Riots in Portmarnock

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

FOSystem wrote: »
    Ok. Maybe it's exaggerated a bit but the issue is there. Authorities here was not prepared for this big number of immigrants.Tension is growing and it seems there is no plan to solve or at least to ease the situation. Garda is not prepared to solve these kind of situations in fast effective way.

...two groups of lads in the same area, something said and theres a row.....I don't think the "big number of immigrants" is much to do with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

They try and invent tension imo. Take NY for eg, Can you imagine if a Mick from Hell's Kitchen started wideboying in Little Italy? Or worse still a black guy from Harlem tried to start trouble with the micks and greaseballs?

Any racial issue will work its self out over time, acceptance comes in time, who would have ever thought that America would have a black President.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

They try and invent tension imo. Take NY for eg, Can you imagine if a Mick from Hell's Kitchen started wideboying in Little Italy? Or worse still a black guy from Harlem tried to start trouble with the micks and greaseballs?

Any racial issue will work its self out over time, acceptance comes in time, who would have ever thought that America would have a black President.

Racism...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

If I don't go crazy I'll lose my mind.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 862 ✭✭✭Grand Moff Tarkin

Kids used to fight in the 70's 80's and 90's so I cannot see what all the hassle is about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,002 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

Nodin wrote: »
    ...two groups of lads in the same area, something said and theres a row.....I don't think the "big number of immigrants" is much to do with it.

Ah sure'n the young lads were only havin the biha crack like...?

Nothing to see hear,move along now please !

Would that be the Nodin version in reprise ?

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

AlekSmart wrote: »
    Ah sure'n the young lads were only havin the biha crack like...?

Nothing to see hear,move along now please !

Would that be the Nodin version in reprise ?

No, that would be the truth, sans the hysteria, anti-immigration guff and other add-ons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭Problem123456

It's sad. I've been working in Ireland for a few years as an IT specialst but am considering to move. 1 year ago an Irish colleague was sacked due to threatening a Romanian celaning lady to cut her neck. I witnessed the situation. Ireland will be considered a dangerous place for foreigners soon and really valuable people will leave the country too. Police poor response is also sad. In other countries the response is fast, tough and direct and elite groups are sent to the scene. I doubt that anti-terrorist or other elite police groups operate here in Ireland because never read news about them. The government close police stations around the country though. It's also sad that the future of Ireland is on the hand of these youngsters. Not a promising future...
    I take it you have never been to eastern europe and Spain or pretty much and other country.
    Ireland is one of the safest counties in the world.
    Also we do have 'elite police groups'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 FOSystem

I take it you have never been to eastern europe and Spain or pretty much and other country.
    Ireland is one of the safest counties in the world.
    Also we do have 'elite police groups'.

You won't see this in eastern europe, the ex-communist regime behviour and attitude is still there. Meaning, if there's a problem, they act roughly. That's why this kind of acts can be very rarely seen there. Pub fights yes, but not this one. Ireland is safe compared to US, but more dangerous than most of the central and eastern europian countries (except Ukrain, some part of Romania, Russia and the Balkan countries).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,298 ✭✭✭Duggys Housemate

You won't see this in eastern europe, the ex-communist regime behviour and attitude is still there. Meaning, if there's a problem, they act roughly. That's why this kind of acts can be very rarely seen there. Pub fights yes, but not this one. Ireland is safe compared to US, but more dangerous than most of the central and eastern europian countries (except Ukrain, some part of Romania, Russia and the Balkan countries).

What you would get in Eastern Europe is the police cracking down on black rioters regardless of fault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭guildofevil

Scumbags pick on anyone who is different from them. There wasn't a lot of racial diversity when I was a teen so the scumbags used to pick on me and my friends. I ended up in a lot of fights (I'm not easily intimidated and am well able to defend myself) and on more than one occasion I had to flee from vastly superior numbers.

Scumbags still act like that today, but I am (usually) not considered different enough to be the target of their senseless hostility. The racial element of this is simply where the bar was set on that day. If the aggressive individuals had been on a beach full of people of the same race, they would have found another pretext to kick off. That is what they were there for.

When I say scumbags I am not referring to people from any particular area, race, socioeconomic background, or whatever. I am talking about people who behave in a particular way.

Blaming drink is another red herring and frankly it lets these thugs off without the blame they deserve. "I couldn't help it I was drunk", is the refrain of the scumbag as he tries to pretend he isn't at fault for the things he did. Those people decided to get tanked up and go looking for trouble. Plenty of people drank alcohol that day, I'm sure the beer gardens were full to bursting and plenty of back yards were filled with people enjoying alcohol and BBQed meat but the vast majority of us managed to resists the temptation to pick a fight with a random stranger.

I really hate that this crap happens. We have some lovely beaches in Dublin and to have this happen on one of the few days of the year we can fully enjoy them is a crying shame.

On a positive note, I was on Dollymount Strand last Monday and it was great. We had our 2 year old with us for a play in the sand and a paddle. There was a good racial mix. There were other kids, people flying kites, playing football, volley ball, etc. There was a group of people in their late teens a little bit down the beach from us and they were drinking beer. They were not aggressive, or particularly loud.

Don't let the actions of a bunch of violent scum taint your view of people of any particular race, people who like a drink, people of a particular age group, people from a particular area, or whatever.

Some people are just assholes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,649 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

apparently drunks teens coming back from portmarnock or howth attacked a guy in his car at howth junction last night it was on liveline, the gardai should be at both of transport links confiscating drink off unders 18s and anyone drinking in public

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,649 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

are there any bye-laws about drink on the beaches?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭tin79

apparently kids coming back from pportmarnock attacked a car in his car at howth junction

Was it a Micra inside a Range Rover or something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Listen to the podcast. Even uber liberal, Adrian Kennedy, admitted that it was a race riot. Reluctantly, I may add.

It baffles me as to why these black Africans continue to live here, If they hate white people so much. Last nights riot, radio show and African commentators on social media, living in Ireland, was a real eye opener. A sizeable amount of them dont seem to like us much. :(

Perhaps their attitude to us is molded by how we have treated them.

Also, the African kids in this riot would not have come here by choice, they were brought here by their Parents for whatever reason.

are there any bye-laws about drink on the beaches?

There are by-laws about drinking in public. It's up to the local council.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

Perhaps their attitude to us is molded by how we have treated them.

Also, the African kids in this riot would not have come here by choice, they were brought here by their Parents for whatever reason.

Yep

even if they (the black lads) did start this (i dont believe they did i just think the guy you quoted is a racist) can anyone really blame them. I bet its kinda hard not to be an angry young man/woman when you constantly get called ******, coon, wog etc and have people telling you to **** off back to your own country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭P.Walnuts

I'd really like you to give me an eastern european country with a lower crime rate than Ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,698 ✭✭✭tricky D

4 check points between Baldoyle & Malahide at the moment.

Gardaí moved loads (~100) off Howth Harbour yesterday and poured vat loads of booze down the drain.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8 Dunrum Arbella.

bumper234 wrote: »
    Yep

even if they (the black lads) did start this (i dont believe they did i just think the guy you quoted is a racist) can anyone really blame them. I bet its kinda hard not to be an angry young man/woman when you constantly get called ******, coon, wog etc and have people telling you to **** off back to your own country.
    We Scots Irish get it all the time, never bothers us. Time for them to grow a spine.

What? You think they should just shrug off daily racial abuse? They should just ignore ignorant lowlifes screaming abuse at them? They should just just ignore and shrug off years of being told that they are not welcome in Ireland and should all **** off back to Africa (even though a large majority of them were probably born here and contribute a hell of a lot more to communities and society) Ye i suppose that's the same as being called Jock or Paddy.

The Irish (whether we are willing to admit it or not) are some of the most racist people i have ever seen. I worked in construction in the boom and heard so many giving out about the Polish "coming over here and taking peoples jobs". When i said "sure are they not doin the same as the Irish did for years in Australia, America, uk" i was told "ah yeah but the Irish would work!!!:confused: I guess it's ok for us to emigrate and make a better life for ourselves but lo and behold one of those dirty foreigners comes here and dares to try settle.:rolleyes:

What? You think they should just shrug off daily racial abuse? They should just ignore ignorant lowlifes screaming abuse at them? They should just just ignore and shrug off years of being told that they are not welcome in Ireland and should all **** off back to Africa (even though a large majority of them were probably born here and contribute a hell of a lot more to communities and society) Ye i suppose that's the same as being called Jock or Paddy.

The Irish (whether we are willing to admit it or not) are some of the most racist people i have ever seen. I worked in construction in the boom and heard so many giving out about the Polish "coming over here and taking peoples jobs". When i said "sure are they not doin the same as the Irish did for years in Australia, America, uk" i was told "ah yeah but the Irish would work!!!:confused: I guess it's ok for us to emigrate and make a better life for ourselves but lo and behold one of those dirty foreigners comes here and dares to try settle.:rolleyes:

Generalizing about the Irish being the "most racist people ever" is racist. And incorrect. The world is not really holding it's breath for an Irish Golden Dawn, or Jobbik.

There is a problem with low lives being racist, but there is a problem with them being anti-social in total, against anybody not a lowlife.

Generalizing about the Irish being the "most racist people ever" is racist. And incorrect. The world is not really holding it's breath for an Irish Golden Dawn, or Jobbik.

There is a problem with low lives being racist, but there is a problem with them being anti-social in total, against anybody not a lowlife.

Ireland is a nation not a race so me saying the Irish are racist does not make me racist at worst it makes me xenophobic but then i am Irish so dunno how that would work. Can one be xenophobic against ones own nation?:confused: Also i agree that lowlifes will give anyone who they perceive to be an easy target/victim a hard time on any given day i just think (again from my own experiences) that we tend to give it more to people who are "different" to us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭Marsden

What a load of rubbish, daily racial abuse. I'm from a mixed family and I see no such thing. A few people ranting on boards hardly constitutes daily abuse. And why would anyone want to admit that "yes, the Irish are the most racist people YOU have ever met". Just because you heard people on construction sites giving out about Polish people stealing jobs doesn't make everyone in the country racist.

There will always be some fools that like to paint a whole nation of people as a lower form of life for one reason or another, in this instance it's you giving out about the Irish.

Marsden wrote: »
    What a load of rubbish, daily racial abuse. I'm from a mixed family and I see no such thing. A few people ranting on boards hardly constitutes daily abuse. And why would anyone want to admit that "yes, the Irish are the most racist people YOU have ever met". Just because you heard people on construction sites giving out about Polish people stealing jobs doesn't make everyone in the country racist.

There will always be some fools that like to paint a whole nation of people as a lower form of life for one reason or another, in this instance it's you giving out about the Irish.

Actually i work in the city center and see DAILY racial abuse by scum bags but please feel free to bury your head back in that sandbox i am sure all will stay nice and pretty on planet Marsden.

In his mixed race sandbox?

Just because someone does not see/experience something does not mean it does not happen/exsist.

Ok. So instead of believing him, we believe you?

The problem I have with you is that you blame "the Irish" for the actions of a minority. Which is racist itself. ( And yes you can be racist to a national group)

But you would be correct to say we have a very bad scumbag problem. And they are very racist.

I think it's a more general bigotry. There is a sliding scale.

Other scumbag from same area = probably OK.
    Scumbag from elsewhere in the same city = might be dodgy.
    Someone with different accent/looks or dresses funny = dislike.
    Culchie/foreigner (same skin colour) = serious dislike.
    Different race/gay = hate.