The Prince of Burma appreciation thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭carmanard

Not in a mood for stout/porter tonight, I do love a Guinness or six when the occasion demands but feel like something lighter tonight. Couple of IPA's & a couple of weissbiers will set me up nicely, pints of Guinness tomorrow night when watching the Champions League instead. Although maybe I should save the weissbiers for tomorrow in honour of the Germans playing.... Tough call...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

carmanard wrote: »
    Not in a mood for stout/porter tonight, I do love a Guinness or six when the occasion demands but feel like something lighter tonight. Couple of IPA's & a couple of weissbiers will set me up nicely, pints of Guinness tomorrow night when watching the Champions League instead. Although maybe I should save the weissbiers for tomorrow in honour of the Germans playing.... Tough call...

You going to Kelly's?

I'll be down there but might not be til half time. When the little man goes asleep I'll nip out & his granny will mind him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭Oscars Well.

I really need to learn how to drive...

You going to Kelly's?

I'll be down there but might not be til half time. When the little man goes asleep I'll nip out & his granny will mind him

That's the plan anyhow, I probably won't be there before 8 myself as we've 2 different family events to be at tomorrow afternoon/early evening. Should be good craic, Sky or Simons for some decent beers once the game is finished, there'll be no craft beers in Kellys I'm sure!!

Sky or Simons for some decent beers once the game is finished, there'll be no craft beers in Kellys I'm sure!!

Sounds good! Really wanna try the old Metalman ale

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,266 ✭✭✭Juwwi

Colonel Sanders l think this is your type of bet.

both teams to score in champions league final 6/4 with boyles €26 max tho
    both teams not to score is 11/10.
    not great but money for nothing is rare.

http://www.oddschecker.com/football/champions-league/bor-dortmund-v-bayern-munich/both-teams-to-score

also bayern to win to nil is enhanced to 5/1 €24 max

http://www.oddschecker.com/football/champions-league/bor-dortmund-v-bayern-munich/to-win-to-nil

In some countries, working past beer o ' clock on a Friday is a criminal offence. You'll need to take this up with your employer me thinks. Maybe talk to citizens advice.

Haha good idea, i do lates one week earlies the next.friday on the late shift is soul destroying....but a nice days racing tomorrow then on the lash to hopefully see bayern munich win the cup :)

Only two bottles of Galway Hooker left in the shop, had to buy them... Problem is that two Galway Hookers just isn't enough for a night in, so it'll be up to lidl for some franziskaner too I reckon... Sorry Droidman, I don't mean to taunt... :)

Eeerrrgggghhhhh make it easier for me why dont you!!! :(

robbie1977 wrote: »
    Colonel Sanders l think this is your type of bet.

both teams to score in champions league final 6/4 with boyles €26 max tho
    both teams not to score is 11/10.
    not great but money for nothing is rare.

http://www.oddschecker.com/football/champions-league/bor-dortmund-v-bayern-munich/both-teams-to-score

also bayern to win to nil is enhanced to 5/1 €24 max

http://www.oddschecker.com/football/champions-league/bor-dortmund-v-bayern-munich/to-win-to-nil

Cheers Robbie

Tried back Bayern to win to nil earlier, was offered 6 quid so didn't bother. Getting pretty pissed off with bookies lately, becoming almost impossible to have a bet online

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭Overthelast

Cheers Robbie

Tried back Bayern to win to nil earlier, was offered 6 quid so didn't bother. Getting pretty pissed off with bookies lately, becoming almost impossible to have a bet online
    I havnt bet online in years. Cash only is the way to go.

Just got this off one the lads. Knows his onions when it comes to Athletics:

Alright lads, Ladbrokes have priced this race up wrongly,
    they have the field at 7/2 to beat Assefa in the womens 3k steeplechase

http://sports.ladbrokes.com/en-ie/Athletics-c110000016

Chepkirui beat her easily 2 weeks ago and reopposes here, plus you get
    the stragglers as well with this bet.

Should be 4/6 at best I'd say

http://www.diamondleague-newyork.com/Live-StartlistsResults/Overview/Womens-3000m-Steeplechase/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Just landed up to the apartment and found there was no toilet roll after I shat. Had to use a fairy citrus scented wipe. At least my ass smells nice but it's starting to burn

Galway Hooker is good tack alright. I'm hoping the fact the offie sold out of it will encourage them to buy more in. At €3.42 a bottle it ain't cheap & cheerful, but it's got a definite thumbs up from me...

Nice beer, and a nice low abv if you want more than 2 or 3. €3.42 is scandalous though, €3 quid in some of the more expensive off licences in Dublin

A lot of places in Dublin seem to have it on tap as their token effort at non macro

I'm sipping a wheat beer here, not a huge fan of them. If venturing to the Fatherland or its wares I'd rather a pilsner & if at home stout/porter or IPAs are the way I roll usually

It's called Weihenstephaner I think, got very bored in the middle of texting so may have got the last few letters wrong

I'm sipping a wheat beer here, not a huge fan of them. If venturing to the Fatherland or its wares I'd rather a pilsner & if at home stout/porter or IPAs are the way I roll usually

It's called Weihenstephaner I think, got very bored in the middle of texting so may have got the last few letters wrong

That is a quality brew, certainly in my personal top 3 weissbiers. Tesco had it as part of the five for €10 a while back, it's top notch... Paid €3.42 for the bottles of Galway Hooker in Super Valu, they have a very decent selection, but their prices are normally woeful...

One of the lads said Pettits in St Aidan's have a serious selection. No idea about prices though.

Tbh I'm just not a massive Wheat Beer man.

Has anyone tried Molson Canadian? Reading over on the beer forum that its simply another pissy watered down lager ala Bud/Coors Light. Needless to say its supposedly proving very popular with the masses! I remember when I worked with a German company, on trips to Munich the lads would always comment how do Irish people drink so much when the beer they drink in the main is so crap. Never a truer word spoken

It's criminal Molson have bought Franciscan Wells & are spending their marketing budget on that piss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Smashing beer that.

Just got this off one the lads. Knows his onions when it comes to Athletics:

Alright lads, Ladbrokes have priced this race up wrongly,
    they have the field at 7/2 to beat Assefa in the womens 3k steeplechase

http://sports.ladbrokes.com/en-ie/Athletics-c110000016

Chepkirui beat her easily 2 weeks ago and reopposes here, plus you get
    the stragglers as well with this bet.

Should be 4/6 at best I'd say

http://www.diamondleague-newyork.com/Live-StartlistsResults/Overview/Womens-3000m-Steeplechase/

Bwin betting 1.95 each of 2 in a match bet between Assefa & Chepkirui

Ladbrokes pricing it 1/6 Assefa v 7/2 the field looks Ferns Report wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭Cart

Federer avoids both Nadal & Djokovic in the tennis. I want to kiss whoever made that draw.

Colonel I backed ferrer at 14/1 and was hoping he would get federers side in the draw

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Laughed so hard at this. The most well behaved poultry he's ever seen hahahahah

931347_522898361098753_896539941_n.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭ItAintMeBabe

I really need to learn how to drive...

Ill teach you :) tenner a lesson! :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭Oscars Well.

Ill teach you :) tenner a lesson! :P

Not even free for me babe? x

Ladbrokes and skybet even money +5 and -3 respectively on the ulster vs leinster match tomorrow.

Skybet max bet was 118.71 at evs which is absolutely pathetic.

Now we just need Leinster to win by 4!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭Overthelast

Heineken have the Coors franchise for this part of the world. The owners of molson produce Coors. They have brought in that Canadian tap water to compete with Heineken here. It is similar to Coors ie rubbish.

Borissa Dortmund look rather big at 7/2 in a two horse race and have an excellent record against Bayern.

Cart wrote: »
    Colonel I backed ferrer at 14/1 and was hoping he would get federers side in the draw

Of course you were, same as me hoping your man would avoid Nadal & Djokovic

Ladbrokes and skybet even money +5 and -3 respectively on the ulster vs leinster match tomorrow.

Skybet max bet was 118.71 at evs which is absolutely pathetic.

Now we just need Leinster to win by 4!

Skybet have moved their line to 4 points

Federer is 2.72 to back, 3.4 to lay to reach the French Open Final. Last matched at 2.7 but liquidity is awful. Bwin are the only bookie I see betting on it, they're 2.65

Happy enough with the 9/1 so! Best Price 12/1 to win it. it was the obscenely big place price that made me place the bet however. Even if he'd either of the big 2 waiting in the semi 9/1 would be too big

Bwin betting 1.95 each of 2 in a match bet between Assefa & Chepkirui

Ladbrokes pricing it 1/6 Assefa v 7/2 the field looks Ferns Report wrong

4/11 Assefa, 2/1 the field with Ladbrokes now

I'm not going in again but the 2/1 is probably still too big if anyone wants it