Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UPC Horizon Set Top Box trial

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭pelluci

Regarding the HD channels, why have some SD channels been replaced by the HD version (off the top of my head TG4, Sky Arts 2 and Disney Channel) and not the others.

Not being able to skip un subscribed channels is a pain too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭dak

Due to get the Horizon box on Thursday! I was reading the manual and it advises that a long press >2 seconds speeds up flicking through the channels and EPG. Does this function work properly ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,150 ✭✭✭mollser

dak wrote: »
    Due to get the Horizon box on Thursday! I was reading the manual and it advises that a long press >2 seconds speeds up flicking through the channels and EPG. Does this function work properly ?

It does work, but very difficult to control, who knows when and where it will stop scrolling!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 SR97

dkane wrote: »
    My Horizon box is being delivered today.
    The biggest pain for me is going to be sorting out the desktop PC and phone.
    Currently the UPC modem is upstairs beside PC and I have the phone wired up to all the phone sockets around the house.

I can understand from UPC's point of view that it is nice just having a single CPE unit with the Horizon box but it means I'm going to have to get a wireless interface for my PC and will have to move the phone to beside the box as I don't have either a LAN or phone socket near the TV and it's not practical to run either.

Has anyone else here with the same issue bought an 802.11n wireless interface for a desktop PC? Any recommendations? I'm also worried that placing the cordless phone base station next to the Horizon box will effect my WiFi signal...
    Get a twin phone, turn the phone for the main base (plugged into box) off and just use the second phone and plug it in where you usually keep your phone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,403 ✭✭✭paulboland

What speeds are people getting using wireless connection to horizon box and what range of speed you getting in your home what % of connection you getting around your home
    And wired connection what speeds you getting
    Wired connection for me will not be a problem but I need to know what speed horizon box users getting using wireless and if signal strength around all of your home is like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭Evilbart

mollser wrote: »
    Installed the box on Saturday so had a couple of days using it - main points so far:

1. Now/Next browsing is poor as has been mentioned several times above. They need to add the basic functionality of the old boxes to quickly zoom through the channels and ability to scroll through the programs for the remainder of the evening. The old boxes (and sky, freesat and Samsung TV Saorview EPG) do this, and quickly - this is the single biggest failure of this box.

It is so slow to browse the now/next EPG through the channels - used to be able to continue watching RTE1 and have browsed right through the music channels in probably less than a minute, it seems to take that long to even get to the 200's at which stage I get bored. I have found that it is now more necessary to remember channel numbers to get to the channel you want quickly.

2. Page down/up in Guide. Very frustrating to have to go down one by one, if you hold the down/up button it scrolls quickly but you've little control as to how far it will go, it can go a bit nuts when you do this!

3. HD channels often lose the picture, only a reboot fixes it.

4. Deleting programs in the recordings menu - 5 button presses as above rather than a simple press of the blue button - wtf

5. Remote control - Not a major complaint, but the way it's designed really feels like you're using the 'back' of the control the whole time - you would expect the qwerty keyboard to feel like the back of it, not the front. Its to do with how the sides are angled.

6. Has locked up once so far, the 4 year old got very upset!

7. Doesn't skip over unsubscribed channels as it used to.

8. HD channels should replace their SD variants on the EPG, as Sky do.

9. Fast-forwarding though Recordings - still can't skip through playback minute by minute quickly, you have to leave it on fast forward until you get to where you want to be. Have never seen another box that is so primitive in this regard. UPC, take a look at Sky/Samsung as to how this should be implemented.

Pros

The picture quality is superb, I was amazed at the TG4 HD picture during the leinster game, the SD channels look better too.

The apps are great, loving the Irish Times and The Journal implementation of their apps, well done UPC on this part. The Dailymotion app is super too, will be very good when youtube works properly.

Broadband hasn't switched over yet, and am not looking forward to that either as the desktop is connected by Ethernet into the modem at present, expecting the speeds to drop significantly if that needs to rely on wifi.

I can't see this box replacing my media sharing between the Samsung Tv and Serviio from the desktop which works flawlessly and so smoothly, I think UPC have acknowledged that the horizon box won't manage large libraries well.

All in all the box is fast, guide loads instantly, channel changes are instantaneous, if they can fix the now/next browsing it will be a joy to use. But at the moment very frustrating because of the EPG and the fast forward failure.

Agree with everything said here very good analysis of the box so far and what they need to implement to improve it,hopefully the feedback surveys arrive soon and they can listen to the frustrations and fix them,it has so much potential

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭gar

Got this last week and overall happy enough.

I have had to restart the box twice. seemed to hang at 6am this morning according to the clock.

Picture has been grand.
    Guide is a pain without a page up/down
    Also not jumping through unsubscribed channels.
    My wifi range seems to be improved compared to my old dlink 655 router.
    I can't seem to assign fixed ip addresses but I have not tried that hard.
    Seems to be having issues seeing the contents of my popcorn hour... no biggie.
    not tried the on demand yet.
    agree with previous comments that the menu is overly complicated.
    I do like the channel preview when you are scrolling through the channel.

One thing I noticed which i liked was I was watching a program from the start and about half hour in i knew I would not see the end so hit record. came back to it the next day and it had recorded the whole episode not just from where I had pressed record.

Gar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭dak

Before I ordered the Horizon package I spoke to a Horizon team member who told me that everyone on the trial had to use the integrated modem in the Horizon box. I wasn’t happy with this as my existing TV box and modem are not close to each other in the house.

When I put in the order I accidently deleted the e-mail asking me for the card number of the HD box I was returning. I rang sales and spoke to a very nice sales person. She went through everything including cost etc and asked me was I happy. I explained that my current setup was not suited to having one consolidated box as the modem and phone connections were about 50 feet from the TV and would require an engineer to wire cat5/6 cabling if I had to use The Horizon Modem.

She understood my issue and said straight away that she would send out an unconsolidated box so that I could keep and use my existing modem and just use the Horizon box for tv. She also increased my broadband speed to 100mb while I was on the phone. ( I’m going to check the speed again tonight as I was only getting circa 80mb yesterday evening)

I am now awaiting the arrival of the box on Thursday and it will be interesting to see if my old modem remains active and if it works as ordered.
    Despite what the Horizon team member told me initially the UPC website does sate that you can separate you tv and internet/phone services.

Reading this thread it appears that quite a few Boardies have received consolidated boxes and have had their old modems deactivated. I hope I’m not in the same boat on Thursday!

Friend of mine just received the self install package,turned everything on welcome screen appears but the remote will not function at all he changed batteries still no joy,as the technician installed mine I don't now if you have to activate the remote somehow with a self install or is he just so unlucky he got a dud remote any ideas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,513 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Evilbart wrote: »
    Friend of mine just received the self install package,turned everything on welcome screen appears but the remote will not function at all he changed batteries still no joy,as the technician installed mine I don't now if you have to activate the remote somehow with a self install or is he just so unlucky he got a dud remote any ideas
    Self-install: mine worked out of the box. Just needed to pull the tab off of the battery that prevents contact. He/she did remove the little plastic tab with the arrow on it, right? ;)

Haha yeah they did remove the tab guess it was just a faulty remote:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭Technoprisoner

paulkeno wrote: »
    Every so often my audio and video goes blank for a second, it can vary from an hour to a couple of seconds apart. its not the signal to the box because if I rewind I can watch the blanked out part. Is anyone else having this problem. I have a Philips TV (40PFL7605h), I read somewhere back that the box might have compatibility issues with Philips TV's. Its driving me mad at this stage, would it have anything to do with the HDMI cable, I did a self install and had to get a longer HDMI cable due to the box being wider than my shelf unit, and it now sits on top (HDMI cable is BUSH, not high speed, Argos was the only place open).

Not really impressed so far, the record 4 and watch a 5th program is one of few highlights. it would be better if it just showed us now and next program instead of having to press multiple buttons, way too many menus to go through to find stuff. Also in my recordings it doesn't tell you what series the show is from, just the episode (maybe I just cant see it). Also the buttons on the remote are a little too close together for my fat fingers, and a page up/down would have been nice to have.

overall I think the nerds in UPC were trying to be too clever with fancy interfaces and functions and left out the simple tasks most normal people used in the previous box. (press blue to delete show, now its press ok on show, press down 5 times to delete, which is right above the DELETE EVERYTHING option).

Back to my original problem, anyone know how to fix the intermittent loss of signal, if I cant get this fixed the box is going back, already getting an earful off the misses for changing over.

engineer came today and there was nothing he could do to help...when i explained about the problems in Holland with philips tv's and the hdmi connection he knew what i was talking about as they had a similar problem when sky brought out its hd box apparently

So i finally got the horizon box after an ordeal with DPD.

Anyway, done the self install with no real problems. It took about 20 mins connecting to UPC, presumably provisioning itself. The remote could operate my TV out of the box most likely due to my Tv being a Samsung as well.

The navigation to the EPG isnt very intuitive, i would of expected a traditional browse left and right through single channel to remain. But instead are left with a fat, sluggish way to browse up and down. I find the mini preview of the channel as you are browsing totally unnecessary and is going to the main culprit in slowing down the browsing.

I've never been a fan of guide view, this one looks very Dreambox/Enigma ish but slower.

It shouldt be the case that its quicker to change to the next channel than to browse to next channel in the EPG. Which is currently the case, i will probably flick through the channels more now as its really quick thanks to another tuner pre tuning it.

Other than that it nice enough and it has potential, they just really need to trim some Phat and make it more streamline.

Setting up the Wireless was fine, on a quick test i go 68mb via wireless, will test over Ethernet later.

Hopefully it will be a continued effort to improve and im willing to give it a chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭goose06

engineer came today and there was nothing he could do to help...when i explained about the problems in Holland with philips tv's and the hdmi connection he knew what i was talking about as they had a similar problem when sky brought out its hd box apparently

I've a philips tv and I am not getting any of these issues.

goose06 wrote: »
    I've a philips tv and I am not getting any of these issues.

what model?

even upc know of it

http://vragen.upc.nl/app/answers/detail/a_id/1045/~/verkleurd-beeld-op-de-horizon-mediabox (use chrome to translate)

http://forum.upclive.nl/thread.jspa?threadID=7950

i found a list last night that had about 40 or so philips models that had compatibility issues

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭nakano3153

gar wrote: »
    Got this last week and overall happy enough.

I have had to restart the box twice. seemed to hang at 6am this morning according to the clock.

Picture has been grand.
    Guide is a pain without a page up/down
    Also not jumping through unsubscribed channels.
    My wifi range seems to be improved compared to my old dlink 655 router.
    I can't seem to assign fixed ip addresses but I have not tried that hard.
    Seems to be having issues seeing the contents of my popcorn hour... no biggie.
    not tried the on demand yet.
    agree with previous comments that the menu is overly complicated.
    I do like the channel preview when you are scrolling through the channel.

One thing I noticed which i liked was I was watching a program from the start and about half hour in i knew I would not see the end so hit record. came back to it the next day and it had recorded the whole episode not just from where I had pressed record.

Gar

To assign a static IP address, choose one outside the pool given out by the DHCP (I think its set up with a pool that goes up to 65 or so, so an address ending with, say, 70, will work).

what model?

This guy 37PFL8404H/12

http://www.p4c.philips.com/cgi-bin/dcbint/cpindex.pl?ctn=37PFL8404H/12&slg=en&scy=GB

I should say that once I set colour to RGB instead of automatic, previously I had thought it needed to be 1080i & RGB but it seems that have it set Auto appears to be the cause of the issues.

goose06 wrote: »
    This guy 37PFL8404H/12

http://www.p4c.philips.com/cgi-bin/dcbint/cpindex.pl?ctn=37PFL8404H/12&slg=en&scy=GB

I should say that once I set colour to RGB instead of automatic, previously I had thought it needed to be 1080i & RGB but it seems that have it set Auto appears to be the cause of the issues.

you may have gotten lucky. heres a list of tvs that are having the problem with horizon....have a look at how many philips models seem to have a problem

http://www.supportforum.philips.com/en/archive/index.php/t-8514.html

thing is my model isnt on that list so you can add the 42pfl7606h/12 to the list

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,355 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Got the home install today and set it up with relative ease. Having problems setting up the Home Media however as it keeps saying there's no devices detected depsite the fact that my Mac is now connected to it and using it for internet - have Twonky installed too.

you may have gotten lucky. heres a list of tvs that are having the problem with horizon....have a look at how many philips models seem to have a problem

http://www.supportforum.philips.com/en/archive/index.php/t-8514.html

thing is my model isnt on that list so you can add the 42pfl7606h/12 to the list

Mine is and I'm not having the issues described.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,827 ✭✭✭unklerosco

Got mine installed today, had an engineer come out as wee needed a new point installed. Told him I wanted to keep my Cisco router for broadband as I have it in bridge mode and have my own router/server setup as I work from home.. He said it wasn't a problem, installed the box and it's working fine. My broadband is still coming in via the cisco router and I'm just trying to get the horizon box connected to my network via wifi now...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭Virgin Media: Eamonn

We can assure you that we are passing all relevant feedback on this thread to our Horizon Team who are very keen to hear all your feedback.

If anyone has individual issues they would like us to check please PM UPC: Reps with your account details, and we will follow up with you.

We would also reiterate that that the service you are currently using is a beta version, not the final mass market product which will be released.

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,479 ✭✭✭Hootanany

I was told by the Rep the trial is over and it just a pre release machine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,207 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Hootanany wrote: »
    I was told by the Rep the trial is over and it just a pre release machine

The alpha trial is most likely over (hence the new remotes and software)
    This is the Beta phase by the looks of it. Dunno how they missed as much as they appear to mind you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 492 ✭✭onform

Has anyone else had issues with reminders not working? I set a few today and they registered on the program (Clock Icon etc.), but did not remind me (Nearly missed Home and Away because of it :D).

My impressions of the box so far are mixed, I'm not blown away by it. Would agree with previous comments that there needs to be a better now\next view.
    (The best method I can find is if you hit 'Back' and then arrow up and down, or if you go to the guide and select 'Single Channel View')

The Wifi seems to work fine for me on channel 10 (default).

The engineer spent a good while installing Twonky on my laptop and got me to download the android app. I'm not too impressed with that app, the android app. keeps dropping the connection. The PC version seems to be stable for me though.

I have a Philips TV (37PFL5604H) and no isues for me connected on HDMI since I got the box yesterday (I did set the colour to RGB from the start though).

onform wrote: »

The engineer spent a good while installing Twonky on my laptop and got me to download the android app. I'm not too impressed with that app, the android app. keeps dropping the connection. The PC version seems to be stable for me though.

Jesus, did you have the poor lad messing about on your laptop, surely that part is for the end user to do. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 Kingkenny76

Getting my box tomorrow; can anybody confirm what the wireless signal strength is like?
    My current wireless signal in the bedrooms isn't great @ the minute and I'm hoping this improves it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 492 ✭✭onform

cisk wrote: »
    Jesus, did you have the poor lad messing about on your laptop, surely that part is for the end user to do. :)

No, he did this off his own bat. I thought he wanted to just check that the WiFi was working.

The install of Horizon itself took about 20 mins all in. He said that some boxes he had seen take over an hour to be provisioned.

He said he had the Horizon box himself and found Twonky useful, so fair play to him I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,754 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

Got my new Horizon machine installed last Thursday by an engineer and have two problems....

1. Incoming caller ID not displaying on my phone. I had the phone service before I got the Horizon box so this problem is solely down to the new h/w. My number displays fine with outgoing calls as before. Spent half an hour on the phone with technical support last Friday but they couldn't fix it.

2. On the UPC mobile app on my Apple iTouch it says that I have a 'UPC Horizon Gateway' but says it says that remote record 'is not available for this service'. The older UPC DVR box used to work with remote record. On a PC web browser it doesn't work either... 'To remotely schedule recordings you must have a UPC Digital TV subscription with a Digital+ set top box.' :confused:

Think I must have a turkey.

Anyone else experiencing some programs not displaying in widescreen,for example I am watching the Simpsons now on rte 2 but it displays a black box on each side like its 4:3 or something but as soon as the ads come on its back to 16:9