Who here hates nightclubs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,236 ✭✭✭jigglypuffstuff

SV wrote: »
    Ok then..that's grand but if anyone goes out with the right group of friends to a half decent club they're guaranteed to have the craic. Some people just go to a nightclub and can't get past their complaining to actually enjoy themselves once they're there.

"It's too loud"
    "I don't like the music"
    "I want to go somewhere I can talk"
    "I don't like the people"

Jesus, just stfu for 5 minutes and go with it.

That is unless your idea of having fun on a night out is sitting in a quiet pub with some back music on contemplating life and everything about it.

Actually my idea of fun has nothing to do with alcohol whatsoever or any venue associated with it

I hate nightclubs, I hate them so very much. When I think about it logically I am paying 5 Euro to go to a place where I am going to be elbowed, stepped on and shoved (because of ridiculous overcrowding, not because that's the natural response I receive from people) I am going to listen to awful, remixed crap, I am going to lose my group of friends that I came in with and then spend the majority of the night trying to find them again, I am going to be involved in a squash to try to get into the toilet, when I get there it will be a horrific seen which you'd think not possible in a first world country,I am not going to find a girl to "shift" because I am not one of these arrogant morons who gyrates wildly with everyone on the dancefloor until he eventually finds a girl desperate enough to get with him, I am going to leave with an irritating ringing in my ear that will stay with me all through tomorrow. I will disperse onto the street where I will witness a couple of fights, some puking, and inevitably a couple sitting in some remote corner who have clearly lost the will to stand. I am paying for this privilege.

And at the end of the night I will wonder what is wrong with me? Why can't I enjoy or be part of the idiotic shouting, dumb dancing, nonsensical screaming and general mayhem. Why would I rather be anywhere else in the world except in the middle of this God forsaken nightclub? I'll leave, with deep questions concerning myself and society in general. I will then return to the nightclub 3 weeks later, hoping it, or I, have changed.

Well if you dont like it dont go I stopped and its the best decision ive made in a long time :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,533 ✭✭✭SV

pone2012 wrote: »
    Actually my idea of fun has nothing to do with alcohol whatsoever or any venue associated with it

what's your idea of a good night out then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

Judging by previous threads and stuff you've mentioned you just need a different group of friends to be honest.
    It's not the issue with the clubs.
    To be fair, if you live down the midlands and have a taste in music that extends beyond the Top 40, the only good club nights out you'll have will start with a train to Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,868 ✭✭✭Andersonisgod

Well if you dont like it dont go I stopped and its the best decision ive made in a long time :)

I don't go very often, only with my friends go and then I usually accept because I am weak.

I'd much rather do almost any other social activity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,091 ✭✭✭Antar Bolaeisk

Can't stand the places at all, any time I've ended up in one I swear to never return.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭Kichote

Iv just turned 24 and dont drink OP, So i dont go to clubs or pubs. My advice if you dont like them dont go, most clubs comprise of a few major key points which i will now describe for your entertainment :pac:

-Theres the women with a different guy each week who've been done so many times when they walk their snizz claps

- Theres the guys like this who are seen as ''legends'' but in reality probably feels like they are pissing glass from chlamydia

-Theres the perverted old men, usually a handful who just go out to perve and have some material to make their knuckle children once they get home

-Theres the girls who pretend their respectable, yet when drunk if you stood a pencil on its tip they'd try to mount it

- Theres the guys with the popped polo shirt collars and tight chinos, they'll also mount anything that moves

-Theres the bouncers who just like turning people away because it makes them feel powerful

-Theres the alcohol thats priced 3-4 times above what its actually worth

-Theres the terrible cheesy music so loud it would wake the dead

-Theres the people passing out inside there from too much to drink

-Theres the guys with the chest out and t shirts so tight they look like they've been painted on, usually trying miserably and failing at pulling and end up having some stupid drunken row afterward where there arms flail about till someone falls.

- Theres the girls and guys that like to drop whatever there wearing and piss on the street/main road or anywhere really

- Theres the scumbags who cant get in who wait outside, drink cans and prey on drunken people

-And lets not forget the sea of takeway bags/wrappers and vomit left on the street in the wake of this

Yeah typical Saturday where im from....so its no surprise you dont like it OP

I concur. Also there are things like

-People farting everywhere. Really they should allow smoking again to mask the smell

-Night clubs that dont sell guinness. Who in the feck doesnt sell guinness? Then its only sugar laden sweet shyte like bullmers and those yokes teenage girls drink

-Bitches trying to cause a bit of drama for no reason. "So and so stood on my toes and it hurted, quick call the manager they'll have to take our side because we're girls"

-Some fcuker in the toilet trying to sell you stuff.

-Just the look of most girls in night clubs both foreign and Irish.

what's your idea of a good night out then?

I usually dont do nights out, im more of a daytime person I like to do activites, go places etc, I train up to 20 hours per week sometimes too. I do like to get with friends and chat in a house and relax too. Ill go out if i have to ( important birthday etc) but ill keep it to a minimum and be home pretty early in nearly all cases

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,464 ✭✭✭e_e

It's not that you need to, it just enhances the experience.
    Alcohol makes most people feel good.
    But the post I was responding to seemed to argue that you need to drink just to make the nightclub experience tolerable. That seems like such a pointless waste of time and money to me, all building towards feeling ill the next morning too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,257 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

You need to discover predrinking and sneaking in yourself a naggin.

Then the nights get a whole lot better

Sneaking in a naggin?
    Might as well go full scumbag level and bring your own steak to McDonalds next time you're there too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭SparkySpitfire

Rabies wrote: »
    Sneaking in a naggin?
    Might as well go full scumbag level and bring your own steak to McDonalds next time you're there too.

Common practice. Unless you're old enough to remember the days that nightclubs didn't charge 6 quid for a pint.

Really wish I was out now after reading this. :(

Nearly everytime I go out I come back and say "Never again!!! Nightclubs are awful!!!"
    But 9/10 times it's my fault. I didn't really feel like going out, went anyway, and my low expectations were met by self-fulfilling prophesy, I didn't engage with my friends, I went out with the wrong group, picked the wrong club for me or other kinds of crapola.

Then I have that one good night that makes me remember why I love to go out with my friends, have a few drinks and dance the night away without a care in the world!

So, really, nights out are what you make of them. :o

My main gripe is those STUPID. ROBBING. B@STARDS IN THE TOILET. :mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

Rabies wrote: »
    Sneaking in a naggin?

If McDonald's start charging me 5 times the cost of what I can get in a supermarket without actually needing any skill to prepare then ya can he sure I will. Vodka and splash in the local nightclub is 5.10. This takes zero effort to prepare and costs more than what you could buy 5 measures for from an off license.

So, really, nights out are what you make of them. :o

How so? You must take into account variables such as scummers starting a fight with you, annoying women/men (depending on your sex) who wont stop swinging from you and touching you up, drinks being spiked or ultimatley being put in a position youd rather not be in, Your opinion is as valid as mine or anyone elses but id be more inclined to say nights out will be dependant on your enviornment.
    If McDonald's start charging me 5 times the cost of what I can get in a supermarket without actually needing any skill to prepare then ya can he sure I will. Vodka and splash in the local nightclub is 5.10. This takes zero effort to prepare and costs more than what you could buy 5 measures for from an off license.

No but consider bills, security, DJ, equipment etc it costs that for a reason you know, not just because people want to rip you off. I agree its overpriced but to lower it to an acceptable price would negate any profit for the business

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,377 ✭✭✭Smithwicks Man

So, so true. Ridiculous carry on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭SparkySpitfire

How so? You must take into account variables such as scummers starting a fight with you, annoying women/men (depending on your sex) who wont stop swinging from you and touching you up, drinks being spiked or ultimatley being put in a position youd rather not be in, Your opinion is as valid as mine or anyone elses but id be more inclined to say nights out will be dependant on your enviornment.

No but consider bills, security, DJ, equipment etc it costs that for a reason you know, not just because people want to rip you off. I agree its overpriced but to lower it to an acceptable price would negate any profit for the business

Yeah there's always gonna be variables but you do what you can to reduce the risk of bad things happening and then you'll have a good time. I've had loads of nights out where I went in a bad mood, and although the night started out fine, bad things would end up happening such as the things you outlined above because I wanted my experience to reflect my mood subconsciously. (That's a real phenomenon, not just something that happens to me)

Let's take the drink out of it, and say, my friends are going to the cinema, I don't want to, but I don't want to be left out so I go anyway. I'm annoyed at the prospect of going, so my expectations for the film and the experience are low. Then I come out hating the film because I never gave it a chance, and I spilled a drink on myself cos I was agitated at being there when really I didn't want to be.

I'm not saying that accounts for all bad experiences on nights out, but in my experience it does count for some. It happens when I go to pubs too, it's not a nightclub-exclusive thing.

I give you the entry price to the nightclub at €10.

Then you have the fact the nightclubs are buying their alcohol in bulk!?
    Considering I could make their 10 euro cocktails for 2 euro I hate to think the kinds of profits they're coming away with.

Pubs can get away with not charging this extortionate price, why can't nightclubs?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Not a huge fan of nightclubs but I still go the odd time. Like others I'd much prefer a late bar with a bit of music, somewhere a conversation can be had without screaming in someone's ear.

Considering I could make their 10 euro cocktails for 2 euro I hate to think the kinds of profits they're coming away with.

Pubs can get away with not charging this extortionate price, why can't nightclubs?

Simple answer, they're greedy scum. They (pubs included) charge extortionate prices for drink and then bítch and moan that they can't get any custom.

I can buy a 20 pack bottle of Miller for €15 any day of the week. Pubs and clubs get it even cheaper, as low as €10 a pop. They the go and sell individual bottles for €4/€5 each and the only service is they twist off the cap. Fair enough charging extra for a well-made hot-whiskey/cocktail etc. but this is beyond a joke.

Very fond of the pub as opposed to buying drink in the off-y and drinking it in one of the lads' houses as I enjoy the pub atmosphere, pints etc. , but by christ are they making it difficult to go to a pub and enjoy a drink without feeling like the cúnt behind the bar is swindling money straight out of your pocket.

And then to listen to them complain about how nobody goes to the pub anymore!! By god get Joe Duffy on the phone now.......

Simple answer, they're greedy scum. They (pubs included) charge extortionate prices for drink and then bítch and moan that they can't get any custom.

I can buy a 20 pack bottle of Miller for €15 any day of the week. Pubs and clubs get it even cheaper, as low as €10 a pop. They the go and sell individual bottles for €4/€5 each and the only service is they twist off the cap. Fair enough charging extra for a well-made hot-whiskey/cocktail etc. but this is beyond a joke.

Very fond of the pub as opposed to buying drink in the off-y and drinking it in one of the lads' houses as I enjoy the pub atmosphere, pints etc. , but by christ are they making it difficult to go to a pub and enjoy a drink without feeling like the cúnt behind the bar is swindling money straight out of your pocket.

And then to listen to them complain about how nobody goes to the pub anymore!! By god get Joe Duffy on the phone now.......

You do realise that there are other things that a pub landlord pays for. Things like rent, insurance, water, heat, electricity, entertainment, staff, etc. I agree that prices are a bit high but all that has to be taken into account.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

36 and I'll still hit the club after a few drinks in the bar, simply to chill out, I can't remember a bad experience I've ever had in the club and tbh reading this thread I'm stunned at the amount of 20 somethings that have no interest in going clubbing, even just to chill out for a while and get some stress out.

I always meet interesting people too when I get chatting to people, I'm chronic shy but when they come over I do my best not to betray my awkward fcukness, so when I get into a conversation it's handy for me as I can't dance for shìt anyway! :pac:

You do realise that there are other things that a pub landlord pays for. Things like rent, insurance, water, heat, electricity, entertainment, staff, etc. I agree that prices are a bit high but all that has to be taken into account.

I know all to well. Worked in a bar on and off for a few years. Their expenses don't excuse that high of a price for those sorts of drinks. They're too smart for their own good, do they not realise if they had slightly lower prices they'd get far more business and in turn make far more money?

A nearby pub to me serves pints at €3.50 max price. The place those be wedged friday, saturday and sunday from about 5/6pm until late while the twats up the road sit there with their €4+ pints twiddling their thumbs. Prime example!

Jaysus if you think €4 a pint is expensive I'd hate to see you out in town :D

I do get what you're saying and I do believe that prices should be dropped but I don't think most people realise what has to be paid out by pub/ club landlords

Jaysus if you think €4 a pint is expensive I'd hate to see you out in town :D

I do get what you're saying and I do believe that prices should be dropped but I don't think most people realise what has to be paid out by pub/ club landlords

I was trying to be generous to them! :pac: To be fair that would be the usual out around my parts. First time I went to a pub in Dublin I'll never forget it. Bought 2 pints of Heineken for myself and one of the lads. Gave the bloke a tenner, he comes back 30 seconds later. I stick my hand out for the change and he says "You're a euro short" :eek: :pac:

I know what you mean. The overheads add up too and most aren't out to fleece the customer, the ones that are give a bad name to them all though!

Because pubs are open for a greater amount of hours per week compared to a club, therefore have more chance to make a profit.

I don't know why noone seems to realise this but business does not work this way.

When people are resorting to bringing in their own drink so they don't have to buy yours, when this results in less people buying drink, you don't up the price so the few people buying drink cover the costs, you bring the price down so more people will buy the drink.

and yet again €10 entry fee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭Jorah

Bars are much better. More relaxed and you're able to meet women much easier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,177 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

I do go to them occasionally with a group of friends but it really would not be my choice of night out. I like being able to have a conversation with people in a night out and that's impossible. I'm 22 now and when I was 18 and old enough to start going to clubs I wasn't able to drink because of a medical condition I had at the time and ever since I just got used to enjoying myself without it most of the time.
    Having said that I think clubs are probably a good place to meet girls/guys?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,250 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Don't worry about this.

My mate at home dj's in the local nightclub which is owned by his brother.
    Every saturday night we used to get a lift over with him, help him get set up and then at the end of the night share a few late ones with the bouncers and bar staff.

The brother told us that the door cover charge plus the cloakroom takings covered all the expenses for the night. The bar takings were complete profit.
    The club had 2 huge bars and to get a drink meant a queue of at least 5-10 minutes in a horde of people.

Nightclubs make plenty of money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭CroatoanCat

I haven't been to a nightclub for quite a few years now <old>. In fact, I am of a vintage and culchie heritage to remember when there were slow sets at regular intervals and hot meals served out of the cloakroom at midnight :eek:.

I'd love to find a decent 90s dischco. Slow sets and all, and decent dance tunes. For the authentic experience, of course, it would have to be strictly indoor smoking only and it would be obligatory for everybody to exclaim upon entering the jax, "Jaysus, you can get jonnies in those machine yokes now, mad altogether. Ould Mr. Smith the Chemist won't be happy". Crazy, glorious times. Rhythm really was a dancer and such.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

Czarcasm wrote: »
    36 and I'll still hit the club after a few drinks in the bar, simply to chill out, I can't remember a bad experience I've ever had in the club and tbh reading this thread I'm stunned at the amount of 20 somethings that have no interest in going clubbing, even just to chill out for a while and get some stress out.
    :

Chill out in a club???? are you for real.

They are packed, too warm and too loud. It's one of the most stressful places I can think of going to. If I want to chill out I go to a pub.

Any time I go to a night club my voice is gone the next day from shouting trying to talk to people and my ears ringing from the stupid volume the music is up at.

I avoid clubs and haven't been to one now in 3 years and I'm 27. I never liked going to them and only did because you had to type of thing but now I don't care anymore.

Late bars all the way.