If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

What's the story with RTE radio's John Murray? I haven't heard him in months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

reilig wrote: »
    Bit of rain has created ideal conditions for to sort out last year's poached fields. Spent the evening running the land leveller and then the ring roller. It's not a pretty site, but with a week of growth it will look well.

You can turn off the rain now. We have enough to do us for a few weeks!

Snap. Was at the same thing myself yesterday evening. Shook a bit of 0-10-20 and a little grass seed. Hopefully should sort it ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

blue5000 wrote: »
    I thought these are sold in 150m rolls?

Shop around if you are buying a few rolls, it varies from 120-90 yoyo, but so does the quality:(

Actually - I think you're right Blue, it was 150m...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

Why Hugo, why?

To quote delaval that stuff is only any good for driving cattle onto lorries. 1 inch is absolute minimum. Friction loss is far to high with anything less. 1 inch is four times the volume of half inch and inch and a half is almost 10 times the volume. Much less pressure on your pump and a much better water supply in your field with the larger pipes.

was tapping onto 3 inch council main at road, they would only give me a half inch connection, was going to change to a 3/4 inch inside gate but decided not to (dont know if it was right or wrong).

max length of longest run was 300m and there was only 4 drinkers, ah its in now, will know for the next time, pressure seems ok at moment plus i have a heap of leftover bits for driving the cattle:D

blue5000 wrote: »
    I thought these are sold in 150m rolls?

Shop around if you are buying a few rolls, it varies from 120-90 yoyo, but so does the quality:(

you could be right, maybe it was 150m

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Why Hugo, why?

To quote delaval that stuff is only any good for driving cattle onto lorries. 1 inch is absolute minimum. Friction loss is far to high with anything less. 1 inch is four times the volume of half inch and inch and a half is almost 10 times the volume. Much less pressure on your pump and a much better water supply in your field with the larger pipes.

Supply and demand. 1/2 inch off mains supply would leave a dairy herd high and dry but is sufficient for most small suckler herds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

I thought Deleval was bald! When did he get the toupee?

Your right I am bald but I also am the only black in the village!!!

just do it wrote: »
    Supply and demand. 1/2 inch off mains supply would leave a dairy herd high and dry but is sufficient for most small suckler herds.

Although there is great merit in what freedom and delaval say, I totally agree with JDI on this count. Had dairy farmer looking down at me in the trench telling me the same thing last year :rolleyes: Totally different thing having 60+ dairy cows queuing for a drink or 10-15 sucklers and their calves. Like any good tailor, cut to suit your measure ;)

Muckit wrote: »
    Although there is great merit in what freedom and delaval say, I totally agree with JDI on this count. Had dairy farmer looking down at me in the trench telling me the same thing last year :rolleyes: Totally different thing having 60+ dairy cows queuing for a drink or 10-15 sucklers and their calves. Like any good tailor, cut to suit your measure ;)

ya ever think of going into politics:D

One career I'd never venture into!

My uncle-in-law gave me great advice one time.....
    'Never fall out with anyone..... you never know when you'd need them'

a wise man

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

Ahh,
    I'm the opposite. If a fella is a knob then so be it. I've had run in's with fellas that I'll never speak to again, both in and outside the family.
    I'd rather try and ****e out a roll of barb'd wire than ask or rely on them for anything.

I'm not a particularly forgiving person.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 839 ✭✭✭Dampintheattic

bbam wrote: »
    Ahh,
    I'm the opposite. If a fella is a knob then so be it. I've had run in's with fellas that I'll never speak to again, both in and outside the family.
    I'd rather try and ****e out a roll of barb'd wire than ask or rely on them for anything.

And in all cases you were and still are 101%, in the right. Everybody else was and still are, 101% in the wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

And in all cases you were and still are 101%, in the right. Everybody else was and still are, 101% in the wrong.
    no you cover yourself and say you are 99% sure leaving the 1% just in case you are wrong- which never happens anyway;)

Yes!
    I hate all this malarky about not falling out with anyone. I have people I dislike and some I down right hate the fact that they are still alive. Once someone wrongs me they are done with in my eyes. I've no time for all this forgiveness ****e. There are bad people out there and I for one just don't like them and want nothing to do with them, family or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Mulumpy

Yes!
    I hate all this malarky about not falling out with anyone. I have people I dislike and some I down right hate the fact that they are still alive. Once someone wrongs me they are done with in my eyes. I've no time for all this forgiveness ****e. There are bad people out there and I for one just don't like them and want nothing to do with them, family or not.
    the way I usually deal with people who take the piss is let them think they have ya for a mug then spot an opportunity to get them back twice as hard they wont try it again

what are the online companies for buying vaccinations, i know magenta but where else?

Remind me never to ever cross any of ye!!!!! :eek::D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭case885

fertiliser with sulphur and high nitrogen content?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Ahh,

You're right.

There are some people will **** you over ten thousand times if you let them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

Jesus lads...

We had 10 days of lovely, nice, friendly chat, while the sun was shining...

Now that we have a bit of rain, tis all talk of fighting, bad blood and revenge

:P

:D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 839 ✭✭✭Dampintheattic

Jesus lads...

We had 10 days of lovely, nice, friendly chat, while the sun was shining...

Now that we have a bit of rain, tis all talk of fighting, bad blood and revenge

:P

:D:D:D

Never mind, them fellas with all that fightin talk, wouldn't be see for dust, if a real skirmish broke out. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,901 ✭✭✭mf240

Yes!

If someones a cnut then I dont bother with them, but if something gets said in the heat of the moment and the person is generally sound I will always try to build a bridge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭JohnBoy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

My auld lad always said be wary of the lad you can't fall out with!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭fredweena

No point in not talking to a family member or falling out with them if it's going to cause pain to others in the family. Just be civil to the person you don't like and don't let them take advantage of you. Nothing sadder than to see a family torn apart over something that happened twenty years ago or something stupid. See it all the time.

fredweena wrote: »
    No point in not talking to a family member or falling out with them if it's going to cause pain to others in the family. Just be civil to the person you don't like and don't let them take advantage of you. Nothing sadder than to see a family torn apart over something that happened twenty years ago or something stupid. See it all the time.
    easier said than done

It takes a good bit for me to fall out with someone and I'm in no way confrontational. . But when it's done it's done. I have family members I don't speak to and are barred from entering my house. One I drive past on the road walking as he's lost his lisence, actually I smile particularly if it's raining.
    That's just ye way I'm wired, We can't all be nicey nicey, turn the other cheek type fellows :)

Anyway. Enough of the group therapy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

I fell out with a family member last year, won't speak to her again. Some things are not to be said nor done, she did both. As far as I am concerned she made her choice. Mine is never to have anything to do with her again. I'm not civil to her because she doesn't deserve it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

I have one or two family members I would be frosty with. They are no immediate family though. One auld hoor of an aunt in particular that would rise a row in a convent.

Have to say I would do all in my power to stay in with my siblings. Mainly coz it would kill me to see my kids not speaking and I know it would do the same to my parents.