Another "Crazy America" Thread...

• 07-06-2013 03:46PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭

http://www.mysanantonio.com/news/local_news/article/Jury-acquits-escort-shooter-4581027.php
    A Bexar County jury on Wednesday acquitted Ezekiel Gilbert of murder in the death of a 23-year-old Craigslist escort.

Gilbert, 30, embraced defense attorneys Bobby Barrera and Roy Barrera Sr. with tears in his eyes after the not guilty verdict was read aloud by state District Judge Mary Román.

Outside the courtroom, Gilbert thanked God, the Barrera family and the jury for being able to “see what wasn't the truth” and for the “second chance.”

Had he been convicted, he could have faced up to life in prison for the slaying of Lenora Ivie Frago who died about seven months after she was shot in the neck and paralyzed on Christmas Eve 2009. Gilbert admitted shooting Frago.

“I sincerely regret the loss of the life of Ms. Frago,” Gilbert said Wednesday. “I've been in a mental prison the past four years of my life. I have nightmares. If I see guns on TV where people are getting killed, I change the channel.”

The verdict came after almost 11 hours of deliberations that stretched over two days. The trial began May 17 but had a long hiatus after a juror unexpectedly had to leave town for a funeral.

During closing arguments Tuesday, Gilbert's defense team conceded the shooting did occur but said the intent wasn't to kill. Gilbert's actions were justified, they argued, because he was trying to retrieve stolen property: the $150 he paid Frago. It became theft when she refused to have sex with him or give the money back, they said.

Gilbert testified earlier Tuesday that he had found Frago's escort ad on Craigslist and believed sex was included in her $150 fee. But instead, Frago walked around his apartment and after about 20 minutes left, saying she had to give the money to her driver, he said.

That driver, the defense contended, was Frago's pimp and her partner in the theft scheme.

The Texas law that allows people to use deadly force to recover property during a nighttime theft was put in place for “law-abiding” citizens, prosecutors Matt Lovell and Jessica Schulze countered. It's not intended for someone trying to force another person into an illegal act such as prostitution, they argued.

So apparently this eejit phones up an ambiguous escort service, gets conned (a dishonest prostitute? Well I never!) and then proceeds to chase after her and gun her down. Now to me murdering a vulnerable 23-year old girl because she wouldn't have sex with you should generally lead to a custodial sentence but apparently in Texas the man was acting lawfully in using deadly force to retrieve stolen property?

This honestly beggars belief like. I know that woman-hating attitudes exist the world over but it's astonishing to see them actually upheld in a court in the western world. Even in Texas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

FTA69 wrote: »
    http://www.mysanantonio.com/news/local_news/article/Jury-acquits-escort-shooter-4581027.php

So apparently this eejit phones up an ambiguous escort service, gets conned (a dishonest prostitute? Well I never!) and then proceeds to chase after her and gun her down. Now to me murdering a vulnerable 23-year old girl because she wouldn't have sex with you should generally lead to a custodial sentence but apparently in Texas the man was acting lawfully in using deadly force to retrieve stolen property?

This honestly beggars belief like. I know that woman-hating attitudes exist the world over but it's astonishing to see them actually upheld in a court in the western world. Even in Texas.

Killed her because she would not break the law:confused: and the judge lets him off.....only in America.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,424 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

What makes you think she was vulnerable? The whole thing was a misleading scam, led by her and her accomplice. They appeared to have been expecting someone to be too embarrassed by the idea of paying for sex to do anything about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,059 ✭✭✭Uriel.

well in fairness... they were transacting, but she didn't provide any consideration in the contract and then she stole the money...

BUT...

I'm just Trolling... kind of - it's largely a legal nexus as such. Although, considering the decision was made by a jury you'd have to wonder if the decision might have been based on attitudes and views towards the sex trade/prostitutes in particular.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

What makes you think she was vulnerable?

Well the fact she was a young woman involved in prostitution who also had a pimp leads me to believe she wasn't the most "empowered" of people to say the least. Young ones being brassed out by pimps aren't known for having the best quality of life.
    They appeared to have been expecting someone to be too embarrassed by the idea of paying for sex to do anything about it.

Well this fella did do something about it. He went after her and shot her dead.

What makes you think she was vulnerable? The whole thing was a misleading scam, led by her and her accomplice. They appeared to have been expecting someone to be too embarrassed by the idea of paying for sex to do anything about it.

So someone scams you = justifiable murder?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,059 ✭✭✭Uriel.

bumper234 wrote: »

In Texas. Yes, it seems. Well theft actually, from your home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭FreshKnickers

It's annoying alright when Craigslist throws up a dud. I once arranged to buy a kettle off susiebee123 and when I got it there was no element in the damn thing!

So I thought maybe it was one of those kettles that you put on the hob. Nope. Fecking thing melted. Never again.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,424 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Well the fact she was a young woman involved in prostitution who also had a pimp leads me to believe she wasn't the most "empowered" of people to say the least. Young ones being brassed out by pimps aren't known for having the best quality of life.

Well this fella did do something about it. He went after her and shot her dead.

She's only a prostitute when she engages in sexual acts for money. The use of the phrase for pimp would be to demonstrate a business relationship between the woman and the man in the car under the pretense of prositution, as was the defendants understanding at the time.

You appear to be forgetting something important. It wasn't murder. He had no intent to kill the woman. He just wanted to stop her and get his money back. If anything, it was manslaughter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

She's only a prostitute when she engages in sexual acts for money. The use of the phrase for pimp would be to demonstrate a business relationship between the woman and the man in the car under the pretense of prositution, as was the defendants understanding at the time.

Eh, no even the defence was saying your man was her pimp. The fact you're jumping through hoops to justify this is mad to be honest.

Uriel. wrote: »
    In Texas. Yes, it seems. Well theft actually, from your home.

But she didn't steal. She agreed to be his escort for $1000 (yes i know this means sex) and thats what she was. When she refused to break the law (have sex for $ =prostitution) he got angry and demanded money back. She said no and left the premises with the fee she (wrongfully imo) earned and he followed her and shot her. Murder or manslaughter it dont matter its still wrong.

Eh, no even the defence was saying your man was her pimp. The fact you're jumping through hoops to justify this is mad to be honest.

Yes... the defense identified the guy as her "pimp" as that was the defendants understanding...

so, you are repeating what I've said, yet still hung up on considering the woman for being a prostitute when the reason for the shooting was otherwise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

You appear to be forgetting something important. It wasn't murder. He had no intent to kill the woman. He just wanted to stop her and get his money back. If anything, it was manslaughter.

Shot her in the neck. To get his money back? Why, had she swallowed it and he felt the need to shoot it out of her neck?

You don't find it more plausible that in frustration he acted in a rage and tried to blow her head off. You find it more plausible that he though shooting her in the neck was the best way to retrieve his 150 bucks?

Please.

I am pie wrote: »
    Shot her in the neck. To get his money back? Why, had she swallowed it and he felt the need to shoot it out of her neck?

You don't find it more plausible that in frustration he acted in a rage and tried to blow her head off. You find it more plausible that he though shooting her in the neck was the best way to retrieve his 150 bucks?

Please.

We know nothing of the competency of his shooting skills or how close they were to each other when he shot, so it could have been completely unfortunate that he got her in the neck. I also reckon it is likely he would have demanded the money back, prior to shooting her.

There was clearly no intent to kill her and they would have expected him to have been too ashamed regarding the circumstances of the theft to do anything about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 294 ✭✭JD DABA

Well horrible as it is.
    She was still a thief or con artist. Turning over schmucks for their cash.

Dangerous game to play, taunting horny/frustrated men who cant get laid and then making them feel like idiots.

All this in a city filled with rednecks armed to the teeth.

Its a bit Darwin award in a way.
    Some of the comments surprise me though, for a forum that normally froths at the teeth when talking about theft.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭faustino1

Killed her because she would not break the law:confused: and the judge lets him off.....only in America.

I recall a case in Dublin some years back...it was only small story I read in some newspaper.

Heroin Addict and prostitute takes 100 euro from married man but refuses to have sex with him, he reports her to the Gardai, case goes to court and she gets 6 months in jail.

It was a really strange story...but then so is this one from Texas.