Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

**HL English Paper 2 Before/After **

• 05-06-2013 12:19pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭

Time to plant tears says the almanac! :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 717 ✭✭✭Phoenix Wright

Time to plant tears says the almanac! :cool:

And the terrified student drew another inscrutable house :pac:

Do you think I'll be covered with this or is this too big a risk? Mahon, Bishop and Plath with Cultural Context and Theme: Identity. Think I might do Shakespeare in the morning but only if I have to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭Lcstudent2013

Mahon, theme or issue and ambition of macbeth!
    Wohoooo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

Do you think I'll be covered with this or is this too big a risk? Mahon, Bishop and Plath with Cultural Context and Theme: Identity. Think I might do Shakespeare in the morning but only if I have to.

By any chance are you doing, translations, I'm not scared and wuthering heights as im doing the theme of identity too!

Yep haha, spot on there :) have done zero study for them as of yet so a busy day ahead after my lunch :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭Prodigious

Grand for the comparative, not too bad for Macbeth. For poetry I've half covered Hopkins, Shakespeare and Plath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭0mega

The thoughts of facing this tomorrow :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 320 ✭✭andrew369

Looking forward to tomorrow a bit more now after paper 1. Just realised how much of a waffle fest it was, at least paper 2 has some structure to it and can feel prepared from studying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭Dropping No Eaves

Screw your courage to the sticking place and we'll not fail!

No worst there is none.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,696 ✭✭✭outnumbered

Doing the exact same! I want cc though... Baile Beag for the win!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

Doing the exact same! I want cc though... Baile Beag for the win!!! :D

key notes FTW!

never read them :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 eoinoc2509

A character question on the witches or on banquo better not come up!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Scuid Mhór

eoinoc2509 wrote: »
    A character question on the witches or on banquo better not come up!:eek:

Those are the two I'm hoping for!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 211 ✭✭_LilyRose_

I'd be laughing if literary genre came up with 'how a good story is told' as a follow on from paper 1 but I know they're not linked :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Chabals Beard

Dunno how people are so confident Mahon will come up.. I am covering Kinsella and Hopkins just in case

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭ray2012

I'm hoping Shakespeare/Hopkins will come up. Have Bishop and Mahon prepared also however, but just not as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭Equil

Super confident with Macbeth. Comparative needs a bit of work.
    Hoping for Mahon, Plath or Wordsworth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭HPMS

Those are the two I'm hoping for!

How would you even write a full essay on banquo?! Sounds impossible to me! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭decisions

Cultural context better come up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,988 ✭✭✭Monsieur Folie

Lads, have no fear, I was reading through Derek Mahon just there with the iPod on shuffle to keep me company and this came on:

"It's coming up, it's coming up, it's coming up..."

Has to be divine intervention, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,971 ✭✭✭✭peekachoo

Theme/issue, Bishop/Shakespeare, character question on Macbeth himself - bliss :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 Kerbstone

HPMS wrote: »
    How would you even write a full essay on banquo?! Sounds impossible to me! :eek:
    Realistically it would be a question on the minor characters in Macbeth, so you would be doing Banquo and Macduff, not just Banquo by himself.

HPMS wrote: »

Someone posted an essay they wrote on Banquo about a week ago, I de-constructed it and built it back up for the A1 :cool:

It does seem pretty tough though, you should try planning one now because I definitely wouldn't have been able to think it up on the day.

Kerbstone wrote: »
    Realistically it would be a question on the minor characters in Macbeth, so you would be doing Banquo and Macduff, not just Banquo by himself.

Realistically it won't. Macduff is a one-dimensional character, Banquo isn't at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭NellyDean

I'm doing those 3 too, do you think theme is good to write about? I havent revised theme/issue yet .. wondering if I should bother :P

Did Kingship not come up in an indirect manner in 2009?

I have all the past questions typed in the Macbeth thread, Banquo has come up before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 237 ✭✭Moromaster

(I understand that there is nothing for certain, but I'm running out of time).

I know Plath and Wordsworth entirely, I've read Plath's book and know 7 poems by heart, learned Tintern Abby by Wordsworth.

I'm starting on Bishop. I'm thinking of avoiding Rich and Kinsella? Wise?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 talihina

Im doing mahon, bishop, plath, rich, theme of love, literary genre and theme of kingship. Is that enough?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,971 ✭✭✭✭peekachoo

I was really feeling confident about paper 2, and now I'm severely doubting myself. :eek:

If anyone's fnucked (I love that word) for poetry, my advice is to write out a solid intro today using your notes, a generic one that will cover any question, for each poet, and learn them off. That way you straight away have a good intro, and it reminds you of points you can use in your answer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭Thataone

I've Rich, Bishop and Mahon down to a T, bit iffy on Plath but I could wing it, would struggle with Hopkins and Wordsworth though, we've done them to death in class, just never really got their deal (I'm not into the nature/God poets :p ).

Will look over the witches tonight but really banking on power - it's use
    /abuse, Mabeth and Lady Macbeth's relationship, Macbeth's relatability, Banquo.

Will give the comparative a glance over but they're pretty handy - as long as either a nice theme/issue or cultural context Q comes up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 OBrienJoey

does anyone have any notes on theme of identity in wuthering heights? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭Tommyrawr

Lads is Social Restriction a Theme or Issue?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 802 ✭✭✭Jade.

If Bishop and Kingship come up I will be one happy person! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭thegreatescape

Does anyone doing I'm Not Scared, Translations and Wuthering Heights have any notes on all three for Theme of Identity? I know a few mentioned you do it above and my teacher literally told us the texts and told us the theme. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,849 ✭✭✭bluejay14

Just looking at our mock paper 2 now and it was the ideal paper: Kingship, cultural context, Bishop, Hopkins, Mahon, Shakespeare.

4 out of my 5 poets. I would be over the moon if we got something like this tomorrow evening,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 401 ✭✭Legion.

Know Mahon, Plath, Bishop and could probably do Kinsella at a push. Doing Wordsworth last as he tends to come up when he is on the course, and he isn't a popular choice among students. For Macbeth I should be fine, know most of the quotes etc will just run over paragraph heading for particular questions. Haven't actually revised the comparative since last year, so will do that tonight/tomorrow morning. Can't wait.

Could I get away with wealth as a theme? Or I could probably twist the bulk of my CC essay to suit power, assuming I can talk a lot about money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 237 ✭✭Moromaster

Legion. wrote: »
    Know Mahon, Plath, Bishop and could probably do Kinsella at a push. Doing Wordsworth last as he tends to come up when he is on the course, and he isn't a popular choice among students. For Macbeth I should be fine, know most of the quotes etc will just run over paragraph heading for particular questions. Haven't actually revised the comparative since last year, so will do that tonight/tomorrow morning. Can't wait.

Wordsworth has never come up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭mossy95

For the love of God shakespeare please please come up!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 802 ✭✭✭Jade.

Does anyone doing I'm Not Scared, Translations and Wuthering Heights have any notes on all three for Theme of Identity? I know a few mentioned you do it above and my teacher literally told us the texts and told us the theme. :o

We didn't cover identity when we did those texts for there's a sample answer in key notes on identity on those 3 if you have it or can get it off someone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 talihina

Thoughts on macbeth. Will i get away with macbeth character and theme of kingship?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭Tommyrawr

Lads did ye find the paper size wider than normal? i felt i was writing for ages and not filling up as much as i would on a normal foolscap, the linings down the side were tiny.

Would I be okay with Appearance vs Reality, Kingship, Macbeths, And Ambition for The Macbeth question? Obviously no one knows but would you be able to do well of you twisted what you knew from them topics?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 651 ✭✭✭Lucan Bohs

Only thing that will get me through this paper is knowing I'll never have to write/talk/think about Macbeth ever! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭CookieMonster.x

Would I be okay with Appearance vs Reality, Kingship, Macbeths, And Ambition for The Macbeth question? Obviously no one knows but would you be able to do well of you twisted what you knew from them topics?

Can't help you on that, wondering that myself! Just wondering what points you have for ambition?

Yeah it's so broad!
    Em, I just have that it's his fatal flaw, Lady M fuels it, witches Use him knowing he's ambitious, Acts on it, eventually loses it in the end. You know, the usual crap... :/ you?