Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

****Motors Chat Thread Round 4****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

We've had some crackin weather lately. As long a string of dry days together as I can remember really. If it wasnt for my stupid exams Id have the car fully DA'd for sure :( instead I have the bonnet, boot, drivers door and wing only done, cant wait til Im past halfway!

In other news, got through to next stage of Air Corp and Navy cadetships.
    Fitness test in Baldonnel on 4th June :D No problem there.
    Online psychometric test for Navy....could pose a problem :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

renofan wrote: »
    I've two cars insured with Axa. One is a Laguna and the other a Micra and both are fully comp for around €750. I just explained that one was a runabout and I wouldn't do more than 5k in a year in it. They have never asked for proof and it must be 5 or 6 years ago now since I first insured both.
    That sounds terrible honestly, I had 5 cars at one point insured for slightly more than that, with the primary being an Audi S8 which attracted a premium due to aluminium shell. Total HP was about 1378bhp, cost to insure was EUR850.
    Been thinking about getting a 2nd car as a runaround (something cheap, reliable and more than 2 seats) :)

What's the best way to go about insurance?
    Classic (which is 13years old+ for insurance purposes, not the 30year for tax purposes) naturally aspirated V8, like a 740i or 540i. Just got my insurance renewal, covers 3 cars, Im 32 and with 3years NCB (was 5 but lost 2 years last year):

Primary car: 740i 4.4l
    850CSi 5.6l
    525i 2.5l

Total: EUR500.

Heres a giant boggle to the crying about car tax on this forum when you can insure said cars (13years and over, big engine, special interest BMW or Merc primarily) for pittance... who the fk cares about tax then hmm?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Wait,what now.Classic insurance for 13 year old cars?thought it was 15

BMWs are consider classic sooner, at least some of them are (the larger and more outrageous the engine size).. :P Even so, that would only be the difference in a 1998 car and a 2000, which is not much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Matt Matt stop talking , you are making me lust after a V8 again :(

In totally coincidential news, did I mention Im now entertaining offers on a 740i? :p

Matt Simis wrote: »
    In totally coincidential news, did I mention Im now entertaining offers on a 740i? :p

I have my eyes firmly set on another BMW V8 after christmas, im not making a thread about it though :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

I have my eyes firmly set on another BMW V8 after christmas, im not making a thread about it though :p

I can see yourself and Sobanek fighting over something like a 518d when the time comes :D

I can see yourself and Sobanek fighting over something like a 645ci when the time comes :D

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQAwD49kWpFZY4_zTuJSExvnrZYniuAgz0prAL1sXQh0uqhk8pc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

We've had some crackin weather lately. As long a string of dry days together as I can remember really. If it wasnt for my stupid exams Id have the car fully DA'd for sure :( instead I have the bonnet, boot, drivers door and wing only done, cant wait til Im past halfway!

In other news, got through to next stage of Air Corp and Navy cadetships.
    Fitness test in Baldonnel on 4th June :D No problem there.
    Online psychometric test for Navy....could pose a problem :pac:

Psychometric is just a load of questions. No backless stools and big lamps shining in your face at 5am..... Yet :pac:

I feel your pain with exams, 2 left, both on Monday. Am I finished then? Like f*ck I am, 2 reports to write up for Wednesday..... :rolleyes:

Think of thursday man THURSDAY !

Also was that your yard in NYYYAAAVAN that the lads got trapped in ? :P

Think of thursday man THURSDAY !

Also was that your yard in NYYYAAAVAN that the lads got trapped in ? :P

True, I should. I should get my head checked though.... :)

Also, wut?! Trapped?! That's the first I've heard of this! :eek::pac:

Be jayypers! No betther woman for the job..... :p They're a bit quare up that end of Meath tbh :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Does anyone know if the mounts in in N15 chassis are universal. Say, would an SR16/20 come straight out of a VZR/Primera and slot into my own yoke?
    I'm just talking fitting now, I know there's electrical work and all else to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

NCT = fail. :(

Driver's side parking brake too weak.

All the rest in perfect condition including emissions way below upper limit (that was actually my biggest afraid).

Retest (7th of june) booked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Success my E46 has been fixed and now drives smoothly.

I need new drop links in the front though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭randy hickey

Has anyone here ever snowfoamed their dogs?
    T'would be a shame to waste the good weather.......

Has anyone here ever snowfoamed their dogs?
    T'would be a shame to waste the good weather.......

My girlfriend's German Shepard could do with it. :D
    From half way back be smells like a ****ty farm. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭Hal1

It's ph netural sure so be grand :pac:.

Gave the boxador a good wash yesterday evening little fecker loves rolling in and eating sheep and cow poo.

Smells like a brand new puppy now again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

I won a black 1997 Toyota Chaser jzx100, 91,000km, Grade 4 today. I am still in contact with the export company in Japan so not much info to go on.

What I do know is I missed the boat and will have to wait for the next one. Could be a long wait, just hope we will still have sunny days when it arrives.

Gave the boxador a good wash yesterday evening little fecker loves rolling in and eating sheep and cow poo.

Smells like a brand new puppy now again

Mine's mad for fox poo, covers herself in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,158 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

I won a black 1997 Toyota Chaser jzx100, 91,000km, Grade 4 today. I am still in contact with the export company in Japan so not much info to go on.

What I do know is I missed the boat and will have to wait for the next one. Could be a long wait, just hope we will still have sunny days when it arrives.

Congrats man! Have any pics for us? The wait is gonna kill ya! (and us:p)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

The Chaser is a lovely car, well wear.

Have you got a link handy to them jap imports you where viewing the last few days, I done a search but I can't find anything good..

Congrats man! Have any pics for us? The wait is gonna kill ya! (and us:p)

I have asked Titan autoworks to bring it to his offices for some work to be done, they are the export company I am using, Its owned/co-owned by an Irish guy called Tom living over in Japan, I asked for picture to be sent then. So yeah a long long long wait ahead.

Congrats, man!
    We'll have to organise a meet when it arrives. :)

If you want to buy from dealers in Japan then use http://www.tradecarview.com/
    They use a service like paypal for buyer protection and a lot of the dealers will have reviews of their services which mostly seem to go to African countries.

I will be putting all the info in a how to guide once I have my car. The other site which is where you will be getting information from all the large auction houses in Japan is http://www.japan-partner.com/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

If you want to buy from dealers in Japan then use http://www.tradecarview.com/
    They use a service like paypal for buyer protection and a lot of the dealers will have reviews of their services which mostly seem to go to African countries.

I will be putting all the info in a how to guide once I have my car. The other site which is where you will be getting information from all the large auction houses in Japan is http://www.japan-partner.com/

Cheers, not buying atall. Just browsing.. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Cheers, not buying atall. Just browsing.. :)

The new donedeal?