Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭jomoloney

whelan1 wrote: »
    being serious here, will you make any money on the friesians, how much have they cost you and what will it cost to have them fit for sale, feck all trade for them in the mart, best time to get rid of friesians is 10 days old!

Ennis mart last Thursday FR bullocks 680 kgs . €1480, , I'd say they left more money than some of the coloured cattle selling up to €1700

They were good quality BR type not the yokes for drying clothes on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,262 ✭✭✭jaymla627

we had savage problems with phuemonia this year 50 out of 55 calves went down with it turned out to be ibr in the end after waiting for a month for test results we found nuflor/selectan/marbiocl all useless, would work for a week calf would be gone down again switched to using zactran along with ibr vaccination totally cleared the problem wouldnt use anything other than zactran/draxin on calves with phuemonia it might seem dearer but works out the same when lower dose rate is taken into account

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

jomoloney wrote: »
    Ennis mart last Thursday FR bullocks 680 kgs . €1480, , I'd say they left more money than some of the coloured cattle selling up to €1700

They were good quality BR type not the yokes for drying clothes on
    what age where they? what amount of feed would they have in them, spoke with a neighbour last week, he had kept his fr bull calves , fed them silage and meal all winter and he said they put no weight on at all..... expensive to be keeping them imo.... maybe finished ones are good prices in the mart but store trade for fr bullocks is poor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

being serious here, will you make any money on the friesians, how much have they cost you and what will it cost to have them fit for sale, feck all trade for them in the mart, best time to get rid of friesians is 10 days old!

I think this is a lesson being learnt the hard way by me here I'll admit, I should have taken my 50/70quid then for them and been done with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭Neddyusa

What isyour soil ph like? Dandelions are often a sign that land needs lime.
    blue5000 wrote: »
    Is it just around here or has every blooody dandelion in the country gone to flower in the past week?:mad: Grass is scarce enough without having to spray them.
    Reseeded field, right next to a large limestone quarry, on my way to and from work. It's plastered with dandeloins:eek:

Dandelions actually thrive in a high Ph and fertile soil so lime not likely required Blue5000!

http://www.gardenorganic.org.uk/organicweeds/weed_information/weed.php?id=7

They are also highly palatable (especially to sheep) and high in calcium, nitrogen, copper, and other trace elements so they would be far down the list of pasture weeds I'd be worried about unless they were totally suppressing grass growth.
    Definitely far behind docks, thistles, rushes, buttercups etc on the pasture baddies list;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Richk2012

jaymla627 wrote: »
    we had savage problems with phuemonia this year 50 out of 55 calves went down with it turned out to be ibr in the end after waiting for a month for test results we found nuflor/selectan/marbiocl all useless, would work for a week calf would be gone down again switched to using zactran along with ibr vaccination totally cleared the problem wouldnt use anything other than zactran/draxin on calves with phuemonia it might seem dearer but works out the same when lower dose rate is taken into account

Draxin is great stuff .
    First time iv heard anyone on here mention it .
    How much a bottle is it ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭Milton09

Half tanked on wine, slowly forgetting about the crazy fodder situation and having to pull the tractor half way around the field with the digger yesterday while fencing, hot dinner on the way, all is good for now, might need to stop replying to posts on boards for a few hours though:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,262 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Richk2012 wrote: »
    Draxin is great stuff .
    First time iv heard anyone on here mention it .
    How much a bottle is it ??

50 ml bottle costs 180 euro at a dose rate of 1 ml per 45 kg so works out at a cost of 7.20 to treat a 90 kg calf, in comparsion nuflor mini ment to be the cheaper option costs 80 euro for 100ml bottle at a dose rate of 4 ml per 45 kg works out a cost of 6.20 to treat a 90kg calf, for the extra euro use draxxin everytime no comparsion in response to treatment from both products.
    Often found myself having to go with a second shot of nuflor mini after 4 days as calf wasnt improving with draxxin/zactran the calves are usually perfect within 2 days, have to laugh everytime i ask the vet for draxxin i get a funny look and told how expensive it is compared to nuflor explained to him the other day that its only a euro dearer to treat a 90 kg calf than his product of chocie nuflor mini he was quiet shocked when he realised i was right :rolleyes: another point is draxxin also covers micro plasma infection only product certified in the world to effectively treat this disease so its another plus point for draxxin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭agriman27

Yes same here I got jeep stuck in middle of field yesterday while fencing tractor came to the rescue some mess I was so friggin mad!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 472 ✭✭quadboy

Two dairy heifers bulled, both got easy calving freisian, HMY I think, should we throw in a few pollys

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

quadboy wrote: »
    Two dairy heifers bulled, both got easy calving freisian, HMY I think, should we throw in a few pollys
    Are you selling calved or springing?

Springing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Easy calving freisans on heifers is an vicious ever decreasing circle that very quickly leads to heifers that can't be put in calf to anything other than an angus that throws nothing bigger than a whippet. Stay away from easy calving on heifers no good will come of it.

Ah feck it, next call I put in so ill just say polly or whatever and see what the bull man has with him

Easy calving freisans on heifers is an vicious ever decreasing circle that very quickly leads to heifers that can't be put in calf to anything other than an angus that throws nothing bigger than a whippet. Stay away from easy calving on heifers no good will come of it.
    What would you recommend Ch/Bb?;);)
    The secret to a fertile erly calving herd to milk 300 days is absolutly no hardship for heifers when calving. You are right about size has to be watched.

My neighbour used to use Ch to get them opened up to be easy calved next year..........needless to say he has gone out of business:p:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

delaval wrote: »
    What would you recommend Ch/Bb?;);)
    The secret to a fertile erly calving herd to milk 300 days is absolutly no hardship for heifers when calving. You are right about size has to be watched.

My neighbour used to use Ch to get them opened up to be easy calved next year..........needless to say he has gone out of business:p:p

I wouldn't be recommending anything extreme. Moderation in all things including selecting easy calving sires for dairy heifers. Couple this with correct management of these heifers and you should have no calving difficulties. Keep using easy calving on heifers and you'll end up with stock that are too narrow to give you hardship free 1st calvings no matter how low a calving difficulty you go for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,901 ✭✭✭mf240

Not Completely true. That used to be the case but if the ease of calving is coming from short gestation and low birth rate these calves may develop into fine heifers themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

agriman27 wrote: »
    Yes same here I got jeep stuck in middle of field yesterday while fencing tractor came to the rescue some mess I was so friggin mad!!

That makes 3 of us. Bringing a trailer load of dung out to a normal dry field and got stuck. Got her out handy enough but as father said. Getting stuck in may in that field is a new thing. Often travelled it in the middle of winter no prob.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

How much roughage does a suckler cow need with meal, have enough silage to do one day ad lib, forecast is so bad going to try to hold them in shed for week with meal and min amount of roughage, have a little medium quality straw left as well,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

are bb finnicky or something, think this fella must have had a blockage or something

Sorry for the tardy reply Whelan. It was my own fault I think. On the Friday I brought 4 cows and calves in a 12 x 6 ifor Williams box to the out farm. This one was wedged in a corner and covered in scutter when I let them out. That was about 6.30. At 12 o clock on Saturday I found her dead. I effectively killed her and am sick as a pig over it.
    To answer you I find them no harder minded than a charolais calf but harder than limos or parthanaise or blondes. I am biased though as I like the blues.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

Sorry for the tardy reply Whelan. It was my own fault I think. On the Friday I brought 4 cows and calves in a 12 x 6 ifor Williams box to the out farm. This one was wedged in a corner and covered in scutter when I let them out. That was about 6.30. At 12 o clock on Saturday I found her dead. I effectively killed her and am sick as a pig over it.
    To answer you I find them no harder minded than a charolais calf but harder than limos or parthanaise or blondes. I am biased though as I like the blues.

I have been breeding blues last couple years and have to say its hard to call, they are hardy after being born , quick to get up etc, I did notice that when they get out first, if its anyway cold they seem to struggle more than other breeds

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

hugo29 wrote: »
    I have been breeding blues last couple years and have to say its hard to call, they are hardy after being born , quick to get up etc, I did notice that when they get out first, if its anyway cold they seem to struggle more than other breeds

hard to disagree with that synopsis alright Hugo. Do you find that the extra little bit of effort is paying off on sale day?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

hugo29 wrote: »

biggest problem I find with Blues is there reduced lung capacity

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

biggest problem I find with Blues is there reduced lung capacity

No doubt. Useless fukkers to swim. :-)

well lads and ladies, did you's have a good weekend. im sure glad to see the cot:rolleyes:, too many bin and gitters last night had me suffering all day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Manoffeeling

well lads and ladies, did you's have a good weekend. glad to see the cot:rolleyes:

Grand. Did you empty the bag? :D

Think were being put up in a pub in new Zealand for Christmas, brother just moved to new farm I asked what kind of tractor ill be driving when im over, a massey he said, giddy up!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

My dad is outta action for tye next few months, he got his knee replacement operation done over a week ago. My fiancé is recovering after getting her thymus removed and can't look after our 2 year old. And I'm trying to finish my house and get moved in in the next 6 weeks. So bob. No beer, and glad to see the cot. And of course ivhave my full time job to look forward to in the morning.......
    And I thought the auld fellas like hardship :-(

Think were being put up in a pub in new Zealand for Christmas, brother just moved to new farm I asked what kind of tractor ill be driving when im over, a massey he said, giddy up!
    Probably a 175:P:P:P
    I worked on a farm ith 2500 cows 2- 188's and a massey yellow 50b and about 6 atv's

Grand. Did you empty the bag? :D

more like scraping the bottom of the barrel:P