Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chit Chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Not around this evening and got a phone call from the oul lad saying he was loading a silage block onto a lad's trailer and in his words...'got the mast stuck in the back of the cab' !!! Like WTF!!! It took all my patience to not loose the head! I'm dreading going down to see what the crack is on Saturday!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭ABlur

Henwin wrote: »
    im filling out a form here at the minute, it asks for a BTE number. any idea what tat is.

Herd number

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

My dad was tipping up a load of dung the other day, when the trailer unhitched, towbar landed in the back window about 6inches away from the seat!!! Lucky escape, but we were blaming eachother for not locking up the hitch on the tractor afterward ha!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Timmaay wrote: »
    My dad was tipping up a load of dung the other day, when the trailer unhitched, towbar landed in the back window about 6inches away from the seat!!! Lucky escape, but we were blaming eachother for not locking up the hitch on the tractor afterward ha!
    Lucy ye could still argue:):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

Legwax,I see the journal has your open day advertised. Some vg pictures of your stock. Would love to travel down for a good snoop!!! The only problem is Galway - Waterford is a fair spin and the weekend is promised good so alot of jobs planned. Best of luck with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

Any one read in the journal the cost of keeping a cow for a year - circa 700 euro. I have been too a few marts recently and the amount of poor stock out there is shocking. I know this year has been exceptionally though, but regardless alot of the weanlings for sale just lacked any quality. 13-14 month old, weighing less than 350 and realising 600 -700 euro. These Lads would be better off with less numbers and more quality. Really and truely how many suckler farmers are even breaking even on their sales?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭SKIPPY150

Whats the cheapest spray for docks etc? Want to spray the silage in the rented land, but I don't want to spend too much on it, as we are only renting it short term.
    CMPP was the cheapest spray that I know of for docks. It will clear what you see now but they will be back in the regrowth.Only thing is that Im nearly certain that you cant use CMPP on grassland now at least not if you follow the letter of the law:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭Chisler2

Whats the cheapest spray for docks etc? Want to spray the silage in the rented land, but I don't want to spend too much on it, as we are only renting it short term.

From Teagasc:-

CMPP Changes:
    
    Straight versions of CMPP-P have or are currently being re-registered.
    Their use on agricultural grassland is being removed.
    
    Products are being allowed the customary one year use up at farm level.
    
    Newly registered CMPP-P products will not be allowed on agricultural
    grassland in 2012 and future years.
    
    When spraying, always remove stock from area being sprayed. Leave at
    least one week before reintroducing stock back into the sprayed area.
    Follow recommendations on spray labels at all times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Any info on info on change in P allowance change. I was informed by a neighbour that there is a relaxation this year because of high level of meal brought on to farms?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

delaval wrote: »
    Any info on info on change in P allowance change. I was informed by a neighbour that there is a relaxation this year because of high level of meal brought on to farms?

Still only talk I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

5kgs of P in each ton of grain going to disappear into air

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

5kgs of P in each ton of grain going to disappear into air

Yeah a relaxation doesn't do much for you if you're using your slurry efficiently does it? It just allows you to spend money on an input you shouldn't really need.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

Mac Taylor wrote: »
    Any one read in the journal the cost of keeping a cow for a year - circa 700 euro. I have been too a few marts recently and the amount of poor stock out there is shocking. I know this year has been exceptionally though, but regardless alot of the weanlings for sale just lacked any quality. 13-14 month old, weighing less than 350 and realising 600 -700 euro. These Lads would be better off with less numbers and more quality. Really and truely how many suckler farmers are even breaking even on their sales?

This is a pet peeve of mine.
    So many lads have no idea what their costs are, they start counting the cost of producing a weanling from the minute it's dropped on the ground. As if the cow was free to keep, and then there is AI charges or a bull to be kept.
    Never mind insurance, electricity, machinery... We did a proper costing a few years ago and were shocked at the results.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭rancher

Yeah a relaxation doesn't do much for you if you're using your slurry efficiently does it? It just allows you to spend money on an input you shouldn't really need.
    It's not a problem where you're using slurry, but grass on land that hasn't got slurry is showing signs of P deficency despite showing adequate P in soil tests last year.... the excessive rain last year followed by the harsh cold spring is whats been blamed.
    As far as I know there is no relaxation

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

Mac Taylor wrote: »
    But even if farmers improove things so that they hit an average of €1000 per weanling, the average suckler herd size is only 15 cows that leaves a profit of 300x15 = €4,500.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Muckit wrote: »
    Not around this evening and got a phone call from the oul lad saying he was loading a silage block onto a lad's trailer and in his words...'got the mast stuck in the back of the cab' !!! Like WTF!!! It took all my patience to not loose the head! I'm dreading going down to see what the crack is on Saturday!!

Ould lad's are all the same. The first week we got our tractor, he cleaned out a stable with the grape and loaded it into the transport box. He stuck the grape in the top of the bedding and lifted the lift with the back window open. Handle of the grape caught the window bar and bent it into a hoop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,886 ✭✭✭mf240

reilig wrote: »
    Ould lad's are all the same. The first week we got our tractor, he cleaned out a stable with the grape and loaded it into the transport box. He stuck the grape in the top of the bedding and lifted the lift with the back window open. Handle of the grape caught the window bar and bent it into a hoop.

Made plenty of mistakes when I was young boss man always let me off the hook.

So I let him work away I know ill be lost without him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

mf240 wrote: »

True enough.

When I think of all the stuff I did as a young lad, he's a great driver :D

But at least I had an interest in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭jomoloney

did you get text from ICMSA ?

fert ext to 30 Sep and first half tonne of dairy cow concentrates discounted

jomoloney wrote: »
    did you get text from ICMSA ?

and first half tonne of dairy cow concentrates discounted

and how is that going to work, knock off a half ton for every livestock unit on the place?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

had an eventful morning, one of our fr heifers was out with neighbours sucklers, we got our one back but in the process one of his mad limo cows went through the ditch on to the road.... by the time we got the jeep out of the field there was no sign of her, searched everywhere.... eventually got her half a mile away in a neighbours yard.. al back where they should be now:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Oh sure after I calmed down and thought about it I smiled to myself thinking of how roles reverse as years go on.

Just you know yourself it's easier replace a piece of glass than a part of a cab. I think what happened is he pulled the hydraulic toplink into the last and rose up the lift without looking behind and it's the lightbar holding the work lights that he's f**ked up.... well I HOPE that's all....

I think oul lad's loose the power of looking behind them as they get older!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭jomoloney

and how is that going to work, knock off a half ton for every livestock unit on the place?

dunno full quote

"first half tonne of conc feed per dairy cow can be discounted when calculating fert allowance"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Put in a 100m stretch of farm road across bogland today. Had the spoil for the surface 50m from one end and weather was just perfect. This stretch really opens the place up and will bring great comfort with all paddocks now linked directly to the farm road. Had the camera out so will post pictures soon;).

jomoloney wrote: »
    dunno full quote

"first half tonne of conc feed per dairy cow can be discounted when calculating fert allowance"

here it is in a complicated way of course :rolleyes:

https://www.agriculture.gov.ie/press/pressreleases/2013/may/title,70390,en.html

discount a half ton of meal for every LU. suppose its a small help but not much at the end of the day its only 250kgs P per 100tons of meal fed which would equate to roughly allowing 1.6tons of TSP which is 16% P per 100 cows

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

just do it wrote: »
    Put in a 100m stretch of farm road across bogland today. Had the spoil for the surface 50m from one end and weather was just perfect. This stretch really opens the place up and will bring great comfort with all paddocks now linked directly to the farm road. Had the camera out so will post pictures soon;).

Looking to do 150 meters of road/track for tractor access here. Had two lads look at it, neither would quote, neither could say how long it'll take, just day rate :pac: Sure answered all my questions lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭Zoo4m8

mf240 wrote: »

You will be....:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭Zoo4m8

Two years ago lad next door rolled tractor, trailer with eighteen ton of barley into a gripe, took the oul lads to sort that one out....

Last year another lad was told to stay on headland with trailers (remember it rained a little!) he knew better got full trailer stuck in middle of field, oul lads arrived on scene to find hymac pulling front of tractor and the trailer axles sitting on the ground!!!

Thank God all ye young fellas are such experts..:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 839 ✭✭✭Dampintheattic

Zoo4m8 wrote: »
    Two years ago lad next door rolled tractor, trailer with eighteen ton of barley into a gripe, took the oul lads to sort that one out....

Last year another lad was told to stay on headland with trailers (remember it rained a little!) he knew better got full trailer stuck in middle of field, oul lads arrived on scene to find hymac pulling front of tractor and the trailer axles sitting on the ground!!!

Thank God all ye young fellas are such experts..:D

I had a laugh at Reilig's old man breaking the back window of the tractor with the handle if the grape.
    When I was a young fella, my old man would be regularly carrying out an investigation as to "which wan if ye effin mullaghers, broke the handle of the fork, or the shovel"?
    Stoney silence was the best response -;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

Muckit wrote: »
    Oh sure after I calmed down and thought about it I smiled to myself thinking of how roles reverse as years go on.

Just you know yourself it's easier replace a piece of glass than a part of a cab. I think what happened is he pulled the hydraulic toplink into the last and rose up the lift without looking behind and it's the lightbar holding the work lights that he's f**ked up.... well I HOPE that's all....

I think oul lad's loose the power of looking behind them as they get older!

Once a man twice a boy is the saying round here. I find its the old man now that keeps going will we buy one of them yokes, only its now i see his reasoning when i was young and asking the same stupid questions.