What beer are we drinking this week ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

just picked up 4bottles of howling gale ale,and 4bottles of barefoot bohemian pils.both by the 8degrees brewing company in cork.looking forward to tasting these

That pilsener is seriously one of my favourite beers, just so clean, crisp, and perfect.
    Scortho wrote: »
    It's a lager though. There's very few that are special.
    It'll do we'll though because its nicer than the other lagers on the market so will chip away at it. It only needs a tiny share of the lager market in Ireland to be sustainable.

Ah now, there are some fantastic lagers, albeit if they're mostly found in Germany. Augistiner Helles and Spaten Oktoberfest to name a couple.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 263 ✭✭upforit101

Hi

Where to get Kindred Spirit in Dublin? Work close to Deveney's which don't stock it. Do Sweeney's Glasnevin stock it? I live close to there!

I got it in Baggot st Wines, might be a bit out of your way but it's worth ringing ahead to see if they have it in stock.

http://baggotstreetwines.com/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 155 ✭✭Andre Salmon

Hi

Where to get Kindred Spirit in Dublin? Work close to Deveney's which don't stock it. Do Sweeney's Glasnevin stock it? I live close to there!

Lilac Wines have it on Philipsburgh avenue in Fairview.
    I got a bottle over the weekend

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭squonk

I had a bottle of Mikkeller Milk Stout last night. Lovely sweet taste followed by a coffee/chocolate bitterness. Very much in your face as taste goes. It's not a beer you'd be throwing back but extremely nice really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

Hi

I'm usually in Sweeney's (probably too often) so will keep an eye out for it. Haven't noticed as my last couple of visits I've gone straight for the special offers table.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,011 ✭✭✭cHaTbOx

Schloss Eggenberg Samichlaus Classic from Redmonds. What a lovely beer. Didn't expect much for a 14% beer but is very very nice

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

Ok lads. It needs to be said, so im just going to say it.

There is no such thing as "Black IPA".
    It's just hoppy fecking stout.

There, I said it, and I mean it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,592 ✭✭✭drumswan

"White IPAs" are all the rage on the west coast of the US these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭Martyn1989

drumswan wrote: »

Yeh getting a lot of them in Calgary, some are made with Belgian style yeast strains, others are wheat/IPA hybrids, not my thing personally but some really good stuff

like Deschutes "Chain Breaker"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭Martyn1989

Seaneh wrote: »
    like Deschutes "Chain Breaker"?

A perfect example

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 12,128 Mod ✭✭✭✭BeerNut

Seaneh wrote: »
    There is no such thing as "Black IPA".
    It's just hoppy fecking stout.

There, I said it, and I mean it.
    21st Amendment's Back in Black tasted nothing like a stout to me. I doubt I'd have been able to tell it was a dark beer if drinking it without looking first; likewise Mikkeller's Sort Gul.

I think there are a lot of "black IPAs" that you can say would pass as porter or stout, but there are others that wouldn't, in my experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

BeerNut wrote: »
    21st Amendment's Back in Black tasted nothing like a stout to me. I doubt I'd have been able to tell it was a dark beer if drinking it without looking first; likewise Mikkeller's Sort Gul.

I think there are a lot of "black IPAs" that you can say would pass as porter or stout, but there are others that wouldn't, in my experience.

Yeah, a blind taste wouldn't lead you think a lot of Black IPA's are hoppy stouts. No roastiness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Lucena

It's a lager though. There's very few that are special.
    It'll do we'll though because its nicer than the other lagers on the market so will chip away at it. It only needs a tiny share of the lager market in Ireland to be sustainable.

Just so ye know, questions are being asked as to the Irishness of the product. No definite answer yet, but ye might want to have a look through this (especially the last few pages) :

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056484010

BaZmO* wrote: »
    Yeah, a blind taste wouldn't lead you think a lot of Black IPA's are hoppy stouts. No roastiness.

Had the Sierra Nevada Blindfold the other day and its well into porter/stout territory with its roast malt. Then again I had the Firestone Walker Wookey Jack Black Rye IPA and the Southern Tier Inequity late last year and they are firmly in the american IPA zone.

Had the Sierra Nevada Blindfold the other day and its well into porter/stout territory with its roast malt.
    Hmmm, interesting. I was going to say that SN's Stout and their Porter would be definite precursors to the Black IPA style, in that they're traditional to their respective styles, but with a load of late hop additions. My experience with Black IPAs so far is that they've tended to have little to no roastiness.

I have to get and try the Blindfold over the weekend.......if there's any left!!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 12,128 Mod ✭✭✭✭BeerNut

Blindfold is lovely, but I wouldn't have blinked if it had been labelled as a stout.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Scortho

Lucena wrote: »
    Just so ye know, questions are being asked as to the Irishness of the product. No definite answer yet, but ye might want to have a look through this (especially the last few pages) :

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056484010

Trust me, I know!
    Think it was mentioned that the kegs are brewed in Ireland.
    I've no problem drinking creans or any beer so long as they're nice. Where they're brewed doesn't bother me.
    Creans I've found to be ok and as far as lagers go its not bad, but there is so much better out there beer wise. Most of my favourite beers aren't brewed in Ireland anyway.

The only thing I really liked about creans was the beer glass that's sitting on my desk!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Lucena

Trust me, I know!
    Think it was mentioned that the kegs are brewed in Ireland.
    I've no problem drinking creans or any beer so long as they're nice. Where they're brewed doesn't bother me.
    Creans I've found to be ok and as far as lagers go its not bad, but there is so much better out there beer wise. Most of my favourite beers aren't brewed in Ireland anyway.

The only thing I really liked about creans was the beer glass that's sitting on my desk!:)

Where something is brewed doesn't bother me too much either, as long as everyone is upfront about what they're doing.

Wouldn't be much of a lager drinker myself, but as most people do drink lager, it's always good to see new products appearing to try to draw people away from the Holy Guinness-Bud-Heino Trinity.

Where something is brewed doesn't bother me too much either, as long as everyone is upfront about what they're doing.

Wouldn't be much of a lager drinker myself, but as most people do drink lager, it's always good to see new products appearing to try to draw people away from the Holy Guinness-Bud-Heino Trinity.

It's not even about being upfront in this case. It's the fact that they are being so blatantly Oirish with this one, with the name and also calling it Irish Craft Beer, that they deserve to be called out on it. It's an ok beer, as lagers go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Scortho

Yep which is why I think creans will work out. I read somewhere that 60% of beer drank in Ireland is lager. With the push creans are getting, they probably will be successful. A year ago I hadn't even heard of them, now their bottles are readily available in supermarkets and most pubs who stock a craft beer, but who's main business is macros seem to have either creans or O haras.
    It is nicer than the mainstream lager, but at the same time is probably one of the worst craft beers going, primarily I think because its a lager and they're tough to brew.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭Prop Joe

BaZmO* wrote: »
    It's the fact that they are being so blatantly Oirish with this one, with the name and also calling it Irish Craft Beer, that they deserve to be called out on it.

i read on another forum that there was rumours it was being brewed elsewhere which troubled me deeply (As i have been a big supporter of them the last few months) but I know now for a fact they are brewing the lager in Dingle,What happens after is anyones guess but i asked a mate of mine living in dingle and he said he see's the malt being dumped out into a silo every evening.

plus the fact the brewery is open to the public every day of the week,wouldnt make much sense to have it open to the public if they werent brewing there.

Prop Joe wrote: »
    i read on another forum that there was rumours it was being brewed elsewhere which troubled me deeply (As i have been a big supporter of them the last few months) but I know now for a fact they are brewing the lager in Dingle,What happens after is anyones guess but i asked a mate of mine living in dingle and he said he see's the malt being dumped out into a silo every evening.

plus the fact the brewery is open to the public every day of the week,wouldnt make much sense to have it open to the public if they werent brewing there.
    I think they brew some here and some elsewhere (the bottled beer).

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭squonk

It's a while since I had Creanes. Last pint I had was at the Craft tent at the Ocean Race here and it sat alongside Trouble Taps and Hooker taps. I've been pretty supportive of them by spreading the word and was delighted to see them making inroads around the country. I''m not a lager drinker really so wouldn't be their main customer but I'm not that impressed that they've gone quiet regarding the entire truth of where the beer is brewed. I know they're trying to ramp up and create a viable business but if they even said they were brewing bottles somewhere else for volume reasons but had plans to expand their Dingle plant and bottle there in the next 2 years or something, then I'd understand. As is, it doesn't make them any different from a large scale producer really. I'm a Leann Follain & Hooker many myself really and I'd be much happier supporting these brewerys as they're very upfront about where their product is coming from.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 31,170 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Was it sent anywhere in Limerick, by any chance?

To answer my own question, Eight Degrees' Kindred Spirit is in the Next Door offie in Limerick (on the Fr. Russell Road, near Dooradoyle/Raheen).

Also...

Good gods this is delicious!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

I'm having a Rochefort 8 tonight, I think. Started with a Dark Arts Porter which tasted surprisingly blander than usual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,491 ✭✭✭stuchyg

Grayditch wrote: »
    I'm having a Rochefort 8 tonight, I think. Started with a Dark Arts Porter which tasted surprisingly blander than usual.

8 is defo my favourite of the Rochefort brews.

To Ol Dangerously Close To Stupid

omg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

stuchyg wrote: »
    8 is defo my favourite of the Rochefort brews.

That was pretty delicious. That could become a favourite of mine. Infact I think it just did.

Had a pint of Wind Jammer on cask in Salt House last night, tis lovely.