Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chit Chat II

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

I was down in Kerry today. On the way home I think I counted 5 different 4WDs pulling trailers of hay. The difference in 10 miles or so was incredible. I was passing cut silage, (maybe zero-grazed) to bare fields with hungry wet cattle in them. God, land types change every few miles in Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 839 ✭✭✭Dampintheattic

pakalasa wrote: »
    I was down in Kerry today. On the way home I think I counted 5 different 4WDs pulling trailers of hay. The difference in 10 miles or so was incredible. I was passing cut silage, maybe zero-brazed to bare fields with hungry wet cattle in them. God, land types change every few miles in Ireland.

Was in co-op this evening. 450 names down on the list, for hay from the next load!!! Where would you be going?

It's bitter cold here this evening.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭GERMAN ROCKS

how much is land making in Australia. turned on home and away even though I never watch it and was thinking to myself that I wouldn't mind farming out there in that weather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,886 ✭✭✭mf240

how much is land making in Australia. turned on home and away even though I never watch it and was thinking to myself that I wouldn't mind farming out there in that weather.

Never mind "home and away" if this weather continues I'm going to end up "away in a home"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

mf240 wrote: »
    Never mind "home and away" if this weather continues I'm going to end up "away in a home"

I'd say a lot of us will be sitting beside you

Have to head out to shed now to be met with a chorus of boos , how does one say in cow language "sorry no fodder left" and ye have to sit in until Saturday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

With droughts that last the better part of a decade mixed with wild fires and floods, no thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭adne

With droughts that last the better part of a decade mixed with wild fires and floods, no thanks.

Throw in snakes and termites in there too ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

hugo29 wrote: »
    Have to head out to shed now to be met with a chorus of boos , how does one say in cow language "sorry no fodder left" and ye have to sit in until Saturday
    i wear slippers around the yard so they dont hear me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

adne wrote: »
    Throw in snakes and termites in there too ..

Not to mention the spiders.

And the women they seem scary too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

kevthegaff wrote: »
    i wear slippers around the yard so they dont hear me!
    If you're seen in that kind of attire in the yard , you could be sent "away in a home " yourself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

FFS Evelyn. ..... shag off with your misery of a forecast

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

FFS Evelyn. ..... shag off with your misery of a forecast
    dont watch it.... you are only annoying yourself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

whelan1 wrote: »
    dont watch it.... you are only annoying yourself

The old fella just rang. Giving out about the weather and how the cattle will walk the grass into the ground with this ****e weather. He only got his knee replaced 2 weeks ago today and cant go out and look at them. So I get the phone call every evening after the forecast - venting frustration

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭jomoloney

unreal down pour for 4 hours this pm
    cows left in to night, :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

The old fella just rang. Giving out about the weather and how the cattle will walk the grass into the ground with this ****e weather. He only got his knee replaced 2 weeks ago today and cant go out and look at them. So I get the phone call every evening after the forecast - venting frustration

Try living with him
    as a female
    who puts every AI on for the love of dad say
    'Jaysus thats a beaut of a heifer'

I love my da. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Don't knock the auld fellas!

Passed a field in the midlands today looking at hunched up calves during a shower coming at horizontal. Then in the hedge I noticed an auld fella with usual three quarter length heavy coat, wellies and cap, .... and a new shiny crutch! Probably had the hip done but happy out standing in the ditch out of the rain observing the cattle :).

just do it wrote: »
    Don't knock the auld fellas!

Passed a field in the midlands today looking at hunched up calves during a shower coming at horizontal. Then in the hedge I noticed an auld fella with usual three quarter length heavy coat, wellies and cap, .... and a new shiny crutch! Probably had the hip done but happy out standing in the ditch out of the rain observing the cattle :).

Maybe it was the grim reaper you seen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

The old fella just rang. Giving out about the weather and how the cattle will walk the grass into the ground with this s ****e weather. He only got his knee replaced 2 weeks ago today and cant go out and look at them. So I get the phone call every evening after the forecast - pain nting frustration

Mine got his hip done back in Jan, spent a month in hospital, 1st time in something like 40 yrs he'd been in hospital for more than afew hrs. I got the same, lots of phonecalls about anything and everything, but in fairness to him it was all so far removed from his normal life, hospitals are tough going, and very boring at the best of times. I ended up giving him some of the paperwork to do, calf registrations etc, kept him busy and took his mind off everything else for a while at least.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭sheebadog

Off topic,but---what's going on. I'm farming in France and have a large amount of surplus fodder. I read this thread daily to keep up things at home. So I think to myself contact Co-ops and make them aware of what I've available. No real interest. Answer I get is send it into us and we'll sell it for you. Now I'm not a merchant and into organizing transport etc. so why so little interest?? Answers on a postage stamp........!!
    Btw on a bit early here but an hour ahead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

Hot weather next Thursday week :D (24 May 2013)
    http://www.wetterzentrale.de/pics/avnpanel1.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭Tipp Man

sheebadog wrote: »
    Off topic,but---what's going on. I'm farming in France and have a large amount of surplus fodder. I read this thread daily to keep up things at home. So I think to myself contact Co-ops and make them aware of what I've available. No real interest. Answer I get is send it into us and we'll sell it for you. Now I'm not a merchant and into organizing transport etc. so why so little interest?? Answers on a postage stamp........!!
    Btw on a bit early here but an hour ahead.

Hey sheebadog, where abouts in France are you? What's your enterprise?

If you don't mind me asking

Tipp Man wrote: »
    Hey sheebadog, where abouts in France are you? What's your enterprise?

If you don't mind me asking

West, just south of the Loire.
    In decending order
    Arable
    Dairy
    Beef
    Poultry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

can you still get guards to sign some form to say vehicle was off road if you want to tax it and want to avoid the back tax

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭Tipp Man

sheebadog wrote: »
    West, just south of the Loire.
    In decending order
    Arable
    Dairy
    Beef
    Poultry.

How do you find farming in France v farming in Ireland??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

can you still get guards to sign some form to say vehicle was off road if you want to tax it and want to avoid the back tax

As far as I know ya still can

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

pakalasa wrote: »
    Hot weather next Thursday week :D (24 May 2013)
    http://www.wetterzentrale.de/pics/avnpanel1.html

I hope to jaysus your right pak

Tipp Man wrote: »
    How do you find farming in France v farming in Ireland??

Now very easy in comparison. Things very difficult for you at the moment.