Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is rape always rape? Are men always to blame?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

Truthfully a woman should be able to go down the street in her best bra and knickers and not have to be subjected to sexual assault. Should she expect a wolf whistle or a suggestive comment? Probably. But never being violated.

Rape is when a person (male or female) involved does not consent, it does not matter how they dress/act/etc, no is no. There is no justifying doing anything they don't want to do. FFS flirting or suggestive behaviour is no reason to destroy their lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Wow folks this thread is becoming incredibly vitriolic! Might I make a suggestion here, at the risk of everyone jumping down my throat but such is the burden of being a lone voice of reason in the desert ;) Everyone is talking about *unwanted* attention. Can I just point out that as should be obvious, indeed as has been demonstrated even juts by this thread alone, everyone out there has different boundaries and different definitions of appropriate. Could I also suggest that a lot of the people talking about *unwanted* attention also seem to be implying that they have never actually directly told the other person that such attention makes them uncomfortable.

Now before you dismiss this as victim blaming just hear me out: a handshake is physical contact, just on a lesser scale than a hug. How far such contact can go before being inappropriate is entirely down to the individual - hell, I know some people who during the Swine Flu outbreak were nervous about even shaking hands at mass or even with friends, and that's completely cool. Point is, what may seem obvious to YOU as "inappropriate" may seem completely normal to another person, depending on their family background, their own close group of friends, or even, dare I say it, the fact that nobody has ever in any way acted uncomfortable or told them they were over the top.

Life is about communication. I'm quite baffled by the number of people who take the view that everyone else should magically or psychically read their minds and know what kind of friendly affection they regard as sexual and what they don't. To be honest, when I meet female friends in a club I usually say hi with a hug or even a kiss on the cheek (or a kiss on the hand if I'm being particularly cheesy). Now this thread has made me a bit paranoid that I might be grossly offending some people but you know what? I doubt it, because if I don't do it first they'll come up to me and greet me the same way, it's just not something most of us see as being a big deal.

If I was making anyone uncomfortable it would be totally and completely unintentional and I'd very much hope they'd rationally talk to me about it so as I would know I was doing something wrong, instead of going online and giving out about me to random strangers on Boards while pretending it's ok next time they see me. I can't imagine anyone worse than people thinking "Oh God here he comes again, why won't he just feck off" - I'd hope people would be mature enough to TELL me that I'm being OTT or that my occasional flirtiness is offensive beyond just being fun. The fact that it's reciprocated seems like a good indicator to me but based on this thread I'm no longer so sure.

But I know one thing, the world would become a very cold, unfriendly place if everyone became completely frigid because they're afraid of offending someone at best or being sued for harassment at worst. So how about before it gets that far, TALK to the person, TELL them that you're not comfortable with it and if they have any decency, which most people do, they'll respect your boundaries.

Escalating such things to become examples of "rape culture" or anything like that is only going to perpetuate the somewhat justified view among a lot of guys that they can't express themselves at all anymore without demonizing themselves, and also that it's impossible to do anything about it because there's no way to read someone's mind so it's better to just not do anything in case you're completely unknowingly doing something wrong. And then you get articles in the Indo at the weekends complaining that Irish guys are too shy, never make the first move, are awful at flirting and so on. I've long suspected that this gulf of communication is partly responsible for that and the reason guys are so reserved now is that they're afraid of being labelled creepy through absolutely innocent intentions. I had a Turkish girl in a nightclub two weeks ago tell me she was amazed that I'd approached her at all at the bar, even more amazed that I'd put my arm around her as we went to find somewhere to sit, and absolutely flabbergasted to find, after we kissed, that I was completely sober that night as I was getting up at a reasonable hour the next day. In her year of living in Ireland she'd found most Irish guys to be very reserved, awkward and shy, far from actually going up to a girl at the bar and saying hello without having downed an entire pint of vodka first to calm the nerves.

tl;dr version - if something bothers you, TELL the person about it. In my view it's not really fair to complain that someone is too forward if you've never actually explained to them that your standard of inappropriate differs from theirs, unless you want a world in which nobody moves lest they cause offense, which I highly doubt anyone actually wants?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭PucaMama

if thats what you want, not a thing. but in regards to friends and family its weird and you cant expect people with normal attitudes to touching to be constantly aware of your issues, especially after a few drinks in a party atmosphere

why do you keep saying i have "issues"? my problem is with people i dont no very well hugging me or touching me without my consent. thats natural and completely within my rights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

PucaMama wrote: »
    why do you keep saying i have "issues"? my problem is with people i dont no very well hugging me or touching me without my consent. thats natural and completely within my rights.

I'm as flummoxed as you are. What is hard about "Don't touch people unless you're sure they want you to touch them?!" It's not difficult. Really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Strange question in the title: "Are men always to blame?"

Um... the rapist is always to blame... :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

Millicent wrote: »
    I'm as flummoxed as you are. What is hard about "Don't touch people unless you're sure they want you to touch them?!" It's not difficult. Really.

On the flip side, though, you're having people calling one friend hugging another (who'd happily hug him back at other times) sexual assault. I mean, what indication does that guy have that people mightn't want to be hugged at times?

I think hatrickpatrick nailed it by saying it comes down to communication.

I also think that the above argument (which is an extension of the example I gave) has people substituting in my friend for people they've experienced in their own lives. So they see him as the annoying guy at the bar and react as such, when really I'm giving as fair an example (on both sides) as I can.

Just because some may feel violated by a hug, and they've every right to, doesn't mean that others will. And the girls have never said that they feel violated, either, for the record. The hugs are fine as long as they don't escalate. That's what they're worried about.

leggo wrote: »
    On the flip side, though, you're having people calling one friend hugging another (who'd happily hug him back at other times) sexual assault. I mean, what indication does that guy have that people mightn't want to be hugged at times?

I think hatrickpatrick nailed it by saying it comes down to communication.

I also think that the above argument (which is an extension of the example I gave) has people substituting in my friend for people they've experienced in their own lives. So they see him as the annoying guy at the bar and react as such, when really I'm giving as fair an example (on both sides) as I can.

Just because some may feel violated by a hug, and they've every right to, doesn't mean that others will. And the girls have never said that they feel violated, either, for the record. The hugs are fine as long as they don't escalate. That's what they're worried about.

But if the girls are worried about the hugs escalating, surely that's problematic? Just because none of them have said as much to you, doesn't mean there's not a feeling of violation. I have been in several uncomfortable situations where I have kept schtum, out of fight-or-flight freezing, out of an unwillingness to be seen as that "hysterical" over-reactor, over not wanting to bring down the mood, over being in shock etc. etc.

Can I ask why you are keeping an eye on your friend if you're so sure it's kosher? Genuine question.

leggo wrote: »

Right, so now I put it to you that without telling him, he could think he's just beinf friendly or flirty and not have a clue that he's upsetting anyone.

:eek: = my face when I discover you're one of my friends and this whole thing is about me ;)
    Seriously though I'm only half joking there. But I'm not going to suddenly become an introvert based on this thread unless someone tells me I'm being inappropriate, because the flip side of it is that people might then ask me if I'm ok since it would be so out of character for me not to do those things.

I think a lot of women don't realize how blindly most guys fly. There's such a discrepancy between what one girl finds "cute" or even "romantic" and what another finds "creepy", and as I said this has caused in Ireland an entire generation of lads who are too scared to make any moves lest they become "that creepy guy". I have to say I felt really sad after meeting the Turkish girl I mentioned, that her impression of Irish guys was that we're all shy, frigid messes and that my forwardness was the most bizarre thing in the world. I hate the thought that this is what people think of Irish guys in general, but when you have threads like this who can blame them? Without communication, how is anyone supposed to know what's ok and what isn't?

That a foreign tourist in Ireland would say to me that in order to chat her up and put my arm around her I'd surely have to be piddly eyed is mind numbingly depressing. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

Escalating such things to become examples of "rape culture" or anything like that is only going to perpetuate the somewhat justified view among a lot of guys that they can't express themselves at all anymore without demonizing themselves, and also that it's impossible to do anything about it because there's no way to read someone's mind so it's better to just not do anything in case you're completely unknowingly doing something wrong.

That'd all be correct except you're missing out the part where people have said they were uncomfortable with certain things only to be told they're wrong and weird for thinking that. If someone tells me something like that I'll say "Fair enough, I don't see the problem with it in most scenarios but it bothers you so I won't put you in that situation." Then I stop doing it. I don't accuse the other person of anything because they're being honest and trying to make it better for both of us. They don't get uncomfortable and I don't unwittingly make someone feel uncomfortable.

Rape culture is being told, "Don't do that" but continuing to do it or saying there's something wrong with someone for not wanting it to happen. It's a pretty ****ing direct line in logic from saying "No" to a hug and being ignored to saying "No" to sex and being ignored. In both situations the person's wishes were ignored, that person is being abusive, that's the "rape." When the person is insulted and derided for having boundaries that's "rape culture."

Lyaiera wrote: »
    That'd all be correct except you're missing out the part where people have said they were uncomfortable with certain things only to be told they're wrong and weird for thinking that. If someone tells me something like that I'll say "Fair enough, I don't see the problem with it in most scenarios but it bothers you so I won't put you in that situation." Then I stop doing it. I don't accuse the other person of anything because they're being honest and trying to make it better for both of us. They don't get uncomfortable and I don't unwittingly make someone feel uncomfortable.

Rape culture is being told, "Don't do that" but continuing to do it or saying there's something wrong with someone for not wanting it to happen. It's a pretty ****ing direct line in logic from saying "No" to a hug and being ignored to saying "No" to sex and being ignored. In both situations the person's wishes were ignored, that person is being abusive, that's the "rape." When the person is insulted and derided for having boundaries that's "rape culture."

Ok I'll disagree with you there but I respect your views. Rape is an extremely strong word and it shouldn't, in my view, be used to describe anything less than rape. I agree with most of what you're saying and that it's absolutely wrong for people's boundaries not to be respected, but I find the throwing around of the word "rape" to describe lesser wrongs is counter productive. It trivializes one of the worst crimes a person can be subjected to and damages the credibility of the discussion. In my view, rape culture would be people defending actual rape. Not things which are very, very loosely related to rape.

Now someone's going to tell me that I'm a dick and I don't respect people's boundaries and so on. I do. I just feel that rape is a very distinct, disturbing and appalling crime and the waters shouldn't be muddied by broadening the definition to include harassment or anything else along those lines. Rape, as has been said, is rape.

Can I just put something out there that may help explain to some posters why some other posters are so tetchy about unwanted touching?

I have been touched inappropriately more times than I can count, ranging from mild annoyances to severe sexual crimes. These have happened in my home, in pubs, in night clubs, in school, in the work place, in friends' homes--all sorts of places. This has happened when I've been drunk, sober, wearing short and baggy clothing, when I was skinny, when I was fat, when I was young, older and everything in between.

I am by no means the only woman who has dealt with this. While it's an unfair situation, we women are not the ones who have created this. We can't police ourselves any more than most of us already do. All we are asking for is for others to police themselves. Don't assume someone is happy with being touched. Just because someone didn't mind before, doesn't mean they don't mind this time. We don't hate men; in fact, we quite like them and our frustration at these situations is because generally we like men and want to get on well with them.

All we're asking for is for you to put yourselves in our shoes. We've heard the arguments about protecting ourselves hundreds of times; we want to keep enjoying some sort of freedom in our lives; we don't need to hear that there are false rape accusers out there (there are, but not as many as you might think); we don't want to have to size up every guy and think "well maybe he's a rapist" though that is what some posts here are kind of advocating.

Can any of you honestly say that you wouldn't react exactly as we do given that constant white noise of accusation in the background?

Don't assume someone is happy with being touched. Just because someone didn't mind before, doesn't mean they don't mind this time.

And how, without communication, is one supposed to know that? Put yourself in our shoes and you'll see why so many guys joke that in this day and age you feel like you can't shake hands or say hi to a girl without first getting a written contract authorizing you to.

Is your proposed solution to this that everyone should assume by default that they can't handshake, hug, whatever and just never do it lest they offend? Because that would in my view make the world an extremely depressing place to live.
    I'm sure this doesn't come as any surprise to you but guys need verbal direction. We don't have the same instincts women seem to have. We have absolutely no way of knowing whether being forward will be received as "creepy" or "romantic" or "cute". There's literally absolutely no way to tell beforehand, it's a shot in the dark every time. Now you could be a guy like me who doesn't get embarrassed easily and therefore doesn't mind being shot down, but surely you can see why this frustrates guys so much. Sometimes it seems that whether it's creepy or cute depends on how she feels about you, which of course you have no way of knowing BEFORE you've done it. So there's no way out short of hiding in a cupboard all day.

This is why a lot of guys sit around wishing girls would make first moves instead, which of course most girls will tell you is the guy's job (You might not, but most girls I know are adamant about that). So the guy is potentially damned if he does, damned if he doesn't.

Without communicating directly that something makes you uncomfortable, how would you suggest to solve this? Because the current situation in which guys are terrified of getting it wrong and being labelled creepy, and foreign girls are as confused by Irish guys as the girl I met a few weeks ago, is complete bollocks, and is totally unsustainable in the long run or there'll be absolutely no relationships whatsoever formed between Irish men and women!

Again, I'm just wondering do you not see that your inappropriate and someone else's will probably differ and that if you never speak up about this there's absolutely no way to read your mind? Or would you prefer if no man ever flirted with any Irish girl ever again lest he be construed as "creepy" instead of "cute" as another guy might be, or as he might have been with a different girl?

Ok I'll disagree with you there but I respect your views. Rape is an extremely strong word and it shouldn't, in my view, be used to describe anything less than rape. I agree with most of what you're saying and that it's absolutely wrong for people's boundaries not to be respected, but I find the throwing around of the word "rape" to describe lesser wrongs is counter productive. It trivializes one of the worst crimes a person can be subjected to and damages the credibility of the discussion. In my view, rape culture would be people defending actual rape. Not things which are very, very loosely related to rape.

It's not throwing around rape, it's describing the thought process that goes into a lot of rape situations. Rape isn't about wearing a habit or covering yourself up, it's about people respecting boundaries. It's why the whole "No means no" thing came about. The typical rapist isn't the person waiting on the streets at night for a lone woman to walk past. They're the person who didn't respect someone else deciding for themselves what they wanted. They're the person who didn't listen or accept. They're the person for whom "No meant yes." And whenever someone gets inappropriately touched up, or being yelled at in the street to "Show us yer tits" it immediately creates the idea of sexual threat and that is what rape is about.

Men are much more likely to be beaten up, stabbed, glassed, murdered, etc. Women are more likely to be sexually assaulted or raped. Possibly it's a failing of the way rape, boundaries and gender roles have been discussed for decades, but when a woman is told not to get a taxi home alone it's because of the threat of rape whether it's an inappropriate comment from a taxi driver, a joke about paying with a blowjob or a hand placed on your leg. And that is very firmly in the rape culture category, and so is everything that arises from those threats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭Crooked Jack

PucaMama wrote: »

but thats not what you said, you clearly said everyone, no matter how well they know you, should keep their hands to themself.
    i was simply pointing out that thats over the top, weird and indicative of some personal issues with being touched.

@hatrickpatrick: social cues. That's a pretty good start. It's not wrong to mistakenly initiate contact with someone. It's a big mistake to not pick up on body language, facial reactions, other socially and biologically accepted indicators of comfort level. That's not something someone should have to have explained to them.

And I really don't mean to sound callous, but it's not anyone else's job to educate men on the basic nuances of social interaction, so no, I won't put myself in your shoes. Hurt feeling are a lot easier to deal with than personal bodily violations.

I'm not saying no physical contact ever. But there's a chasm of difference between kissing your female friend on the cheek in greeting and giving someone a "back hug" as described in leggo's post that clearly is something that alarms leggo, his friends and his female friends if it's something they actively watch and warn others about.

when a woman is told not to get a taxi home alone it's because of the threat of rape whether it's an inappropriate comment from a taxi driver, a joke about paying with a blowjob or a hand placed on your leg. And that is very firmly in the rape culture category, and so is everything that arises from those threats.

Rape is rape, rape is not an inappropriate comment or a joke, it's rape. Anything less could still be awful, but it's not rape. Rape is a specific thing.
    If someone makes an inappropriate comment, tell them to f*ck off. But to place that in the same category as forcing someone to have sex with you against their will just seems a little hyperbolic.

Rape is rape, rape is not an inappropriate comment or a joke, it's rape. Anything less could still be awful, but it's not rape. Rape is a specific thing.
    If someone makes an inappropriate comment, tell them to f*ck off. But to place that in the same category as forcing someone to have sex with you against their will just seems a little hyperbolic.

Read what I said and try and understand it. I'm not dealing with someone who won't have the common decency to do that.

@hatrickpatrick: social cues. That's a pretty good start. It's not wrong to mistakenly initiate contact with someone. It's a big mistake to not pick up on body language, facial reactions, other socially and biologically accepted indicators of comfort level. That's not something someone should have to have explained to them.

Most guys aren't good at this. This has been so since the dawn of civilization. There are guys who are, there are also a vast multitude who are not.
    And I really don't mean to sound callous, but it's not anyone else's job to educate men on the basic nuances of social interaction, so no, I won't put myself in your shoes. Hurt feeling are a lot easier to deal with than personal bodily violations.

What's basic to you might not be basic for someone else. Non verbal communication might be basic to women, it's not always basic to men. Simple as that. What you define as "the norm" is in fact the norm for women. Not for guys.
    I'm not saying no physical contact ever. But there's a chasm of difference between kissing your female friend on the cheek in greeting and giving someone a "back hug" as described in leggo's post that clearly is something that alarms leggo, his friends and his female friends if it's something they actively watch and warn others about.

But you are saying that guys should be able to know what's ok without any verbal communication whatsoever, so effectively what you're saying is guys are screwed, because that's a skill a lot of guys just don't have, like it or not. There are skills guys have that women don't and vice versa, this happens to be one of them. What have you got against verbal communication might I ask? Is it such a big deal to clearly explain to someone that what they're doing is a problem? This "take a hint" attitude really baffles me - why bother hinting, just come out and be direct. Then there's no possibility of misunderstanding.

Read what I said and try and understand it. I'm not dealing with someone who won't have the common decency to do that.

I did read it, I did try, I simply disagree with what you're saying. Not trying to be confrontational, I just don't agree. Rape is rape. Harassment is not in the same category and shouldn't be. It's still awful, but it's not synonymous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 678 ✭✭✭silentrust

Emz93 wrote: »
    Such as?

Of course the most common misconception is that the most common form is rape by a stranger. As a matter of fact intimate partner rape is by far the most prevalent followed by rape by a trusted friend or relative.

As for stranger rape, travelling in groups, keeping your phone in your hand when going to your car, not leaving your drink unattended should just be a matter of common sense.

What's not helping the issue is when Feminists claim that people who recommend you take safety precautions are indulging in so-called "victim blaming" - if I leave my house unlocked and it is burgled, I do bear some (I say some!) of the responsibility for what happened due to my negligence.

When the property is made of flesh and blood, not bricks and mortar, common sense safety precautions seem to fly out of the window.

I did read it, I did try, I simply disagree with what you're saying. Not trying to be confrontational, I just don't agree. Rape is rape. Harassment is not in the same category and shouldn't be. It's still awful, but it's not synonymous.

Agreed. Moreover to trivialise a serious crime like rape by trying to place it on some imaginary spectrum along with a man leering at a woman in the street for instance is dangerous.

The two acts are clearly separate so it reinforces the notion that women who complain about street harassment shouldn't be taken seriously.

This isn't to endorse harassment - it's rude, frightening and downright ungentlemanly if you'll forgive this old fashioned Englishman for saying so.

It just isn't the same thing as rape.

I really think you're insulting the capabilities of your gender. The ability to read social cues is learned from the time we are babies--all of us. It goes back to being able to empathise with the opposite sex and not seeing them as some other, mysterious, unknown entity. We're really not that complex! We're people, same as you. Our wants and needs are not a massive mystery when you pay attention to both verbal and non-verbal cues.

As to the lack of verbal communication, there are a number of issues that have to be considered. Some are afraid on some level of men, given that constant white noise I spoke about earlier where we're told regularly that a man might try to rape us. Some of us have been raped and unfortunately some natural stress responses cause a person to seize up or clam up against their will.

Secondly, girls have been very strongly socialized to be "nice". Very often, even when it goes against our best interests, we won't say anything out of concern for the other person's comfort or so as not to create conflict.

Thirdly, a lot of us haven't been given the tools to respond in a situation like that. When, again, we have been socialized to see our bodies as communal property--and I won't even get into that as I could write a dissertation but trust me, it's a thing--there's a part of the psyche that doesn't see it as our right to refuse access to something that we've been taught is not entirely our own property.

It's a hard question and there's not an easy answer, but respect and willingness to understand do a whole lot to keep people from making an error when it comes to personal boundaries.

Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaand there's my cue to go to bed before the inevitable sh!tstorm you've just kickstarted ;)

Millie I wasn't trying to be offensive or anything, but you're making the mistake so many women make and assuming guys are also from Venus. That saying exists for a reason - many guys don't have that nonverbal instinct you describe and fly blind without it. As I say, I don't think I'm particularly good at it either, I've just reached the stage where crashing and burning after hitting on a girl I thought was into me is just another funny story to laugh about. But your dismissal out of hand of how hard that can be for some people is a little unfair. "Hurt feeling are a lot easier to deal with than personal bodily violations." - not for everyone, by a long shot. Actually the fact that I don't embarrass easily probably means there's something wrong with me on some level since it's not like this for the vast majority of other guys.

If you expect people to be mind readers, there will be disaster. If you don't like something, say so. Clearly and uncryptically. Why is this such a big deal? I do it all the time and as a result I've rarely had any "misunderstandings" with people going too far? Communication makes life easier for everyone, why (excuse the pun) shy away from it?

EDIT: I'm not insulting my gender in any way, what I'm saying is backed up by years and years of anecdotes, and by threads like these, and by the number of times you hear of guys saying "Does she like me?" and the girl he's talking about saying "Why doesn't he realize I like him???"
    It's just the way it is.

silentrust wrote: »
    Of course the most common misconception is that the most common form is rape by a stranger. As a matter of fact intimate partner rape is by far the most prevalent followed by rape by a trusted friend or relative.

As for stranger rape, travelling in groups, keeping your phone in your hand when going to your car, not leaving your drink unattended should just be a matter of common sense.

What's not helping the issue is when Feminists claim that people who recommend you take safety precautions are indulging in so-called "victim blaming" - if I leave my house unlocked and it is burgled, I do bear some (I say some!) of the responsibility for what happened due to my negligence.

When the property is made of flesh and blood, not bricks and mortar, common sense safety precautions seem to fly out of the window.

We should all just start encasing the lady gardens in cement. That'll fix things.

nikewall wrote: »
    Its Strange that I'd let any half decent one rape me and so would most men but if you try to do it to women its off to the jail with ya. Tis Scandalous, I tell ya, absolutely scandalous. If Mila Kunis wanted to rape me I'd be delighted but if I wanted to rape her I'd be sent to jail to jail. Its stupid, women can go around raping who they want but men get sent to jail for it. Stupid women

Do you not have school in the morning?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 _Myg

Men: If you think that women complaining about rape is bad due to some rationalized reasons/circumstances in your head: Talk to a priest and/or a psychologist asap; get help now.

Women: If you think men are born rapists, don't forget who's responsibility it is to select the right mate, raise, bring up and protect these men from ideas and experiences when they are most venerable and impressionable; you.

If you read Nancy Friday's Beyond my Control you'll see that fantasies of coercion if not rape, both where the woman is the perpetrator and "victim" are very common.

Friday theorises that this may partly be due to the continuing stigma against women expressing their sexual independence, so fantasising about a loss of control releases the woman from the responsibility of what is to follow. Often there is no violence in the fantasies, one example is where a woman is captured by Pirates by use of force and then made to marry the Pirate Captain so none of the other men are allowed to harm her.

She also points out that a fantasy is just that - most importantly if a woman imagines being forced into sex, her imaginary rapist will only go as far as she wishes and if she finds the thought of it disturbing, she can always stop thinking about it - obviously not something that could happen by definition if a real rape is taking place.

Of course I cringe when I type the words "real rape" - I am of course referring to a woman fantasising about the act as opposed to being raped in reality, not drawing a distinction between stranger rape and date rape.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭Cody Pomeray

Wow. And this is the problem right here. The poster has very clearly told you that her boundaries were violated and instead of acknowledging that, trusting her word and saying "well that was shitty; I'm sorry that happened to you", you give her a snotty answer and invalidate her experience because it doesn't fit with your preconceptions.
    Actually I asked here why she didn't just confront the individual. My snotty answer came after she said "why should I have to?" and implied that nobody else had any input since we weren't there. Well, this is a bulletin board, not a diary. What's the point in putting something out there and not generating a discussion?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,554 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

_Myg wrote: »
    Women: If you think men are born rapists, don't forget who's responsibility it is to select the right mate, raise, bring up and protect these men from ideas and experiences when they are most venerable and impressionable; you.

It's not 1950 anymore.

I really think you're insulting the capabilities of your gender. The ability to read social cues is learned from the time we are babies--all of us. It goes back to being able to empathise with the opposite sex and not seeing them as some other, mysterious, unknown entity. We're really not that complex! We're people, same as you. Our wants and needs are not a massive mystery when you pay attention to both verbal and non-verbal cues.

As to the lack of verbal communication, there are a number of issues that have to be considered. Some are afraid on some level of men, given that constant white noise I spoke about earlier where we're told regularly that a man might try to rape us. Some of us have been raped and unfortunately some natural stress responses cause a person to seize up or clam up against their will.

Secondly, girls have been very strongly socialized to be "nice". Very often, even when it goes against our best interests, we won't say anything out of concern for the other person's comfort or so as not to create conflict.

Thirdly, a lot of us haven't been given the tools to respond in a situation like that. When, again, we have been socialized to see our bodies as communal property--and I won't even get into that as I could write a dissertation but trust me, it's a thing--there's a part of the psyche that doesn't see it as our right to refuse access to something that we've been taught is not entirely our own property.

It's a hard question and there's not an easy answer, but respect and willingness to understand do a whole lot to keep people from making an error when it comes to personal boundaries.

Interesting to hear your thoughts Millicent. I was reading the other day about girls giving fake numbers to pushy men who demand their contact details in bars and clubs and wondering aloud to my SO about why they would go to the trouble of doing this when they could simply politely say they weren't interested.

She replied very much along the lines you have here which is that women are socially conditioned to be nurturing combined with a fear that the man will react violently if he doesn't get what he wants.

I am sure no decent man would want to coerce a girl to speak to him out of fear but of course we don't live in a world entirely of decent people.