I want to ask the bar man out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

rockbeast wrote: »
    Like that bar. Didn't remember the walls. ]

There's 2 in town. The other one has a great trad band on Sunday nights :) that one has games on the table I think? can't say I've ever been.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

Itwasntme, meet BrianG23 (ginger). BrianG23, meet Itwasntme (fan of gingers). ;)

Aw! I'm ginger AND I'm a bartender! :(

*grumbles* betcha that Brian guy isn't even a proper ginger, bloody daywalkers, coming over here and taking our wimmins, it'd be enough to crush a real gingers soul, if he had one
    I work in a bar. I've just arrived home, alone.

Wait, there's 26 pages of this.

I'm not ginger.

QUIET YOU! :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,754 ✭✭✭Itwasntme.

There's 2 in town. The other one has a great trad band on Sunday nights :) that one has games on the table I think? can't say I've ever been.

It's the second. It's a really cool pub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

D2 been out in many bars in d2 mainly on grafton or near grafton st on camden st and harcourt st never temple bar not yet anyway! Trying to guess diceys but iv been to cassidys cool pub! Nice spot!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,548 ✭✭✭rockbeast

did cassidys on westmoreland just do that, hire someone to write on the walls? they have closed that bar down a few times now but i walk by it every day and remember they do have graffiti outside now. inside too apparently.

Didn't realise that OP is a hipster. Even I had to buy a mac for work but wouldn't hang out with "those" hipsters:)

Never hang out near O'connell bridge. advice for the young at heart:)

I just linked the barman through the pub's facebook page to this thread. It was a really happy and positive thread. I imagine it will be funny to read about himself and the anguish I went through mustering up the courage to ask him.

Grand central is exception nice pub many nice pubs in dublin and all the cities galway and cork too!! I add in few in kerry too mainly killarney....

did cassidys on westmoreland just do that, hire someone to write on the walls? they have closed that bar down a few times now but i walk by it every day and remember they do have graffiti outside now. inside too apparently.

Didn't realise that OP is a hipster. Even I had to buy a mac for work but wouldn't hang out with "those" hipsters:)

Never hang out near O'connell bridge. advice for the young at heart:)

Hey! I am not a hipster but I don't mind hanging out with hipsters. Really, I like it because it used to be my 'local'. We went there a lot before it became really popular so now I sort of feel like I would be a traitor if I went anywhere else.

Itwasntme. wrote: »
    I just linked the barman through the pub's facebook page to this thread. It was a really happy and positive thread. I imagine it will be funny to read about himself and the anguish I went through mustering up the courage to ask him.

I thinky i may have to run! :o My internet acting the maggot.

He might not like the fact that you told after hours about a red head that works in cassidys! He'll be afraid to go to work :P

Should I take it down do you think?

EDIT: Taken down. I am sure they hadn't logged onto the page yet anyway.

I think we all need to run if he sees it?:eek:

Hey! I am not a hipster but I don't mind hanging out with hipsters. Really, I like it because it used to be my 'local'. We went there a lot before it became really popular so now I sort of feel like I would be a traitor if I went anywhere else.

Don't go anywhere else.

We've all enjoyed this thread. I have my suspicions as a man who has worked in marketing though...

If this thread isn't a wind up then this is a very astute form of marketing because that pub you said you were in tonight is gonna be packed tomorrow;)

Should I take it down do you think?

EDIT: Taken down. I am sure they hadn't logged onto the page yet anyway.

He might not like being internet famous! Or imagine the girl he was seeing saw it :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭Bozo Skeleton

orestes wrote: »

QUIET YOU! :mad:
    I have about 2% ginger in my beard, and 1 solitary pure red hair on my head. I was more disappointed that I'm not ginger in the context of the OP.
    Anyway, gingers/red heads are HOT, are they not?

Don't go anywhere else.

We've all enjoyed this thread. I have my suspicions as a man who has worked in marketing though...

If this thread isn't a wind up then this is a very astute form of marketing because that pub you said you were in tonight is gonna be packed tomorrow;)

Haha. Thanks. It was neither a wind up nor a marketing strategy. Have you been to Cassidy's? If you have, then you will know that most nights it's so packed, there's no standing room.

Alright lads and lasses, I am going to turn in for the night. Thanks for the positive motivation. I would have felt a lot worse about the rejection if you guys hadn't been here to pad my fall.

Goodnight.

Haha. Thanks. It was neither a wind up nor a marketing strategy. Have you been to Cassidy's? If you have, then you will know that most nights it's so packed, there's no standing room.

Alright lads and lasses, I am going to turn in for the night. Thanks for the positive motivation. I would have felt a lot worse about the rejection if you guys hadn't been here to pad my fall.

Goodnight.

well played, well played.

You're probably the red haired barman. I did this form of guerilla advertising in NYC in 2006.

ah, well, it was better than watching Brendan O'Carroll on rte.

Night all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,159 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Can someone stick a note in the OP saying that this ended in rejection? It'll save others the twenty minutes reading I've just lost.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Can someone stick a note in the OP saying that this ended in rejection? It'll save others the twenty minutes reading I've just lost.

hwa hwa hwa, you not see any of the safe threads no...

sucker!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

He didn't have time to read a few words on a note? Bull****.

He probably will see this thread, whether it's linked or not.

You told us his name, description of him and where he works. Someone he knows will see it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,612 ✭✭✭Lelantos

I was reading this last nite but had to turn in before the end. Well done K, at least you asked the guy out, you go to the bar regularly, so you never know, if the current Mrs ginger doesn't work out, he has your number, maybe a happy ending here yet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Me (when I was leaving): Hey Phillip, did you read my note?
    Him: No, I didn't get the chance to.

He goes over and I see him reading it.

He comes back: I would. But I can't. I am seeing someone.
    Me (crestfallen but surprisingly not dead): Okay.
    Him: Maybe another time?

What does that mean?!!!

Bar staff in busy pubs get chat up a ridiculous amount. And the good ones generally won't fcuk the customers or at least won't make a pick up at work, it's too easy to make a bad name for yourself. Especially WHEN it goes south, as it inevitably will if you fcuk a regular.

Just think of it, bar staff are horrible people to date if you aren't a night worker. They work 5 nights a week, usually will have a few drinks after work each night, the 2 nights they aren't working are usually spent in the pub, or with significant others if they have them who almost always work in a bar as well, because the only people who can really put up with dating bar staff are other bar staff.
    He didn't have time to read a few words on a note? Bull****.

He probably will see this thread, whether it's linked or not.

You told us his name, description of him and where he works. Someone he knows will see it.

Have you ever worked a busy bar? :pac: You don't have time to piss most of the time, never mind stopping to read a note. You presume it's just a phone number you'll never call.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Great reading in this thread. Well done op.
    My own wife asked me out some 14 years ago after what I thohght was a one night stand. Given how crap I was at asking women out I was delighted. It does not matter if he calls you or not, you have crossed the precipice and asking your next dream out will be easier.
    But do let us know if he calls and if Brian23 has pmed you yrt!

Xavi6 wrote: »

It took you twenty minutes to read it? You want to stop using your index finger mate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭BrianG23

I guess it can't be helped :p

You know that Facebook post could come up in Notifications..and they could find the thread...just sayin'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

I can't be fûcked to read the whole thread.

Did she ask him to mickey her and did he say yes?

BrianG23 wrote: »
    I guess it can't be helped :p

You know that Facebook post could come up in Notifications..and they could find the thread...just sayin'

They are not the most dedicated facebookers. I hope...:eek:

I can't be fûcked to read the whole thread.

Did she ask him to mickey her and did he say yes?

She asked him to er, 'mickey' her and he said no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

In my limited experience with real girls, the trick is to not put yourself in a position where you could get outright rejected.

Vague,casual and read the signs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,790 ✭✭✭confuseddotcom

Shure he could be on here himself?!? Or his gf! Shame it didn't work out for you o.p, it would have made a really nice story! :D More stories please! ;):D Hope you find someone really nice.