Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chit Chat II

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

14 acres of grass seed in today,stones picked barley set rolled,beer beer beeeeeeeeeeeeeerrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

bbam wrote: »
    We've only had 4mm of rain today. The great escape is what springs to mind. Could see rain in the clouds passing us bye.

Went up north to check out a sub soiler this morning. Home made job. Bought it for £60. Brought it home and it works a treat. Ran it on a field and it was perfect, the 885xl can pull it while little more than ticking over.

Girls watching Eurovision, I'm having a few birthday beverages ;)
    Happy B'day ;). Hope the girls are doing the decent thing and getting them from the fridge for you :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 Paddy1951

Any cure for cossaodas blood scour in 3 mts calf thanks paddy 51

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

bbam wrote: »
    , I'm having a few birthday beverages ;)

Happy birthday. I'll raise a glass on your behalf!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

Paddy1951 wrote: »

We'd generally use Sulpha No.2 and Vecoxan.
    Give your Vet a buzz and see what he'd have for the job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

whelan1 wrote: »
    he's no george clooney either

Would ya?:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭Chisler2

hugo29 wrote: »
    Same here but turned ****ty now with drizzle and wind, oh well cows in for another day,
    Yep have sprayer and fert spreader ready to go, told OH she won't see me next week if weather improves, reply on the lines of " what's new" :D

or............'Thank God'!;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

They took 3 dead calves from a stream!!!. This could cause a sh1t storm for every farmer in the country if someone in the government tries to tar all farmers like this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Paddy, our herd rang yesterday about sick calf vet confirmed coccidosis. we treated with 2xlectade, half bimidine powder and 6 cc Baytril aswell as vecoxin we will treat for 3 days. Calf eating and drinking this am seems to have worked. We brought in all calves and treated with vecoxin yesterday also.
    The peculiar this is that we never saw this before. We moved our young stock to a new farm last year and we lost one with it. Is it on some farms and not others?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

Vecoxin and sulpha no2 powders.
    Find the Vecoxin great. Usually see calf improve within 24 hours.

Lots of electrolyte too to make sure they make the best of their feed and the medicines.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

delaval wrote: »
    Paddy, our herd rang yesterday about sick calf vet confirmed coccidosis. we treated with 2xlectade, half bimidine powder and 6 cc Baytril aswell as vecoxin we will treat for 3 days. Calf eating and drinking this am seems to have worked. We brought in all calves and treated with vecoxin yesterday also.
    The peculiar this is that we never saw this before. We moved our young stock to a new farm last year and we lost one with it. Is it on some farms and not others?
    dont birds carry it, are these calves getting meal?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

I went acting like I am ten years younger than I am last night. Got home at 6 so went and did the mornings jobs then. Sent herself and the two terrorists out swimming now. Off to bed til about 4 now. Night all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭jomoloney

whelan1 wrote: »
    dont birds carry it, are these calves getting meal?

yes
    bird droppings . got an outbreak in lambs some years with a poorly designed creep feeder

we always feed nuts to the calves , less likely to attract birds than ration

• Closed Accounts Posts: 472 ✭✭quadboy

I assume its ok to spot spray rushes with mcpa in silage ground thats not closed yet

Glorious afternoon here. Hope to God it's the start of a long Spring!

quadboy wrote: »
    I assume its ok to spot spray rushes with mcpa in silage ground thats not closed yet

How big are they? i.e. will there be a dead mat of rushes in your subsequent cut of silage? I don't see the mcpa itself being a problem.

just do it wrote: »
    How big are they? i.e. will there be a dead mat of rushes in your subsequent cut of silage? I don't see the mcpa itself being a problem.

Mostly small ones that just appeared in the last few weeks

I see the Derrypatrick herd has given up on AI and are running 2 CH and 2 AA stock bulls. When did they introduce AA into the mix?

Mostly small ones that just appeared in the last few weeks

Can't see it being a problem then

Did them there just now with the quad sprayer, great yoke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Picked up a quad sprayer myself afew months back and only hooked it yday. Very handy defo, spent 30mins doing a field with alot of docks, not enough for a proper spray but wayy too many to lug a knapsack sprayer around. Will try to do each of the paddocks after the cows graze them off, got all the silage ground sprayed a month ago, 1/2 the battle done so officially going to declare war on docks ha.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

Cows and calves all gone out, ground surprisingly good after all the rain yesterday, god it feels great to see them out, :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

What would you consider strong, I have same problem, mine were cut to the bone 3 weeks ago and are just starting to come back, was going to spray them Tuesday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,886 ✭✭✭mf240

Cows and calves all gone out, ground surprisingly good after all the rain yesterday, god it feels great to see them out, :D

With the weather looking like its taking off I can't help feel like I used to feel all those years back on the last day of school before the summer holidays.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

What would you consider strong, I have same problem, mine were cut to the bone 3 weeks ago and are just starting to come back, was going to spray them Tuesday

There is no problem at all doing stronger ones too..
    Theyre dead and dried out by cutting and do no harm..

Bit like having a handful of straw baled into the silage..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

I went acting like I am ten years younger than I am last night. Got home at 6 so went and did the mornings jobs then. Sent herself and the two terrorists out swimming now. Off to bed til about 4 now. Night all.

I was in bed about 45 minutes when the auld man rang. A Belgian blue embryo calf on the way. Caesarian job. All turned out well. A good bull calf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

I see the Derrypatrick herd has given up on AI and are running 2 CH and 2 AA stock bulls. When did they introduce AA into the mix?
    They are phasing in more traditional breeds for the next trial as far as i know. Iit was mentioned last year at their open day.

Did them there just now with the quad sprayer, great yoke

What other bits and pieces have you for the quad?

Just went out for a smoke. Bulling heifers in the paddock behind house. Absolutely no activity whatsoever for the first time in the months. They're finally contented, grand summers evening every one of them lying down cudding nice to see after they spent the past couple of months bawling at any sign of activity.