lkionm

I turned my sarcasm font on just in time for that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭HondaSami

Most people on this thread, have had very few personal interactions with Travellers. So most people have formed their views based on Media coverage and 3rd hand word of mouth.

I wouldn't fully trust either of those sources, the media focus on stories the public want to hear and everyone embellishes anecdotes.
    The level of abuse directed at them and is not justified considering the tiny percentage of the population they represent.

I know plenty of them and unfortunately quite a lot are bad imo. The older generation were ok but not the ones that are growing up now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭R P McMurphy

were pioneers of the leave no trace philosophy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,989 ✭✭✭mikeym

Have the Gardai Sicoloney moved them on yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

Was it proven that it was the settled community who did that?

Integration is much more than just moving into a community. Integration means contributing to that community in some way; Working whenever possible and paying your taxes where applicable, paying for or towards your accommodation, educating your children, upholding the law, keeping your community clean and habitable, being respectful of your neighbours.

I doubt anyone would have a problem with any travellers who integrated well into a community. If one side continuously appears to take without giving anything back, of course resentment will eventually start to fester.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

MadsL wrote: »
    I always find the contrast between gypsy culture in Spain and Ireland to be astonishing.

I just attended a major international festival celebrating Flamenco - a Romani rooted art form, and now on the list of UNESCO Masterpieces of the Oral and Intangible Heritage of Humanity. Moorish protection of gypsy culture of against Christian persecution helped cement gypsy traditions into Spanish culture and now Spaniards celebrate Gitano culture as part of their national identity.

By contrast, we have Ireland, where despite a symbiotic relationship with the settled population up until the 1950s, fear and prejudice is the main reason. Sad really.

You definitely need to talk to a few more people to qualify your statement. I teach here and many different topics of conversation come up - culture, customs, traditions, crime, justice, immigration, equality, etc. etc. I have heard many many Spanish people complain about the gitanos in a similar way to how many Irish people do about the travellers.
    Is it hypocrisy to part take in and enjoy Flamenco and yet whine about the culture it originally came from? Yes. Does it happen? Yes, it does.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭El Gato

Travellers......all the rights, none of the responsibilities.

I would like the term 'justifiable discrimination' to acknowledged in relation to travellers.

And before anyone says I don't know what I am talking about - I DO.

I have had a family living beside me for 5 years. Nothing but trouble. I will not go into detail but needless to say, they were 'known to Gardai' and I was advised to 'move out of my house for my own safety' - FCUK THAT. I have a mortgage on my house that I pay for.

It took a time and tactics but they have been removed now.

And this is not my 1st experience of travellers (far from it) Growing up I had to deal with them on a daily basis & I can safely say I have NEVER had a good experience.

So to all the bleeding hearts who want to jump in and defend them - live beside them for a number of years, have your kid have to deal with them every day defending themselves going to school......

To the OP, I hope they are moved sooner than later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,780 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

HondaSami wrote: »
    I know plenty of them and unfortunately quite a lot are bad imo. The older generation were ok but not the ones that are growing up now.

To quote an older traveller; "Everything was grand, until the yung-uns started to dabble in them drugs."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,002 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

Laneyh wrote: »
    The area can't be that secluded if it's beside a LUAS line

If the OP is referring to the LUAS Red Line,and more particularly the Saggart extension,then a brief tram journey (I'd recommend in daylight) will reveal significant swathes of desolate and secluded land within metre's of the Line and it's Stations.

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭Cody Pomeray

Ha! As soon as a dog or a piece of scrap metal is taken, it's easy to find a concensus that the travellers did it (see back through this thread).

But as soon as an allegation settles on the sedentary community... oh, well....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

Having some trouble with them myself. Problem is they're living in houses so can't just force them out.
    Hopefully they will fight amongst themselves again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,121 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

http://www.thejournal.ie/halting-site-stabbing-953580-Jun2013/

http://fixmyarea.com/issues/8577-dumping-of-rubbish-at-entrance-to-kimmage-manor-way

http://www.herald.ie/news/banned-driver-sent-to-prison-27952528.html

I live on this road and this is only a minority of what goes on from the "settled" travellers. Wheelie bins being robbed not only from the roadside but coming in to your drive and taking them. Council provided them with a huge bin on wheels free of charge to stop this...makes me feel an eejit having to fork out for bin collections.

The stabbing took place yesterday - took away from the nice day that most of the locals, including my family, enjoyed at the church's family fun day.

Think of them what you will, but live near them and come back here and post.

P.S - I'll not even start on the abuse that some of the elderly people have had to put up with on the road.

One of the reasons i'm moving home in the next couple of months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,002 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

Integration is much more than just moving into a community. Integration means contributing to that community in some way; Working whenever possible and paying your taxes where applicable, paying for or towards your accommodation, educating your children, upholding the law, keeping your community clean and habitable, being respectful of your neighbours.

I doubt anyone would have a problem with any travellers who integrated well into a community. If one side continuously appears to take without giving anything back, of course resentment will eventually start to fester.

The Donegal fire is still under investigation,however whether the Gardai will be able to gather enough evidence to bring forward charges remains to be seen.

That particular case is not as cut and dried as many appear to believe,and significant concerns remain in the locality.

Some posters appear to cling to the notion that the issues raised by the OP and others,focus only on the Settled vs Traveller.

However,there is a significant element of internal oppression and aggression designed to maintain the pecking order within what some describe as Traveller "Culture".

It is rarely spoken of,and even less seen by the outside world of the buffers,but many traveller families down the years have had to abandon hopes of becoming integrated with the wider world after being subjected to savage and ongoing pressures to remain off the radar.

It's far from a them and us situation,and one which nobody except the Travellers themselves can extricate themselves from.

I would see it as something,which one-day,will see an out and out Civil War between those Travellers who wish to remain wild & savage and those who see merit in their children progressing and enjoying a longer healthier life than is currently their lot.

The settled contributing classes will never be able to sort out Travellers and/or their issues,that will only be done by Travellers themselves.

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Administrators Posts: 55,840 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Only thing more annoying than travellers are traveller sympathisers who fall over themselves looking for a pat on the back for telling us all how misunderstood travellers are and how people are so prejudiced.

They don't have the reputation they have for no reason. There is no point sticking your head in the sand and pretending that a very real problem doesn't exist. You are fooling nobody but yourself.

How many people would be happy for a traveller camp to arrive on their doorstop? Very few.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 655 ✭✭✭HurtLocker

bogwalrus wrote: »
    There are many ghost estates so why not Nama give them houses to call their own. Each family get one house. They can either take care of their home or destroy it but their not getting another one.

There is a massive ghost estate in Cork that could easily hold 60 families.
    I am in a family! Put me down for 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

MadsL wrote: »
    The general consensus on Dale Farm around AH was that it was OK to evict 80 families who had been living there for 10+ years and sending their kids to a local school.

The general consensus seems to be it is a Bad Thing for familes to have moved onto this site and that various intimidations should be used to get them to move.

So, they should not stay in one place nor should they move.

Slow hand clap.
    Are you not big on watching councils and advertising companies etc for any little possible breaches of things like planning laws? Hmm.............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,582 ✭✭✭skimpydoo

Cabaal wrote: »
    Doctor?
    He was in Kashmir.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

You definitely need to talk to a few more people to qualify your statement. I teach here and many different topics of conversation come up - culture, customs, traditions, crime, justice, immigration, equality, etc. etc. I have heard many many Spanish people complain about the gitanos in a similar way to how many Irish people do about the travellers.
    Is it hypocrisy to part take in and enjoy Flamenco and yet whine about the culture it originally came from? Yes. Does it happen? Yes, it does.

Gitano or Roma? Just to be clear. I can help wonder if the terms are used interchangeably in Spain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 341 ✭✭poppyvally

Private land. Spread pig slurry. Which do you prefer?