Who here hates nightclubs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Since getting a girlfriend going to a nightclubs seems like the most pointless place on earth to be. Like going to McDonalds after having my dinner.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 38 Potentially Toxic

I enjoy walking around through nightclubs whilst eating apples, bananas and popcorn. The looks you get are priceless. Yes I'm eating an apple, get over it, I'm hungry you clown.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

Ah, I wouldn't say I hate them, but I'd prefer not to be in one all the same. When it comes to that time of the night when everybody is wanting to go, I just say **** that, get myself a bag of chips agus cheeseburger and bate on home.

You'll be as drunk as you can happily get at that stage, still with money in your pocket, and if you're really desperate you can just give yourself a hand shandy in the bathroom when you get home. Everybody wins!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Hate them. In fact I couldnt think of anything worse than to spend a Friday or Saturday night elbowing past drunken groups of people trying to show off around their mates, and then when you get to your group everyone is paralysed drunk and talking absolute rubbish and women either keep up their stand-offishness thats expected of the Irish or they open their legs to show how easy they are and people are vomiting and being loud and obnoxious. Yeah, great.

Give me a decent pub with good friends and intelligent talk any day of the week (cue cries of "Dryarse" "Boring" etc). Sad that the nightclub is so revered in Ireland culture.

iDave wrote: »
    Since getting a girlfriend going to a nightclubs seems like the most pointless place on earth to be. Like going to McDonalds after having my dinner.

I nearly rather clubs when you have a girlfriend, its a much more relaxing experience. I would go just as much now as when I was single and to be honest most of my group of friends (lads and girls) are all going out with people but we would still have a great time in the clubs. Standing around drinking and chatting and if people want (mainly girls) they can have a dance. I like the atmosphere of a club for just standing around with friends, darker, strobe lights, louder and better music* etc. They usually wait open later than late bars too so more drinking time which is key :D

I like late bars too but sometimes you just cant beat a club.

*before someone mentions something about the music being bad in Irish night clubs I want to hear chart music when I'm in a club, mixed in with a few classic dance tunes etc basically the normal music you hear in clubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

I can't stand them - I like to be able to talk to people when I'm out, sit down and drink good beer, and can't really do any of that in a nightclub. Paying into somewhere is crap too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 Moofster

I hate nightclubs... the music, the people in there, nothing for me. I prefer going to a pub and have a drink with a few friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

I went to nightclubs in my 20s and still go occasionally but don't have a huge interest in them anymore, some of the nightclubs in Galway used to be good but I prefered it when the age to get in was 21 as it generally kept the drunk 18 year old little tossers out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 jessicaxxx

i hate them i get so bored! up untill i was 23 i loved them but now i would much rather be in a house with friends drinking or in a pub having a good chat so i can sit down my feet dont get sore from standing up for 3 hours in heels, i can hear people talking and i dont get pushed stood on or have a drunk guy try to hump me on the dancefloor o god im getting old!!

I dont really see the point going to them if you are in a relationship i think most people only go to find some to shift and bring home for the night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Why bring Allah into this?

Because Allah is a DJ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭zcorpian88

Always hated them, they pretty much abolish conversation so you tend to drink more.

Worked in one when I was 18 too, it just brings me back to working in one whenever I end up in one against my will on a night out.

I mean in most clubs it takes forever to get around the place, takes yonks to get a drink at the bar, they are often full of obnoxious useless idiots looking to spend their dole money.

Give me a regular pub any day with half decent music. Most nightclubs have been sticking to the same old shyte for years, Tiesto and Mark McCabe, time for DJ's to change the playlist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,755 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

I hate nightclubs, thank fully I can count on one hand the number of times I've had the misfortune of ending up in one.
    Much prefer somewhere with only background music, where you can actually talk to the people you are out with without having to scream at them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,159 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

I'm a 21 year old female, I'd much rather a pub with good company and a bit of trad :)

Give me an overcrowded nightclub over trad music any day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Norwesterner

Last time I was in a club in Ireland, they were playing slow sets every half hour and the Soldiers Song at the end.
    I expect its even more manic today, full of poxy students sending endless text messages, techno, and complete inability of getting drunk without someone pointing a camera phone at you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Give me an overcrowded nightclub over trad music any day.

Specially when everyone has to stop talking to listen to some girl wail out a lonesome oirish song.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Norwesterner

Specially when everyone has to stop talking to listen to some girl wail out a lonesome oirish song.
    Can you talk in a night club?
    Without shouting, I mean.
    Hard to beat sitting in a snug, pint of stout or hot whiskey, turf fire smouldering away in the corner, Boolavogue playing in the background. Some giggly Biddy grabbing your leg.
    No contest to the feigned atmosphere of a club.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,533 ✭✭✭SV

I enjoy walking around through nightclubs whilst eating apples, bananas and popcorn. The looks you get are priceless. Yes I'm eating an apple, get over it, I'm hungry you clown.

Why would you tell them to get over it? You're obviously doing it for attention, to get a reaction. Sounds like the actions of a clown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

... But you meet such great people in nightclubs :|

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Ugh! the more I think about the more I hate the idea of being in one. I think I convinced myself I liked them during the 18-25 phase. The thought of ever getting dragged into Coppers again and have some thicko from Sligo or wherever knocking my pint over becaue he thinks hes a great dancer or having to shout WHAT! in someones ear when they try to say something to me makes me shudder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,046 ✭✭✭RayCon

add 18th's , 21st's , 40th's and 50th's to the list of **** I hate going to.

Weddings and funerals are just about OK (except for the dead person at the funeral)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 astronut

Give me a late bar any day. It's nice to actually be able to talk to the people you're with

• Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭rox5

ToddyDoody wrote: »
    ... But you meet such great people in nightclubs :|

Please tell me your joking! :confused: You must have great people to socialise with in nightclubs where you are from then, u lucky thing! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Can't stand them myself, loud music, overpriced drink and usually some feckless gobshíte from the local rag going around annoying you to pose for a picture

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,463 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

SV wrote: »
    You need to discover predrinking and sneaking in yourself a naggin.

Then the nights get a whole lot better

Pretty good sign of the place being a ****hole if you can only enjoy yourself while wasted.

I'm 28, and have never enjoying nightclubs.

Full of wasted, roaring knackers and tramps.

Having to go knuckles and elbows to get to the bar is far from fun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,113 ✭✭✭SilverScreen

I mostly go to a nightclub on a Wednesday night. Free entry with a stamp, cheaper drinks, don't have long to wait at the bar, more room to move about/sit down/have a piss/stand in the smoking area and of course less dickheads. The place might only be half-full, but it's way more fun than it being so wedged that you can't get from the bar to the smoking area without one or two wasted eejits bumping into you and spilling half your pint. Same shit music though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭D-FENS

I'm 36, the last time I went to a nightclub was a year ago for my wife’s birthday, the time before that was my stag in 2007.
    The last time I enjoyed being in a nightclub was 1997 when I took two California dream ecstasy tablets, barfed on the dance floor (discreetly, only a friend saw it) and some random dancer slipped in it, it was hilarious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

D-FENS wrote: »
    I'm 36, the last time I went to a nightclub was a year ago for my wife’s birthday, the time before that was my stag in 2007.
    The last time I enjoyed being in a nightclub was 1997 when I took two California dream ecstasy tablets, barfed on the dance floor (discreetly, only a friend saw it) and some random dancer slipped in it, it was hilarious.

Sounds like a brill night all right :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

Not really into nightclubs myself anymore unless some event is on, much prefer pubs or late bars but guess that is my age and the crowd I would be amongst as often be over 21's/23's late bars of course some be over 18's. Showing my age late 20's now but like yourself I was probably like that at your age OP, got sick of the nightclub scene I kinda stopped going to nightclubs when 23/24 onwards tended to go to late bars more often. I tend to just go where the crowds are and where its a good spot to go out in but sometimes can be very quiet...depends on the night.

I still go to a nightclub the odd time but the money isn't worth it really, late bar is where its at and you can dance for free depends what time you in some have a rule alright about time free in before hand then pay to get in after a certain time. Haven't been to a nightclub in a while but been a while since I've been out.

No big deal i've been sober going to nightclubs and bars so difference. You can still have a good night without a drink but I do know what you mean the affect and so on you probably enjoy clubs more if you are drinking but makes little difference if you are or not!

Good choice Rox5, best to not drink at nightclubs, bars/latebars be a bit less seedy at least bars/latebars have a better atmosphere though depends on who you with and the crowd that is out. Music plays a part too not just company and what you drink. Better to enjoy yourself than worry about not enjoying a night out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

You have better chat and banter in bar/latebars like. Buzz and atmosphere be good and they may cater for the type of music you into might be the case in cities more so than in towns maybe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭D-FENS

Sounds like a brill night all right :rolleyes:

Ah well, guess you had to be there ;)