Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sleeve tattoo with something to remember irish ..........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭An Coilean

If our deed has not been sufficient to win freedom, then our children will win by a better deed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Or how about " Remember the General Belgrano "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭Peetrik

Nodin wrote: »

I got one of those put on about a month ago. Seriously :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

An image of the fighting Irishman with a caption underneath reading "Come out ye black and tans," the proclamation of independence tattooed across his back and a few "Michael Collins 32's" or "Bobby Sands 1916's" here and there for good measure.

Seriously, there's no way you can do this that won't turn out horrible. Is your friend aware of the type of people who generally get these things?

Peetrik wrote: »

Fair play, ye mad fecker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭le la rat

Maybe he should get an Irish wizards sleeve

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭Schnitzel Muncher

A full Irish with a few cuts of buttered soda bread and mug of tae.

As opposed to a full English.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,255 ✭✭✭✭Esoteric_

I did not need to see a hairy arse cheek. :(

OP, a pint of Guinness. Sorted.

tootsy70 wrote: »
    An english friend on mine is getting a sleeve tattoo and was asking me do i know anything he can put on it to remember the struggle of the irish people at the hands of the english because hes sympathetic to what went on after studding our history, has family from our island, thou it hasnt to be anything thats going to stand out like a sore thumb.

I was going to suggest a quote from bobby sands or other well known republicans but cant see him sticking this on it. Was even thinking of a small celtic cross or even a harp but dont think that would be classed as something associated with our struggles. Any idea folks

The Phoenix rising, or cuchulaiin tied to the rock. The warning is that if execured badly, they'll look shiter than shite.

Esoteric_ wrote: »
    I did not need to see a hairy arse cheek. :(

There is a lot less cleavage on display there than the average work blouse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Chabals Beard

That picture of Micheal Dee Higgins riding a BMX

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 8,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fluorescence

Nodin wrote: »
    The Phoenix rising, or cuchulaiin tied to the rock. The warning is that if execured badly, they'll look shiter than shite.

Let's be honest here - ANY tattoo he gets of this subject matter will be shiter than shite.

Yeah, but I like boob cleavage (despite being straight). It tends to be less hairy. :(

:) we like seeing (hot) women's cleavage, we don't like seeing a blokes hairy arse / legs. :(

That picture of Micheal Dee Higgins riding a BMX

A Hobbit tattoo would be cool alright.

:) we like seeing (hot) women's cleavage, we don't like seeing a blokes hairy arse / legs. :(

Sexist

Sexist

Happy to be called that in this instance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

What about a Celtic team photo but with all of the players faces replaced with people like Bobby Sands, Michael Collins, Wolfe Tone etc? It could be like the Irish spastic version of Sgt Pepper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

Bless my innocence. And to think I was trying to figure out if that was the back of his arm...

I must have clicked the wrong link.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 94 ✭✭15Pete

Unless he has relatively big, muscular arms he is just going to look stupid or like a skanger, as is the case with most men who have sleeve tattoos.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

tootsy70 wrote: »
    An english friend on mine is getting a sleeve tattoo and was asking me do i know anything he can put on it to remember the struggle of the irish people at the hands of the english because hes sympathetic to what went on after studding our history, has family from our island, thou it hasnt to be anything thats going to stand out like a sore thumb.

I was going to suggest a quote from bobby sands or other well known republicans but cant see him sticking this on it. Was even thinking of a small celtic cross or even a harp but dont think that would be classed as something associated with our struggles. Any idea folks

How about the apology the IRA never issued to the parents of the kids they murdered in Warrington, or the families of the two Australian tourists they murdered in Germany, or perhaps the excuses they gave for not handing over the bodies of the innocents they "sissappeared"?

Oh Jesus. It's begun...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,514 ✭✭✭bennyineire

A mate of mine has a pretty cool tat on his back, basically its a claw that looks like its ripping off a piece of skin and underneath the skin is a tricolour.
    So he's showing that no matter what is Irish underneath

A mate of mine has a pretty cool tat on his back, basically its a claw that looks like its ripping off a piece of skin and underneath the skin is a tricolour.
    So he's showing that no matter what is Irish underneath

Personally, I find that having an Irish accent gives away the fact that I'm Irish, without tattooing it on my body.

Tbh though, I have a tattoo written in Irish. :pac:

Gerry Adams in a leprechaun outfit with a pot of gold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

An image of the two world trade centre towers with a wreath and the words 'Always remember 9/11/2001' under them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 734 ✭✭✭Tom_Cruise

Either a shamrock with wording 'im irish as a shamrock' underneath or a large picture of the Rock of Cashel on your back with the wording 'Queens visit - Rock of Cashel 2011'.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,278 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Lucky charms.