Unpopular Opinions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Owen_S wrote: »
    Eddie Izzard is a tool.

How come?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

The wire is better than the sopranos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,223 ✭✭✭Michael D Not Higgins

The wire is better than the sopranos

You don't get this unpopular opinion thread, do you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

You don't get this unpopular opinion thread, do you?

Firstly, I presume you agree with me.

Secondly, there are people who use boards that disagree with this statement. If they do, let them respond.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 8,585 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wilberto

Secondly, there are people who use boards that disagree with this statement. If they do, let them respond.

I presume what he means is that more people will agree with that statement than disagree, meaning it's not an "unpopular decision".

I, however, have no opinion on it as I have seen neither. I don't particularly like TV!! Apart from a bit of live sport, and comedy that you can drop in and out of!!

I like both but they're different genres and I wouldn't attempt a comparison. However, I'm basing this purely on IMDB rating, for which The Wire has more votes and is scored higher.

You can't say one good TV show is better than another good TV show and expect that to be a unpopular opinion. In fact, I'd say the split would be even enough.

An unpopular opinion would be "My Little Pony is better than The Sopranos".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

I like both but they're different genres and I wouldn't attempt a comparison. However, I'm basing this purely on IMDB rating, for which The Wire has more votes and is scored higher.

You can't say one good TV show is better than another good TV show and expect that to be a unpopular opinion. In fact, I'd say the split would be even enough.

An unpopular opinion would be "My Little Pony is better than The Sopranos".

Still all a bit relative. I mean: what if you're in a kindergarten?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

Still all a bit relative. I mean: what if you're in a kindergarten?

Then I'd wonder what the parents were doing letting their kid on boards :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,160 ✭✭✭✭HugsiePie

I have never met anybody even remotely like what you just described.

You seem extremely cynical.

Mean much?
    (I go to an all girl school where everyone seems to think they are in a sorority)

Trust me, I'm supposedly one of the "nicest people you'll meet".
    I just simply don't believe that anyone is 100% a pie genuinely nice person, we all have thoseonents where we curse everyone we see (in our heads)

If it helps, I also don't believe there is a person out there who is 100% a genuinely awful person.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

HugsiePie wrote: »
    Mean much?

I just simply don't believe that anyone is 100% a pie genuinely nice person, we all have thoseonents where we curse everyone we see (in our heads)

If it helps, I also don't believe there is a person out there who is 100% a genuinely awful person.

I don't think anyone would claim to be 100% nice as pie. We all have our faults. I have acted like a bit of a cow at various points in my life but I'm still a good person. It sounds like you're at that age where you hate the world. Not to patronise you (although I know I have) but you won't feel that way when you're older. Also people in your year (I'm presuming your a teenager then) are still finding their feet and figuring out who they are. You'll (or they will) do an awful lot of people pleasing into your early 20s as well and then, like a massive weight lifted, you (they'll) won't care anymore. You'll be mature enough and sure enough in yourself to BE yourself. Most people get there, some don't. Teenage years can be a load of bollocks but it gets better and you'll see most people are decent.

Edit: I've been there and I know where you're coming from. Teenage years are rough but most people cop on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,160 ✭✭✭✭HugsiePie

I don't think anyone would claim to be 100% nice as pie. We all have our faults. I have acted like a bit of a cow at various points in my life but I'm still a good person. It sounds like you're at that age where you hate the world. Not to patronise you (although I know I have) but you won't feel that way when you're older. Also people in your year (I'm presuming your a teenager then) are still finding their feet and figuring out who they are. You'll (or they will) do an awful lot of people pleasing into your early 20s as well and then, like a massive weight lifted, you (they'll) won't care anymore. You'll be mature enough and sure enough in yourself to BE yourself. Most people get there, some don't. Teenage years can be a load of bollocks but it gets better and you'll see most people are decent.

Edit: I've been there and I know where you're coming from. Teenage years are rough but most people cop on.

Yeah, I was just p*issed at some people who the world seems to love and are just b*itches behind the curtains.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

Yeah, I was just p*issed at some people who the world seems to love and are just b*itches behind the curtains.

Ah yeah. They're out there. Feck 'em. Don't let them make you doubt that most people mean well and are just doing their best. Again not to patronise you but I wouldn't wish to be a teenager again for all the money in the world. Chin up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Then I'd wonder what the parents were doing letting their kid on boards :pac:

You could be the teacher :pac::pac:

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭MickFleetwood

Mean much?
    (I go to an all girl school where everyone seems to think they are in a sorority)

I didn't mean to come off as harsh, sorry. Just saying you seem overly cynical about the whole angle of overly nice people being horrid or whatever you were trying to convey.

I slightly agree though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

You can generally tell if someone is genuinely nice, or just pretending to be nice. I don't have any issues with the genuinely nice people.
    Now smiley people - that's a different story.
    Fcuking smiley people! Cannot stand them!
    Or overly friendly people - Nothing annoys me more than overly friendly people who smile too much.
    There's the odd friendly person who manages to be friendly without being annoying, but that is quite rare.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭Cody Pomeray

the dental plan thread isn't funny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,996 ✭✭✭latenia

Charles Manson was hard done by and any decent lawyer could have got the case thrown out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,208 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Stewart Lee isn't funny. And he's also a knobend.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 8,585 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wilberto

Cienciano wrote: »

I agree. IMO, he tries to be a more sane version of Milton Jones, which doesn't work. Milton Jones is funny because he makes it work.

Well, assuming Stewart Lee is who I think he is and that I'm not confusing him with someone else!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Mardy Bum

Cienciano wrote: »

He is one of the very few comedians who aspires toward making stand up an art form, he is not everyone's cup of tea though. I agree though that you may not find him funny; the same way some people won't find the Michael McIntyre genre funny. It's subjective.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

You can generally tell if someone is genuinely nice, or just pretending to be nice. I don't have any issues with the genuinely nice people.
    Now smiley people - that's a different story.
    Fcuking smiley people! Cannot stand them!
    Or overly friendly people - Nothing annoys me more than overly friendly people who smile too much.
    There's the odd friendly person who manages to be friendly without being annoying, but that is quite rare.

And then then there's the odd, friendly person who manages to be annoying while trying to be friendly, who is unfortunately all too common! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭RADIUS

Tombo2001 wrote: »
    That there is the popular opinion.

I was presenting the unpopular opinion.

Blame the Guards......easy way out.

I think the majority of Garda are great. It's the soft justice system that makes them impotent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭Festy

Metallica are the most overrated metal band ever.They have two or three good songs at best.Just because your one of the first metal bands around doesn't make you the best,you cnuts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Tommy Tiernan may have sold a lot of DVDs but he is one of the unfunniest around imo

I've seen his Cork accent routine, bloody cringeful. Getting a funny Cork routine and jokes is not difficult, I see more talent in After Hours

Still, the man seems to be a household name

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭Festy

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Tommy Tiernan may have sold a lot of DVDs but he is one of the unfunniest around imo

A poor mans Frankie Boyle

I've seen his Cork accent routine, bloody cringeful. Getting a funny Cork routine and jokes is not difficult, I see more talent in After Hours

His very first live DVD is fantastic, especially his whole 'Declan Moffat from Glenamaddy' routine.

After that though, you're right. He's not the funniest of comedians. He has his moments, like all comedians.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭CHealy

It wasnt even a proper Cork accent, I've never heard anyone talk like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,222 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

I find girls wearing their hair in a "bun" unattractive. There's something "Mammy"-ish about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

I find girls wearing their hair in a "bun" unattractive. There's something "Mammy"-ish about it.

What if they are mammys though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭jugger0

Im a bit racist and i cant help it