Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat II

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

delaval wrote: »
    Did a big tidy on out farm last week after busy period and in prep for silage.
    Imagine my horror when I went to herd this am to find the meal in the shed **** all over and a neighbours cow lying in the middle of it. On further investigation I found 24 more lying in what was a reek of small sq straw bales destroyed. In fairness they needed a lie down as they had totally demolished and destroyed 20 round bales I had neatly stacked in a shed to be used to cover an indoor silage pit this week.
    I was so annoyed I locked the cows into the slatts looked at my cattle and went home.
    I have cooled down sufficiently at this stage to call the owner who is a complete messer!!!!
    Damn that..
    Neighbors are everything, a bad one will break your heart :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Imagine my horror when I went to herd this am to find the meal in the shed **** all over and a neighbours cow lying in the middle of it. On further investigation I found 24 more lying in what was a reek of small sq straw bales destroyed. In fairness they needed a lie down as they had totally demolished and destroyed 20 round bales I had neatly stacked in a shed to be used to cover an indoor silage pit this week.
    I was so annoyed I locked the cows into the slatts looked at my cattle and went home.
    I have cooled down sufficiently at this stage to call the owner who is a complete messer!!!!
    I feel your pain , last week I knocked a wall on a bit of land away from the home place to put up proper gates and a pen . The next evening travellers had 2 mares with foals and a stallion let into the grass .
    I got them shifted that evening by a lad and I fenced it off .
    Two days later I went down to find the same horses plus two more had been let in over the wall .
    I turned them out and brought the nicer looking mare and foal for a spin and let them into a bog where they would be hard found for awhile .
    When I got back they had a note hanging on the fence asking me to call a number so they could collect the mare , I ignored it and the next morning there was a couch dumped outside the driveway to the house :mad:
    Nothing since thankfully

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Look for his insurance details. He'll get as thick as sh1t but f' him. Anyone can have a breakout in exceptional circumstances but persistent offenders have to be dealt with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

whelan1 wrote: »
    didnt calve yet:rolleyes: kovu you can go to bed now:D

Was long asleep at 9am :D Any calf yet? I'm worse than your kids!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

Kovu Murr wrote: »
    Was long asleep at 9am :D Any calf yet? I'm worse than your kids!
    wont be today, will keep ya posted

Look for his insurance details. He'll get as thick as sh1t but f' him. Anyone can have a breakout in exceptional circumstances but persistent offenders have to be dealt with.

It can be hard though..
    We had a particularly hard time with one set of neighbors.. four grown apes of lads, usually drunk, all bachelors. When they had cows bulling they would "borrow" our bull. And then leave him with their cows.
    Bull with ring and 6ft chain could be easily caught and led round like a pet dog.. We ran 4 strands of barb wire along their ditch which was cut down clean within two weeks for the bull to be brought through :mad:

Thankfully, two have drank themselves into graves, one moved away and the last seems to have given up all interest in leaving the house, none above 50 years old. Much easier life since then.. :o

Problem was they weren't ever approachable, guards wouldn't get involved as they had enough of these lads when drunk in the town..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

For the sake of the few bales I don't think I'll bother, but it's one thing after another with him.
    It's the phuckin mess that bothers me plus the fact that I now have to man handle phuckin tyres to cover silo. I was only trying to make things handy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

Got a knock at the door early this morning. A neighbour who lives beside some land we have beside the dual-carriageway. Cattle out on the road and everyone in a mad panic. Two garda cars there at this stage. Drove by our land and all ours were there thankfully. We managed to get them into a secure pen up the road a bit. Still don't know who owns them.
    The neighbour, who is a nice old man, was all apologies for calling so early. I told him not to worry about it. Told him it doesn't matter who owns them, at a time like that, you just have to get them in off the road as soon as possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

pakalasa wrote: »
    Got a knock at the door early this morning. A neighbour who lives beside some land we have beside the dual-carriageway. Cattle out on the road and everyone in a mad panic. Two garda cars there at this stage. Drove by our land and all ours were there thankfully. We managed to get them into a secure pen up the road a bit. Still don't know who owns them.
    The neighbour, who is a nice old man, was all apologies for calling so early. I told him not to worry about it. Told him it doesn't matter who owns them, at a time like that, you just have to get them in off the road as soon as possible.

Had ye to saw down some of the post and rail?

Muckit wrote: »
    Had ye to saw down some of the post and rail?
    ????

????

Were the cattle on the motorway or an ordinary road?

The road is a dual carriageway, part of it a motorway. Fencing is old, so most would be the concrete rail and post. I think these managed to break out down a sideroad and then onto the main road. It's mad panic when it happens around here. A few years back, newly bought weanlings jumped a gate in a neighbours yard and ended up on the road. A quick thinking lorrydriver managed to drive along the center of both lanes and stop the traffic. A few years before that, not so lucky with another neighbour. Car ploughed into a cow.

Oh right. All the new motorways have the post and rail setup. would it be worth your neighbour or a few of ye seeing if the council would redo it? The fencing seems to be a major safety issue. Ye could lobby a local councillor.

That lorry driver would have been dead wrong if a car ran into him. But who thinks when things are going t*ts up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

That lorry driver would have been dead wrong if a car ran into him. But who thinks when things are going t*ts up.

Hmmm agreed, a chap got killed on the motorway afew miles from us when he stopped to try and slow down traffic after a small accident happened in front of him. I've had to swerve out of the way of deer etc on the motorways before, I'd take that much before having to slam to a complete stop with a lorry blocking the road!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭severeoversteer

has anybody given beef nuts to a dog? its a 17 % beef nut with maize barley wheat soya molasses rape etc etc and minerals, the brother is gone on holidays and pedigree chum has all ran out and I have a few tonne of nuts. gave it to him this morning and he loved it.

the sugar in molasses seemingly isint great for them but I wont feed him too much and plenty water

has anybody given beef nuts to a dog? its a 17 % beef nut with maize barley wheat soya molasses rape etc etc and minerals, the brother is gone on holidays and pedigree chum has all ran out and I have a few tonne of nuts. gave it to him this morning and he loved it.

the sugar in molasses seemingly isint great for them but I wont feed him too much and plenty water

My god will ya buy a bag of dog food..
    the beef nut will run through that poor dog and you'll have a serious mess to deal with..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 839 ✭✭✭Dampintheattic

Excellent plan altogether. Bet that dog will taste much better in a burger than any horse!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

moy83 wrote: »
    I feel your pain , last week I knocked a wall on a bit of land away from the home place to put up proper gates and a pen . The next evening travellers had 2 mares with foals and a stallion let into the grass .
    I got them shifted that evening by a lad and I fenced it off .
    Two days later I went down to find the same horses plus two more had been let in over the wall .
    I turned them out and brought the nicer looking mare and foal for a spin and let them into a bog where they would be hard found for awhile .
    When I got back they had a note hanging on the fence asking me to call a number so they could collect the mare , I ignored it and the next morning there was a couch dumped outside the driveway to the house :mad:
    Nothing since thankfully
    And the way our justice system is set up there isn't a thing can be done to them. There are two groups of people who can get away with anythign in the country, the asset poor who don't give a s**t, and the asset rich.

Oh right. All the new motorways have the post and rail setup. would it be worth your neighbour or a few of ye seeing if the council would redo it? The fencing seems to be a major safety issue. Ye could lobby a local councillor.

Council waste of time you are responsible for containing your own stock. It would be better to contact your insurer to make sure you P:L is in order

True enough, but they don't seem to be able to keep them in :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

who is responsible for that roadside post and rail. Is it not who erected it like many of the ditches in Ireland

was asking my da that the other day, is it the council or the guys that do the motorway mantenance, we normally just fix it up ourselves, had to take down some of the rails to get a heifer back in a few years ago and each year we have to do a bit of patching up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭rancher

National Roads Authority are responsible for the roadside post and rail on any motorway built since 2002

rancher wrote: »
    National Roads Authority are responsible for the roadside post and rail on any motorway built since 2002
    what about pre 2002

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭rancher

whelan1 wrote: »
    what about pre 2002

wouldn't think so, it was some battle to get them to take responsibility in 2002 and I think that agreement finishes this year, but what was built from 2002=2013 will be always maintained

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

Have terrible memories of a night spent lunging a greedy labrador who had been at the pig nuts.

They expand internally to a degree that has to be seen to be believed.

rancher wrote: »

True but who is responsible if cattle wander from a field on the edge of a motorway?
    We have erected an electric fence despite council responsible for erection and maintainance.
    Again who gets it in the neck if cattle stray, why the owner hence waste of time going to NRA.

True but who is responsible if cattle wander from a field on the edge of a motorway?
    We have erected an electric fence despite council responsible for erection and maintainance.
    Again who gets it in the neck if cattle stray, why the owner hence waste of time going to NRA.
    What happens when all that timber fencing starts to rot in a few years?
    Found out who owned the cattle too. Thay came about half a mile along the road before they were spotted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

days like today it's a pleasure to be out working, trying to squeeze every hour in as herself is working next few nights so won't get anything done
    Place is hive activity, fields full cows stretched out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

hugo29 wrote: »
    days like today it's a pleasure to be out working, trying to squeeze every hour in as herself is working next few nights so won't get anything done
    Place is hive activity, fields full cows stretched out

Agreed, only remembered about last summer, the same feild the cows are in tonight was an utter swamp last july, I remember some of the cows sinking a ft into the ground, which is very heavy clay in parts, utter disaster, took me 30mins that day to manage to round up the cows! Todays grazing of it was an utter contrast, totally stress free for both me and them!