Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Coast Guard attacked

• 10-06-2013 11:01am
    Registered Users Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭

Part of a press release today.

2350UTC Crosshaven Coast Guard tasked to reports of a person in the water in the River Lee near Ballincollig. Casualty recovered to ambulance. Coast Guard vehicle damaged by unruly mob and had to be escorted in and out by Gardai.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,713 ✭✭✭eireannBEAR

disgusting! i dont understand this at all it make my blood boil when fire and especially ambulances are attacked. never mind the gardai when you attack these services you are genuinely attacking the irish public and state!

these people need to named,shamed and punished.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 505 ✭✭✭Koptain Liverpool

these people need to named,shamed and punished.

these people need a good hiding more like!

• Registered Users Posts: 919 ✭✭✭n0brain3r

Just sickening we're, me included, far to tolerant a society

these people need a good hiding more like!

what ever some ubber liberals on this might think,i 100% agree. beating until they cry in front of their scum peers. lets see them think that they are the big boys then.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,528 ✭✭✭kub

This is probably in connection with the drowning there last night (R.I.P to that young man). Obviously his buddies at the scene must not have had the sense or indeed intellect to realise that the Coast Guard unit was there to help him. But far be it for me to be making excuses for low life.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭iceage

Not happy with just causing grief for the CG on scene, they proceeded to the Hospital for round 2! Assholes.

• Registered Users Posts: 750 ✭✭✭mcko

I was going to rant but why bother, the one problem with getting sunshine in Ireland is that all the scum leave their estates to walk around drinking and showing off their scrawny red bodies in the case of young lads and their fat bodies when it comes to the young ladies, normally a pram as well.
    Scum the lot of them.

Rant over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,195 ✭✭✭goldie fish

The family involved in this tragedy have a history of interfering with the emergency services. The victims uncle was killed in a crash while being persued by gardai. They then started throwing bricks at traffic passing their home, causing the GS to have to close the road outside it, for public safety.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

disgusting! i dont understand this at all it make my blood boil when fire and especially ambulances are attacked. never mind the gardai when you attack these services you are genuinely attacking the irish public and state!

these people need to HUNG, DRAWN AND QUARTERED.

FYP

Seriously though you have to question the mentality of these idiotic ****tards that attack any of the services but especially the one that YOU have called to SAVE your drowning friend!!!!:confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 750 ✭✭✭mcko

As I said in previous threads, we need to stop rewarding children for having children.

• Registered Users Posts: 372 ✭✭jamesdiver

Thugs. And as much as the front line services would love to retaliate, they will loose everything if they did...meanwhile if any of these c**ts got prosecuted, they'd be out in a few months, if even.

Coastguard had its busiest weekend on record, and this is the thanks they get. If there are CG members here, thanks for watching over us and keep up the good work!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,528 ✭✭✭kub

Will be interesting to see how much trouble there will be in whatever pub they choose after the funeral.

• Site Banned Posts: 638 ✭✭✭imurdaddy

These rats are total scumbags! the emergency services should refuse to serve them! no time for sh@@bags like them. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

I told this story to some Aussies and the look of horror on their face was a story in itself.

Sadly paramedics and the fire brigade have copped this for some time in Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,195 ✭✭✭goldie fish

Not just Dublin.

Zambia wrote: »
    I told this story to some Aussies and the look of horror on their face was a story in itself.

have you ever watched beech patrol?? aussies attack life guards all the time.

Never watched it, I believe its an American TV show.

lololol that fecking show on picks tv...surf patrol lolol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

That'd be an American show. Although that's not to say there haven't been any Aussies on it....

EDIT: ah okay :)

• Registered Users Posts: 33,576 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Forgot Australia was the land of milk and honey :rolleyes:

http://www.abc.net.au/news/2012-12-27/mutitjulu-riot-police-attacked-boxing-day/4444698

Oh look hears another

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=YOKe8C-Q_n8

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭seven_eleven

Has anybody got that clip from the RTE series last year where the DFB were pelted with rocks and fireworks while being escorted by riot police?

listermint wrote: »

The first are attacks on the coppers which does happen.

The second is a bloke who was clearly suffering some sort of psychotic episode.

We are far from a land of milk and honey but attacks on the fire brigade by gangs of scumbags are rare. Hence some people were shocked.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭maglite

I haven't done a lot of reading about this but, if the CG were on scene it appears to be more of a recovery than rescue operation. Even assuming the CG in Crosshaven were on active standby for the weekend the response time to Ballincollig would be significant.

Could there be an element of frustration with regards to a delayed response time?

Do the Fire Service not have Swift Rescue capabilities? (didn’t see if they were on scene or not)

The first are attacks on the coppers which does happen.

The second is a bloke who was clearly suffering some sort of psychotic episode.

We are far from a land of milk and honey but attacks on the fire brigade by gangs of scumbags are rare. Hence some people were shocked.

I disagree on both points. Australia is no different to here in respect you have some folks who feel marginalised from main stream society.

These type of incidents happen in ireland just as they do in australia. So please refrain from pointing this out as a dublin centric incident.

Any country that has a marginalised group (this includes areas in europe) authority type services can and do wear the brunt of it.

I disagree on both points. Australia is no different to here in respect you have some folks who feel marginalised from main stream society.

These type of incidents happen in ireland just as they do in australia. So please refrain from pointing this out as a dublin centric incident.

Any country that has a marginalised group (this includes areas in europe) authority type services can and do wear the brunt of it.

even more so in autrailia its an incredibly racist country,just look at how they treat the native race its appalling.

Oh now we are just bearing way ot

• Registered Users Posts: 1,967 ✭✭✭Paulzx

I think you are being completely over the top in your attitude to Zambias post. He merely stated some of his collegues in Australia couldn't believe that members of the public would attack the fire or emergency services. At no stage did he say it never happens in Australia. You seem to think he's making some sort of "our country is better than yours" point which I personally don't see.

Speaking from a Dublin point of view none of the firefoghters who wok there are in the least bit surprised to be stoned or assaulted.......its become par for the course. However some Australian firefighters on exchange in Dublin couldn't believe it was happening. This is evidence enough for me that its not the problem over there that it is here.

Do a quick google of "attacks on australian firefighters" and "attacks on irish/dublin firefighters" and there seems to be a huge difference also.

To me it seems that the oul "marginalised" of society like lashing the fire servcies in Ireland much more than the Aussie "marginalised.

Paulzx wrote: »
    I think you are being completely over the top in your attitude to Zambias post. He merely stated some of his collegues in Australia couldn't believe that members of the public would attack the fire or emergency services. At no stage did he say it never happens in Australia. You seem to think he's making some sort of "our country is better than yours" point which I personally don't see.

you must be blind.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,967 ✭✭✭Paulzx

you must be blind.

I must be....so you'll have to explain

Paulzx wrote: »
    I must be....so you'll have to explain

I read it just as he intended it.

This type of thing doesnt happen over here... blah blah blah. My colleagues were shocked when i showed it to them yada yada yada.

Look the fact is Zambia was trying to say that it doesnt happen there which is why he referenced his colleagues. Im not reading anything into it, thats what was meant. As i already stated this type of thing happens all over the world by people who hate anyone in authority. Its happened in various areas in ireland, im unsure as to why dublin was specifcally brought up either.

But its a global issue for marginalised people. That is a fact. So own up to that point. If anyone thinks this is just an irish issue they are clueless because it aint.

End rant.