Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sleeve tattoo with something to remember irish ..........

• 12-05-2013 6:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭

An english friend on mine is getting a sleeve tattoo and was asking me do i know anything he can put on it to remember the struggle of the irish people at the hands of the english because hes sympathetic to what went on after studding our history, has family from our island, thou it hasnt to be anything thats going to stand out like a sore thumb.

I was going to suggest a quote from bobby sands or other well known republicans but cant see him sticking this on it. Was even thinking of a small celtic cross or even a harp but dont think that would be classed as something associated with our struggles. Any idea folks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭Prodigious

Tiocfaidh ár lá?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

How about a Mr. Potatohead?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 835 ✭✭✭kingcobra

The Irish flag would probably be the best and most obvious option

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2 DirtMcGirt

A tattoo of Cu Chulainn

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

A burning effigy of the Bayeux tapestry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

An bhfuil cead agam dul go dti an leithreas

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Going to look stupid

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Bobby Sands not eating a burger

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Clandestine

Tell him its an empty gesture and he should save the money/armspace

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

How about this verse from "Irish Blood English Heart"

I've been dreaming of a time when
    The English are sick to death of Labour
    And Tories, and spit upon the name of Oliver Cromwell
    And denounce this royal line that still salute him
    And will salute him forever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,904 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

A bag of taytos?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭tootsy70

loving the replies lol.

Hes actully getting a sleeve done but just wants something small added to it in honour of the irish struggle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

Peig Sawyers with a pipe and a strap-on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭Prodigious

The entire anthem?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭MomijiHime

A potato

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

A fighting Irish leprechaun.....have yet to see one of those that hasn't looked well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

Thierry Henry smiling like a smug pr*ck

tootsy70 wrote: »
    loving the replies lol.

Hes actully getting a sleeve done but just wants something small added to it in honour of the irish struggle

What about a Leprechaun with a bulldog in a headlock.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭Precious flower

Why Bobby Sands? I don't feel he represents Irish struggle for the whole island whatsoever. I feel that's a very recent part of our history and may get him into trouble. I think people could respect a quote by James Connolly or Michael Collins or someone from that era, at least that wouldn't offend people as it was a while ago in our history.:)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,225 ✭✭✭Yitzhak Rabin

Something along the lines of 'Fùck da brits and da queen' perhaps emblazoned across a Celtic jersey.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭the keen edge

Iconography depicting a badly Tarmaced driveway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

Unless you're actually into tattoos, the forearm sleeve is the male equivalent of the tramp stamp.

Reminds me of a guy who passed me in a wifebeater vest the other day. Certainly wasn't the day for it (In truth there's never a day for those abominations!) and when I looked back at him, he'd a pair of angel wings tattooed on his shoulder blades!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭tootsy70

Why Bobby Sands? I don't feel he represents Irish struggle for the whole island whatsoever. I feel that's a very recent part of our history and may get him into trouble. I think people could respect a quote by James Connolly or Michael Collins or someone from that era, at least that wouldn't offend people as it was a while ago in our history.:)

I agree but then again, dont think he'd put a quote on. Itll prob just have to be a harp or a celtic cross because cant really think of anything else. Ill prob come up with something good after he gets the tatt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

"We'll never forget you Bobby Strand"

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 8,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fluorescence

Maybe a potato with an X over it? To mark his pledge never to touch a potato again in his life, in sympathy for our struggles.

Or Terry Wogan and Gay Byrne in the nip, hugging.

• Administrators Posts: 54,424 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Tacky-tastic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

How 'bout these words "Sleeve tattoo with something to remember irish" ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭Auldloon

A few words from the proclimation of independence eg "We declare the right of the people of Ireland to the ownership of Ireland"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭Dancor

Gerry Adams big smily bearded face.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭An Coilean

If our deed has not been sufficient to win freedom, then our children will win by a better deed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Or how about " Remember the General Belgrano "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Peetrik

Nodin wrote: »

I got one of those put on about a month ago. Seriously :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

An image of the fighting Irishman with a caption underneath reading "Come out ye black and tans," the proclamation of independence tattooed across his back and a few "Michael Collins 32's" or "Bobby Sands 1916's" here and there for good measure.

Seriously, there's no way you can do this that won't turn out horrible. Is your friend aware of the type of people who generally get these things?

Peetrik wrote: »

Fair play, ye mad fecker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭le la rat

Maybe he should get an Irish wizards sleeve

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭Schnitzel Muncher

A full Irish with a few cuts of buttered soda bread and mug of tae.

As opposed to a full English.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,255 ✭✭✭✭Esoteric_

I did not need to see a hairy arse cheek. :(

OP, a pint of Guinness. Sorted.

tootsy70 wrote: »
    An english friend on mine is getting a sleeve tattoo and was asking me do i know anything he can put on it to remember the struggle of the irish people at the hands of the english because hes sympathetic to what went on after studding our history, has family from our island, thou it hasnt to be anything thats going to stand out like a sore thumb.

I was going to suggest a quote from bobby sands or other well known republicans but cant see him sticking this on it. Was even thinking of a small celtic cross or even a harp but dont think that would be classed as something associated with our struggles. Any idea folks

The Phoenix rising, or cuchulaiin tied to the rock. The warning is that if execured badly, they'll look shiter than shite.

Esoteric_ wrote: »
    I did not need to see a hairy arse cheek. :(

There is a lot less cleavage on display there than the average work blouse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Chabals Beard

That picture of Micheal Dee Higgins riding a BMX

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 8,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fluorescence

Nodin wrote: »
    The Phoenix rising, or cuchulaiin tied to the rock. The warning is that if execured badly, they'll look shiter than shite.

Let's be honest here - ANY tattoo he gets of this subject matter will be shiter than shite.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,255 ✭✭✭✭Esoteric_

Yeah, but I like boob cleavage (despite being straight). It tends to be less hairy. :(

:) we like seeing (hot) women's cleavage, we don't like seeing a blokes hairy arse / legs. :(

That picture of Micheal Dee Higgins riding a BMX

A Hobbit tattoo would be cool alright.

:) we like seeing (hot) women's cleavage, we don't like seeing a blokes hairy arse / legs. :(

Sexist

Sexist

Happy to be called that in this instance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

What about a Celtic team photo but with all of the players faces replaced with people like Bobby Sands, Michael Collins, Wolfe Tone etc? It could be like the Irish spastic version of Sgt Pepper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

Bless my innocence. And to think I was trying to figure out if that was the back of his arm...