Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Are you law-abiding?

13»

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭tdv123

I take illegal drugs thats about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,377 ✭✭✭Smithwicks Man

tdv123 wrote: »
    I take illegal drugs thats about it.

I think that the majority of people that are going to take them will do so regardless of the law surrounding it.

ie. Making a drug like Cannabis legal isn't going to suddenly make everyone start taking it.

Would you disagree?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 689 ✭✭✭JoeB-

It seems that there are some people who don't smoke cannabis simply because it is illegal.

Silly people in my view of course. I wonder would they stop breathing if the government made it illegal?

I think if all drugs were legalised then usage would increase. But the overall damage to society may nevertheless be less, especially if violence in drug producing countries was considered, i.e Mexico etc.

Is it legal to possess cannabis in Ireland if you have a prescription does anyone know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭Notorious97

I download free music/films, but its on the internet so its not stealing :)

And yes i would download a car if i could!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭Ryuji_w

If the law makes sense to me, yeah i will, But if the law doesn't make sense to me aka is something retarded i wouldn't if the consequences were really big or i didn't know i was sure i could pull off and get away with it.

also if its a case of absolutely having to do it to survive e.g starving to death i would have no problem being a thief and robbing some food if it's to survive, otherwise no i wouldn't break the law

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,871 ✭✭✭rolliepoley

All the laws we have are from the dark ages and the modern laws we have now are just after thoughts from the previous laws,

If you break the law, you dont think of the the law untill after the act of breaking it, so some people are going to break the law weather there is a law in place or not.

So there for the law is a ass and it is not a deterrent, its just most people live on common sence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭FizzleSticks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭looking_around

anyone here who's ever streamed anything online/downloaded music through torrents or mp4 clipping software(to get music from youtube etc)

You have broke the law, and are not a abiding citizen.

And don't play that ye happen to be the one internet user who hadn't pirated anything >.>
    [/Rant] :P
    __
    I'm law abiding....when I think I won't get caught XD

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Law abiding apart from the odd joint here and there and bar whatever stupid stuff I get up to when I'm drunk that may be illegal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

I think the majority of people are law abiding but everyone has one or two that they break on the grounds of having a particular set of beliefs on how to live their own lives. If it doesn't hurt anyone, sure why not.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 47 bus_driver

I fill up my jeep with tractor diesel each week and if I sell anything ( not often ) ,its always for cash

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭tdv123

I think that the majority of people that are going to take them will do so regardless of the law surrounding it.

ie. Making a drug like Cannabis legal isn't going to suddenly make everyone start taking it.

Would you disagree?

Yes, I would agree.

I don't use Cannabis much myself but have no problem with others using it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,141 ✭✭✭Sarn

Forgive me Garda for I have sinned.
    It is alleged that I have jaywalked, speeded in my car, downloaded copyright material and been intoxicated in a public place.

That's what? 27 Hail Marys and 12 Our Fathers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,142 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

I stole some cash when i was younger from a shop, Well a lot of cash :o

Thought it would be grand sure!!

Working away one day and the Branch come in push my head on the counter, handcuffs on and dragged from shop. A bit over the top really but i deserved it.

The judge who was usually in the District Court was sick, solicitor said i was lucky she was as she would have moved me to the Criminal Courts and i was fooked.

The other judge was cool, and kept it in the district court and ended up with a 5 year suspended sentence and 5 years probation.

So i fought the law and the law won.

Jesus looking back, what a fool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Would I hurt or kill someone? No. But if i found a load of money on the street or my NCT was out of date i would definitely be a law breaker in lots of minor ways.