Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bangernomics car of the week/day part III

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,679 ✭✭✭✭wonski

Hal1 wrote: »
    I think I've found one just posted there.
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/5105586

ViewThumb-20280880.jpeg

Tinted windows - I would drive it no problem.
    Anyone noticed gear changes on the speedo? Does it have three only, or the other two are useless? Still good idea for the car with no rev counter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭Gosub

wonski wrote: »
    Anyone noticed gear changes on the speedo? Does it have three only, or the other two are useless? Still good idea for the car with no rev counter.

That's the top of the gears. Otherwise getting up to 20mph before you select 1st would be a problem. :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,874 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

smash wrote: »
    Slightly over budget but good tax and NCT

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/5105758

Good tax, test and wheels...but that interior puking.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,009 ✭✭✭68 lost souls

Good tax, test and wheels...but that interior puking.gif

Dare I say its actually ok, looks like it would be pretty comfortable on long drives. Might be in the market for a bangernomics motor soon, very tempted by this if I am.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Dare I say its actually ok, looks like it would be pretty comfortable on long drives. Might be in the market for a bangernomics motor soon, very tempted by this if I am.

I think it's a half arsed "touch of Italian flair" cheapy looking interior. Muck savage.

This is a red interior :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,874 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

I've no doubt it's comfortable, but the red dashboard/steering wheel combo with the two-tone seats I doubt I could put up with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,406 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

€999 with NCT till next April

View2-19720473.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,277 ✭✭✭evolutionqy7

dgt wrote: »
    I think it's a half arsed "touch of Italian flair" cheapy looking interior. Muck savage.

This is a red interior :cool:

Way too much read in your red interior :) The seats are nice in the merc, cant say the same about the dash and the steering wheel.

dgt wrote: »
    This is a red interior

Pfft :pac:

Oblig vroom vroom

View2-20224386.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 ktown

2005 1.4Litre Rover 45, NCT until 2015..€1850

Not sure what these cars are like but looks a good deal.

Full?id=20298625

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,773 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

11 months test, 2 months tax, Diesel, asking €750 :)

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/5063551

Full-20063549.jpeg

Add 'felt as desired :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 890 ✭✭✭dh0011

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,569 ✭✭✭166man

ktown wrote: »

It may be a '05 car but it's from the late nineties underneath. Even with a fresh NCT, not a hope in hell I'd part with €1800 for it.. Sorry!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,525 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

166man wrote: »
    It may be a '05 car but it's from the late nineties underneath. Even with a fresh NCT, not a hope in hell I'd part with €1800 for it.. Sorry!
    It's actually even older than late 90's. It's chassis is from the 1992 Honda domani. However with fully independent rear suspension and double wishbone front suspension it's chassis is actually quiet sophisticated and moreso than what was on offer on most 05 cars in this class.

The biggest let down in these cars is not their chassis but their iffy electrics and soft engines.

JohnBoy26 wrote: »
    It's actually even older than late 90's. It's chassis is from the 1992 Honda domani. However with fully independent rear suspension and double wishbone front suspension it's chassis is actually quiet sophisticated and moreso than what was on offer on most 05 cars in this class.

The biggest let down in these cars is not their chassis but their iffy electrics and soft engines.

Add the sh1t interior and god-awful looks to the list too there...;)

166man wrote: »
    Add the sh1t interior and god-awful looks to the list too there...;)
    The facelift like the one posted doesn't look too bad imo. I know it won't win any beuty contests or anything like that but it's no worse looking than many cars in that class.

As for the interior even the revised version in the face lifted cars is fairly dated but calling it sh1t is a bit extreme imo.

JohnBoy26 wrote: »
    The facelift like the one posted doesn't look too bad imo. I know it won't win any beuty contests or anything like that but it's no worse looking than many cars in that class.

As for the interior even the revised version in the face lifted cars is fairly dated but calling it sh1t is a bit extreme imo.

Whatever about the exterior looking like a cheap chinese saloon with nothing going for it the interior is abysmal.

The fake wood trim and white dials are just the start. That said if you're used to interiors from Toyota's this wouldn't be much of a change! :P :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,096 ✭✭✭W123-80's

Probably more reasons not to post this than there is to post it.!

20 years old.
    Boring.
    Auto.

But it looks like a very well minded example. Be nice to see someone keep it on the road for another few years.

Test until Sept.
    Two owner from new.
    88k miles.
    Asking €850.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4535716

View2-17351850.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Original paddy spec.
    Dat plastic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,096 ✭✭✭W123-80's

CianRyan wrote: »
    Original paddy spec.
    Dat plastic!

I kind of like the black bumpers..:o
    I drove this exact model - same year, spec and colour, back in 2002/2003. Mine was manual though.
    Sun roof prone to a bit of rust. Reliable, grand yoke, not much else to be said about it.!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,012 ✭✭✭serious3

can someone knock some sense into me before i head to co clare and buy this
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/5096516

i know the tax is steep but what else would stop you? are they hideously unreliable or good enough? nearly have the wife convinced that we should!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,778 ✭✭✭goz83

serious3 wrote: »
    can someone knock some sense into me before i head to co clare and buy this
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/5096516

i know the tax is steep but what else would stop you? are they hideously unreliable or good enough? nearly have the wife convinced that we should!

I'll race you there!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 890 ✭✭✭dh0011

I might join the race lads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

serious3 wrote: »
    can someone knock some sense into me before i head to co clare and buy this....

ColmMcM might be able to advise you there..... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,578 ✭✭✭✭unkel

Does the S-type come with 3 full size seatbelts in the back?

My ads on adverts.ie:

Victron stuff for sale, Multiplus-II, Quattro, other inverters and batteries and usually some watches!

https://www.adverts.ie/member/5856/ads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 405 ✭✭00833827

i really hope someone here gets that jag -

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭BillJ

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/5045828

Celica, years NCT, €550

Does the suspension look a bit high on the front?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

Irish Veyron with "cheap tax" (1.0 on the book) and a "miser on juice". WTF, who even went to the trouble of putting cash into this, either totally deluded or someone with a great sense of humour.

View2-20380268.jpeg

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/5124428
    Bugatti look alike for sale.

force tech bodykit and full spray in buggati colours.

car looks mint.

reel head turner.

miser on juice.

no tyres kickers or test pilets.

cheap too tax and run, only 137000 miles and 4 owners from new.

get urself a bugatti veyron for have the price.

may consider swap for glanza or boxy starlet.

txt only. calls willn't be answerd.

serch: bugatti,veyron,turbo,sports,alloys,boxy,starley,

Price: € 2,300

Price wise not even in Bangernomics territory either.

Red Kev wrote: »
    Irish Veyron with "cheap tax" (1.0 on the book) and a "miser on juice". WTF, who even went to the trouble of putting cash into this, either totally deluded or someone with a great sense of humour.

View2-20380268.jpeg

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/5124428

Price wise not even in Bangernomics territory either.
    why post it in the bangernomics thread then???:confused: