"Fat is the new gay"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭Sierra 117

Hownowcow wrote: »
    I like fat people. You can say anything you like to them. They'll never catch you.

Ah but we fat people have evolved. We have cars now. Try outrunning that, skinny!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

david75 wrote: »
    After hours.. Home of the knuckle draggers

Thin and sexy knuckle draggers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

If you diss me for being obese, you're a fattist.
    Nouuuuh, I think you'll find you're the fattist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Scruffles

annascott wrote: »
    No one should be openly ridiculed or bulllied but obese people should at least feel ashamed. (I did when I put on an enormous amount of weight and the shame gave me the push to lose it again)

I think that there should be a law that restaurants should refuse to serve extra portions of chips or desserts to fat people, the same way that a barman is supposed to refuse to serve someone who is obviously drunk.
    why shoud obese people be ashamed of themselves? that is exactly what keeps them stuck in the same bad motivation lacking self loathing pesamistic comfort eating cycle,obesity in many cases is the byproduct of mental illness and they dont need help from society looking at themselves like sht.
    they need people looking at them with the same value they place upon themselves, after all if society cannot look at a obese person without thinking or suggesting horrible things about them what hope have they got with respecting themselves?

what exactly woud banning extra portions from so called fat people do,other than ruin the unstable body image and self loathing further?
    how even were thinking this woud work? all waitresses have to spend time weighing and measuring the height of each customer? or checking BMI? seriously,a business woud be willing to lose out on money for something that isnt law?

its up to people to spend their money how they like,and if their 'poison' is food then no one else has the right to take that away,its their body and their life to use and control.
    also,not everyone has had the same upbringing and support with building the right sort of coping skills to adapt to life and for many this is the only way of coping they see, they need pyschological support and positive attitudes around them not people treating them like theyre not even human.

ps. did read the article but have not got a clue what its going on about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

Scruffles wrote: »
    why shoud obese people be ashamed of themselves? that is exactly what keeps them stuck in the same bad motivation lacking self loathing pesamistic comfort eating cycle,obesity in many cases is the byproduct of mental illness and they dont need help from society looking at themselves like sht.
    they need people looking at them with the same value they place upon themselves, after all if society cannot look at a obese person without thinking or suggesting horrible things about them what hope have they got with respecting themselves?

what exactly woud banning extra portions from so called fat people do,other than ruin the unstable body image and self loathing further?
    how even were thinking this woud work? all waitresses have to spend time weighing and measuring the height of each customer? or checking BMI? seriously,a business woud be willing to lose out on money for something that isnt law?

its up to people to spend their money how they like,and if their 'poison' is food then no one else has the right to take that away,its their body and their life to use and control.
    also,not everyone has had the same upbringing and support with building the right sort of coping skills to adapt to life and for many this is the only way of coping they see, they need pyschological support and positive attitudes around them not people treating them like theyre not even human.

ps. did read the article but have not got a clue what its going on about.

You're viewing obesity as an illness or a disability of some kind (emotional, psychological, social, economic, whatever) while this article is stating that it is nothing of the sort and is nothing other than a fact of genetics, so your opinion is fatphobic from the position of the article.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

orestes wrote: »
    Not really, it's pretty straight-forward stuff and it's an interesting idea. The idea that society needs a common enemy or "other" is hardly new and if obesity is genetic to a certain degree then it is an interesting arguement, but the problem with their approach is arguing that obesity is not unhealthy or a disease and completey disregarding the overwhelming science that shows it is and then comparing it to old ideas of homosexuality that weren't backed up by scientific evidence at all.

Basically: We used to think being gay was a disease and was bad for you and could be cured and we were wrong, now we say the same thing about being obese, so we are wrong about that too.

It's the disregard for science that is the problem with the arguement, not the comparison to social-stigma of race or sexuality.
    But I'm sure you see that being overweight will always be worse for your health regardless of whether it is genetic or not.

In some cases being overweight is genetic, and from what I've read their enzyme that controls hunger stays more or less around the middle of the scale between being hungry and full, whereas an average person's enzyme count would rise substantially when they were hungry and then fall sharply when they were satisfied. They didn't have that massive variation of change like the genetically obese person had.

I'm not sure if that's how it works in all cases of obese people who are like that for genetic reasons, I'm sure it's more complex and varies a lot more then that, but in those cases they still weren't eating healthy and no matter what that weight wasn't healthy for them -regardless of it being genetic or not.

They should've treated it like any genetic disorder like diabetes where you'd actively monitor your diet. They should strive to eat very healthily. Even if they still had weight on them, they're still eating healthily instead of eating junk which many do as they were drawn to the fat rich foods because of their genetic make up.

In my eyes if you have such a condiction you should push yourself to stay away from those foods for your own good, similar in a way to how people who have a higher chance of developing lung cancer should avoid smoking for their own good.

People think that because it's genetic it's some scape goat, but it's not really the case. Obese people who are like that for genetic reasons should work with their body and realise they need to keep it more in-check because they're more susceptible to weight related illnesses like diabetes and heart disease then the average person.

I realise this must sound very hypocritical for me of all people to say "no it can be cured, it is an illness" :P (I don't believe it's an illness, though) But it's something that very well could be cured with medication in future.

In the case that I saw where obesity was brought about because of a faulty enzyme controlling hunger, then something may be developed in future that could help to regulate it normally, like the medication that's available to help regulate and over, or under active thyroid gland.

In the past homosexuality was seen as bad for you and that it could be cured, but sexuality is far, far more complex than obesity when you're talking about the processes behind it. Obesity is still bad for you and carries substantial health risks, that won't change because we have the facts. We actually could be able to keep obesity under control with medication that helped regulate a defective hunger enzyme so it could be 'cured' some time in future.

Anyway, I'm getting waaaaaaayyy off course, and I apologise, but as you said there's more far more science behind this than people would think and I could go deeper into it.

TLDR; Genetic obesity is a real thing, but that shouldn't be seen as some get out of jail free card for all obese people -who may just be obese for dietary reasons, where they gorge themselves without any control with the excuse that they seemingly can't help it.
    They should work with their bodies and strive to be healthier for their own sake, especially if they're more inclined to have unhealthier lives because of their genes.

I worry a bit that genetic obesity will be used as an excuse not to try to be healthier because they can't help it and so give up and not bother.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭Lightbulb Sun

1ZRed wrote: »

I remember some poster here a few months back saying that the average weight for a 5'10 man was 14 stone. That is 194lbs and obese..

That's overweight but not obese.

It's not far off the clinical definition of obesity, but 196lbs for that height is very overweight. I've seen men who were 6'4 and muscular who were a lot lighter than that.

I think that's the problem, just because it's not quite the definition of obesity that it's grand then and you're just a bit over weight. I've met lads who did think like this and it's quite bad.

TLDR; Genetic obesity is a real thing, but that shouldn't be seen as some get out of jail free card for all obese people -who may just be obese for dietary reasons, where they gorge themselves without any control with the excuse that they seemingly can't help it.
    They should work with their bodies and strive to be healthier for their own sake, especially if they're more inclined to have unhealthier lives because of their genes.

I worry a bit that genetic obesity will be used as an excuse not to try to be healthier because they can't help it and so give up and not bother.

Hey, I'm just explaining what the article said, I didn't say I agree with it :D

I agree with you completely, their entire arguement is based on ignoring all science that states obesity is unhealthy, which is ridiculous given the amount of information that indicates that it is unhealthy imo. The problem is that it makes any arguement against their position incorrect by default, so anything that you say that disagrees with it is instantly fatphobic. That's why I said earlier that the disregard for science is the problem with the position.

Hey, I'm just explaining what the article said, I didn't say I agree with it :D

I agree with you completely, their entire arguement is based on ignoring all science that states obesity is unhealthy, which is ridiculous given the amount of information that indicates that it is unhealthy imo. The problem is that it makes any arguement against their position incorrect by default, so anything that you say that disagrees with it is instantly fatphobic. That's why I said earlier that the disregard for science is the problem with the position.

Oh ok. I'm just getting confused in the crossfire here :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

annascott wrote: »
    No one should be openly ridiculed or bulllied but obese people should at least feel ashamed. (I did when I put on an enormous amount of weight and the shame gave me the push to lose it again)

I think that there should be a law that restaurants should refuse to serve extra portions of chips or desserts to fat people, the same way that a barman is supposed to refuse to serve someone who is obviously drunk.

It's no one else's business what anyone eats. You stick to your diet and let everyone else worry about their own.

Judgements like this heaped on people over their body size never fails to amaze me. Why on earth would you wish shame on someone just because of how they look ffs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,915 ✭✭✭worded

Salad dodgers

Oh ok. I'm just getting confused in the crossfire here :p

Sorry about you being confused, but according to this article if I try and cure your confusion it makes me fatphobic. And homophobic. And a racist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭yore

It's no one else's business what anyone eats. You stick to your diet and let everyone else worry about their own.

Judgements like this heaped on people over their body size never fails to amaze me. Why on earth would you wish shame on someone just because of how they look ffs?

Well someone ate all the chocolate goldgrains and left none for me .............and methinks I know who did it :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,083 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

I'm over weight but seriously it's rediculous to equate a lifestyle choice to something that isn't as choice in any way, shape or form. If I was gay I would be seriously offended. What a load of complete and utter ****e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭yore

meoklmrk91 wrote: »
    I'm over weight but seriously it's rediculous to equate a lifestyle choice to something that isn't as choice in any way, shape or form. If I was gay I would be seriously offended. What a load of complete and utter ****e.

That's terribly homophobic. To suggest that the gays do be getting seriously offended over trivial matters.

I'm sure there are loads of fat gays who don't get offended

:-P

It is when it's a growing epidemic and we're all going to be paying for it hugely in future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭WilhelmFink

No, being fat is not the new gay.

Gay people generally don't choose to be gay.

This pretty much sums up my views

http://s21.postimg.org/mgmrkk5g7/1367244099367.jpg

It is when it's a growing epidemic and we're all going to be paying for it hugely in future.

But now you're the fatphobic, homophobic racist, and that has me confused.

My head hurts.

It's grand, boards has the answer to our obesity problem!. Fear not fellow fatties! :pac:

But now you're the fatphobic, homophobic racist, and that has me confused.

My head hurts.

Ah feck, thanks for that! Thought I was covering my subtle digs quite well there :rolleyes: :p

But you could argue that's exactly the same line they threw at the gay community during the early 80's when HIV and AIDS first started appearing in the western world.

Many people may choose a lifestyle that others may disapprove of. By all means, educate them on the risks, encourage them to be healthier if you feel you must, but to sit in judgement of them, belittle them and infer they should feel ashamed of themselves is totally wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭djflawless

Gay people get slagged down because their different...fat people get slagged down because their different

miles apart but oh so close

It doesnt matter if your fat, gay, tall, hungry or just plain odd

If your not normal (what ever the fcuk normal is considered to be nowadays) your gonna be singled out and told its unhealthy...
    Just get the fcuk over it and be who you wanna be not who you should be ffs!!!

Rant over!!!

But you could argue that's exactly the same line they threw at the gay community during the early 80's when HIV and AIDS first started appearing in the western world.

Many people may choose a lifestyle that others may disapprove of. By all means, educate them on the risks, encourage them to be healthier if you feel you must, but to sit in judgement of them, belittle them and infer they should feel ashamed of themselves is totally wrong.

Nowhere near as wrong as arguing that being gay means you are at risk of developing HIV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88 ✭✭mcwinning

This article sums up all that is wrong with free speech. Any idiot can publish an article with no evidence behind what they say, manipulate and cherry pick 'science' that suits them and present it as fact, thus influencing other idiots. The more moral indignation the better.

Someone being gay hurts no one, costs nobody anything and is something that people do not make as a lifestyle choice.
    Being obese is something that costs society more money in health care and is overwhelmingly as a result of a calorie surplus caused by eating a lot and not exercising.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭djflawless

mcwinning wrote: »
    This article sums up all that is wrong with free speech. Any idiot can publish an article with no evidence behind what they say, manipulate and cherry pick 'science' that suits them and present it as fact, thus influencing other idiots. The more moral indignation the better.

Someone being gay hurts no one, costs nobody anything and is something that people do not make as a lifestyle choice.
    Being obese is something that costs society more money in health care and is overwhelmingly as a result of a calorie surplus caused by eating a lot and not exercising.

Just out of interest, what are the costs to revenue for homosexual std related check-ups/treatments/clinics per year??
    I know of two friends actively recieving treatment from sexual health clinics who are openly gay, but know not of 1 obeses person seeking doctoral advice??

Im not taking sides but merely trying to understand figures

Are you seriously throwing that card at me and making a connection to obesity? In the early 80's they didn't know what was going on and it was a time of huge panic and blaming. That was a fatal disease and obseity is not. The two are not compatible at all.

Your idea was to let them off to do what they wanted and not think of the consequences. Our obesity problems are rising substantially and so we need a drastic wake up call to tackle it. I never said we should belittle them or make them ashamed of themselves. You'd swear that's the only alternative to not saying anything to them regarding their weight.

They should know that their weight is unhealthy and it's not ok for their welbeing to be obese or overweight and we should push for better education, exercise and eating habits, but that comes with directing them into a healthier lifestyle and making obesity seem like the bad option otherwise people will care less and less, like what's happening now. No matter what it's not going to be faultless on such a touchy subject but we need to speak up because it's spiralling out of control. There are more obese people on earth than there are starving people in Africa. That's crazy.

The way things are going we're normalising obesity. Bigger doors, bigger clothes, bigger operating tables without saying "no, try and lose the weight instead" and so people just think that since that they may be overweight at least they are not that big and then they're not so bad. That's a big problem and their weight just creeps up and up.

If the obesity problem is getting worse and worse why should I be paying for it and all the health problems that come with it? I won't be minding my own diet then and I'll be asking some questions because it's such an avoidable expense on the country. Obesity is like smoking and we should try and cut it out as much as we can.

mcwinning wrote: »

That isn't freedom of speech, it's burden of proof. The article has put forward a theory with their arguements to support it, the responsibility is on the people who oppose it to prove it to be incorrect.

Nowhere near as wrong as arguing that being gay means you are at risk of developing HIV.

I wasn't arguing that at all. I was comparing the judgement heaped on one group to the judgement heaped on another.

Your comparison makes no sense though.

Being gay does not effect your health. Being obese does effect your health.

Being gay is not a lifestyle choice. Being obese is.

If you want to compare the two then you have to reconcile at least one of those two contradictions before a comparison can be made. Otherwise you're basically comparing apples and oranges and any conclusions you try to make are useless.