Boards.ie inaugural Beer Mile 14/6

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,821 ✭✭✭blockic

Right lads, nail those colours to the mast. Might get some competition within the competition!

Predicted Times:
    Kurt Godel | 7:30
    Krusty_Clown | 7:59
    TRR | 8:15
    blockic | 9:59

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭RunningKing

Predicted Times:

RunningKing | 9:15

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭KielyUnusual

Predicted Times:

KielyUnusual | 7.59

If KC gets 7.59, then by extension I'm bound to get 7.59 as well I suppose. Not a chance though really. It will take me 10 minutes to drink the beers alone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭digger2d2

Predicted Times:

KielyUnusual | 7.59
    digger | 9:58

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,866 ✭✭✭drquirky

Lads and Ladettes. The venue for the afters has been sorted and we have space reserved as well as platters. The platters will be around a fiver a head. I can put the name of the pub up here but maybe I should just pm it- any thoughts?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Predicted Times:

KielyUnusual | 7.59
    meno | 8:40

digger2d2 wrote: »

You would, wouldn't you! :D Game on now Ger!
    drquirky wrote: »
    Lads and Ladettes. The venue for the afters has been sorted and we have space reserved as well as platters. The platters will be around a fiver a head. I can put the name of the pub up here but maybe I should just pm it- any thoughts?

I'd say PM is the best job. Is Paddy Power showing up? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

ill be driving from bally mun ,if any one needs a lift...wont be driving anyone home as i hate listenin to drunk effers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

Predicted Times:

RunningKing` 9:15
    KielyUnusual | 7.59
    Shels4ever|10:30 (will re-think this after tonight)

I can put the name of the pub up here but maybe I should just pm it- any thoughts?

PM is the way to go, how's the groin?

blockic wrote: »
    You would, wouldn't you! :D:)

My real plan is to stalk CL (nothing new about that) and either snipe her in the last 100m or puke all over her (nothing new in that either) :D

ultraman1 wrote: »
    ill be driving from bally mun ,if any one needs a lift...wont be driving anyone home as i hate listenin to drunk effers

Hmmm. this suits me better than leaving the car down there. Have you room for TRR and Shels too?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

menoscemo wrote: »
    Hmmm. this suits me better than leaving the car down there. Have you room for TRR and Shels too?
    yip..but trr is too pretty for ballymun,all the ballymuns wimmin will all have the best pyjamas and uggs on

ultraman1 wrote: »
    yip..but trr is too pretty for ballymun,all the ballymuns wimmin will all have the best pyjamas and uggs on

Reserve them 4 place then. I won't let TRR go over the railway bridge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,111 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

Predicted Times:

KielyUnusual | 7.59
    Shels4ever|10:30
    BeepBeep67|7:59

Setting myself up to fail miserably, but it you shoot for the moon, you'll land in the gutter :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,642 ✭✭✭TRR

menoscemo wrote: »

Don't worry about me worse case scenario I'll drive. My mrs may be joining us anyway and I don't think she could resist the sexual magnetism of ultraman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭YellowFeather

+1 to platter anyway.

I'll be coming from the city centre after work. I don't mind bussing it, but if anybody could give me directions, they'd be much appreciated. Don't know the area at all and I get lost crossing the road!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭RunningKing

blockic wrote: »
    Right lads, nail those colours to the mast. Might get some competition within the competition!

Predicted Times:

Another soft target, Johnny.......... :)

I ain't biting this time! :)

I am however, tempted to arrive with a few already in the tank, might speed up the beer chugging if one was "well on the way" lets say...

Alternatively show up gasping for a drink, dont take on any liquids for the day. I know out on my run tonight I would have gulped down anything I could have got my hands on it was so hot..

Two interesting approaches to dwell on...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,614 ✭✭✭Peckham

So, I took on the beer half-mile challenge this evening. After my planned 8 mile easy paced run, it was a quick visit back to the house to pick up the three bottles of Coors Light that had been chilling in the fridge for about 2 hours, and then off to a field nearby to have a go at this. Three bottles because I decided that doing the half mile plus one extra beer would give that added bit of confidence on Friday.

Into the field, and positioned one bottle at one end. Then I hit the lap button on the Garmin and and measured 0.25 miles and timidly placed the other two bottles on the ground.

After a few seconds psyching myself up, I hit the lap button again and grabbed the bottle opener and first bottle.

Bottle 1: Temperature felt good. Just enough to kill off the taste, not too cold that it made it difficult to drink. No way was I going to slug this in one go, a few controlled swallows and breaths and bottle was finished and dropped onto the ground.
    Split 1: 0:23

Lap 1: Off I went (not forgetting to bring the bottle opener with me!) and got a few satisfying belches out in the first 100 metres (Josh Harris was not lying when he said this was paramount!) and kept going at what felt like a comfortable pace.
    Split 2: 1:25 :eek:

Bottle 2: Was breathing hard, and realised quickly that the key to success in this event is controlled pace. Took about twice as many slugs at this bottle than the first bottle.
    Split 3: 0:39

Lap 2: Was apprehensive setting off, but burps came out easily and pace settled nicely. Focus here was on getting to the end of the 400 metres being able to breath easily, and slowed a little towards the end to ensure that was the case.
    Split 4: 1:32

Bottle 3: Easier than the second bottle, not as easy as the first one
    Split 5: 0:33

Fuzzy-headed half mile run back home again.

Glad I did this. Josh Harris has become my new athletic hero.

All going amazingly well on Friday, a sub-8 is the best I can hope for, although I feel that in the same way as the marathon begins at mile 20, the beer mile begins at beer 4.

Three bottles of Coors Light has brought out my creative juices, and as (almost) said by that commencement speech converted into a song by Baz Luhrmann...
    Ladies and Gentlemen of the boards.ie beer mile challenge, control your pace.

If I could offer you only one tip for this race, pacing would be it.

The beer mile benefits of pacing have been proven by Josh Harris, whereas the rest of my advice has no basis more reliable than my own attempt at a single training session.

I will dispense this advice now.

Enjoy the power and beauty of controlled breathing; oh nevermind; you will not understand the power and beauty of controlled breathing until you are on your seventh attempt at slugging one bottle of Coors Light.

But trust me, in one week's time you'll look back at Garmin splits of this race and recall in a way you can't grasp now how much of a leveller beer miling is and how difficult it is to drink a beer after a 85 second 400 metre split.

You cannot drink beer as fast as you imagine.

Don’t worry about the choice of beer; or worry, but know that worrying about this is as effective as trying to run a marathon with only one long run. The real troubles in this race are apt to be things that never crossed your worried mind; the kind that will blindside you this Friday evening.

Do one of these sessions this week, it will help you.

Pace yourself.

Don’t worry about the faster runners, you'll overtake them in transition.

Drink.

Don’t waste your time on chasing down other runners; sometimes you’re ahead, sometimes you’re behind…the race is long, and in the end, the winner will be the person who paced those first two laps correctly.

Respect Josh Harris.

Please excuse any spelling mistakes or waffle in the flooling post due been half cut...

Beer mile run out.
    Today was the one and only beer mile run out for me. Had planned to meet TRR to do the session with him, so waled to work today as driving after the session wasnt an option. Turned out we need a car for beer etc so trr offered a lift and just watched the session.
    Had though about doing 2 beers but taking advice from the master decided on 3 at least.
    So picked out a 400m route that I have used before whentraining for 5k etc. Its a grass section up and back onlong a sligh hill.

Session went fairly well.(wasnt waering a watch and trr is under instruction to keep stum on this ;).

Beer 1, down in one and tasty -
    First 400m a nice burp after about 50m and chatted through the first 400m (Think this might be a key aspect in the beer mile) Try talking and Co2 leaves yoru body?

Beer 2 A lot slower with this beer, foamed up a good bit and was a little shocked so almost the end of the run,.. but got back and down in 2/3 gulps.
    Next running leg was still nice and easy (this is a key keeping the heart reate down)
    Beer 3 This was a little hard also breathing was a bit off so needed to take a breath during the beer. (Think i could be good at this event if fit) Think it was a bit faster than beer 2.
    Run section - Cant really remember but nice and easy talking all the way so not to fast.
    Beer 4Finished this beer in about the same time as the last 2, not sure exactly was a little foamy so need to make sure beer is not moved around to much before the race.
    Run section was ok, opened the legs a little but still kept it relaxed,knew after 30 m that there was no danger of been sick so could push it a tiny bit. (leg are tired after last weeks running so not alot there.)

All in all happy enough with this run out, race distance complete and think there is a bit more in the tank.

Points to take,

1. Breating last 20m of the run section are important.
    2. Do not have fizzy beer, and make sure ppl dont shake yours before the run.
    3. Try not to say successfulllllll after the run..
    4. The beer kicks in about 4-5 mins after the run.

Thanks to TRR for actually providing the beer and a lift home, beer mile supplies are on me on friday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,942 ✭✭✭AdpRo

Gutted I'm away this week and can't do this, I'd probably be by far the slowest runner but reckon I could make up some time in the chugging!! I think I might try it on my own on Friday and see how my times compare!! Best of luck to all taking part and i'm looking forward to reading the reports!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,642 ✭✭✭TRR

shels4ever wrote: »
    Please excuse any spelling mistakes or waffle in the flooling post due been half cut...

Beer mile run out.
    Today was the one and only beer mile run out for me. Had planned to meet TRR to do the session with him, so waled to work today as driving after the session wasnt an option. Turned out we need a car for beer etc so trr offered a lift and just watched the session.
    Had though about doing 2 beers but taking advice from the master decided on 3 at least.
    So picked out a 400m route that I have used before whentraining for 5k etc. Its a grass section up and back onlong a sligh hill.

Session went fairly well.(wasnt waering a watch and trr is under instruction to keep stum on this ;).

Beer 1, down in one and tasty -
    First 400m a nice burp after about 50m and chatted through the first 400m (Think this might be a key aspect in the beer mile) Try talking and Co2 leaves yoru body?

Beer 2 A lot slower with this beer, foamed up a good bit and was a little shocked so almost the end of the run,.. but got back and down in 2/3 gulps.
    Next running leg was still nice and easy (this is a key keeping the heart reate down)
    Beer 3 This was a little hard also breathing was a bit off so needed to take a breath during the beer. (Think i could be good at this event if fit) Think it was a bit faster than beer 2.
    Run section - Cant really remember but nice and easy talking all the way so not to fast.
    Beer 4Finished this beer in about the same time as the last 2, not sure exactly was a little foamy so need to make sure beer is not moved around to much before the race.
    Run section was ok, opened the legs a little but still kept it relaxed,knew after 30 m that there was no danger of been sick so could push it a tiny bit. (leg are tired after last weeks running so not alot there.)

All in all happy enough with this run out, race distance complete and think there is a bit more in the tank.

Points to take,

1. Breating last 20m of the run section are important.
    2. Do not have fizzy beer, and make sure ppl dont shake yours before the run.
    3. Try not to say successfulllllll after the run..
    4. The beer kicks in about 4-5 mins after the run.

Thanks to TRR for actually providing the beer and a lift home, beer mile supplies are on me on friday.

Fair play shels you actually did the entire mile and lets be honest conditions weren't perfect. I didn't purposely shake your beer, Jesus do a man a favour by running 400 metres for him (800 round trip) to position his beer and all you get is abuse! I'm not allowed to divulge times and splits but they were remarkably consistent and you actually ran/drank a negative split :)

I'm going to do one more "session" myself. Probably tomorrow and then I'm going to start tapering.

This event is unique. Usually on the start line of a race you look for the skinny guy with well toned legs as the main competition. In the beer mile you look for a guy with a bit of a beer gut and well toned legs :)

TRR wrote: »
    Fair play shels you actually did the entire mile and lets be honest conditions weren't perfect. I didn't purposely shake your beer, Jesus do a man a favour by running 400 metres for him (800 round trip) to position his beer and all you get is abuse! I'm not allowed to divulge times and splits but they were remarkably consistent and you actually ran/drank a negative split :)

I'm going to do one more "session" myself. Probably tomorrow and then I'm going to start tapering.

This event is unique. Usually on the start line of a race you look for the skinny guy with well toned legs as the main competition. In the beer mile you look for a guy with a bit of a beer gut and well toned legs :)

Negative split is the way to go for sure :). The shaking the beer is for Friday, its a way you can mees someone race up :)

Does the taper involve less running or more drinking?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 264 ✭✭Big Logger

digger2d2 wrote: »
    PM is the way to go

PM me the location...myself and some guys I know from a gym in Ballymun want to join the fun. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Pm me too - willing to shout encouragement while sculling a few discrete cold ones.

Predicted Times:

KielyUnusual | 7.59
    Shels4ever|9:15

Going to revise down the target will be a push but think if all goes perfect on the day might get a bit closer to the 9 min mark. Could all go very wrong if I run to hard. Will hope that a few of the top guys have a bad day and I take a few scalps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,614 ✭✭✭Peckham

Predicted Times:

KielyUnusual | 7.59
    Shels4ever|9:15
    Peckham | 7:58

Having considered my performance in training last night, I think a sub-8 is achievable in race conditions. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,866 ✭✭✭drquirky

PM in the laborious (because boards.ie only allows sending a pm to 5 users at a time) process of being sent out. Give it 20 mins and if you didn't get it pm me...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭KielyUnusual

PM in the laborious (because boards.ie only allows sending a pm to 5 users at a time) process of being sent out. Give it 20 mins and if you didn't get it pm me...

Fair play for organising the whole thing Dr Q. Some sterling work put in there...and I'd like to thank my Mum and my Dad and my full support crew. Without you I couldn't have made it to the start line in one piece. It's such an honour to be the winner of such a prestigious event as the inaugural Boards.ie beer mile. I'm just so happy.

.....I must have just dozed off there:rolleyes:.