Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

****Motors Chat Thread Round 4****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Lol

I got pulled for speeding on the way home.. :o I was only like a few Kp/h over the limit. I explained my case that I was excited to get home as I passed and the Garda let me off with a warning. He also said he new my uncle as he is a sergeant..

Keep that quiet or Shatter will be onto ya !

Huffing and puffing (without a green light) he will be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Good man BW, great feeling isn't it.

Also i found a new website, this does not bode well :p

http://www.bimmerforums.co.uk/forum/

I thought you had a red ST?
    Or who has that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

The 5-6 people on here who have/had ST's all had them in blue i think dood

That hurts my brain. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Congrats Bubble Wrap! It's a good feeling alright but the rents are right! The whole learning thing starts now!

@SuperGurrier - Secret fanboi? If you buy a 325i I'll personally drive to Galway and hit ya a smack...:D

In other news, der 156 hit over 90k miles today. 21k km done in the last 7 months! :eek:

However I like to think of her as a fine Italian wine.....she's getting better with age...;):pac:

Well it's the right colour at least.

And yeah, no more 325's, people. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,428 ✭✭✭Dartz

Congratulations...

Now you can forget the whole lot. ;P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

CianRyan wrote: »
    Well it's the right colour at least.

And yeah, no more 325's, people. :p

I reckon a 325 or 525i will be my next motor :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

166man wrote: »
    Congrats Bubble Wrap! It's a good feeling alright but the rents are right! The whole learning thing starts now!

Thanks, I suppose the old folks are right..
    Dartz wrote: »
    Congratulations...

Now you can forget the whole lot. ;P

Thanks.

Ah now... :p

I reckon a 325 or 525i will be my next motor :pac:

Do the right thing, think outside the box. :D

I do like BMW's (we all secretly do) but we've enough of then in this forum.
    And I still maintain, I'll never buy an M3. To many other options. :p
    The look of confusion on Matt S's face when I came out with that at the dyno day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

Well done BW, hope the video I posted helped a little;)
    The pretest on the day really helps as you get to make all your mistakes then and drive properly on the actual test.

BTW, you wont get the pink license you should be getting the Credit card one.

Well done BW, hope the video I posted helped a little;)
    The pretest on the day really helps as you get to make all your mistakes then and drive properly on the actual test.

BTW, you wont get the pink license you should be getting the Credit card one.

Oh yes it did indeed. I also looked at more of the videos on that Channel and save me about 3 or 4 lessons.

Very true, but my mouth was so dry during the test. It was unreal... :eek:

Oh ya, I forgot about that. The paper one is just such a pain to carry around. Or that's how I find it.

CianRyan wrote: »
    Do the right thing, think outside the box. :D

I do like BMW's (we all secretly do) but we've enough of then in this forum.
    And I still maintain, I'll never buy an M3. To many other options. :p
    The look of confusion on Matt S's face when I came out with that at the dyno day.

There's a few cars I'm thinking about but the main requirement is about 150+ hp. My shortlist consists of these:

A4 Avant Quattro
    A6 Avant Quattro
    520/525i M-Sport Estate or Saloon
    Legacy B4 Estate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭Ronnie Beck

Yup.. :D With 5 blues.

Fair play lad!

Brilliant video... :D

Thanks dude. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Only in the North could you get 3 of these in a row. Same wheels on the other 2 and all :)
    Image653.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,842 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

dgt wrote: »
    Only in the North could you get 3 of these in a row. Same wheels on the other 2 and all :)

I'm guessing yours is the one with the contrasting fuel cover! Peugeots used to be very poular late 90s for about 10 years. Not sure why there are fewer of them other than the shift to German "status" brands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

dgt wrote: »
    Image653.jpg

Mismatch panels for that 1980's effect

There's a few cars I'm thinking about but the main requirement is about 150+ hp. My shortlist consists of these:

A4 Avant Quattro
    A6 Avant Quattro
    520/525i M-Sport Estate or Saloon
    Legacy B4 Estate

The B4 is a sweet car but interior wise it will be shat upon by ze Germans.
    Think about a Stagea with an R34 front end. ;)

tuning-nissan-stagea-25-v6-24v-4x4-05.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

Get a 325 dude, you won't regret it! Then I'll actually know someone with an e46 325 in cork which would be handy for tools etc. it's annoying buying 2litres of gear and diff oil when you only need 1.1 litres :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Get a 325 dude, you won't regret it! Then I'll actually know someone with an e46 325 in cork which would be handy for tools etc. it's annoying buying 2litres of gear and diff oil when you only need 1.1 litres :mad:

Used engine oil into the diff is grand shur :pac:

Fuch off, only Fuchs finest sinto oil for my baby :o

Hearing good things about the Fuchs, I stayed loyal to Millers myself, Millers brake fluid, Millers engine oil, Millers gear oil and Millers CVL :pac:

There's 25% off opieoils.co.uk this weekend if you need anything too. Can't remember the code but it's on their facebook

They do that every month or so, handy out

I also got the Evans Waterless Coolant, I was skeptical at the start but jaysis the car runs so much cooler and I could take the lid off the rad when the car was up to temp and running!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,114 ✭✭✭✭eh i dunno

Lads when buying a car off a dealer for cash what sort of discount can I hope to get? If they want 15k could i make an offer of say 13.5k? How much scope for discount do dealers allow?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

eh i dunno wrote: »
    Lads when buying a car off a dealer for cash what sort of discount can I hope to get? If they want 15k could i make an offer of say 13.5k? How much scope for discount do dealers allow?

Depends on the car, if it's well priced for what it is then you might not be able to, if it's overpriced and they want rid then they could bite your hand off.

I reckon if I do get a new car it'll be a 325 or 525. I'm leaning more towards the 5er though as I prefer its looks in M-Sport guise.

Would insurance not be a lot?

And it has to be sepang bronze! :D
    There's a really, really nice 525 e39 around college road. Owner lives up near the lough.
    You can have a decent spin in mine anytime if you want :)