Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

****Motors Chat Thread Round 4****

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Veloce wrote: »
    That's good going dgt! What are ya driving??

Tis the odd trip now and again to Donemana for van parts :) 406, didn't break into a sweat!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

Alfa romeo want me to bring my car to them to check out the damage, but they dont seem too interested in actually fixing it.
    About what I expected then :rolleyes:

**** em, its going in to George Dalton for surgery on monday, when I come back in july It'll be ready for road :D

Btw, its a very scary feeling when a full fuel tank shifts by a couple of inches underneath you when you're going round a corner. Its even worse on acceleration, it feels like you just dropped the back axle :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    You're a quick mover SH - how did you manage to bail outta the other gaff so quickly?

Got the keys. Told that moving out next day. Next. Day is today. ESB and eircom switched. Saturday I'll drop off the keys.
    I am a bulky lad, but I can shift quickly when pissed off. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Got the keys. Told that moving out next day. Next. Day is today. ESB and eircom switched. Saturday I'll drop off the keys.
    I am a bulky lad, but I can shift quickly when pissed off. :pac:

How did they take that? Get your deposit back?

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    How did they take that? Get your deposit back?

Again off topic, but it worth saying:
    she was still looking for money when I said no. So I said I am leaving. She was sorry to see us go etc.
    Next day her daughter started to talk with us. We Explain again about the friend and temporary situation. Explained that we got insulted by whole situation and we leaving. She did not wanted to see us go, because she so loved us as neighbours. So after chat she calls our door after chating with mother ( owner of the house ): no rent increase, it was mis understanding, She is getting painter to renew everything, buying New bed, sorting back boiler heating etc.
    I said I will think about it as I had one house to check that friend arranged.
    Then she flipped again and started threatening us: "if you be checking that house, then you better take it". Started wailing on us.
    We have no contract anymore. The landlord is not registered landlord anymore as she doing it as favor to house owner etc. It's a private situation now.
    So I don't even care about deposit as my own peace of mind worth more. I even got played until 25th, but I just could not stay there anymore. I won't be treated like some antisocial Dutch gold society member.
    Now I am the happiest person alive. We live next door to misses shadowhearth best friend. Have lovely house. With better location and cheaper.

P.s I left house clean and no rubbish behind. Bills transferred and no dept. I am not an asshole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,551 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I played rental car bingo there last week, was in the canaries and booked a panda or similar. Tried sweet talking my way into something nicer, ended up with a Polo TSI 105 1.2
    Not wowsome but actually a bit of craic. Where we were staying was very hilly and it was so torquey. I've driven the 1.2 and 1.4 TDI before and this was way better. Got 600km to the tank which was impressive given that it was being ragged.
    On a related note, it sounds like it needs a DMF. Not great for a 2012 car with 12,000km.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

I would still be wanting my deposit.

Good cop bad cop BS aside

Sometimes just walking away is worth any amount of money when it comes to people like that.

Walking away with a telly and fridge yea.

Moral high ground and all that

Maybe afew towels also and the microwave.

Not the fireplace though, need to keep it classy...

imagewqya.jpg

Was in Carrefour hypermarket yesterday, they had nearly every size of tyre available!

I would still be wanting my deposit.

Good cop bad cop BS aside

Don't understand me wrong, I would love deposit back. I still will contact her after house check up and remind her. Though I am completely accepted the fact, that she is greedy and she will not give it back. So I don't even stress out anymore. She has millions already and if that few hundred quid will make her happier, then more freedom to her. At least I wount need to deal with her anymore.
    There is always something good in bad. In my situation the good ended up being the bigger part. And that's me saying after spending a lot of money.
    I got a nicer smaller house, proper gas heating, solar panels for hot water in whole house, lovely private garden, no more 3 hours grass cutting, misses best friend across the street ( I **** you not), my nerd work buddy lives down the street, house is another side of town, which makes my work - home trip a lot faster and that's not including traffic. Misses work is 10minutes of walking away. Oh, cheaper rent too.

Sorry mods. Wount go more in to off-topic. I am just very happy , tired lol, but happy. And I count lads here as good buddies after so many years. So I have to share some of my happiness with imaginary online buddies! :D

Don't understand me wrong, I would love deposit back. I still will contact her after house check up and remind her. Though I am completely accepted the fact, that she is greedy and she will not give it back. So I don't even stress out anymore. She has millions already and if that few hundred quid will make her happier, then more freedom to her. At least I wount need to deal with her anymore.
    There is always something good in bad. In my situation the good ended up being the bigger part. And that's me saying after spending a lot of money.
    I got a nicer smaller house, proper gas heating, solar panels for hot water in whole house, lovely private garden, no more 3 hours grass cutting, misses best friend across the street ( I **** you not), my nerd work buddy lives down the street, house is another side of town, which makes my work - home trip a lot faster and that's not including traffic. Misses work is 10minutes of walking away. Oh, cheaper rent too.

Sorry mods. Wount go more in to off-topic. I am just very happy , tired lol, but happy. And I count lads here as good buddies after so many years. So I have to share some of my happiness with imaginary online buddies! :D

Im not imaginary, i saw you kill that burger mercilessly @ midway

REST IN PEACE BURGER !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭coolisin

Any recommendations for a bmw mechanic on the southside of Dublin, preferably.
    Need too get the air micro filter done and brake fluid done, plus might aswell get other fluids changed.
    And i suppose no harm getting them too have a decent nose around make sure everything is running ok.

Loose chippings in Wilkinstown..... F*CK YOU :mad: How miserable do the council have to be to put such sh*te on the roads? And the road was done up about 2 years ago, why ruin such a lovely surface? UGH!!! :mad::mad::mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Anyone wana help me fit front fogs to my car? I don't have the tools....or knowhow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Anyone wana help me fit front fogs to my car? I don't have the tools....or knowhow

Is there a spot for them or do you need to get cutting?

I changed my fogs in about 20 minutes, just needed one screw driver.

CianRyan wrote: »
    Is there a spot for them or do you need to get cutting?

I changed my fogs in about 20 minutes, just needed one screw driver.

Need to get cutting, there's areas for them, but there's plastic there

Ah, I'm no use to you.
    Those lowering springs I drive around with are no closer to being installed. :p

Ah, I'm no use to you.

Wana get a pair of those too

Ah, I'm no use to you.

Not difficult to change I tells you!

dgt wrote: »
    Not difficult to change I tells you!

Wanna give me your tools and spring compressors?
    That's all that's stopping me. No bloody money for tools. :(

Wanna give me your tools and spring compressors?
    That's all that's stopping me. No bloody money for tools. :(

I ain't going to haul a pig heavy compressor that won't even fit in the car and fook handtools for compressing that! :pac:

Come up to the madhouse and I'll have it done in a jiffy ;)

I ain't going to haul a pig heavy compressor that won't even fit in the car and fook handtools for compressing that! :pac:

Can I get in on this?? :pac: Don't mean to sound like a scrounge

Can't see why not! This place seems to be a tourist attraction at times :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭Hal1

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQ4AuTFulW91Utlcf8EJ4SayRPqWyBQIo8ahNQa_sOB2qAFYfxz

Just kidding :p.

Can't see why not! This place seems to be a tourist attraction at times :pac:

Deadly :D Just gotta get the things now :pac:

I like the sound of that. After driving from Navan the roads around Dublin will feel like silk. :pac:

Was saying to 166man that I'd tag along when the green Bravo (:pac:) makes it's big move.

Edit: Actually, I'm going to refer to the GTV as a Golf.

I like the sound of that. After driving from Navan the roads around Dublin will feel like silk. :pac:

Was saying to 166man that I'd tag along when the green Bravo (:pac:) makes it's big move.

Edit: Actually, I'm going to refer to the GTV as a Golf.

They really are that crappy here! Not necessarily potholes but subsiding roads, failing pavements, dips, humps, loose chippings :mad: etc....

Fiat Alfa Coupé GTV...... Built on a Tempra chassis and floorpan :cool:
    Deadly :D Just gotta get the things now :pac:

Just have a day that suits and all should be grand! Mini boardsie gathering :D
    Hal1 wrote: »
    images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQ4AuTFulW91Utlcf8EJ4SayRPqWyBQIo8ahNQa_sOB2qAFYfxz

Just kidding :p.

Oh no! :eek: This beauty instead :pac:
    22179.jpeg

I jest!

Just have a day that suits and all should be grand! Mini boardsie gathering :D

Oh no! :eek: This beauty instead :pac:
    22179.jpeg

Exactly! Bar Thursday and Fridays I'm grand, I'm edumacating myself at the minute on those days

Also, the guy next door to me does fireplaces, has one like that, terrifying yoke altogether, went through a solid granite one in about 8 seconds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

Would you not get away without spring compressors?

We've often put lowering springs onto std mcpherson style shocks no bother without them, getting the old ones off is a bit ropey (the top mount doesnt fly that far :pac:).. All you need is a few stout men to hold the top mount down onto the spring till you get the top bolt on.. :)

Fitting standard springs is a pain in the hole though, I hate spring compressors, they always try to kill me.