D4 accent

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32 heinz hummer

My favourite way of summing up this debate:
    "We're on da lash! Oi'm with me creew! We're gettin' sh!t faced! Going OOO OOO OOO!!!"
    "We're on the lock. Loike oh my gawd. We're tewtally gee-oyed. Going yaw, yaw, yawwwwwwww" ;)
    in moy loike towtal elementch

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

dublin accent:whats eh story me aul flower jiwant tea?

belfast accent:alrate haya doin will yee have a cyup of teaaaaaaaaaa? deeedle eeedle eeedle eeeee

I have never heard anyone from Belfast say 'deedle eeedle eeedle eeeee' and I'm in it most days. Are you feeling ok?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Also its not tied to one place to anyone can pick it up and better themselves with out feeling they sound out of character.
    Eh wut? We really don't want to be going down the route of received pronunciation like in the UK. So long as someone's accent is clear in diction that should be about it. Affecting any accent(rather than picking it up by osmosis, some do this more than others)is not a good reflection on a person IMH. They're denying their own personal history. Hearing a perfectly good Cork or Galwegian accent in a parent when their child is affecting that mid atlantic nasally twang is like fingers down a blackboard for me.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

kennryyr wrote: »
    Much rather the D4 accent to the scumbag accent to be honest.

At least you can tell from a distance that they don't usually sell drugs / rob cars / want to stab you with a screwdriver

Do a lot of D4 people shout at you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

"Tarquinn what the hell do you want now. ....We're gewing out on the lash again!? Are you taking the pistachio???"

owe moi godge, i sow cont believe you jus said that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,123 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

"Heavy traffic building from the ite-bind site-bind rindabyte"

moy momm is a senioor pardner in kay eff see

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,497 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Some amount of begrudgery going on here its just an accent, I'd rather complain about the Wexford, Louth, Cavan, Athlone accent.
    More people live in SoCoDu than in many of these places why shouldn't 't they have an accent that developed from years of elecution lessons

obviously a d4 head

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

OMG.
    Totally Jealbags peeps on here. So horsch roight ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

nothing wrong at all with the D4 accent, opens alot more job opportunities for people and is one of the easier accents to understand. Also its not tied to one place to anyone can pick it up and better themselves with out feeling they sound out of character.

People need to grow up

And what exactly is wrong with a Cork accent or a working class accent or a northern accent? Basically you're admitting yourself the D4 "accent" is more of a social construct as opposed to a genuine manner of speaking. The notion that people have fabricated an accent in order to sound superior and differentiate from those who aren't full of exclusionary social-climbing b*llocks is laughable to be honest.

And you're telling people to grow up? Personally I think any eejit who lies about who they are because of misguided shame needs to grow up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭Cody Pomeray

ted1 wrote: »
    Some amount of begrudgery going on here its just an accent, I'd rather complain about the Wexford, Louth, Cavan, Athlone accent.
    More people live in SoCoDu than in many of these places why shouldn't 't they have an accent that developed from years of elecution lessons
    Posters trying make a simple point like "hey why does that kid speak differently to their parents" or "why did the Dart bring an American accent that wasn't here 2 generations ago?" and suddenly you're a "bregrudger".

Sorry but when someone starts speaking in this surreal voice that seems to have come from nowhere, are we the ones with the issue?!

It's not that it effects those of us who notice it... it's just... odd.

edit:

elocution lessons? maybe i missed the sarcasm, you must be taking the piss there. obviously no elocution teacher would be teaching a dart accent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭Dazzler0911

Boggers/Pikies gonna hate :cool:

whats a pikie?? you mean pikey??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭ado100

Blame Ross O'Carroll Kelly - roysh? But it's just as bad as the bogger "Turty Tree and a Turd"!

whats a pikie?? you mean pikey??

Pikey, Scumbag, Knacker, Howya...you know what I mean

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Chazz Michael Michaels

krudler wrote: »
    Would still rather hear that than the "ah jayyssuus bud me bleeeedin' head wha?" Dub accent.

Truly, the worst accent in the country is this one. It's like being stabbed in the eardrum.

Give me that over a bogger accent anyday. Biggest turnoff for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,297 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

krudler wrote: »
    Would still rather hear that than the "ah jayyssuus bud me bleeeedin' head wha?" Dub accent.
    1 is real the other is fake;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,297 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

ado100 wrote: »
    Blame Ross O'Carroll Kelly - roysh? But it's just as bad as the bogger "Turty Tree and a Turd"!
    What accent have you? posh British :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭conorhal

Wibbs wrote: »
    Eh wut? We really don't want to be going down the route of received pronunciation like in the UK. So long as someone's accent is clear in diction that should be about it. Affecting any accent(rather than picking it up by osmosis, some do this more than others)is not a good reflection on a person IMH. They're denying their own personal history. Hearing a perfectly good Cork or Galwegian accent in a parent when their child is affecting that mid atlantic nasally twang is like fingers down a blackboard for me.

It's more then just an accent though, it's more like a banal, reductive dialect. It's 'like' you removed every adjective from the english language and replaced it with the word 'like'.
    It's as if we took a language with the soul of a poet and replaced it with a language with the soul of Rachel from Friends, god know's we'll, like, sooo never, see the 'likes' of WB Yeats emerge from Dublin 4 ever again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭ado100

Sam Kade wrote: »
    What accent have you? posh British :rolleyes:

Oh my gawd no!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Worst accents in Ireland
    West cork, Waterford , 'norn irelan' and Dundalk
    Dundalk is absolutely disgusting accent

Worst accents in Ireland
    West cork, Waterford , 'norn irelan' and Dundalk
    Dundalk is absolutely disgusting accent

I agree. Basically anywhere outside Dublin. Poison

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

I prefer the "howya" accent, it's much richer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

pmcmahon wrote: »
    Suprisingly the majority of people I meet with D4 accents don't even come from Dublin.

Nope it's a Dublin thing, not a 'culchie' one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Ilyana 2.0

One of my friends slagged me not too long ago for my 'posh D4 accent'. I go to college in Dublin, I live there most of the week and most of my classmates are from South Dublin. It's not surprising that I might start speaking in a D4 accent. Why anyone cares, I don't know.

If I went to college in Cork, I'd have a Cork accent. My accent is just bendy, it changes without me trying. I hate the assumption that someone who lives in Dublin and speaks like a South Dublin resident has changed their accent on purpose, to try make themselves sound 'better'.

Ilyana 2.0 wrote: »
    One of my friends slagged me not too long ago for my 'posh D4 accent'. I go to college in Dublin, I live there most of the week and most of my classmates are from South Dublin. It's not surprising that I might start speaking in a D4 accent. Why anyone cares, I don't know.

If I went to college in Cork, I'd have a Cork accent. My accent is just bendy, it changes without me trying. I hate the assumption that someone who lives in Dublin and speaks like a South Dublin resident has changed their accent on purpose, to try make themselves sound 'better'.
    lies

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

Ilyana 2.0 wrote: »

If I went to college in Cork, I'd have a Cork accent. My accent is just bendy, it changes without me trying. I hate the assumption that someone who lives in Dublin and speaks like a South Dublin resident has changed their accent on purpose, to try make themselves sound 'better'. It's rarely the case.

LOL.
    Face it, you're putting on the accent and now you're just trying to justify it.
    Call me cynical but If you went to college in Cavan I doubt you'd come home with that accent somehow.