Does it look strange when a girl is much taller than her boyfriend?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,642 ✭✭✭newport2

beks101 wrote: »
    There's a huge difference between "he's hot but shorter than me, what will people think?" versus "I don't find him attractive because he's shorter than me" - I guess that's what the thread boils down to really.
    newport2 wrote: »
    I was just pointing out that not dating someone who is shorter than you because

a) you find tall people attractive
    or
    b) you're conscious it will look strange

are two totally different things. a) is perfectly understandable and we all find various traits more or less attractive.

I agree 100% :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

Iwasfrozen wrote: »
    Where did you travel, Norway? South Africa? In most countries with most ethnicities 6ft would be considered tall.

I'm 6ft and a smiggen (according to my medical 3 years ago) and where I work I'm the shortest guy. 6'2'' being average height with some lads being 6'4 and 6'5. I have a pain in my neck when talking to them, don't know how the women cope. I'm finding that with each generation the average height of Irish guys is going up and up, the amount of school leavers that are towering over me is unreal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭Irlandczyk

Jimmy 5F wrote: »
    What about if Caroline Wozniak went out with a man who was 3 foot tall. Would you think that looked normal or silly?

You can say what you like, this man is an absolute legend...

dinklage-729-420x0.jpg

And interestingly, a lot of women really find this guy super attractive. Personally, I really don't think these two together looks odd at all. I'm only 170cm (5'7") or so, and the missus is 2 inches shorter or so, so roughly the same size when she's in heels, maybe a little taller. No issues, really.

As Peter Dinklage proves (for me, at least); If you have self-confidence and you're in a good relationship, being smaller than your wife/girlfriend doesn't look strange at all. If it looks like height is an issue for you, then you probably will look weird - but only because you don't look comfortable together.

Just my 2c

EDIT:
    I'm 6ft and a smiggen (according to my medical 3 years ago) and where I work I'm the shortest guy. 6'2'' being average height with some lads being 6'4 and 6'5. I have a pain in my neck when talking to them, don't know how the women cope. I'm finding that with each generation the average height of Irish guys is going up and up, the amount of school leavers that are towering over me is unreal.

Where do you work? The NBA? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

Lurching wrote: »
    5'8.5" is not near average male height!

Maybe it is in 60 year olds, but not across the board.

5'10'' is the average height. 5'8.5'' is close to average height.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

I'm below average height for a girl, and my boyfriend is way above average height for a man. My head is just above his elbow in flat shoes.

I find taller guys attractive, and I don't think I'd go out with someone smaller than me, mainly because I'm very small myself. If my boyfriend and I were the same height I shallowly admit I'd probably avoid high heels.

I too think proportion is another consideration. I have a male friend who is shorter than me and is of very slight build and I always feel like an absolute monster around him because of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭BigGrayKettle

I'm 5' 8" or a little more in normal shoes, herself is about 5' 7" in normal shoes. No problem at all until the heels come out (on her, that is). I feel like a fecking eijet then sometimes, even though she might only be two inches taller, it just feels wrong! Doesn't bother me anymore really though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭Pug160

I can understand why women wouldn't be attracted to a shorter man as much but some women want men who are still taller than them even when they're wearing heels, which seems overly picky and shallow, but it's their choice. I think if a woman is much taller it seems a bit odd and comical. The thing about women is that they sometimes look far bigger than what they are because they have longer legs than men in relation to their height. I'm a good 3½ inches taller than my sister but I remember her jeans being the same length as mine. The body-leg ratio of men and women is quite different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Zen65

I'd never date a girl under 6 foot.
    Between the effort of digging that deep and the smell of corpse rot, it would be a right turn-off!!

Love AH!

Z

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,710 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

I think the opposite is true, it looks strange when a guy is much taller then his girlfriend. Makes her look like a child that this oaf next to her is about to squash.

For a whole variety of activities does it not make sense for your partner to be somewhat similar in height then you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

Bit weird but bet they close in height without her high heels.

In general it can bit but ok if she wearing heels.

Can be weird if guy is very tall much taller but tall or tallish than gf isnt too bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭Prodigious

Balmed Out wrote: »
    For a whole variety of activities does it not make sense for your partner to be somewhat similar in height then you?

You're right. The most annoying is when you want to go on a rollercoaster and she doesn't reach the minimum height :mad:

I don't think it's strange, I think it's seriously hot. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

Prodigious wrote: »
    You're right. The most annoying is when you want to go on a rollercoaster and she doesn't reach the minimum height :mad:

Bit better same height but shouldnt matter. I rather not bang heads.

Hey not fair im 4 foot 10/11 inches and 5ft + with shoes/kitten heel/heels. I tend to wear flats/pumps or trainers. I can ger on hurdy gurdys no probs despite height but dont go on often cause i be ill or afraid of heights. Been on a few once in lifetime some fun some my head and tum spin never again other things can do that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭Irlandczyk

Irlandczyk wrote: »
    You can say what you like, this man is an absolute legend...

dinklage-729-420x0.jpg

And interestingly, a lot of women really find this guy super attractive. Personally, I really don't think these two together looks odd at all. I'm only 170cm (5'7") or so, and the missus is 2 inches shorter or so, so roughly the same size when she's in heels, maybe a little taller. No issues, really.

As Peter Dinklage proves (for me, at least); If you have self-confidence and you're in a good relationship, being smaller than your wife/girlfriend doesn't look strange at all. If it looks like height is an issue for you, then you probably will look weird - but only because you don't look comfortable together.

Just my 2c

And on the other hand: http://www.usmagazine.com/uploads/assets/articles/43748-pic-shaquille-oneal-towers-over-reality-star-girlfriend/1313010529_shaq-hoopz-290.jpg :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭FizzleSticks

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 122 ✭✭Jimmy 5F

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭Pug160

I've gone out with a two guys my own height, 5"4 ish. It's a real turn off when they don't like you wearing heels and looking taller than them, its not a big deal. Insecurity ain't sexy.

I reckon that's the main issue. Women have preferences but if they like someone those preferences can go out the window. Some of the guys I've known through the years who have done really well with women have been skinny. Yet most women would not choose skinny men as a preference. But these skinny guys had outgoing, fun personalities and were not insecure like some men would be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,597 ✭✭✭matthew8

Yeah generally it seems normal if the guy is taller, and I'd want a girl around 3 inches shorter. As for heels, I think they look ridiculous in general, wouldn't find them attractive whether she was 4 feet 9 or 6 foot 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 700 ✭✭✭nicowa

Malari wrote: »
    Why does it "scream" of insecurity rather than personal preference? :confused:

Mostly the way they (some of them) phrased it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,710 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

Irlandczyk wrote: »

I know she isnt a child but he does kind of look like a paedofile with her

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

Balmed Out wrote: »
    I know she isnt a child but he does kind of look like a paedofile with her

I find that such a turn on, the height difference, not the paedo look.

He looks like he could just throw her around the place! I'm 5'9'' so its not often Im with a guy who's towering over me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

I'm 5'6, my girlfriend is 5'10, 6'1 in heels. I love it. Tall women are sexier, and I'm naturally sexy anyway. Win-win.

Where'd you get a " blow up " doll that tall ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,161 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

My ex was an inch or two taller than me. We always sorta felt we were perfect size for each other as if we hugged or kissed neither of us had to reach/lean down for the other.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

I'm 5'4/5'5, and my ex is 6'1/6'2. I liked it, I could wear whatever height heels I liked and he would still be taller than me. Good for cuddles too, standing up hugs can just snuggle into his chest and all is well, would not date a guy my height or shorter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

I'm 5'4/5'5, and my ex is 6'1/6'2. I liked it, I could wear whatever height heels I liked and he would still be taller than me. Good for cuddles too, standing up hugs can just snuggle into his chest and all is well, would not date a guy my height or shorter.

I'm 6'1 my ex was5'4 or so ... we broke up she was always on Boards :-)

I'm going out with a guy that is pretty much the same height as me (he's maybe half an inch taller). Doesn't bother me. Never even really thought about it until I saw this thread :/

Never wear heels anyway. Was going out with a fella who is 6'4" and still never wore heels..just not my thing!

I do know some girls that wouldn't go out with a fella unless they are a few inches taller...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

mattjack wrote: »
    I'm 6'1 my ex was5'4 or so ... we broke up she was always on Boards :-)

Eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭irishgirl19

I am 3-4 inches taller than my man! Doesn't bother us anymore though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Meh, people will always find something to laugh at. I'm 5'6 and my husband is 6'3 and we used to get people sniggering about that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭ibstar

Wife's exactly same height as me. When we go out, she wears heels, and doesn't bother any of us the slightest.
    People saying I wouldn't go out with person taller/smaller than me etc. just haven't met their true love and partner for life.
    When you find that special someone, believe me you wouldn't care even if he/she had *insert something stupid here*