Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat II

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

quadboy wrote: »
    Back from my greenkeeping duties, no vodka was needed to help me get up and at it

Do you play as well quad boy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

Muckit wrote: »
    Best of luck with them What has ye up so bloody early? I remember as a young lad getting up at 4 and 5 O'clock for the mart but that was before they brought in the draw system

First come first served for the numbers in Carnew. There at 6.50 and lot 110.

Muckit wrote: »
    Best of luck with them What has ye up so bloody early? I remember as a young lad getting up at 4 and 5 O'clock for the mart but that was before they brought in the draw system

First come first served for the numbers in Carnew. There at 6.50 and lot 110.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 472 ✭✭quadboy

hugo29 wrote: »
    Do you play as well quad boy

No but id like to start, hard to get a few to go like

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

1chippy wrote: »
    Yeh i have them and like them. a handy tip for filling them is get a road cone turn it upside down between the spikes of a grab and just shovel into the upside down road cone.
    Now im off to get legless and make a complete show of myself down in leitrim. I'll keep an eye out for a redhead being stalked by a young lad on a quad.

Look out for the tattoos :P Only way you might know me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

I don't even bother with it anymore unless I have the following day off. Just can't cope with the hangovers now. God be with the days I'd come in around the time you posted have a cuppa and a toastie and go and do a days work without a bother.

Yeh defo defo need to find myself a relief milker, nights on the tiles are usually up in Dublin with the bro in law, so 7am drive home next morning, where I'm greeted by the impatient old man waiting to get going with the cows ha. Actually will probably be me tomorrow, funfun. And just so as yous old lads don't feel too bad :p, I'm only in my 20s still, and trust me the hangovers are still bad ha, I'd say yous are all just nostalgic about it ha!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

would much prefer to be working outside with a hangover than inside, that would be a killer

Timmaay wrote: »
    Yeh defo defo need to find myself a relief milker, nights on the tiles are usually up in Dublin with the bro in law, so 7am drive home next morning, where I'm greeted by the impatient old man waiting to get going with the cows ha. Actually will probably be me tomorrow, funfun. And just so as yous old lads don't feel too bad :p, I'm only in my 20s still, and trust me the hangovers are still bad ha, I'd say yous are all just nostalgic about it ha!

Ah the 20's now them was the days, a distant memory, if you struggling now with a hangover timmaay don't drink in yer late 30,s
    Speaking of drink I think I'll try a few tonight,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

Hangover day today. Didn't hit the leaba till 4.30. It was just about starting to get bright then. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

whelan1 wrote: »
    would much prefer to be working outside with a hangover than inside, that would be a killer

At least you can hide when on a farm

pakalasa wrote: »
    Hangover day today. Didn't hit the leaba till 4.30. It was just about starting to get bright then. :rolleyes:

You must be way put west because it was bright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 633 ✭✭✭Henwin

anyone know if ferns are poisonous to cattle. there are plenty of them around the headlands of a silage field we have. just wondering if we shud leave it out of the pit silage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Henwin wrote: »
    anyone know if ferns are poisonous to cattle. there are plenty of them around the headlands of a silage field we have. just wondering if we shud leave it out of the pit silage.

Yes, it is poisonous when eaten as young shoots and can also be chronic poisoning when fed over a prolonged winter period. It destroys blood clotting and results in progressive anaemia.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 472 ✭✭quadboy

pakalasa wrote: »

It was fairly bright walking down the road before 5 in the kingdom

Had ten in Carnew today. 6 bulls 4 heifers. All born last September or October. Weighed from 340 to 426 kg. Averaged €990 per head. Tops of €1360 back to a low of €780.

we where in a hotel last night- cheap deal that had to be used by 31st may- at half 4 there was an unmerciful row out on the corridor-not us- it was getting bright then... was dying to run up and bang on their door at 8am fecking idiots

whelan1 wrote: »
    we where in a hotel last night- cheap deal that had to be used by 31st may- at half 4 there was an unmerciful row out on the corridor-not us- it was getting bright then... was dying to run up and bang on their door at 8am fecking idiots

You should have had.
    I was in bed one night about 11 fast asleep and my cousin called my mobile, I cut the nose off him. Next morning I phoned him at 5.45 and his response was 'message received'!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

delaval wrote: »
    You should have had.
    I was in bed one night about 11 fast asleep and my cousin called my mobile, I cut the nose off him. Next morning I phoned him at 5.45 and his response was 'message received'!!

There's nothing like the 5am phonecall/e-mail to emphasise a point.

yup.... think people who dont have kids dont have a clue, ringing at stupid o clock, cant wait til some people i know have kids and then they'll know

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

I saw on the paper that Bulmers are laying off 35 or 40 staff. I will have to do my best to help them keep their jobs. Decided to go for a savage pour of cider now. The swarths might not be too straight when I'm knocking grass tomorrow.

A good friend of Mrs freedom is one of the 35. She's gutted to say the least.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

A good friend of Mrs freedom is one of the 35. She's gutted to say the least.
    Are sale down or what ? Its an awful time to lose a job .

A buddy of mine did his best for them a few sundays ago , went for the breakfast in the morning and started on the pint bottles and stayed at it for the day . The boys with him counted 36 pint bottles before he moved onto blue wkds (blue diesel he calls it ).

moy83 wrote: »

A buddy of mine did his best for them a few sundays ago , went for the breakfast in the morning and started on the pint bottles and stayed at it for the day . The boys with him counted 36 pint bottles before he moved onto blue wkds (blue diesel he calls it ).

We have a lad round here like that except its Guinness. He gives up for Lent every year and goes on Smithwicks. He doesn't. count in pints but gallons ' hey young lad had a gallon and a half yesterday'

He is so full that his knickname is The Ballcock

She said the writing is on the wall for a while for a while. They've been waiting for the other shoe to drop. It goes back to '06/'07 I think. They had the market to themselves in the U.K. and embarked on a big expansion on this basis. The U.K. competition pushed back the following year and they've been under pressure since. I think any of us planning big expansion post '15 should read the case history.

Your a Kerry man quad boy, that explains a lot:D

Good god I hope it was a stainless steel toilet he was using next day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,252 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Up to my eye balls running the local festival this weekend. All roads lead to Athboy!
    Just home for shower and a feed and back out again.
    Dont wait up!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

delaval wrote: »
    We have a lad round here like that except its Guinness. He gives up for Lent every year and goes on Smithwicks. He doesn't. count in pints but gallons ' hey young lad had a gallon and a half yesterday'

He is so full that his knickname is The Ballcock
    This lad is on the guinness mostly aswell but he had two days done on it when he got the second wind and switched to cider . Big Bucket is his nickname , I dont know is it because of him drinking buckets or the fact that he starts telling everyone about the size of the bucket on the his digger when he is loaded .