**HL English Paper 2 Before/After **

• 05-06-2013 12:19PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭

Time to plant tears says the almanac! :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 717 ✭✭✭Phoenix Wright

Time to plant tears says the almanac! :cool:

And the terrified student drew another inscrutable house :pac:

Do you think I'll be covered with this or is this too big a risk? Mahon, Bishop and Plath with Cultural Context and Theme: Identity. Think I might do Shakespeare in the morning but only if I have to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭Lcstudent2013

Mahon, theme or issue and ambition of macbeth!
    Wohoooo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

Do you think I'll be covered with this or is this too big a risk? Mahon, Bishop and Plath with Cultural Context and Theme: Identity. Think I might do Shakespeare in the morning but only if I have to.

By any chance are you doing, translations, I'm not scared and wuthering heights as im doing the theme of identity too!

Yep haha, spot on there :) have done zero study for them as of yet so a busy day ahead after my lunch :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭Prodigious

Grand for the comparative, not too bad for Macbeth. For poetry I've half covered Hopkins, Shakespeare and Plath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭0mega

The thoughts of facing this tomorrow :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 320 ✭✭andrew369

Looking forward to tomorrow a bit more now after paper 1. Just realised how much of a waffle fest it was, at least paper 2 has some structure to it and can feel prepared from studying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭Dropping No Eaves

Screw your courage to the sticking place and we'll not fail!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭Prodigious

No worst there is none.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,696 ✭✭✭outnumbered

Doing the exact same! I want cc though... Baile Beag for the win!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

Doing the exact same! I want cc though... Baile Beag for the win!!! :D

key notes FTW!

never read them :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 eoinoc2509

A character question on the witches or on banquo better not come up!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Scuid Mhór

eoinoc2509 wrote: »
    A character question on the witches or on banquo better not come up!:eek:

Those are the two I'm hoping for!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 211 ✭✭_LilyRose_

I'd be laughing if literary genre came up with 'how a good story is told' as a follow on from paper 1 but I know they're not linked :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Chabals Beard

Dunno how people are so confident Mahon will come up.. I am covering Kinsella and Hopkins just in case

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭ray2012

I'm hoping Shakespeare/Hopkins will come up. Have Bishop and Mahon prepared also however, but just not as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭Equil

Super confident with Macbeth. Comparative needs a bit of work.
    Hoping for Mahon, Plath or Wordsworth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭HPMS

Those are the two I'm hoping for!

How would you even write a full essay on banquo?! Sounds impossible to me! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭decisions

Cultural context better come up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,988 ✭✭✭Monsieur Folie

Lads, have no fear, I was reading through Derek Mahon just there with the iPod on shuffle to keep me company and this came on:

"It's coming up, it's coming up, it's coming up..."

Has to be divine intervention, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,971 ✭✭✭✭peekachoo

Theme/issue, Bishop/Shakespeare, character question on Macbeth himself - bliss :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 Kerbstone

HPMS wrote: »
    How would you even write a full essay on banquo?! Sounds impossible to me! :eek:
    Realistically it would be a question on the minor characters in Macbeth, so you would be doing Banquo and Macduff, not just Banquo by himself.

HPMS wrote: »

Someone posted an essay they wrote on Banquo about a week ago, I de-constructed it and built it back up for the A1 :cool:

It does seem pretty tough though, you should try planning one now because I definitely wouldn't have been able to think it up on the day.

Kerbstone wrote: »
    Realistically it would be a question on the minor characters in Macbeth, so you would be doing Banquo and Macduff, not just Banquo by himself.

Realistically it won't. Macduff is a one-dimensional character, Banquo isn't at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭NellyDean

I'm doing those 3 too, do you think theme is good to write about? I havent revised theme/issue yet .. wondering if I should bother :P

Did Kingship not come up in an indirect manner in 2009?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭decisions

I have all the past questions typed in the Macbeth thread, Banquo has come up before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 237 ✭✭Moromaster

(I understand that there is nothing for certain, but I'm running out of time).

I know Plath and Wordsworth entirely, I've read Plath's book and know 7 poems by heart, learned Tintern Abby by Wordsworth.

I'm starting on Bishop. I'm thinking of avoiding Rich and Kinsella? Wise?